Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Life's a Pooch - Quotes about Dogs by People Who Love Them - cover

Life's a Pooch - Quotes about Dogs by People Who Love Them

Boze Hadleigh

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Life’s a Pooch is, pardon the expression, catnip for dog lovers. Its five riveting chapters comprise hundreds of celebrity quotes and anecdotes about everyone’s best friend. By turns funny, touching, surprising, and informative, it embraces every aspect of the human-dog bond and explores our furry companions’ sometimes baffling world and celebrates their impact on ours. Those quoted range from animal superheroes Betty White and Doris Day to Leonardos da Vinci and DiCaprio to dog trainers, Lassie costars, singers and actors, presidents, Walt Disney, and Martha Stewart--to name a few!Did you know that . . .  Comparing canines with people, Marilyn Monroe once said, “A dog will never tell you to shut up”?  Aldous Huxley explained the pooch’s popularity: “To his dog, every man is Napoleon,” while President Harry Truman advised, “If you want a friend in Washington, get a dog”?                                                    For Renee Zellweger, “Finding exactly the right dog is a lot like falling in love”?  Peanuts creator Charles M. Schulz felt, “Happiness is a warm puppy”?  And singer Adele is happy to be “my dog’s best friend”?     Poignant, silly, and heart-warming, Life's a Pooch is a must-have for every dog lover!

Other books that might interest you

  • Concise Herb Guide - cover

    Concise Herb Guide

    Bloomsbury

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    This beautifully illustrated mini field guide is packed with information on the most common herbs from around the world. Many of these plants grow wild in Britain and other parts of Europe, and can also be cultivated in gardens. The guide additionally includes exotic but commonly used species such as Vanilla, Cloves, Cinnamon and Star-anise. 
    More than 180 herbs are included, all of which are illustrated with superb full-colour artworks that show details of the flowers and leaves, roots and bark where applicable, and growth habit of each plant. A concise written account covering culinary, medicinal and other uses, size, description, habitat and distribution appears on the same page. 
     
    The easy-to-follow layouts and superb artworks aid quick and accurate identification, making this book an indispensable reference in the field as well as at home. It is compact enough to fit in the pocket, yet packed with essential information.  
     
    To protect it against the elements in the field, the book is wrapped in a durable plastic wallet. Also included is a fold-out insert with at-a-glance illustrations showing herbs grouped by colour. 
     
    Renowned natural history artists Christine Hart-Davis, Bridgette James and David Sutton painted the illustrations.
    Show book
  • Practical Rose Gardening - How to Place Plant and Grow More Than Fifty Easy-Care Varieties - cover

    Practical Rose Gardening - How...

    Inger Palmstierna

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In Practical Rose Gardening, author Inger Palmstierna shares two of her special interests with us: modern roses, where the assortment is ever changing, and how one can use roses in a garden together with other plants. These are two fascinating areas she covers from top to bottom, so you can create a beautiful garden brimming with roses.Palmstierna begins by explaining the difference between a “modern rose” versus an “old-fashioned” variety. She then aids readers in selecting the right type of rose for their garden by providing detailed information on more than fifty popular rose varieties—pick your favorites by color or the type of environment in which each species thrives. Roses that grow as ground cover, for example, are easy to look after and are attractive on slopes and larger areas; roses that climb are perfect for a trellis or arch; and roses that grow as bushes are sturdy and can flower several times a season. And if you’d prefer to grow your roses in a pot on a balcony or terrace, you’ll also learn how to care for them in winter!After you’ve learned which plants work best as companions to your roses, Palmstierna launches into the ever-important care of your roses, explaining the simplest ways to plant and prune. You’ll also master how to buy and select the best plants from shops and garden centers and deal with common rose problems, including improving the soil and dealing with pests.Start growing your beautiful, thriving rose garden today!
    Show book
  • Cats Are Capable of Mind Control - And 1000+ UberFacts You Never Knew You Needed to Know - cover

    Cats Are Capable of Mind Control...

    Kris Sanchez

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the creator of the popular Twitter sensation UberFacts comes this fun compilation quiz book, packed with entertaining infographics and surprising factoids, for fans of Schott’s Miscellany, What If? and Ripley’s Believe It or Not. 
    Providing "the most unimportant things you’ll never need to know”—fun and surprising facts, statistics, and infographics on diverse subjects, from art and science to history and popular culture—UberFacts has become one of the most widely followed and successful accounts on Twitter, followed by nearly 12 million people. 
    Based on the popular social media phenomenon and culled from an exhaustive variety of sources—science journals, books, media, and literary magazines—Cats are Capable of Mind Control is a fascinating collection of shocking, delightful, educational, and informative facts and figures that are entertaining, topical, and sometimes downright bizarre (the safest place to suffer sudden cardiac arrest in the U.S. is a casino). 
    Did you know:The Pentagon was constructed so that no point in the building is more than a ten-minute walk from any other point?Vultures’ stomach acid is so corrosive they can digest anthrax?Farmers in India use Coca-Cola and Pepsi as cheap and effective pesticides? 
    Discover all this and much, much more in this treasure trove of trivia for the social media age. 
     
    Show book
  • Banjaxed - cover

    Banjaxed

    Terry Wogan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Banjaxed was a Christmas bestseller for Terry Wogan in 1979 after his rise to fame on Radio 2. b.. Based around his radio shows readers will be able to recall his famous segments including Fight the Flab and Wogan's Winner; human sacrifices on the roof of broadcasting house; the suburban delights of Penge; and Terry's daily banter with Jimmy Young. After a brief break from the radio in the late 80s Terry returned to his breakfast show in 1993 and added a new generation of listeners. When he retired in 2009 his audience was approximately 8 million making him the most listened to broadcaster in Europe. Terry's TOGs (Terry's Old Geezers/Gals) remain a loyal and dedicated fan base raising millions for Children in Need. Terry Wogan is frequently referred to as a 'national treasure' and Banjaxed is a timeless reminder of Terry at his best.
    Show book
  • Banjaxed - cover

    Banjaxed

    Terry Wogan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Banjaxed was a Christmas bestseller for Terry Wogan in 1979 after his rise to fame on Radio 2. b.. Based around his radio shows readers will be able to recall his famous segments including Fight the Flab and Wogan's Winner; human sacrifices on the roof of broadcasting house; the suburban delights of Penge; and Terry's daily banter with Jimmy Young. After a brief break from the radio in the late 80s Terry returned to his breakfast show in 1993 and added a new generation of listeners. When he retired in 2009 his audience was approximately 8 million making him the most listened to broadcaster in Europe. Terry's TOGs (Terry's Old Geezers/Gals) remain a loyal and dedicated fan base raising millions for Children in Need. Terry Wogan is frequently referred to as a 'national treasure' and Banjaxed is a timeless reminder of Terry at his best.
    Show book
  • We're Asleep Dad - cover

    We're Asleep Dad

    Simon Key

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'My kids are asleep. I know this because a paper airplane has just smashed against my head & on the wing someone has written "we're asleep Dad"'. 'My kids have done their homework. I know this because according to them, this week their homework is to play 3 hours of Minecraft each night'. 'My kids are ready to go out. I know this because they've hidden all their clothes...' 
     
    In recent times, we've celebrated 'unmumsy' mums, but what about desperate dads? We're Asleep, Dad is a collection of 100 laugh-out-loud tweets from a dad's perspective on the five main struggles of parenting: Bed Time, School, Food, Going Out and Weekends, complete with quirky hand-drawn illustrations by Moose Allain. In this hilarious and stylish gift book, Simon Key perfectly captures all the ups and downs of what it's like to be a frazzled father on the front line.
    Show book