Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Booth Tarkington Collection - cover

The Booth Tarkington Collection

Booth Tarkington

Publisher: Charles River Editors

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Karpathos publishes the greatest works of history's greatest authors and collects them to make it easy and affordable for readers to have them all at the push of a button.  All of our collections include a linked table of contents.

Booth Tarkington was a prominent American author during the early 20th century and is one of only three authors to win the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction more than once.  Many of Tarkington's works were satirical and centered around the  American society at the turn of the century.  This collection includes the following:

The Magnificent Ambersons
Alice Adams
Penrod
Penrod and Sam
Seventeen
Gentle Julia
The Turmoil
The Gentleman from Indiana
The Conquest of Canaan
The Flirt
The Beautiful Lady
The Two Vanrevels
The Man from Home
In the Arena: Stories of Political Life
Monsieur Beaucaire
His Own People
The Gibson Upright
Beasley's Christmas Party
Ramsey Milholland
The Guest of Quesnay

Other books that might interest you

  • Women - A Novel - cover

    Women - A Novel

    Charles Bukowski

    • 1
    • 54
    • 0
    Low-life writer and unrepentant alcoholic Henry Chinaski was born to survive. After decades of slacking off at low-paying dead-end jobs, blowing his cash on booze and women, and scrimping by in flea-bitten apartments, Chinaski sees his poetic star rising at last. Now, at fifty, he is reveling in his sudden rock-star life, running three hundred hangovers a year, and maintaining a sex life that would cripple Casanova. 
     
    With all of Bukowski's trademark humor and gritty, dark honesty, this 1978 follow-up to Post Office and Factotum is an uncompromising account of life on the edge.
    Show book
  • The Famished Road - A Novel - cover

    The Famished Road - A Novel

    Ben Okri

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Winner of the Man Booker Prize: “Okri shares with García Márquez a vision of the world as one of infinite possibility. . . . A masterpiece” (The Boston Sunday Globe). Azaro is a spirit child, an abiku, existing, according to the African tradition, between life and death. Born into the human world, he must experience its joys and tragedies. His spirit companions come to him often, hounding him to leave his mortal world and join them in their idyllic one. Azaro foresees a trying life ahead, but he is born smiling. This is his story.   When President Bill Clinton first went to Africa he quoted from The Famished Road, which has inspired literature, art, politics, and pop songs—and even been referenced in an episode of The Simpsons. A transformative story for all ages and all times, it means many things to many people. Few contemporary novels have aroused as much passion as this one. Indeed, twenty-five years after its breakout publication, the iconic story of Azaro’s travels continues to mesmerize new generations.   For readers of Things Fall Apart or One Hundred Years of Solitude, this Man Booker Prize–winning blend of fabulism and gritty realism by the Nigerian author of Astonishing the Gods and Dangerous Love is a “dazzling, hypnotic” journey through Africa that “weaves the humblest detail with the most extravagant flight of fancy to create an astonishing fictional tapestry” (San Francisco Chronicle). Already considered a classic of world literature, it is “a masterpiece if ever one existed” (The Boston Sunday Globe).  
    Show book
  • Pulp - cover

    Pulp

    Charles Bukowski

    • 0
    • 17
    • 0
    Opening with the exotic Lady Death entering the gumshoe-writer's seedy office in pursuit of a writer named Celine, this novel demonstrates Bukowski's own brand of humour and realism, opening up a landscape of seamy Los Angeles.
    Show book
  • The Legends of King Arthur and His Knights - cover

    The Legends of King Arthur and...

    Sir James Knowles

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    The beloved tales of Camelot, Merlin, the Round Table, the quest for the Holy Grail, and more. Today, the figure of King Arthur lives on in everything from fantasy novels to comedy films, but the legends surrounding him date back to somewhere in post-Roman times and were first collected by Geoffrey of Monmouth in the twelfth century. Edited for the modern reader by Sir James Knowles, Monmouth’s original collection features familiar tales of wizardry and prophecy, loyalty and leadership, battle and quest. With mystery still surrounding the historical origins of these romantic legends, this volume is an intriguing and absorbing journey into the medieval imagination.
    Show book
  • Tales of a Traveller - cover

    Tales of a Traveller

    Washington Irving

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This collection by the author of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow recounts the experiences of an American abroad in the early nineteenth century.In Tales of a Traveller, renowned essayist and short story writer Washington Irving turns his talents to the genre of travel writing. Based on his excursions across Europe, Irving tells of the people he meets in France, England, Italy, and elsewhere, recounting the many tall tales they tell him. First published in 1824, this collection includes the narrative of a young German student living in Paris during the French Revolution; an account of Italian bandits who prey on travelers on the road to Naples; and legends of the pirate Captain Kidd, including the story “The Devil and Tom Walker,” which served as the inspiration for Stephen Vincent Benét’s “The Devil and Daniel Webster.”
    Show book
  • Hamlet - cover

    Hamlet

    William Shakespeare, Edith Nesbit

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    This edition of 'Hamlet' is an adaptation of Shakespeare's eponymous play 'The Tragedy of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark'. Set in Denmark, the story dramatises the revenge Prince Hamlet is called to wreak upon his uncle, Claudius, by the ghost of Hamlet's father, King Hamlet. Narrated in plain modern English, capturing the very essence and key elements of the original Shakespeare's drama.
    Show book