Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Up from Slavery - cover

Up from Slavery

Booker T. Washington

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Booker T. Washington’s classic memoir of enslavement, emancipation, and community advancement in the Reconstruction Era.   Born into slavery on a tobacco farm in nineteenth-century Virginia, Booker T. Washington became one of the most powerful intellectuals of the Reconstruction Era. As president of the Tuskegee Institute in Alabama, he advocated for the advancement of African Americans through education and entrepreneurship. In Up from Slavery, Washington speaks frankly and honestly about his enslavement and emancipation, struggle to receive an education, and life’s work as an educator.   In great detail, Washington describes establishing the Tuskegee Institute, from teaching its first classes in a hen house to building a prominent institution through community organization and a national fundraising campaign. He also addresses major issues of the era, such as the Jim Crow laws, Ku Klux Klan, and “false foundation” of Reconstruction policy.  Up From Slavery is based on biographical articles written for the Christian newspaper Outlook and includes the full text of Washington’s revolutionary Atlanta Exposition address. First published in 1901, this powerful autobiography remains a landmark of African American literature as well as an important firsthand account of post–Civil War American history.  This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.

Who read this book also read:

  • Black Widow - A Novel - cover

    Black Widow - A Novel

    E. Duke Vincent

    • 3
    • 34
    • 2
    In this riveting follow-up to Mafia Summer, Vinny Vesta's torrid affair with his co-pilot's widow brings him, unwittingly and unwillingly, back into the family business. The only question is whether he can escape it again, with his life. Black Widow is a gripping page-turner that brings to life the decadent bachelor-pad living of the Blue Angels, old-Hollywood grandeur, and the maneuverings of Genovese as he takes over the Luciano crime family and alters the face of the New York Mob. PRAISE FOR MAFIA SUMMER: "Sweet, affectionate, and bloody: a glance backward to a well-spent youth."--Kirkus Reviews "With its pedigree, it just may be the perfect summer book."--New York Post, "Required Reading"
    Show book
  • John Barleycorn - “But I am I And I won't subordinate my taste to the unanimous judgment of mankind” - cover

    John Barleycorn - “But I am I...

    Jack London

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    John Griffith "Jack" London was born John Griffith Chaney on January 12th, 1876 in San Francisco.  His father, William Chaney, was living with his mother Flora Wellman when she became pregnant.  Chaney insisted she have an abortion.  Flora's response was to turn a gun on herself.  Although her wounds were not severe the trauma made her temporarily deranged. In late 1876 his mother married John London and the young child was brought to live with them as they moved around the Bay area, eventually settling in Oakland where Jack completed grade school. Jack also worked hard at several jobs, sometimes 12-18 hours a day, but his dream was university.  He was lent money for that and after intense studying enrolled in the summer of 1896 at the University of California in Berkeley. In 1897, at 21 , Jack searched out newspaper accounts of his mother's suicide attempt and the name of his biological father. He wrote to William Chaney, then living in Chicago. Chaney said he could not be London's father because he was impotent; and casually asserted that London's mother had relations with other men.  Jack, devastated by the response, quit Berkeley and went to the Klondike. Though equally because of his continuing dire finances Jack might have taken that as the excuse he needed to leave. In the Klondike Jack began to gather material for his writing but also accumulated many health problems, including scurvy, hip and leg problems many of which he then carried for life. By the late 1890's Jack was regularly publishing short stories and by the turn of the century full blown novels. By 1904 Jack had married, fathered two children and was now in the process of divorcing.  A stint as a reporter on the Russo-Japanese war of 1904 was equal amounts trouble and experience. But that experience was always put to good use in a remarkable output of work. Twelve years later Jack had amassed a wealth of writings many of which remain world classics. He had a reputation as a social activist and a tireless friend of the workers.  And yet on November 22nd 1916 Jack London died in a cottage on his ranch at the age of only 40. Here we present John Barleycorn.
    Show book
  • The Guggenheims - cover

    The Guggenheims

    Debi Unger, Irwin Unger

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A portrait of a great American dynasty and its legacy in business, technology, the arts, and philanthropy 
    Meyer Guggenheim, a Swiss immigrant, founded a great American business dynasty. At their peak in the early twentieth century, the Guggenheims were reckoned among  America's wealthiest, and the richest Jewish family in the world after the Rothschilds. They belonged to Our Crowd, that tight social circle of New York Jewish plutocrats, but unlike the others -- primarily merchants and financiers -- they made their money by extracting and refining copper, silver, lead, tin, and gold. 
    The secret of their success, the patriarch believed, was their unity, and in the early years Meyer's seven sons, under the leadership of Daniel, worked as one to expand their growing mining and smelting empire. Family solidarity eventually decayed (along with their Jewish faith), but even more damaging was the paucity of male heirs as Meyer and the original set of brothers passed from the scene. 
    In the third generation, Harry Guggenheim, Daniel's son, took over leadership and made the family a force in aviation, publishing, and horse-racing. He desperately sought a successor but tragically failed and was forced to watch as the great Guggenheim business enterprise crumbled. 
    Meanwhile, "Guggenheim" came to mean art more than industry. In the mid-twentieth century, led by Meyer's son Solomon and Solomon's niece Peggy, the Guggenheims became the agents of modernism in the visual arts. Peggy, in America during the war years, midwifed the school of abstract expressionism, which brought art leadership to New York City. Solomon's museum has been innovative in spreading the riches of Western art around the world. After the generation of Harry and Peggy, the family has continued to produce many accomplished members, such as publisher Roger Straus II and archaeologist Iris Love. 
    In The Guggenheims, through meticulous research and absorbing prose, Irwin Unger, the winner of a Pulitzer Prize in history, and his wife, Debi Unger, convey a unique and remarkable story -- epic in its scope -- of one family's amazing rise to prominence.
    Show book
  • Lauren Conrad 107 Success Facts - Everything you need to know about Lauren Conrad - cover

    Lauren Conrad 107 Success Facts...

    Stanley Collins

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Exciting Lauren Conrad news! This book is your ultimate resource for Lauren Conrad. Here you will find the most up-to-date 107 Success Facts, Information, and much more.In easy to read chapters, with extensive references and links to get you to know all there is to know about Lauren Conrad's Early life, Career and Personal life right away. A quick look inside: The City (2008 TV series) - Critical response, Kristen Bell - In the media, Stephanie Pratt, Spencer Pratt - 2007–10: The Hills, The Hills (season 6), Spin-off (media) - Support character getting own show (during run), I'm That Chick - Live performances, Out from Under - Appearances in media, The Hills (season 5) - Cast, Lauren Conrad, Breanna Conrad - Biography, Nick Verreos - Trivia, Stephanie Pratt - Personal life, The Hills (season 2), The City (2008 TV series) - Conception, List of Teen Vogue cover models - 2010, Lo Bosworth - 1986–2006: Early life and Laguna Beach, It's On Bitch, Gay icon - 2010s–present, Lauren Conrad - 2009–present: Retail projects and engagement, Leggings - Shiny leggings, Stephanie Pratt - Career, VH1 Divas - Presenters, Kill the Lights - Appearance in media, List of The Hills cast members, William Tell (musician) - Personal life, Prick Up Your Ears (Family Guy) - Production and censorship, The Hills (season 4) - Cast, List of Teen Vogue cover models - 2006, Kristin Cavallari, Whitney Port - 2006–10: The Hills and The City, Lauren Conrad - 2006–09: The Hills, List of Laguna Beach: The Real Orange County cast members, Jimmy Kimmel - Jimmy Kimmel Live!, It's On Bitch - Production, Reality television - Books, Teen sitcom - MTV, L.A. Candy, Kristin Cavallari - 1987–2005: Early life and Laguna Beach, and much more...
    Show book
  • Paranormal - My Life in Pursuit of the Afterlife - cover

    Paranormal - My Life in Pursuit...

    Raymond Moody, Paul Perry

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The bestselling author of Life After Life, Raymond Moody, offers a stunning, myth-busting memoir of everything he has learned in a lifetime studying “the other side” and our connection to it. The grandfather of the NDE (near death experience) movement, Raymond Moody has, in the words of Dr. Larry Dossey, author of The Power of Premonitions, “radically changed the way modern humans think about the afterlife.” Paranormal, essential reading for fans of Dannion Brinkley and Jeffrey Long, is “a thrilling and inspiring literary experience. Anyone who is not grateful for Moody’s immense contribution to human welfare ought to check his pulse.”
    Show book
  • Wasted Updated Edition - A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia - cover

    Wasted Updated Edition - A...

    Marya Hornbacher

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A classic of psychology and eating disorders, now reissued with an important and perhaps controversial new afterword by the author, Wasted is New York Times bestselling author Marya Hornbacher's highly acclaimed memoir that chronicles her battle with anorexia and bulimia. 
    Vivid, honest, and emotionally wrenching, Wasted is the story of how Marya Hornbacher willingly embraced hunger, drugs, sex, and death—until a particularly horrifying bout with anorexia and bulimia in college forever ended the romance of wasting away. 
    In this updated edition, Hornbacher, an authority in the field of eating disorders, argues that recovery is not only possible, it is necessary. But the journey is not easy or guaranteed. With a new ending to her story that adds a contemporary edge, Wasted continues to be timely and relevant.
    Show book