Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Sleeping Lady - A Mystery - cover

The Sleeping Lady - A Mystery

Bonnie C. Monte

Publisher: She Writes Press

  • 1
  • 13
  • 0

Summary

Thirty-five-year-old Rae Sullivan owns a thriving home décor shop in the San Francisco Bay area, near majestic Mt. Tamalpais (to locals, The Sleeping Lady). But when her business partner, Thalia, confides that she has a lover in France, Rae’s comfortable life starts to unravel. Soon, an anonymous note-writer threatens to reveal the affair, and Thalia—who, unswayed by Rae’s warnings, insists on confronting the blackmailer—turns up dead in Golden Gate Park.

The police, convinced the crime was a random mugging, are dismissive of Rae’s story of blackmail. Then a scandal from Rae’s past job comes to light, and the police start to eye her as a suspect. To clear her reputation and ensure justice for Thalia, Rae decides it’s up to her to unmask the murderer—despite her husband’s objections.

Rae’s sleuthing leads her to France, where she enlists the help of Thalia’s handsome half brother. As they collaborate to catch the killer, sparks fly between them, and Rae has to contend with these newly aroused feelings—even as she strives to outmaneuver a cold-blooded murderer who wants to silence her.

Other books that might interest you

  • Before He Needs (A Mackenzie White Mystery—Book 5) - cover

    Before He Needs (A Mackenzie...

    Blake Pierce

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    From Blake Pierce, bestselling author of ONCE GONE (a #1 bestseller with over 900 five star reviews), comes book #5 in the heart-pounding Mackenzie White mystery series.
    
    In BEFORE HE NEEDS (A Mackenzie White Mystery—Book 5), FBI special agent Mackenzie White finds herself summoned to crack a case she has never encountered before: the victim is not a man or a woman—but a couple. 
    
    The third couple found dead in their homes this month.
    
    As Mackenzie and the FBI scramble to figure out who would want happily-married couples dead, her search takes her deep into a disturbing world and subculture. She quickly learns that all is not what it seems behind the picket fences of perfectly-suburban homes—and that darkness lurks at the edge of even the happiest-seeming families. 
    
    As her hunt morphs into a deadly game of cat-and-mouse, Mackenzie, still struggling to find her own father’s killer, realizes she may be in too deep—and that the killer she seeks may be the most elusive of all: shockingly normal.
    
    A dark psychological thriller with heart-pounding suspense, BEFORE HE NEEDS is book #5 in a riveting new series—with a beloved new character—that will leave you turning pages late into the night. 
    
    Book #6 in the Mackenzie White Mystery series will be available soon.
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Stella Cameron

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book
  • One Step Behind - A Kurt Wallander Mystery - cover

    One Step Behind - A Kurt...

    Henning Mankell

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    On Midsummer’s Eve, three friends gather in a secluded meadow in Sweden. In the still-sun-lit northern night, they don costumes and begin to role play. But an uninvited guest soon brings their performance to a gruesome conclusion. His approach is careful; his aim is perfect. Three bullets, three corpses. The murderer then carefully photographs the grisly tableau.Meanwhile, the Ystad police station is experiencing a summer lull. Inspector Kurt Wallander is focusing on living healthier, but his peace of mind is shattered when a fellow officer is murdered. The police slowly realize how little they know about what is going on in their seemingly serene town. An unknown killer is on the loose, but their only lead is a photograph of three dead young people in costume.Forced to dig more deeply than he’d like into the personal life of one of his colleagues, Wallander’s investigation uncovers something he could never have imagined.One Step Behind is the fifth book to appear in English in what the Los Angeles Times Book Review calls the “exquisite” Kurt Wallander series.
    Show book
  • Love Me to Death - Brief Case - cover

    Love Me to Death - Brief Case

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Christmas short story.
    
     
    The first of an occasional series of short stories (covering the elapsed time between the books in The Falconer Files series.)
    
     
    On Christmas Day the two detectives are summoned to a block of apartments in Market Darley, to investigate the unexplained death of a young woman whose fiance was due to move in with her on New Year's Day.
    
     
    At first, her death seems a complete mystery, then, something that Dr Christmas discovers on the internet indicates that her death could just have been a tragic accident, or was it?
    Show book
  • Captive - A Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller #2 - cover

    Captive - A Detective Jade...

    C.M. Sutter

    • 0
    • 24
    • 0
    A body, wrapped in plastic, is discovered in a ditch along a secluded country road. Detective Jade Monroe, and her partner, Jack Steele, arrive at the scene in minutes. Suspicious looking evidence gives the impression that this young woman has been held captive. 
    As days pass, more local women vanish without a trace. Jade and her team of detectives fear the worst. 
    With precious time slipping away, Jade needs to pull out all stops to find this perpetrator, even if that means putting herself directly in harm's way. 
    Note: All Detective Jade Monroe books are standalone stories, yet they are best read in chronological order. 
    Series One - Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series 
    #1 Maniacal 
    #2 Captive 
    #3 Fallacy 
    #4 Premonition 
    #5 Exposed 
    Note: The Jade Monroe FBI Thriller books follow on the heels of the conclusion of Exposed, Book 5 in the Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series. 
    Series Two – Agent Jade Monroe FBI Thriller Series 
    #1 Snapped  
    #2 Justified 
    #3 Donors 
    #4 Leverage 
    #5 Malice
    Show book
  • Death in Profile - cover

    Death in Profile

    Guy Fraser-Sampson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The genteel façade of London’s Hampstead is shattered by a series of terrifying murders, and the ensuing police hunt is threatened by internal politics, and a burgeoning love triangle within the investigative team. Pressurised by senior officers desperate for a result a new initiative is clearly needed, but what?
     
     
     
    Intellectual analysis and police procedure vie with the gut instinct of ‘copper’s nose’, and help appears to offer itself from a very unlikely source – a famous fictional detective. A psychological profile of the murderer allows the police to narrow down their search, but will Scotland Yard lose patience with the team before they can crack the case?
     
    Praised by fellow authors and readers alike, this is a truly original crime story, speaking to a contemporary audience yet harking back to the Golden Age of detective fiction. Intelligent, quirky and mannered, it has been described as ‘a love letter to the detective novel’. Above it all hovers Hampstead, a magical village evoking the elegance of an earlier time, and the spirit of mystery-solving detectives.
     
     
     
    Guy Fraser-Sampson is an established writer best known for his series of ‘Mapp and Lucia’ novels which have been featured on BBC Radio 4 and optioned by BBC television. This is his debut work of detective fiction, and the first title in the Hampstead Murders series.
    Show book