Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Palace of Wisdom - cover

The Palace of Wisdom

Bob Marshall-Andrews

Publisher: Whitefox Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A stooge for the Inquisition in seventeenth-century Florence, Grand Duke Cosimo embarks on his relentless persecution of all knowledge and art, while conspirators work to protect great Renaissance works from destruction.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sand & Storm - Moonfire Trilogy #1 - cover

    Sand & Storm - Moonfire Trilogy #1

    Patty Jansen

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The entire world laid to waste. There are no second chances. 
    The ancient machine that produced icefire was destroyed twenty years ago, but the deadly magic is again on the increase. No one understands why or where it’s coming from. 
    Massive changes in weather patterns plunge the northern half of the inhabited world in deep drought. People are once again fleeing, but nowhere is safe. 
    King Isandor sends people to investigate a concentration of icefire in the mountains at the border, but two consecutive patrols both vanish. It appears that, after having suffered badly in wars, the neighbouring country Arania is on the offensive, and is using icefire as weapon. Their culture is harsh and their barbarism knows no boundaries. 
    Meanwhile two young meteorology students make a string of discoveries that will change the way the people understand the world. They’re on the threshold of the age of enlightenment, but vital knowledge necessary to save their world may well get lost when war overruns the inhabited world.
    Show book
  • Michael's Heart - Pack Mates #4 - cover

    Michael's Heart - Pack Mates #4

    Lynn Tyler

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Michael Ferris lives a solitary life, even as a werewolf within the confines of the Smooth Rock Falls pack. Not willing to risk getting hurt again, he’s built an impenetrable wall around his heart that only a few have had a chance of chipping away at. His job as a firefighter helps to keep his mind off his solitude for a while, but when he meets the right guy, Michael doesn’t know if he can let him in. 
    Justin Blake isn’t lonely by choice. In fact, he’s not even aware of just how lonely he is until he lays eyes on the handsome firefighter. As the shifter negotiator, Justin finds himself hopelessly drawn to Michael while helping to ease new shifters onto pack lands. 
    Can two hurting, lost souls heal each other, or will fear keep them apart even as the Smooth Rock Falls pack grows larger? 
    To keep up to date on all of Lynn’s newest releases and other cool stuff (can we say free stuff?) join her Reader’s Club. 
    This book has been previously published.
    Show book
  • The Chaplin Conspiracy - cover

    The Chaplin Conspiracy

    Stewart Ferris

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    When hard-up aristocrat Lord ‘Ratty’ Ballashiels finds an old film reel in his attic he discovers that it’s a home movie of Charlie Chaplin’s visit to Rennes-le-Chateau in the south of France. But Ratty spots a strange anomaly: clearly visible behind Chaplin is the famous millionaire priest of that village, Bérenger Saunière. The film tin is labelled ‘Chaplin 1932’. Saunière died in 1917. Before Ratty can process the implication of what he has witnessed, the heat of the projector lamp ignites the film and starts a fire which rips through a wing of his manor house. Investigators subsequently discover a body amid the charred ruins and issue a warrant for Ratty’s arrest. The aristocrat has no intention of handing himself in. Knowing that Saunière reputedly buried a fabulous hoard of treasure, and convinced that the Chaplin film is a vital clue to its location, he stows away on a boat to France and becomes embroiled in a frightening and dangerous race to uncover the astonishing truth about Saunière’s legacy.
    Show book
  • The Western Wind - A Novel - cover

    The Western Wind - A Novel

    Samantha Harvey

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    An extraordinary new novel by Samantha Harvey—whose books have been nominated for the Man Booker Prize, the Women’s Prize for Fiction (formerly the Orange Prize), and the Guardian First Book Award—The Western Wind is a riveting story of faith, guilt, and the freedom of confession.
    It’s 1491. In the small village of Oakham, its wealthiest and most industrious resident, Tom Newman, is swept away by the river during the early hours of Shrove Saturday. Was it murder, suicide, or an accident? Narrated from the perspective of local priest John Reve—patient shepherd to his wayward flock—a shadowy portrait of the community comes to light through its residents’ tortured revelations. As some of their darkest secrets are revealed, the intrigue of the unexplained death ripples through the congregation. But will Reve, a man with secrets of his own, discover what happened to Newman? And what will happen if he can’t?
    Written with timeless eloquence, steeped in the spiritual traditions of the Middle Ages, and brimming with propulsive suspense, The Western Wind finds Samantha Harvey at the pinnacle of her outstanding novelistic power.
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • Goddess (Children of Ossiria #3) - cover

    Goddess (Children of Ossiria #3)

    Vivian Lane

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Free of the burden of knowledge about the future, William and Carys start dating, which isn't without its challenges. Trusting him with her life is easy. Trusting him with her heart is terrifying. Meanwhile, a new and sinister supernatural threat arrives in Southern California. Our team of heroes will discover too late that Carys' true destiny as Protector is more life-changing than anyone knew.
    Show book