Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Once Gone (a Riley Paige Mystery--Book #1) - cover

Once Gone (a Riley Paige Mystery--Book #1)

Blake Pierce

Publisher: Blake Pierce

  • 6
  • 30
  • 0

Summary

Women are turning up dead in the rural outskirts of Virginia, killed in grotesque ways, and when the FBI is called in, they are stumped. A serial killer is out there, his frequency increasing, and they know there is only one agent good enough to crack this case: Special Agent Riley Paige.

Riley is on paid leave herself, recovering from her encounter with her last serial killer, and, fragile as she is, the FBI is reluctant to tap her brilliant mind. Yet Riley, needing to battle her own demons, comes on board, and her hunt leads her through the disturbing subculture of doll collectors, into the homes of broken families, and into the darkest canals of the killer’s mind. As Riley peels back the layers, she realizes she is up against a killer more twisted than she could have imagined. In a frantic race against time, she finds herself pushed to her limit, her job on the line, her own family in danger, and her fragile psyche collapsing.

Yet once Riley Paige takes on a case, she will not quit. It obsesses her, leading her to the darkest corners of her own mind, blurring the lines between hunter and hunted. After a series of unexpected twists, her instincts lead her to a shocking climax that even Riley could not have imagined.

A dark psychological thriller with heart-pounding suspense, ONCE GONE marks the debut of a riveting new series—and a beloved new character—that will leave you turning pages late into the night.

Book #2 in the Riley Paige series will be available soon.

Who read this book also read:

  • Blood Ties - The Eddie Malloy series #3 - cover

    Blood Ties - The Eddie Malloy...

    joe mcnally, Richard Pitman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The third book in the Eddie Malloy series, following Warned Off and Hunted, Blood Ties is another fast-moving mystery set in the world of UK horse racing. The plot is fresh and intriguing and will challenge mystery fans who enjoy piecing together the clues. 
    Troubled jockey Eddie Malloy invests everything he has to become a partner in a small thoroughbred stud. One morning a blackmailer calls threatening to make public that Malloy's stud has an infertile stallion and is cheating breeders. 
    Malloy discovers that his partner in the stud, Martin Corish, has disappeared, leaving behind a pregnant young groom and a vengeful wife. Corish was Eddie's childhood hero, but Eddie only really gets to know Martin Corish when the chips are down and he faces threats and violence. 
     
    Eddie's search for the blackmailer leads him through an ever-widening web of deceit, envy, murder and the discovery that his parents, long estranged from him, might be involved. 
    Does he let the criminals go, or must he surrender a family secret that will kill his father?
    Show book
  • The Mystery of the Baghdad Chest - A Hercule Poirot Story - cover

    The Mystery of the Baghdad Chest...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Previously published in the print anthology The Regatta Mystery and Other Stories. 
    A beautiful and bewitching woman wants Hercule Poirot's help to exonerate her lover, accused of murdering her husband. The husband's body was found in a chest—now the question is: who put it there?
    Show book
  • Hard Target - cover

    Hard Target

    Alan Jacobson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    National-bestselling author Alan Jacobson returns with a story as fresh as the headlines, a novel—his best in years—that moves him into the thriller writer eliteHard Target by Alan Jacobson is a ticking time bomb that will keep you clinging to the edge of your seat . . . and turning the pages.  An explosion pulverizes the president-elect’s helicopter on election night. It soon becomes clear that the group behind the assassination attempt possesses far greater reach than the FBI Joint Terrorism Task Force has yet encountered—and a plot so deeply interwoven in the country’s fabric that it threatens to upend America’s political system.
    Show book
  • The Jake Fonko Series: Books 4 5 & 6 - Jake Fonko - cover

    The Jake Fonko Series: Books 4 5...

    B. Hesse Pflingger

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The second box set in the popular Jake Fonko series, this special bundle includes three full length novels - over 700 pages of well-researched adventures and thrills - for less than the price of two individual volumes. Fans of George MacDonald Fraser, Ian Fleming and John D. MacDonald will enjoy former Army Ranger turned covert agent Jake Fonko's globe-spanning adventures. 
    Includes: Fonko in the Sun (Book 4), Fonko Bolo (Book 5) and The Mother of All Fonkos (Book 6) 
    Fonko in the Sun (Book 4) - Grand Cayman 1983. When ex-Army Ranger turned soldier of fortune Jake Fonko is hired for a routine job in the Caribbean, the first day of his latest mission doesn’t turn out as planned, with a bloody bank robbery, a barroom shootout, multiple aerial dogfights and a chopper crash in the Jamaican jungle welcoming him to the idyllic islands. Stumbling into possession of highly sensitive financial documents from the BCCI, Jake finds himself pursued relentlessly by crooks, cartels, corrupt politicians and the CIA and KGB. If he wants to survive the beautiful climes, Jake must find a way out of a mess that's anything but routine. But with no passport and no backup, are Jake's training and ironic wit enough to survive the suffocating surveillance? 
    Fonko Bolo (Book 5) - Philippines 1986. After Army Ranger trained soldier of fortune Jake Fonko barely survives a trip to Calcutta, he returns to his Malibu home to recover—only to find an old CIA associate knocking at his door. Communist Philippine rebels threaten critical US military bases in the region, as well one of America's staunchest allies: Ferdinand Marcos. Despite previous problems when working with the agency, Jake accepts the simple mission after being bribed and blackmailed, agreeing to put the communist rebels out of commission. But of course his mission isn’t really that simple—and so Jake must use his training, satirical wit and skills to prevent the rebels from seizing the country and escape the conflict alive.  
      
    The Mother of All Fonkos (Book 6) - Kuwait 1990. When former Army Ranger turned freelance gun-for-hire Jake Fonko receives a cushy "consulting" offer in Kuwait City, he hops a plane and heads out for what he expects will be a relaxing four week stay. But soon after Jake lands, Saddam Hussein’s army blitzkriegs the city, trapping everyone inside. Jake's new job is simple: survive the chaos and escape Kuwait. But playing all the roles required to make it out of the desert alive will tax Jake's training and ironic wit to the breaking point - and Iraqi prisons are hardly hospitable to former American soldiers... 
    For fans of fun, fast-moving adventures, the Jake Fonko series seamlessly blends well-researched 20th century history with equal parts white-knuckle thrills, satirical humor and explosive action. If you like Ian Fleming (Bond), John D. MacDonald (Travis McGee), George MacDonald Fraser (Flashman) or Clive Cussler (Dirk Pitt), you'll enjoy the Jake Fonko series.   
    NOTE: This set contains three standalone novels that can be fully enjoyed without reading any other books in the Jake Fonko series.
    Show book
  • Loving The Biker - The Biker #6 - cover

    Loving The Biker - The Biker #6

    Cassie Alexandra

    • 5
    • 13
    • 0
    Written by USA Today bestselling author Cassie Alexandra. 
    When Detective Terin O’Brien is assigned to an investigation involving the Gold Vipers, she is blind-sided by the strong attraction she has for their newest member, Cole Johnson. Now Terin is caught between wanting Cole behind bars and wanting him as a man, which she knows is wrong, stupid, and above all else… dangerous. 
    This story contains crude language, sexual situations, and violence. Is not suitable for readers under the age of 18. Please do not buy if any of this offends you. This is a work of fiction and is not meant to be a true depiction of a motorcycle club. It was written for entertainment only. 
    Series Order- 
    Resisting The Biker 
    Surviving The Biker 
    Fearing The Biker 
    Breaking The Biker 
    Taming The Biker (Novella) 
     
    Show book
  • Faithful Are the Wounds - A Novel - cover

    Faithful Are the Wounds - A Novel

    May Sarton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A professor’s suicide is the catalyst for this novel about politics and ideals set at Harvard during the 1950s  When Harvard professor Edward Cavan commits suicide by throwing himself under a subway train, his death sets off shock waves both across campus and in the hearts of his loved ones. To Edward’s estranged sister, Isabel, her brother represented the dangers she sought to escape through the security of marriage. His student George Hastings saw in Edward the father he wished he had. Damon Phillips shared Edward’s idealistic beliefs —until his fear of being branded a Communist caused him to betray his friend. And Ivan Goldberg knew Edward as a man who would rather die than compromise his beliefs. Through the eyes of those he touched, Edward comes alive again, and we begin to understand who he is and what he stands for.   With a title that is a metaphor for the embattled lives of 1950s liberals, Faithful Are the Wounds is about what it means to be American and human in a world that can affect us on the most profound spiritual and ideological levels. It is about how much we are willing to sacrifice for our freedom, and what happens when our values are destroyed.
    Show book