Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Cause to Run (An Avery Black Mystery—Book 2) - cover

Cause to Run (An Avery Black Mystery—Book 2)

Blake Pierce

Publisher: Blake Pierce

  • 1
  • 56
  • 0

Summary

“A dynamic story line that grips from the first chapter and doesn't let go.” 
--Midwest Book Review, Diane Donovan (regarding Once Gone) 

From #1 bestselling mystery author Blake Pierce comes a new masterpiece of psychological suspense. 

In CAUSE TO RUN (An Avery Black Mystery—Book 2), a new serial killer is stalking Boston, killing his victims in bizarre ways, taunting the police with mysterious puzzles that reference the stars. As the stakes are upped and the pressure is on, the Boston Police Department is forced to call in its most brilliant—and most controversial—homicide detective: Avery Black.

Avery, still reeling from her last case, finds herself up against a rival precinct and a brilliant, cunning killer who is always one step ahead of her. She is forced to enter his dark, twisted mind as he lays clues for his next killing, and forced to look into places in her own mind she would rather not go. She finds herself compelled to seek the counsel of Howard Randall, the twisted serial killer she’d put behind bars years ago, all while her new burgeoning life with Rose and Ramirez is falling apart.

And just as things cannot get any worse, she finds out something else: she herself may be the target.

In a game of psychological cat and mouse, a frantic race against time leads Avery through a series of shocking and unexpected twists—culminating in climax that even Avery could not imagine. 

A dark psychological thriller with heart-pounding suspense, CAUSE TO RUN is book #2 of a riveting new series—with a beloved new character—that will leave you turning pages late into the night. 

Book #3 in the Avery Black series will be available soon. 

“A masterpiece of thriller and mystery. Pierce did a magnificent job developing characters with a psychological side, so well described that we feel inside their minds, follow their fears and cheer for their success. The plot is very intelligent and will keep you entertained throughout the book. Full of twists, this book will keep you awake until the turn of the last page.” 
--Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Once Gone)

Other books that might interest you

  • Eine Kleine Nacht Maggie - Maggie MacKay: Magical Tracker #9 - cover

    Eine Kleine Nacht Maggie -...

    Kate Danley

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    This Oktoberfest, evil has decided to prove there IS something worse than getting a job wearing a dirndl and being forced to listen to an oompah band all night while serving drunk tourists. 
    Maggie, Killian, and your favorites characters are back to bring down the bad guys... and this time, The M-Team is wearing lederhosen.  
    Prost! 
    WARNING: Contains cussing, brawling, and unladylike behavior.
    Show book
  • Anne Boleyn - A Novel - cover

    Anne Boleyn - A Novel

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 1
    • 9
    • 1
    From the bestselling author of Elizabeth: The love story of Henry Tudor and his queen, the mother of one of Britain’s greatest monarchs. On a lovely midsummer afternoon, Henry Tudor rides to Hever Castle. There, he feasts his eyes on Anne Boleyn, who caught his roving attention at court a few months earlier. Anne is in no mood to receive her king. He has torn from her the one man she loved: Harry Percy, who was forced to marry another. But King Henry VIII is not a man who gives up—the thrill of the chase only excites him more. Yet the woman he desires so passionately is no fool. Educated at the French court, Anne vows that she will not share the fate of her naïve younger sister, Mary, who after bearing Henry a bastard son was cast away and married off to a country squire. No, Anne will settle for nothing less than the crown of England, even if Henry has to break with Rome in order to marry her.   Sixteenth-century history comes thrillingly alive in a novel that features a teeming canvas of iconic real-life characters: Cardinal Thomas Wolsey, the enemy Anne vows to destroy; Henry’s first wife, the proud and pious Queen Catherine of Aragon; and Thomas Cromwell, who engineers Anne’s downfall. From the halcyon early days of courtship to her imprisonment in the palace tower for treason, this is a tale of love, ambition, and the tragic destiny of Anne of the Thousand Days.
    Show book
  • The Poellenberg Inheritance - cover

    The Poellenberg Inheritance

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A woman inherits a legacy of greed, guilt, and deadly danger when her father—a former SS Commander—bequeaths a priceless treasure   Twenty-five years after fleeing Germany, Paul Weiss lives a quiet life in Spain. Throughout his years of exile, he’s kept a single photograph of a three-year-old girl. Now, he will set in motion a series of events that will reunite him with his long-lost daughter.   All Paula Stanley knows about her father is that he was killed in Russia in 1944, his body buried in a frozen wasteland near Stalingrad. Then she gets a call from a stranger. Not only is General Paul Bronsart alive, he wants to bequeath her a priceless treasure he claims was given to him during the war.   It’s called the Poellenberg Salt. For four hundred years, the thirty-six-inch-high gem- and gold-encrusted relic was the most priceless treasure in Germany—and someone else is after it. The matriarch of an aristocratic family whose home was looted by the Nazis also lays claim to the Poellenberg Salt. Culminating in a shocking denouement in Paris, Evelyn Anthony’s The Poellenberg Inheritance is a masterpiece of wartime intrigue and a daughter’s search for her father.  
    Show book
  • No Honor in Death - Siobhan Dunmoore #1 - cover

    No Honor in Death - Siobhan...

    Eric Thomson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    Siobhan Dunmoore was not having a good war.  She's had more ships shot out from under her by the invading Shrehari Empire than any other officer in the Fleet.  Some called her overly aggressive.  Others simply called her reckless.  What the enemy called her was something else altogether.  That she gave the Shrehari a good drubbing along the way didn't matter in the least, because not all her enemies wore an Imperial uniform.  A reputation for bad luck was pretty much the only reputation she had left. 
    Sailing yet another ruined starship home after a near defeat, she wanted nothing more than a long, long rest, because this time, she had escaped by the thinnest of bluffs.  Unfortunately, the Admiralty had other ideas. 
    The frigate Stingray was known as the unluckiest ship in the Fleet and her Captain had just been removed in disgrace for cowardice.  Some in the Admiralty would dearly love to retire the old warhorse.  After all, she was the last of her type left in service, and perhaps it was time to break up the jinx permanently, along with the crew.  But in the midst of an interstellar war, every ship that could fight was needed. 
    In short order, Dunmoore went from staring down the Empire's finest on the bridge of a wrecked battleship to taking on a demoralized, semi-mutinous crew, scheming Admirals and a deadly mystery.  The Stingray's bad luck wasn't just superstition gone rampant.  Between a crew that won't talk, political enemies who want her gone, and her personal demons, she's got her hands full.  Taking the frigate into battle under those conditions would seem foolish to anyone else, but Dunmoore was never one to shrink from a good fight. Failure was not an option, and defeat not an acceptable alternative, for there was no honor in death, only in victory.  She would redeem herself and her ship or be damned for all eternity.
    Show book
  • Murder At Medley Park - A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery #4 - cover

    Murder At Medley Park - A...

    Marilyn Clay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    MURDER AT MEDLEY PARK is Book 4 in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series. What happens when clever young sleuth Miss Juliette Abbott accepts an assignment to catalogue the precious artifacts belonging to the wealthy Lord and Lady Medley at their country estate? First, a stable lad is found murdered, and soon thereafter Lady Medley's entire collection of valuable jewels is discovered missing! Following yet another murder, Juliette is drawn into the mystery when it's noted that she was the last person to see the deceased alive and an item belonging to that person is found in her bedchamber! 
    Juliette has no choice now but to clear her name. Among the suspects on her list include the attractive housekeeper, a prim governess who quotes the Bible while correcting everyone's behavior, a pair of handsome young gentlemen twins, a visiting cousin who has no proof that she truly is a cousin and two meddlesome children who chase kittens. 
    When Juliette receives an ominous threat on her life, she knows time is running out. Can she expose the killer, or will she find her neck in a noose as payment for both the theft and murders at Medley Park? 
    In the tradition of Stephanie Barron and Jane Austen, Marilyn Clay's Regency mystery novels contain no strong language or violence and are suitable for teen readers. 
    If you enjoy the Regency mystery novels of Ashley Gardner, Stephanie Barron, Sheri Cobb South, Alyssa Maxwell, Adele Clee, and Heidi Ashworth, you'll enjoy Marilyn Clay's traditional, clean, and always amusing Regency-set mysteries. 
    Other titles in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series are MURDER AT MORLAND MANOR, MURDER IN MAYFAIR, and MURDER AT MARGATE. 
    Best-selling author MARILYN CLAY has written numerous Regency romances, all originally published in print and now as ebooks. The Wrong Miss Fairfax, Felicity's Folly, Bewitching Lord Winterton, Miss Darby's Debut, Hyde Park Spectacle, Miss Eliza's Gentleman Caller, Brighton Beauty, A Pretty Puzzle, The Uppity Earl, and The Unsuitable Suitor. 
    Look for all of Marilyn Clay's historical suspense novels available from major online retailers!
    Show book
  • Death in Profile - cover

    Death in Profile

    Guy Fraser-Sampson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The genteel façade of London’s Hampstead is shattered by a series of terrifying murders, and the ensuing police hunt is threatened by internal politics, and a burgeoning love triangle within the investigative team. Pressurised by senior officers desperate for a result a new initiative is clearly needed, but what?
     
     
     
    Intellectual analysis and police procedure vie with the gut instinct of ‘copper’s nose’, and help appears to offer itself from a very unlikely source – a famous fictional detective. A psychological profile of the murderer allows the police to narrow down their search, but will Scotland Yard lose patience with the team before they can crack the case?
     
    Praised by fellow authors and readers alike, this is a truly original crime story, speaking to a contemporary audience yet harking back to the Golden Age of detective fiction. Intelligent, quirky and mannered, it has been described as ‘a love letter to the detective novel’. Above it all hovers Hampstead, a magical village evoking the elegance of an earlier time, and the spirit of mystery-solving detectives.
     
     
     
    Guy Fraser-Sampson is an established writer best known for his series of ‘Mapp and Lucia’ novels which have been featured on BBC Radio 4 and optioned by BBC television. This is his debut work of detective fiction, and the first title in the Hampstead Murders series.
    Show book