Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Before He Needs (A Mackenzie White Mystery—Book 5) - cover

Before He Needs (A Mackenzie White Mystery—Book 5)

Blake Pierce

Publisher: Blake Pierce

  • 1
  • 13
  • 0

Summary

From Blake Pierce, bestselling author of ONCE GONE (a #1 bestseller with over 900 five star reviews), comes book #5 in the heart-pounding Mackenzie White mystery series.

In BEFORE HE NEEDS (A Mackenzie White Mystery—Book 5), FBI special agent Mackenzie White finds herself summoned to crack a case she has never encountered before: the victim is not a man or a woman—but a couple. 

The third couple found dead in their homes this month.

As Mackenzie and the FBI scramble to figure out who would want happily-married couples dead, her search takes her deep into a disturbing world and subculture. She quickly learns that all is not what it seems behind the picket fences of perfectly-suburban homes—and that darkness lurks at the edge of even the happiest-seeming families. 

As her hunt morphs into a deadly game of cat-and-mouse, Mackenzie, still struggling to find her own father’s killer, realizes she may be in too deep—and that the killer she seeks may be the most elusive of all: shockingly normal.

A dark psychological thriller with heart-pounding suspense, BEFORE HE NEEDS is book #5 in a riveting new series—with a beloved new character—that will leave you turning pages late into the night. 

Book #6 in the Mackenzie White Mystery series will be available soon.

Other books that might interest you

  • The The Adventures of Inspector Canal - cover

    The The Adventures of Inspector...

    Bruce Fink

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Psychoanalysts make the best detectives! When it comes to divining motives, deciphering ambiguous pronouncements, detecting delusions, and foiling the tricks memory plays, famed French analyst Jacques Lacan - turned self-proclaimed retired Inspector Quesjac Canal - is second to none (apologies to Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot, Edgar Allen Poe's Dupin, and Umberto Eco's William of Baskerville). Reluctantly drawn into helping hapless New York City police detectives with crimes reported by luminaries like Rolland Saalem, music director of the New York Philharmonic Orchestra, and involving prominent personages like Tobias Trickler, Mayor of New York City, and Sandra Errand, Vice-President for North American sales at YVEH Distributors of Spirits, Canal solves cases that are anything but what they appear to be and mends tears of the heart and soul at the same time.
    Show book
  • Thrown Down - A Manchester crime thriller featuring DSI Jeff Barton - cover

    Thrown Down - A Manchester crime...

    David Menon

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A former IRA terrorist is murdered in the Manchester flat he's lived in since he was released from prison. The next day the son of one of his victims is also murdered and it looks like he was expecting his killer. Meanwhile, on the other side of the world in Melbourne, Australia, a seemingly ordinary suburban housewife with three grown up children is 'outed' as a former member of the IRA Army Council who was the sister of the murdered IRA terrorist. But why was she outed? And by who?
    
     
    DSI Jeff Barton has his work cut out when the sectarian troubles of 1970's Northern Ireland are brought into contemporary Manchester life and old wounds surface that were buried long ago. Jeff and his team battle with special branch over information that could help his investigations and added to that a member of the Victoria state police is sent over to Manchester to assist Jeff's team. But whilst they provide him with a welcome personal diversion he risks everything in the final denouement to bring the right suspects to justice in an ever complicated investigation.
    Show book
  • The Night Thief - cover

    The Night Thief

    Barbara Fradkin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Simple country handyman Cedric O’Toole relies on his organic vegetable garden to supplement his meager income, so he’s upset when vegetables begin disappearing. After several futile attempts to protect the garden, he stakes it out one night with his shotgun and spots a shadowy figure running into the woods. Cedric follows and finds a young boy living rough on his land. The boy has never been taught to read or write, and no one has reported him missing. No stranger to childhood neglect himself, Cedric takes the boy under his wing and tries to find answers. Who is the mystery boy, and why is he hiding in the woods? The Night Thief is the third novel in a series featuring reluctant sleuth Cedric O’Toole.
    Show book
  • Yesterday's Murder - cover

    Yesterday's Murder

    Craig Rice

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the author of the John J. Malone Mysteries: An estranged relative becomes heir to a Chesapeake Bay fortune—and his family’s ghostly history.   If it hadn’t been for his great-uncle Philip, David Telefair would’ve grown up unwanted, forlorn, and poverty stricken in a New England parsonage. But for twenty years, David’s generous benefactor paid for his education, yearly summer camps, living expenses as he grew older, and any amenities he ever needed. Odd that David had never spoken to him in his entire life. Odder still that after all this time, the aging Philip has now extended an invitation for David to meet him at his isolated estate on Telefair Island in the Chesapeake.   From the moment David arrives, something feels . . . off. First was the local minister’s daughter’s queer way of describing David’s visit: inevitable; then the unaccountable loathing in the eyes of a Telefair servant; and finally a perilously pale female cousin who welcomes David with a warning: “You ought never to have come.” This is less a family reunion than an ingeniously designed trap of murder, madness, and nasty family secrets.   This stand-alone novel by Craig Rice, the first mystery writer ever to appear on the cover of Time magazine, is “an incredible tale . . . where ghosts still pull the strings of human lives, where revenge and hate outlast a generation and punishment is insidiously prolonged . . . a haunting sense of impending gloom” (Kirkus Reviews).  
    Show book
  • The Innocent - A Ryan Lock Crime Thriller - cover

    The Innocent - A Ryan Lock Crime...

    Sean Black

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The series that's perfect for fans of Robert Crais, Harlan Coben, Gregg Hurwitz, Lee Child and James Patterson's Private series."It's not the crime that kills you – it's the cover-up."When college basketball coach Malik Shaw goes missing after a family tragedy, it looks like just another retired athlete gone off the rails. But Malik's childhood friend, private security specialist Ty Johnson, quickly begins to suspect that there is more to it.Chasing the truth, Ty, along with his business partner, Ryan Lock, begin to uncover a sinister conspiracy of silence in a sleepy Minnesota college town."Sean Black writes like a punch to the gut." – Jesse Kellerman"The heir apparent to Lee Child." – Ken Bruen
    Show book
  • Evil Behind That Door - cover

    Evil Behind That Door

    Barbara Fradkin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When softhearted handyman Cedric O'Toole agrees to help Barry Mitchell renovate his farmhouse, he finds himself facing old fears. Not only did Mitchell bully Cedric all through school, but his life has been troubled ever since. Now, just out of prison, he's broke and his parents have gone missing, leaving a cloud of suspicion hanging over his head. But when Barry warns him not to touch the boarded-up door in the cellar, the ever-curious Cedric can't resist. The small storage room, obviously unused in years, contains jars of preserves, barrels of dried apples and a pile of small bones. As he sets out to discover who died and how, Cedric uncovers a tale of violence, deception and abuse. And he learns just how far Barry will go to keep a tragic family secret from coming to light.
    Show book