Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
A Trace of Murder (A Keri Locke Mystery--Book #2) - cover

A Trace of Murder (A Keri Locke Mystery--Book #2)

Blake Pierce

Publisher: Blake Pierce

  • 3
  • 36
  • 0

Summary

“A dynamic story line that grips from the first chapter and doesn't let go.”
--Midwest Book Review, Diane Donovan (regarding Once Gone)

From #1 bestselling mystery author Blake Pierce comes a new masterpiece of psychological suspense.

In A TRACE OF MURDER (Book #2 in the Keri Locke mystery series), Keri Locke, Missing Persons Detective in the Homicide division of the LAPD, remains haunted by the abduction of her own daughter. Encouraged by the new lead that has landed, the first in years, she pursues it with all that she has, determined to find her daughter and bring her back alive.

Yet Keri, at the same time, receives a phone call from a frantic husband, a famed Beverly Hills plastic surgeon, who reports that his wife has been missing for two days. A wealthy socialite with no enemies and little reason to leave her life, he fears the worst has become of his wife.

Keri takes on the case, assigned a new partner whom she hates, as Ray still recovers in the hospital. Her investigation leads her deep into the elite Beverly Hills world of the idle rich, to encounters with lonely housewives, and those with shopping-addicted, empty lives. Keri, in over her head in this world, becomes increasingly puzzled by the conflicting signals: did this woman, with a stalker and a lurid, secret past, run away, or was she abducted?

Or did something far more sinister happen?

A dark psychological thriller with heart-pounding suspense, A TRACE OF MURDER is book #2 in a riveting new series—and a beloved new character—that will leave you turning pages late into the night.

“A masterpiece of thriller and mystery! The author did a magnificent job developing characters with a psychological side that is so well described that we feel inside their minds, follow their fears and cheer for their success. The plot is very intelligent and will keep you entertained throughout the book. Full of twists, this book will keep you awake until the turn of the last page.”
--Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Once Gone)

Book #3 in the Keri Locke series will be available soon.

Other books that might interest you

  • Toxic Gossip - Brief Case - cover

    Toxic Gossip - Brief Case

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Falconer short story in a more sombre mood.
    
    DI Falconer becomes involved in a gossip-fuelled hate crime, only to find himself questioning his own judgement when it comes to protecting Miriam Darling from her anonymous persecutors …
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Stella Cameron

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book
  • Dark Undertakings - cover

    Dark Undertakings

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE BESTSELLING COTSWOLD MYSTERIES SERIES 
    Fifty-five-year-old Jim Lapsford makes an unusually healthy-looking corpse. A life-long devotee of vitamin pills and herbal remedies, it seems almost ironic that he has succumbed to a heart attack. His GP is convinced that this is the case but trainee undertaker Drew Slocombe isn't so sure and he is convinced that there is enough conflicting medical evidence to merit a coroner's inquest at least. And then there's Jim's personal life: in addition to a long suffering wife, two sons and a grieving terrier, Jim appears to have left behind a series of scorned mistresses. 
    It seems everyone else is happy enough to accept the doctor's verdict and Drew shouldn't really rock the boat, but can he really turn his back on murder? Even so, Drew may have plenty of suspects but he has no proof. And Jim's cremation is days away...
    Show book
  • New Orleans Requiem - cover

    New Orleans Requiem

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A serial killer is at large in this “ingenious” New Orleans–set mystery “for those who like their lab talk down and dirty” (Kirkus Reviews).   Portly New Orleans chief medical examiner Andy Broussard and sprightly criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn have dealt with strange murders before—but they’ve never faced a calculating killer who knows their every move. A pair of fatal stabbings are linked by Scrabble tiles left on the bodies of the victims. Someone’s trying to send a message—and Broussard knows it’s meant for him.   Whoever’s behind the slayings is clearly an expert in forensics, perhaps even a former rival of Broussard’s. Forced to play a deadly battle of wits against a brilliant opponent, he and Franklyn must use every bit of their knowledge—and courage—if they hope to stop the killer’s final play.   With “lots of Louisiana color, pinpoint plotting and two highly likable characters,” this is a fast-paced thriller full of Southern flavor you won’t soon forget (Publishers Weekly).
    Show book
  • Night Prayers - cover

    Night Prayers

    Santiago Gamboa

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    A thrilling literary novel about crime and corruption in Latin America told in alternating voices and perspectives, Night Prayers is the story of Manuel, a Colombian philosophy student arrested in Bangkok and accused of drug trafficking. Unless he enters a guilty plea he will almost certainly be sentenced to death. But it is not his own death that weighs most heavily on him but a tender longing for his sister, Juana, whom he hasn't seen for years. Before he dies he wants nothing more than to be reunited with her. Fans of both Roberto Bolaño and Gabriel García Márquez will find much to admire in this story about the mean streets of Bogotá, the sordid bordellos of Thailand, and a love between siblings that knows no end. As a boy, Manuel was a dreamer, a lover of literature, and a tagger. His sister Juana made a promise to do everything in her power to protect him from the drug-and violence-infested streets of Bogotá. She decided to take him as far from Colombia as possible, and in order to raise the money to do so, she went to work as a high-priced escort and entered into contact with the dangerous world of corrupt politicians. When things spun out of control she was forced to flee, leaving her beloved brother behind. Juana and Manuel's story reaches the ears of the Colombian counsel general in New Delhi, and he tracks down Juana, now married to a rich Japanese man, in Tokyo. The counsel general takes it upon himself to reunite the two siblings—a feat that may be beyond his power. With the stylishness that has earned him a reputation as one of "the most important Colombian writers" (Manuel Vázquez Montalbán), Santiago Gamboa lends his story a driving, irresistible rhythm.From the Trade Paperback edition.
    Show book
  • Dangerous Games - cover

    Dangerous Games

    Erin Lee

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    You can’t pick your kin or the risky games they play. Every family has its secrets but for Elise Reddick, entangled roots have turned deadly; leaving her torn between twisted memories and cold realities. 
    Estranged from her family of origin after a horrific crime, Elise tries to move on in the tiny town of Red Leaf while under investigation for her ex boyfriend’s murder. There, she forms new relationships and encounters more lies as she slowly unravels the truth behind her pedigree. 
    With the help of friends Marcus and Sylvia Bromsley, Elise has two choices – to allow her family to destroy her or to call checkmate. 
    But friends have secrets too. Sometimes, they even play games and loyalties are tested. Now tangled in her new friends’ worlds, trust more complicated than she ever anticipated. 
    Families, after all, are very twisted things. And friendships, too, can be dangerous.
    Show book