Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
Mozart in the Jungle - Sex Drugs and Classical Music - cover

Mozart in the Jungle - Sex Drugs and Classical Music

Blair Tindall

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 17
  • 0

Summary

In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland’s Dancing on My Grave, Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael García Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician—from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions— working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

Other books that might interest you

  • Animation Development - From Pitch to Production - cover

    Animation Development - From...

    David B. Levy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Whether a novice curious about the cartoon production process, a visual arts student who has not yet experienced that big break, or a seasoned professional looking for valuable insight, Animation Development is the go-to guide for creating the perfect pitch. David Levy has been through every aspect of the pitching process--preparation, hope, rejection, success--and now he wraps up his valuable experience to deliver this comprehensive guide on the industry and process. Animation Development will help readers discover how to tap into their creativity to develop something personal yet universal, push projects through collaborations and partnerships, set up pitch meetings, get legal representation and agents, and manage the emotional roller-coaster common to the pitching and development process.Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
    Show book
  • Fantasy World of Bettie Page #3 - cover

    Fantasy World of Bettie Page #3

    Michael Frizell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This issue: Bettie Page fights alone! Trapped in the enemy stronghold, Bettie must use all her acquired skills and singular charm to obtain the information necessary to prevent war with Russia and to stay alive! Meanwhile, Colonel Vetrov’s plan nears fruition, and the Red Menace is born!
    Show book
  • Knives & Ink - Chefs and the Stories Behind Their Tattoos (with Recipes) - cover

    Knives & Ink - Chefs and the...

    Wendy MacNaughton, Isaac Fitzgerald

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    From the authors of Pen & Ink--New York Times bestselling illustrator Wendy MacNaughton and BuzzFeed books editor Isaac Fitzgerald--the stories behind the tattoos that chefs proudly wear, with their signature recipes. 
     
    Winner of the International Association of Culinary Professionals [IACP] Cookbook Design Award. 
     
    Chefs take their tattoos almost as seriously as their knives. From gritty grill cooks in backwoods diners to the executive chefs at the world's most popular restaurants, it's hard to find a cook who doesn't sport some ink. Knives & Ink features the tattoos of more than sixty-five chefs from all walks of life and every kind of kitchen, including 2014 James Beard Award-winner Jamie Bissonnette, Alaska-fishing-boat cook Mandy Lamb, Toro Bravo's John Gorham, and many more. Each tattoo has a rich, personal story behind it: Danny Bowien of Mission Chinese Food remembers his mother with fiery angel wings on his forearms, and Dominique Crenn of Michelin two-starred Atelier Crenn bears ink that reminds her to do "anything in life that you put your heart into.†? Like the dishes these chefs have crafted over the years, these tattoos are beautiful works of art. Knives & Ink delves into the wide and wonderful world of chef tattoos and shares their fascinating backstories, along with personal recipes from many of the chefs.
    Show book
  • Twelve Lessons on Breathing and Breath Control - For Singers Speakers and Teachers - cover

    Twelve Lessons on Breathing and...

    George E. Thorp

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This vintage book contains a detailed guide to the various breathing techniques employed by singers and public speakers. Written in simple, clear language and full of useful information, this timeless handbook is highly recommended for modern readers with a practical interest in singing. Contents include: "In Breathing", "A Study of the Movement in Ordinary Inspiration", "In Breathing", "The Parts of the Act of Inspiration", "In Breathing-The Backward Expansion", "In Breathing-The Forward Expansion", "In Breathing-The Upward Expansion", "In Breathing-The Upward Movement of the Chest, continued", "Power", "Breath Control", et cetera. Many vintage books such as this are increasingly scarce and expensive. Originally published in 1896, we are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition.
    Show book
  • Singing and posture postural and osteopathic principles for singers - cover

    Singing and posture postural and...

    Mauro Banfi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A book dedicated to students and professional singers interested in a funcional perspective of the daily practice of singing.
    It rediscovers the often forgotten micro mobilities of the body, which are very useful for artists, by not considering posture as a static concept.
    It is not a manual of vocal technique but it is a text aimed at improving the “body posture for a good voice “.
    It’s dedicated to teachers and students who want to explore these topics with particular attention to the most frequent problems occurring to singers.
    It also proposes exercises and pratical prevention in support of the artistic training.
    Mauro Banfi, Osteopath and Physioterapist is specialised on the treatement of performing artists. His approach rapresents the updated result of practical experimentation, workshops, masterclasses for choirs , vocal groups , music schools and conservatories in over twenty years of experience.
    Show book