Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Mozart in the Jungle - Sex Drugs and Classical Music - cover

Mozart in the Jungle - Sex Drugs and Classical Music

Blair Tindall

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 1
  • 20
  • 0

Summary

In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland’s Dancing on My Grave, Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael García Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician—from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions— working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

Other books that might interest you

  • Greece Beauty Through Watercolors - cover

    Greece Beauty Through Watercolors

    Daniyal Martina

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
     Greece Beauty Through Watercolors
     
    A wonderful collection of watercolor paintings of this beautiful country, showcasing the sublime and amazing sites through the beauty of the brush stroke…Get it now!
    Show book
  • Herding Cats - A Sarah's Scribbles Collection - cover

    Herding Cats - A Sarah's...

    Sarah Andersen

    • 2
    • 9
    • 0
    ". . . author Sarah Andersen uses hilarious (and adorable) comics to illustrate the very specific growing pains that occur on your way to becoming a mature, put-together grownup. Andersen’s spot-on illustrations also show how to navigate this newfound adulthood once you arrive, since maturity is equally as hard to maintain as it is to find … "--The Huffington PostSarah valiantly struggles with waking up in the morning, being productive, and dealing with social situations. Sarah's Scribbles is the comic strip that follows her life, finding humor in living as an adulting introvert that is at times weird, awkward, and embarrassing. 
    Show book
  • African Wildlife In Watercolors - cover

    African Wildlife In Watercolors

    Daniyal Martina

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    African Wildlife In Watercolors
     
    Art touches the soul...and sometimes the only way to truly appreciate a spectacle is to see it through the lens of a canvas...
     
    The animals of Africa are magnificent creatures, full of life and personality, and that beauty becomes something sublime when they are viewed through the brush stroke...there is something magical about experiencing the wonder of these amazing animals through the gorgeous layers of watercolors...
     
    Experience this amazing power yourself with this amazing book...Get it now!
    Show book
  • Alina: Volume II - cover

    Alina: Volume II

    Sheba Blake

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    This adult photo book features sweet teen Alina. This book is for ADULTS only. It features 55 high-resolution nude photos that are not censored or edited. You will be VERY PLEASED with your purchase if you are a fan of young naked women who are happy to show off for the camera! Our girls love to play with themselves, by hand and with toys. They all have a bunch of pictures that they would love to show you... You will get so hard from viewing these women pleasuring themselves. Trust me, you won't regret it... These girls are getting down & dirty, and it's available for you in a gallery of wild pictures. Our girls pose in some of the most erotic photos ever! All photos are of the model on the cover is 18 years or older.
    Show book
  • The Calligrapher's Business Handbook - Pricing & Policies for Lettering Artists - cover

    The Calligrapher's Business...

    Molly Suber Thorpe

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Calligrapher’s Business Handbook is a guide to best business practices and pricing strategies for calligraphers and lettering artists. Whether you’re starting out in creative freelancing, transitioning from a different profession, or running a lettering business that just needs a boost, you will welcome the invaluable ideas in this handbook. Award-winning graphic designer, renowned calligrapher, and bestselling author of Modern Calligraphy, Molly Suber Thorpe shares her hard-earned insights to answer your most pressing business questions. 
    Molly has packed these pages with advice you won’t find anywhere else, covering a range of topics for freelance calligraphers and hand lettering artists:
    
    	How professional calligraphers charge for their services
    	Whether to charge flat rates or hourly rates
    	When – and how – to offer discounts or freebies
    	How to charge for commercial work, such as logo designs
    	How to get the most bang for your advertising budget 
    	What goes into a fair project contract
    	How to navigate copyright licensing and know your rights!
    Show book
  • Between the Scenes - What Every Film Director Writer and Editor Should Know About Scene Transitions - cover

    Between the Scenes - What Every...

    Jeffrey Michael Bays

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Between the Scenes delivers a fresh approach to film directing, screenwriting, and editing. Once you’ve got your scenes planned out, this book steps in by shifting your focus to how your individual sequences and scenes connect to each other. You’ll find new ways to create emotional feelings in your audience. From location choices, to character movement between scenes, to the use of music, scene transitions are where the meat is in your story, and now you’ll discover a new pallet of creative possibilities.
    Show book