Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Red and Me - My Coach My Lifelong Friend - cover

Red and Me - My Coach My Lifelong Friend

Bill Russell, Alan Steinberg

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“Bill Russell was the greatest team basketball player ever….[He] has produced a moving tribute to his friend and, in a larger sense, to friendship.”—Booklist  In Red and Me, Boston Celtics basketball legend Bill Russell pays homage to his mentor and coach, the inimitable Red Auerbach. A poignant remembrance of a life-altering relationship in the tradition of Big Russ and Me and Tuesdays With Morrie, Red and Me tells an unforgettable story of one unlikely and enduring friendship set against the backdrop of the greatest basketball dynasty in NBA history.

Who read this book also read:

  • As Bad as They Say? - Three Decades of Teaching in the Bronx - cover

    As Bad as They Say? - Three...

    Janet Mayer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rundown, vermin-infested buildings. Rigid, slow-to-react bureaucratic systems. Children from broken homes and declining communities. How can a teacher succeed? How does a student not only survive but also come to thrive? It can happen, and As Bad as They Say? tells the heroic stories of Janet Mayer’s students during her 33-year tenure as a Bronx high school teacher.
    
    In 1995, Janet Mayer’s students began a pen-pal exchange with South African teenagers who, under apartheid, had been denied an education; almost uniformly, the South Africans asked, “Is the Bronx as bad as they say?” This dedicated teacher promised those students and all future ones that she would write a book to help change the stereotypical image of Bronx students and show that, in spite of overwhelming obstacles, they are outstanding young people, capable of the highest achievements.
    
    She walks the reader through the decrepit school building, describing in graphic detail the deplorable physical conditions that students and faculty navigate daily. Then, in eight chapters we meet eight amazing young people, a small sample of the more than 14,000 students the writer has felt honored to teach.
    
    She describes her own Bronx roots and the powerful influences that made her such a determined teacher. Finally, the veteran teacher sounds the alarm to stop the corruption and degradation of public education in the guise of what are euphemistically labeled “reforms” (No Child Left Behind and Race to the Top). She also expresses optimism that public education and our democracy can still be saved, urgently calling on all to become involved and help save our schools.
    Show book
  • James Bond: The Authorised Biography - cover

    James Bond: The Authorised...

    John Pearson

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    James Bond has graced our bookshelves and screens for over fifty years. The martini-drinking, super-smooth character has become an icon and national treasure. Like most of the many million James Bond fans around the world, John Pearson assumed that the world's most famous spy was no more than a figment of Fleming's highly charged imagination. Then he began to have his doubts. He finally became convinced that James Bond was not only real but alive and well in Bermuda. With candour, Bond began to recount the story of his life to Pearson, revealing the most amazing series of adventures only hinted at in Ian Fleming's novels. This sensational biography promises to show a side of Bond never seen before.
    Show book
  • Don't You Know Who I Think I Am? - Confessions of a First-Class Asshole - cover

    Don't You Know Who I Think I Am?...

    Justin Ross Lee

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Who is JRL?
    
    How dare you not know! Justin Ross Lee is a completely self-created, self-inflated Internet celebrity; “Jew Jetter”; and social media virtuoso. When he’s not causing trouble on Bravo or headlining VH1, you’ll find Justin having red-carpet run-ins with A-list celebrities, getting blacklisted from airlines and nightclubs, and monopolizing the tabloid pages with his boisterous bad-boy behavior. Famous for being famous? He’s famous for telling you he’s famous.
    
    So how did this privileged prick from Scarsdale become a jet-setting, luxury-loving, travel-hacking aristo-brat with an army of followers on social media? Don’t worry, JRL is here to tell you. Love him or loathe him—he doesn’t care—he promises to make you laugh so hard you’ll cry, whether it’s at him or with him. Is this book satire or the instructional manual for the modern narcissist? Either way, Don’t You Know Who I Think I Am? is a story of how one man was dubbed “The ego that attacked NYC” by the New York Post and what that man can teach you so you’ll never have to wait in line again.
    Show book
  • Can't Forgive - My 20-Year Battle with OJ Simpson - cover

    Can't Forgive - My 20-Year...

    Kim Goldman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Don’t tell her she needs to find closure. Don’t ask her to forgive and forget.When Kim was just 22, her older brother, Ron Goldman, was brutally killed by O.J. Simpson. Ron and Kim were very close, and her devastation was compounded by the shocking not guilty verdict that allowed a smirking Simpson to leave as a free man.It wasn’t Kim’s first trauma. Her parents divorced when she was young, and she and Ron were raised by their father.  Her mother kidnapped her, telling her that her father didn’t love her any more. When she was 14, she was almost blinded from severe battery acid burns on her face during an automobile accident, requiring three reconstructive surgeries.But none of these early traumas compared to the loss of her brother, the painful knowledge that his killer was free, and fact that she could not even grieve privately—her grief was made painfully public. Counseled by friends, strangers, and even Oprah to “find closure,” Kim chose a different route. She chose to fight.Repeatedly, Kim and her family pursued Simpson by every legal means. Foiled over and over again, they ultimately achieved a small measure of justice.Kim’s story is one of tragedy, but also of humanity and, often, comedy. Living life as one of America’s most famous “victims” isn’t always easy, especially as a single mother in the dating market. She often had bizarre first date experiences, with one man even breaking down into tears and inconsolable with grief after realizing who she was.Ultimately Kim’s story is that of an ordinary person thrown into extraordinary circumstances at a very young age, and who had the courage—despite the discouragement of so many—to ignore the conventional wisdom and never give up her fight for justice.
    Show book
  • 15 Minutes: All in the Reality Family: RuPaul Honey Boo Boo Kim Kardashian Sharon Osbourne & Kris Jenner Vol 1 #1 - cover

    15 Minutes: All in the Reality...

    Troy Michael

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "15 Minutes" is a brand new series brought to you by Bluewater Productions that will focus on reality stars. These celebrities, for better or for worse, have grabbed onto the attention of millions of people around the world. This special edition features the biographies of the 1st ladies of reality television, RuPaul, Honey Boo Boo, Kim Kardashian, Sharon Osbourne & Kris Jenner.
    Show book
  • I'm Walking as Straight as I Can - Transcending Disability in Hollywood and Beyond - cover

    I'm Walking as Straight as I Can...

    Geri Jewell, Ted Nichelson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Exposing real pain, unstoppable perseverance, and unquestionable faith in the human spirit, this autobiography offers a true glimpse beyond the one-dimensional, hero image often associated with actress Geri Jewell. Born with cerebral palsy, Jewell made history when she became the first person with a disability cast in a recurring role on American television in The Facts of Life, and in the years that followed she experienced a string of other successes, including a performance at the White House in 1985 and a role on HBO's Deadwood series. Along with Jewell's accomplishments, this personal story also depicts some of the less-than-rosy events that happened behind closed doors during her initial climb to fame — among them, her release from The Facts of Life, her manager's embezzlement of the money she made on the show, and her struggle with chronic pain, despair, and a fear of revealing her true sexual identity. Told with grace and humor, this inspirational narrative presents an honest portrayal of a woman who refused to give up when others kept knocking her down.
    Show book