Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Red and Me - My Coach My Lifelong Friend - cover

Red and Me - My Coach My Lifelong Friend

Bill Russell, Alan Steinberg

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“Bill Russell was the greatest team basketball player ever….[He] has produced a moving tribute to his friend and, in a larger sense, to friendship.”—Booklist  In Red and Me, Boston Celtics basketball legend Bill Russell pays homage to his mentor and coach, the inimitable Red Auerbach. A poignant remembrance of a life-altering relationship in the tradition of Big Russ and Me and Tuesdays With Morrie, Red and Me tells an unforgettable story of one unlikely and enduring friendship set against the backdrop of the greatest basketball dynasty in NBA history.

Who read this book also read:

  • Ron Jeremy - The Life and Times of a Porn Star - cover

    Ron Jeremy - The Life and Times...

    Ron Jeremy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    He's the porn world's Everyman. Blessed with an enormous "talent" yet average looks, he's starred in more than 1,700 adult films, directed 250 of them, and over the last twenty years has become porn's biggest ambassador to the mainstream. He's appeared in 60 regular films, 14 music videos, and VH1's Surreal Life, starred in the critically acclaimed Porn star (a movie about his life), and in Being Ron Jeremy (a take off on Being John Malkovich), co-starring Andy Dick. And that's just the tip of the iceberg. . . .  
    Ron Jeremy is a born storyteller (funny, considering he doesn't do a lot of talking in his films). He knows where all the bodies are buried, and in this outrageous autobiography he not only shows you the grave but also gives you the back story on the tombstone. Get ready for Ron Jeremy—a scandalously entertaining deep insider's view of the porn industry and its emergence into popular culture, and a delectable self-portrait of the amazingly endowed Everyman every man wanted to be.
    Show book
  • Conversations with Michael Jackson Who Killed Michael? - cover

    Conversations with Michael...

    Ronald Ritter, Sussan Evermore

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Michael Jackson is undoubtedly one of the most recognizable and iconic figures of the twentieth century. A musical genius of song, sound and dance with each period of his life identifiable by its own creative ground breaking style. If you were on planet earth from the early sixties to the late nineties you were influenced by the culture that was Michael Jackson, his trademark Moon Walk, white glove and iconic songs made him one of the most recognizable musical personalities. His influence as a cultural icon extended beyond the music and dance, he became part of what we identified as popular culture.
    
    Then came the public unwrapping of Michael Jackson the person, his obsession with his lost childhood, relationship and marriage to Lisa Marie Presley followed by his second marriage to Debbie Rowe. Accusations of child abuse and court cases came and went. His children were born and he began a slow retirement into an older Michael. However this was not to be the end of Michael's career as 2009 brought him a whole new possibility to rectify his financial decline, signing to perform fifty plus tour dates in England and Europe.
    
    Unexpectedly Michael died on 25th June 2009 aged fifty, three weeks prior to the commencement of his 'This Is It' tour in England and Europe. His personal physician Doctor Conrad Murray was unable to resuscitate him, eventually being charged and convicted of involuntary manslaughter, receiving the maximum prison sentence of four years.
    
    Michael will undoubtedly be remembered as the greatest entertainer in the history of popular music eclipsing all the legends such as Elvis Presley, The Rolling Stones and those before him.
    
    So much has been written about Michael's life that most of the facts are available to view, what remains are the unanswered questions to his life.
    
    Who killed Michael Jackson?
    Who are the real mother and father of Michael's children?
    We will give you all the answers from the source, Michael Jackson.
    Show book
  • The Pink Marine - cover

    The Pink Marine

    Greg Cope White

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "A great story beautifully told-surprising, funny, courageous and inspiring." David Hyde Pierce 
     
    "Greg is as inspirational as he is hilarious--I love this book!" Margaret Cho, Comedienne (Dr. Ken, Drop Dead Diva) 
    "White recalls the grueling yet confidence-building three-month Marine Corps boot camp training he endured as a still-closeted teenager in 1979. "I learned that I had to respect myself if I wanted others to respect me." The author demonstrates that respect and delivers a heartening coming-of-age story, an inspiring memoir that displays a balanced, surprisingly reverent view of the Marine Corps and military service." Kirkus Reviews  
     
    "This is the story of how, through pure gumption, a most unlikely Marine candidate rises to the occasion to show his true colors!" Jane Lynch, Actress (Glee, Hollywood Game Night, Angel From Hell) 
    When Greg Cope White’s best friend tells him he is spending his summer in Marine Corps boot camp, all Greg hears is “summer” and “camp.” 
    Despite dire warnings from his friend, Greg vows to join him in recruit training. He is eighteen, underweight, he’s never run a mile—and he is gay. 
    It’s 1979—long before Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell, the Supreme Court marriage equality ruling, and with no LGBT rights in place in most states, and the Marines having a very definite expulsion policy in place for gay people when it comes to military personnel, will Greg even survive?  
    The Pink Marine is the story—full of hilarity and heartbreak—of how a teenage boy who struggles with self-acceptance and his sexuality and doesn’t fit the traditional definition of manliness finds acceptance and self-worth in Marine Corps boot camp. 
    Show book
  • The Health Gap - The Challenge of an Unequal World - cover

    The Health Gap - The Challenge...

    Michael Marmot

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In Baltimore's inner-city neighborhood of Upton/Druid Heights, a man's life expectancy is sixty-three; not far away, in the Greater Roland Park/Poplar neighborhood, life expectancy is eighty-three. The same twenty-year avoidable disparity exists in the Calton and Lenzie neighborhoods of Glasgow, and in other cities around the world. 
     
    In Sierra Leone, one in 21 fifteen-year-old women will die in her fertile years of a maternal-related cause; in Italy, the figure is one in 17,100; but in the United States, which spends more on healthcare than any other country in the world, it is one in 1,800. Why? 
     
    Dramatic differences in health are not a simple matter of rich and poor; poverty alone doesn't drive ill health, but inequality does. Indeed, suicide, heart disease, lung disease, obesity, and diabetes, for example, are all linked to social disadvantage. In every country, people at relative social disadvantage suffer health disadvantage and shorter lives. Within countries, the higher the social status of individuals, the better their health. These health inequalities defy the usual explanations. Conventional approaches to improving health have emphasized access to technical solutions and changes in the behavior of individuals, but these methods only go so far. What really makes a difference is creating the conditions for people to have control over their lives, to have the power to live as they want. Empowerment is the key to reducing health inequality and thereby improving the health of everyone. Marmot emphasizes that the rate of illness of a society as a whole determines how well it functions; the greater the health inequity, the greater the dysfunction. 
     
    Marmot underscores that we have the tools and resources materially to improve levels of health for individuals and societies around the world, and that to not do so would be a form of injustice.  Citing powerful examples and startling statistics ("young men in the U.S. have less chance of surviving to sixty than young men in forty-nine other countriesÂ??), The Health Gap presents compelling evidence for a radical change in the way we think about health and indeed society, and inspires us to address the societal imbalances in power, money, and resources that work against health equity.
    Show book
  • Hef's Little Black Book - cover

    Hef's Little Black Book

    Bill Zehme, Hugh M. Hefner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Nearly six decades ago, Hugh Marston Hefner created Playboy magazine, which effectively ignited America’s sexual revolution. The greatest living symbol of the Good Life, Hef created a world for himself that most men have yearned to inhabit, if only briefly, just to know what it’s like to be him. In Hef ’s Little Black Book, this universally envied international icon offers a treasury of his often wry and heartfelt wisdom as it applies to the realms of romance, hedonism, ambition, business—and, of course, sex.  
    Accompanied by tantalizing never-before-seen photographs from his vast private archive, Hef ’s Little Black Book is the gateway to Hugh Hefner’s irresistibly beguiling world. If you don’t swing, don’t ring—lingerie and pajamas optional.
    Show book
  • Model Woman - Eileen Ford and the Business of Beauty - cover

    Model Woman - Eileen Ford and...

    Robert Lacey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A revealing, no-holds-barred portrait of the legendary Eileen Ford—the entrepreneur who transformed the business of modeling and helped invent the celebrity supermodel. 
    Working with her husband, Jerry, Eileen Ford created the twentieth century’s largest and most successful modeling agency, representing some of the fashion world’s most famous names—Suzy Parker, Carmen Dell’Orefice, Lauren Hutton, Rene Russo, Christie Brinkley, Jerry Hall, Christy Turlington, and Naomi Campbell. Her relentless ambition turned the business of modeling into one of the most glamorous and desired professions, helping to convert her stable of beautiful faces into millionaire superstars. 
    Model Woman chronicles the Ford Modeling Agency’s meteoric rise to the top of the fashion and beauty business, and paints a vibrant portrait of the uncompromising woman at its helm in all her glittering, tyrannical brilliance. Outspoken and controversial, Ford was never afraid to offend in defense of her stringent standards. When she chose, she could deliver hauteur in the grand tradition of fashion’s battle-axes, from Coco Chanel to Diana Vreeland—just ask John Casablancas or Janice Dickinson. But she was also a shrewd businesswoman with a keen eye for talent and a passion for serving her clients. 
    Drawing on more than four years of intensive interviews with Ford and her intimates, associates, and rivals, as well as exclusive access to agency documents and memorabilia, Robert Lacey weaves an unforgettable tale of a determined entrepreneur and the empire she built—a story of beauty, ambition, business, and popular culture as powerful and complex as the woman at its center.
    Show book