Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Red and Me - My Coach My Lifelong Friend - cover

Red and Me - My Coach My Lifelong Friend

Bill Russell, Alan Steinberg

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

“Bill Russell was the greatest team basketball player ever….[He] has produced a moving tribute to his friend and, in a larger sense, to friendship.”—Booklist  In Red and Me, Boston Celtics basketball legend Bill Russell pays homage to his mentor and coach, the inimitable Red Auerbach. A poignant remembrance of a life-altering relationship in the tradition of Big Russ and Me and Tuesdays With Morrie, Red and Me tells an unforgettable story of one unlikely and enduring friendship set against the backdrop of the greatest basketball dynasty in NBA history.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Client Decides: : A Litigator's Life - Jackie Onassis Vice President Spriro Agnew Donald Trump Roy Cohn and more - cover

    The Client Decides: : A...

    Martin London

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A fascinating trial lawyer's memoir in which renowned litigator Martin London takes the reader inside cases of national importance, like the one involving his client Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis in a precedent shattering First Amendment case, and representing her son John Kennedy Jr. as well. The breezy narrative also describes his trial work as part of the team that won a record-breaking jury award on behalf of valiant physicians who refused to buckle under to the murder threats of a group of anti-abortion extremists, and the author reveals why the government’s criminal case against his client Vice President Spiro Agnew ended the way it did. London also represented Agnew’s predecessor, Vice President Hubert Humphrey in the political-legal battle that led to Humphrey’s winning the1968  Democratic nomination but losing the election to Richard Nixon. For a change of pace,  London reveals the strategy and tactics that produced a record jury verdict in a nationally followed case against CBS and its Chicago TV anchor Walter Jacobson. That victory was affirmed all the way up to the Supreme Court. In another matter, the author describes his defense of his lawyer-friend who was sued by Donald Trump for $105,000,000! London’s work in that case was so successful, that in the end, Trump paid London’s fees! The book also reports the details of the author’s pro bono work that led to the disbarment of Roy Cohn, and the removal and sanction of unfit judges and lawyers. A great assortment of other criminal and civil cases are described, some of which were legally and physically challenging, and some are just interesting and funny. Indeed, throughout the entire book, London displays an easygoing sense of humor, no matter how serious the subject. Finally, London gives a quick view of the events leading up to his to career as a trial lawyer, including his legal and other adventures during his tours of duty in the U.S Army, and the unsuspecting help he received in that process, from The Godfather author Mario Puzo. In sum, this book is an inviting read for lawyers and non-lawyers alike. 
     
    Show book
  • When Rupert Murdoch Came to Tea: A Memoir - cover

    When Rupert Murdoch Came to Tea:...

    David Nunan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Whoever coined the phrase 'the middle of nowhere' must have had Broken Hill in mind, because that's where it was -- and still is, although the Road to Nowhere is now all-weather tarmac. Seven hundred miles due west of Sydney. Three hundred and thirty miles northeast of Adelaide. It sprawls about the low range of lode-bearing hills, and, when I was a child, was dominated by the artificial mountains of skimp, grey silt-like stuff that was left over once the ore was extracted from the mines. Most of the skimp dumps are gone now, reprocessed, when extraction techniques improved, for the ore they still contained. To me the town is all the poorer for their demise.
    
    	It was here that the mighty BHP-Billiton, largest resource company in the world, was born. It is also where I first saw the light of day -- although, unlike BHP (Broken Hill Proprietary Ltd.), my appearance in this place at that time was purely coincidental. This collection of stories is a memoir of what it was like to grow up in Broken Hill in the 1950s and 1960s. It was prompted by a question from one of my daughters, who grew up in a very different time and place. 'What was it like?' she asked. 'Back there. Back then.'
    
    	* * * 
    	This is acclaimed linguist and author David Nunan’s fascinating account of growing up in the Australian outback in the 1950s and 1960s.
    
    	(Publisher’s note: Spellings and vocabulary are Australian English; a glossary of terms that may be unfamiliar to North Americans is provided at the back of the book.)
    Show book
  • Mary Queen of Scots - cover

    Mary Queen of Scots

    Jacob Abbott

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sorry, we have no synopsis for this book right now. Sign in to read it on 24symbols.com
    Show book
  • Generation Robot - A Century of Science Fiction Fact and Speculation - cover

    Generation Robot - A Century of...

    Terri Favro

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    A history of robotics and technology told from Terri Favro's experiences growing up with robots on TV to today's technological reality. 
    
    
    
    
    For fans of Mary Roach and Jon Ronson, written from the point of view of the late-boomer generation known as Generation Jones (born 1954 to 1962). 
    
    
    
    
    Covers a century of science fiction, fact, and speculation –– from the 1950 publication of Isaac Asimov’s I, Robot, to the release of Tesla’s self driving car, to the 2050 Singularity when artificial and human intelligence is predicted to merge. 
    
    
    
    
    Generation Robot addresses hard science, technological innovation, and pop-culture in a fun and accessible voice that will appeal to a wider readership, not just for serious scientific readers . 
    
    
    
    
    Terri Favro has published several works of science fiction in Canada, this is her non-fiction debut
    Show book
  • The Children of Castletown House - cover

    The Children of Castletown House

    Sarah Conolly-Carew

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Castletown House, Ireland's largest and earliest Palladian-style house, was built between 1722 and 1729 for William Conolly, Speaker of the Irish House of Commons and the wealthiest commoner in Ireland. In 1967, the house was bought by the Hon. Desmond Guinness, founder of the Irish Georgian Society and opened to the public. In 1994, ownership of the house was transferred to the State, and it is now managed by the Office of Public Works.
    
    Castletown House, a history, is the story of that house, written by the children who grew up there, Baroness Diana Wrangle Conolly Carew, the Hon. Sarah McPherson & their brother, the Hon. Gerald Edward Ian Maitland-Carew.
    
    In this fascinating history, the character of the house is brought to life through its former residents, together with stories of their Olympic medals, the chance survival of the house through the Civil War, and tales of visiting royalty to the greatest of Ireland’s great houses.
    Show book
  • Fools Rush In - Steve Case Jerry Levin and the Unmaking of AOL Time Warner - cover

    Fools Rush In - Steve Case Jerry...

    Nina Munk

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Every era has its merger; every era has its story. For the New Media age it was an even bigger disaster: the AOL-Time Warner deal.  
    At the time AOL and Time Warner were considered a matchless combination of old media content and new media distribution. But very soon after the deal was announced things started to go bad—and then from bad to worse. Less than four years after the deal was announced, every significant figure in the deal -save the politically astute Richard Parsons—has left the company, along with scores of others. Nearly a $100 billion was written off and a stock that once traded at $100 now trades near $10. 
    What happened? Where did it all go wrong? In this deeply sourced and deftly written book, Nina Munk gives us a window into the minds of two of the oddest men to ever run billion-dollar empires. Steve Case, the boy wonder who built AOL one free floppy disk at a time, was searching for a way out of the New Economy.  Meanwhile Jerry Levin, who'd made his reputation as a visionary when he put HBO on satellite distribution, was searching for a monumental deal. These two men, more interested in their place in history than their personal fortunes, each thought they were out-smarting the other.
    Show book