Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Red and Me - My Coach My Lifelong Friend - cover

Red and Me - My Coach My Lifelong Friend

Bill Russell, Alan Steinberg

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

“Bill Russell was the greatest team basketball player ever….[He] has produced a moving tribute to his friend and, in a larger sense, to friendship.”—Booklist  In Red and Me, Boston Celtics basketball legend Bill Russell pays homage to his mentor and coach, the inimitable Red Auerbach. A poignant remembrance of a life-altering relationship in the tradition of Big Russ and Me and Tuesdays With Morrie, Red and Me tells an unforgettable story of one unlikely and enduring friendship set against the backdrop of the greatest basketball dynasty in NBA history.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Von Bülow Affair - The Objective Behind-the-Scenes Account of the Shocking Attempted Murder Case - cover

    The Von Bülow Affair - The...

    William Wright

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The true story of heiress Sunny von Bülow’s coma and the attempted-murder trial of her husband, Claus—the case that inspired the film Reversal of Fortune. On December 21, 1980, millionaire socialite Sunny Von Bülow was found unconscious on her bathroom floor. She would remain in a coma for twenty-seven years. Although her condition appeared to be the result of hypoglycemia, Sunny’s children suspected their stepfather, the debonair Claus Von Bülow, of attempting to murder his wife and abscond with her fortune. Claus went on trial for attempted murder in 1982, initiating a legal circus that would last for years. In the greatest society trial of the twentieth century, the opulence of Newport and New York provides a backdrop for one of the most intriguing family feuds of all time. In this comprehensive account of the trial and its aftermath, Wright draws on court transcripts and interviews with those involved to present an unparalleled behind-the-scenes look into the legal proceedings as well as the Von Bülows’ private lives. This ebook contains photos.
    Show book
  • A Voice from Old New York - A Memoir of My Youth - cover

    A Voice from Old New York - A...

    Louis Auchincloss

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An “entertaining and occasionally even moving” personal recollection by the lawyer, historian, and renowned chronicler of old-money WASP society (The Boston Globe).   At the time of his death, Louis Auchincloss—enemy of bores, self-pity, and gossip less than fresh—had just finished taking on a subject he had long avoided: himself. His memoir confirms that, despite the spark of his fiction, Auchincloss himself was the most entertaining character he has created. No traitor to his class but occasionally its critic, he returns us to his Society which was, he maintains, less interesting than its members admitted. You may differ as he unfurls his life with dignity, summoning his family (particularly his father who suffered from depression and forgave him for hating sports) and intimates. Brooke Astor and her circle are here, along with glimpses of Jacqueline Onassis. Most memorable, though, is his way with those outside the salon: the cranky maid; the maiden aunt, perpetually out of place; the less-than-well-born boy who threw himself from a window over a woman and a man. Here is Auchincloss, an American master, being Auchincloss, a rare eye, a generous and lively spirit to the end.
    Show book
  • All the Money in the World - previously published as Painfully Rich - cover

    All the Money in the World -...

    John Pearson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Inspired by the most infamous incident involving the Getty family - now a major film directed by Ridley Scott, starring Mark Wahlberg, Michelle Williams and Christopher Plummer 
     
     
    Oil tycoon J. Paul Getty created the greatest fortune in America - and came close to destroying his own family in the process. Of his four sons who reached manhood, only one survived relatively unscathed. One killed himself, one became a drug-addicted recluse and the third had to bear the stigma all his life of being disinherited in childhood. 
     
    The unhappiness continued into the next generation, with the name Getty, as one journalist put it, 'becoming synonymous for family dysfunction'. Getty's once favourite grandson John Paul Getty III was kidnapped by the Italian mafia who cut off his ear to raise a ransom and, after a lifetime of drink and drugs, became a paraplegic. His granddaughter Aileen has AIDS. And the Getty family itself has been torn apart by litigation over their poisoned inheritance. 
     
    But did the disaster have to happen? John Pearson, who has specialized in biographies of families as varied as the Churchills, the British Royal Family, the Devonshires and the Krays, sets out to find the answer. The result, first published in 1995, is a fascinating saga of an extraordinary dynasty. 
     
    He traces much of the trouble to the bizarre character of the avaricious, sex-obsessed billionaire, J. Paul Getty himself - and demonstrates how much of his behaviour has been repeated in succeeding generations. He describes the famous kidnapping of his grandson in graphic detail, revealing how the old man's attitude added considerably to the boy's sufferings. And he shows how the family has coped with the latest modern scourges: drugs and AIDS. 
     
    For Painfully Rich is not a hopeless story. While some of the family have been damaged by the Getty legacy, others have saved themselves from disaster, most notably the cricket-loving philanthropist, J. Paul Getty Jr. Pearson's moving story of his recovery from drugs and deep personal tragedy shows that there is hope for future generations of this stricken family - and demonstrates that money can be used to buy survival and even happiness.
    Show book
  • A Song of War - cover

    A Song of War

    Christian Cameron, Kate Quinn,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Troy: city of gold, gatekeeper of the east, haven of the god-born and the lucky, a city destined to last a thousand years. But the Fates have other plans—the Fates, and a woman named Helen. In the shadow of Troy's gates, all must be reborn in the greatest war of the ancient world: slaves and queens, heroes and cowards, seers and kings . . . and these are their stories. 
    A young princess and an embittered prince join forces to prevent a fatal elopement. 
    A tormented seeress challenges the gods themselves to save her city from the impending disaster. 
    A tragedy-haunted king battles private demons and envious rivals as the siege grinds on. 
    A captured slave girl seizes the reins of her future as two mighty heroes meet in an epic duel. 
    A grizzled archer and a desperate Amazon risk their lives to avenge their dead. 
    A trickster conceives the greatest trick of all.  
    A goddess' son battles to save the spirit of Troy even as the walls are breached in fire and blood. 
    Seven authors bring to life the epic tale of the Trojan War: its heroes, its villains, its survivors, its dead. Who will lie forgotten in the embers, and who will rise to shape the bloody dawn of a new age?   
    Show book
  • Three Sisters - cover

    Three Sisters

    Anton Chekhov

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Premiered at the Steppenwolf Theatre in Chicago in summer 2012 to critical acclaim.Chris Jones of the Chicago Tribune describes the adaptation: “It's not so much that Letts is translating Chekhov rather than writing his own play… Letts' main achievement here is to make Chekhov more emotional, accessible and active”.A great title for academic audiences and readers of classics – it’s a modern master-playwright’s collaboration with a classic playwright’s textLetts’ previous work August: Osage County earned him the 2008 Pulitzer Prize for Drama and a Tony Award for Best Play, and was later adapted into an Oscar Award-nominated film starring Meryl Streep and Julia Roberts in 2013.As a performer, Letts was honored with the 2013 Tony Award for Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Play for his work on Broadway in Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?Letts is also known for his role in Showtime’s Homeland as Senator Andrew Lockhart
    Show book
  • The Transcendental Meditation Technique and The Journey of Enlightenment - cover

    The Transcendental Meditation...

    Ann Purcell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Enlightenment has long been regarded as a state reserved for a few rare individuals, a state that can only be gained by living a recluse life in a cave or in a monastery somewhere. It has been thought that enlightenment is very difficult to achieve, requiring one to give up all worldly possessions and to lead an austere life. Ann Purcell debunks these false assumptions in her new book The Transcendental Meditation Technique The Journey of Enlightenment. By relating her own experiences and those of Transcendental Meditation practitioners throughout the world Purcell lays before us the secret to personal fulfillment, spontaneity, inner peace and balance. She deftly explains how's and why's so that every person around the world can experience enlightenment and unbounded bliss inside, no matter what their race, religion, or socio-economic background.
    2015 Silver Medal Winner from Living Now Book Awards
    Show book