Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The President's Counselor - The Alberto Gonzales Story - cover

The President's Counselor - The Alberto Gonzales Story

Bill Minutaglio

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The first and only biography of the most controversial u.s. Attorney general in recent memory 
In defiance of expectations, statistics, and stereotypes, Alberto Gonzales has risen to become one of the most powerful men in America. Gonzales has been the nexus for key policy points for the Bush administration, and holds inflammatory and very influential positions on issues that seize and polarize the nation—privacy, capital punishment, and torture. 
Gonzales's unyielding loyalty to George W. Bush—during a time when to call his presidency "controversial" would be an understatement of massive proportions—is a fascinating study in the politics of ambition. 
From his modest beginnings in Humble, Texas, to his stone-faced refusal to buckle under the pressure of dissenters, The President's Counselor provides never-seen insight into the man whose influence over a very powerful president in very pressing times will undoubtedly impact people here and abroad for years to come.

Who read this book also read:

  • Elon Musk - Tesla SpaceX and the Quest for a Fantastic Future - cover

    Elon Musk - Tesla SpaceX and the...

    Ashlee Vance

    • 7
    • 21
    • 0
    In the spirit of Steve Jobs and Moneyball, Elon Musk is both an illuminating and authorized look at the extraordinary life of one of Silicon Valley’s most exciting, unpredictable, and ambitious entrepreneurs—a real-life Tony Stark—and a fascinating exploration of the renewal of American invention and its new “makers.” 
    Elon Musk spotlights the technology and vision of Elon Musk, the renowned entrepreneur and innovator behind SpaceX, Tesla, and SolarCity, who sold one of his Internet companies, PayPal, for $1.5 billion. Ashlee Vance captures the full spectacle and arc of the genius’s life and work, from his tumultuous upbringing in South Africa and flight to the United States to his dramatic technical innovations and entrepreneurial pursuits. 
    Vance uses Musk’s story to explore one of the pressing questions of our age: can the nation of inventors and creators who led the modern world for a century still compete in an age of fierce global competition? He argues that Musk—one of the most unusual and striking figures in American business history—is a contemporary, visionary amalgam of legendary inventors and industrialists including Thomas Edison, Henry Ford, Howard Hughes, and Steve Jobs. More than any other entrepreneur today, Musk has dedicated his energies and his own vast fortune to inventing a future that is as rich and far-reaching as the visionaries of the golden age of science-fiction fantasy. 
    Thorough and insightful, Elon Musk brings to life a technology industry that is rapidly and dramatically changing by examining the life of one of its most powerful and influential titans.
    Show book
  • Flashbacks - A Twenty-Year Diary of Article Writing - cover

    Flashbacks - A Twenty-Year Diary...

    John A. Williams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A brilliant and thought-provoking collection of articles, profiles, and opinions from one of the twentieth century’s most acclaimed African American writers A journalist, novelist, and educator, John A. Williams was never afraid to rock boats or take aim at society’s most sacred institutions, white and black. Flashbacks is an essential compilation of Williams’s best nonfiction pieces and an enthralling combination of memoir, biography, and social commentary that sheds a fascinating light on the black experience in America and abroad.   With Flashbacks, the author of The Man Who Cried I Am and Captain Blackman reports on a wide array of world events and political realities, from South African apartheid to Israel’s victory in the Six-Day War and the American civil rights movement. He offers insightful appreciations of some of the century’s most celebrated and controversial black public figures, including Marcus Garvey, Jack Johnson, Charlie Parker, Dick Gregory, and Malcolm X. With insight, candor, and brutal honesty, Williams explores the struggle of the African American middle class and the roots of his own black awareness in essays that remain provocative, powerful, courageous, and relevant today.  
    Show book
  • Peanut Butter and Naan - Stories of an American Mom in the Far East - cover

    Peanut Butter and Naan - Stories...

    Jennifer Hillman-Magnuson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fly-by-the-seat-of-her-pants mom Jennifer Magnuson knew her spoiled suburban brood needed a wake-up call—she just couldn’t find the time to fit one in. But when her husband was offered a position in India, she saw it for what it was: the perfect opportunity for her family to unplug from their over-scheduled and pampered lives in Nashville and gain some much-needed perspective. What she didn’t realize was how much their time in India would transform her as well.
    
    A combination of Eat, Pray, Love and Modern Family, with a dash of Chelsea Handler thrown in for good measure, Peanut Butter and Naan is Magnuson’s hilarious look at the chaos of parenting against a backdrop of malaria, extreme poverty, and no conveniences of any kind—and her story of rediscovering herself and revitalizing her connection with those she loves the most. In India, after years of parenting under a cloud of anxiety, Magnuson found a renewed sense of adventure and fearlessness (a discovery that was totally worth the many months of hiding anti-malarial medication in her kids’ morning oatmeal), and started to become the mother she’d always hoped to be. Hers is a story about motherhood that will not only make you laugh and nod with recognition—it will inspire you to fall in love with your own family all over again.
    Show book
  • Journey from the North Volume 1 - Autobiography of Storm Jameson - cover

    Journey from the North Volume 1...

    Storm Jameson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In 1960, Storm Jameson decided to write her memoirs. The result was Journey from the North, one of the great literary autobiographies of the century. Volume One, first published in 1969, tells of her childhood in Whitby before the First World War, the strong ties with her formidable mother, an early love of the sea, her intellectual achievements at university and falling in love. She vividly recalls her first marriage and the birth of her son; then came her first book, work in London, and the deep happiness of her second marriage to Guy Chapman, the novelist and historian. In the thirties she became increasingly involved in politics, and her accounts of the Depression and the rise of Fascism in Europe demonstrate her exceptional understanding of the years between the wars. 
     
    But the most extraordinary quality of this autobiography is its fine truthfulness. Her candour - about wanting to be an artist, about failures of courage and of love, her devotion to her son and yet a need for a life of her own - is quite exceptional. Journey from the North is a brilliantly told story of a fascinating life.
    Show book
  • The Happiness Project (Revised Edition) - Or Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning Clean My Closets Fight Right Read Aristotle and Generally Have More Fun - cover

    The Happiness Project (Revised...

    Gretchen Rubin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible  
    Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.
    Show book
  • Head in Heaven - cover

    Head in Heaven

    Barbro Curman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "You have to get used to this!" I heard a voice say. I trembled as I experienced a presence at the right side of my dinner table. I managed to stay put, playing the guest-just-having-a-dinner role. I more or less rushed to my room when dinner was over. "What is this?" I thought. "You have to get used to this!" I heard again. Then I got a peaceful, personal explanation of how this cooperation will be done; me in a physical body on Earth and he being on the other side bringing higher frequencies and wider perspectives. It was now the third time the voice said: "You have to get used to this!" This time my answer came from all of me, clearly and determined. "Yes!!!" My intention was clear, and I knew that I would be cared for if my fear would come back. In this personal way Barbro is sharing her inner journey with us. Time has come, she says, when we need to be more open about these kinds of experiences. In my practice, she continues, I have met many, who like me before, keep hiding away what is the greatest gift in their life. They do not want to be ridiculed as is often the case even in our open society. Barbro claims that today, we cannot afford being ruled by this. We are facing a time in history, when we as human beings are on our way to destroy our beautiful home, our planet. It is urgent that as many as possible of us focus in our hearts and passion taking us beyond our survival strategies based on fear. Daring to receive unconditional love from beyond will be our greatest gift in opening our hearts. Although she is following her own intimate path, Barbro has been applying her gift in everyday life as a psychologist, organisational consultant and a Gestalt therapist since the 1970s. She believes in the power of the group and has great faith in what people are able to accomplish when and if they build their co-operation on trust and true intention. Among other things - this is what she teaches in her professional life.
    Show book