Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The President's Counselor - The Alberto Gonzales Story - cover

The President's Counselor - The Alberto Gonzales Story

Bill Minutaglio

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The first and only biography of the most controversial u.s. Attorney general in recent memory 
In defiance of expectations, statistics, and stereotypes, Alberto Gonzales has risen to become one of the most powerful men in America. Gonzales has been the nexus for key policy points for the Bush administration, and holds inflammatory and very influential positions on issues that seize and polarize the nation—privacy, capital punishment, and torture. 
Gonzales's unyielding loyalty to George W. Bush—during a time when to call his presidency "controversial" would be an understatement of massive proportions—is a fascinating study in the politics of ambition. 
From his modest beginnings in Humble, Texas, to his stone-faced refusal to buckle under the pressure of dissenters, The President's Counselor provides never-seen insight into the man whose influence over a very powerful president in very pressing times will undoubtedly impact people here and abroad for years to come.

Who read this book also read:

  • I AM~A Book of Unintentional Thoughts - A Book of Unintentional Thoughts - cover

    I AM~A Book of Unintentional...

    Anonymous

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A young man's girl friend aborts their child spinning the author into a soul searching depression which he writes about in detail.
    Show book
  • Reconcile Me: from abortion's chains - cover

    Reconcile Me: from abortion's...

    Sharon McFee

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Have you or do you know someone who has had an abortion? There is a real need to hear from a woman sharing from her life, growing up in Australia and New Zealand, what led her to have an abortion and the eventual emotional healing of her soul through embracing God's forgiveness. This woman had a rocky upbringing, feeling rejected. God turns her many predicaments around, straightening out her course in life. Women will identify their own lives to hers in some way. This book gives hope to the hopeless and downtrodden, to those who have felt rejected or unwanted, and life to the lifeless. There is light at the end of the tunnel if only you have the faith to believe - read this book with an open heart and an open mind.
    This is her spiritual journey.
    Evil prospers when good men do nothing.
    Show book
  • Gilliamesque - cover

    Gilliamesque

    Terry Gilliam

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This is probably as good a time as any for me to make a full confession . . .
    Show book
  • My Amish Childhood - A True Story of Faith Family and the Simple Life - cover

    My Amish Childhood - A True...

    Jerry S. Eicher

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Bestselling fiction author Jerry S. Eicher (nearly half a million books sold) turns his pen to a moving memoir of his life growing up Amish.
     
    Jerry's mother was nineteen years old and nine months married when he was born. She had received Grandfather Stoll's permission for the wedding because she agreed to help out on the farm the following year. However, with Jerry on the way, those plans failed.
     
    Jerry recounts his first two years of school in the Amish community of Aylmer, Ontario and his parents' decision to move to Honduras.  Life in that beautiful Central American country is seen through an Amish boy's eyes--and then the dark days when the community failed and the family returned to America, much to young Jerry's regret. Jerry also tells of his struggle as a stutterer and his eventual conversion to Christ and the reasons for his departure from the childhood faith he knew.
     
    Here is a must-read for not just Jerry's fiction fans, but also for readers curious about Amish life.
    Show book
  • Everybody into the Pool - cover

    Everybody into the Pool

    Beth Lisick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Beth Lisick started out as a homecoming princess with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. Plunging headlong into America's deepest subcultures, while keeping both feet firmly planted in her parents' Leave It to Beaver values, Lisick makes her adult home on the fringe of mainstream culture and finds it rich with paradox and humor. On the one hand, she lives in "Brokeley" with drug dealers and street gangs; on the other, she drives a station wagon with a baby seat in the back, makes her own chicken stock, and attends ladies' luncheons. How exactly did this suburban girl-next-door end up as one of San Francisco's foremost chroniclers of alternative culture? Lisick explains it all in her hilarious, irreverent, bestselling memoir, Everybody into the Pool. 
    Fans of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell will relish Lisick's scathingly funny, smart, very real take on the effluvia of daily living. No matter what community she's exposing to the light, Lisick always hits the right chord.
    Show book
  • Chasing Diana - Perception vs Reality - cover

    Chasing Diana - Perception vs...

    Jack Firestone, Robin Firestone

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    TAGLINE: While vacationing in Paris, the lives of an American family collide with the fatal automobile crash of the world’s most beloved Princess. INSPIRED BY A TRUE STORY. 
    Princess Diana was killed on August 31, 1997 in a car crash in Paris. Where were you when you heard the news? Everybody has an answer, but nobody has an answer quite like Robin Firestone and Jack Firestone, the wife-and-husband team who have co-authored "CHASING DIANA: PERCEPTION VS. REALITY." 
    The happenstance and capriciousness of life places an American family in the seminal historic moment of the shocking death of Princess Diana in this dramatic, though breezy and light thriller/drama. A bit off-the-wall at times, yet always laced with a serious dose of wry humor and pathos, this book has the quirky endearing feel of THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL but with the macabre darkness and ironic style of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN. With an urbane sensibility coupled with a universally recognized subject matter, "CHASING DIANA: PERCEPTION VS. REALITY" will appeal to international audiences. 
    Included in this volume is a very rare Afterword, as the reader experiences a behind-the-scenes look at the trial that shook Great Britain to its core. After ten years of trying in vain to bring the truth to the forefront, on December 3, 2007, the Firestones were finally called upon to give live testimony in London at the Royal Courts of Justice for the "Coroner's Inquests into the Deaths of Diana, Princess of Wales and Mr. Dodi Al Fayed." They describe their ordeal for the first time ever in print, in this Special Edition. 
    And also included is Mr. Firestone's personal journal entitled "Tunnel Vision," which gives personal insight, from a subjective point-of-view, to the car crash, the investigation, the police, the paparazzi... and the relentlessness and restlessness of the news media that controls our lives. 
    Visit us at www.ChasingDiana.com and www.Facebook.com/ChasingDiana
    Show book