Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Ghost in the Window - cover

A Ghost in the Window

Betty Ren Wright

Publisher: Holiday House

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A girl’s scary dream may come true in this “fast moving” story starring “a likable and believable heroine” (School Library Journal). Meg’s nightmare about a thin, gray-haired man who beckons her to follow him through a dark doorway will no doubt come true. That’s the way it is with all of her “real” dreams, the ones that her grandmother calls “a secret window into the future.”   Meg suspects that her dream is about sixteen-year-old Caleb Larsen’s father, who died in a car crash after allegedly stealing $50,000 from a local bank. Could Mr. Larsen be trying to reach Caleb and his mother through Meg’s dreams? Is he trying to reveal the truth about what happened? As Meg’s nightmare begins to come true, she learns to cope with her own past as well as Caleb’s, and to see the present in a different, more positive light.
Available since: 07/07/2015.
Print length: 152 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Jeremy Lin - From the End of the Bench to Stardom - cover

    Jeremy Lin - From the End of the...

    Bill Davis

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This true story is truly “Lin-sane!” The world is exposed to an individual like Jeremy Lin only once in a generation. His journey has taken him from practicing lay-ups on the court at the local YMCA to hitting last minute game-winners on the grand stage at Madison Square Garden. This book charts Jeremy’s life story, from the streets of Palo Alto to the dormitories of Harvard to the major arenas throughout the country. Through exclusive interviews, play-by-plays, and colorful recollections, we get an intimate look at Jeremy’s story. It is one of unyielding determination, true faith, and unimaginable success.
    Show book
  • Otherland - cover

    Otherland

    Louie Stowell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Otherland is a dangerous magical underworld - a place where appearances can be deceiving and anything can happen. A world of gods, vampires, and fairies. It's also... horrible.
    
    When life-long friends Myra and Rohan discover that Rohan's baby sister Shilpa has been stolen and taken to Otherland, the only way to rescue her is by taking part in a deadly game - three impossible challenges set by the Fairy Queen of Otherland. Win the game, and Rohan and Myra can go home with Shilpa - but lose, and they'll be trapped in Otherland forever...
    
    A darkly funny, action-packed fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of The Strangeworlds Travel Agency, Malamander, and The Land of Roar, from the author of the highly-acclaimed Dragon in the Library series.
    Show book
  • Torn - cover

    Torn

    Margaret Peterson Haddix

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Jonah and Katherine embark on a chilling journey to discover the Northwest Passage in this new installment of the New York Times bestselling series that brings history to life.Teenager John Hudson vanished from history in 1611: While searching for the Northwest Passage, mutineers cast him and his explorer father adrift in the icy waters of James Bay. When Jonah and Katherine meet John in the past, moments before the mutiny is to occur, they think it will be easy to rescue him from history. But the unexpected appearance of a man who claims to know a secret route to the Northwest Passage complicates matters. He seems serious about leading the ship further west, but Jonah and Katherine grow more and more suspicious—and more and more frustrated that they can’t quite remember the actual history or Canadian geography. And when their former enemies, Gary and Hodge, show up, apparently having escaped from time prison, Jonah and Katherine understand that a lot more is at stake than just one boy’s life….
    Show book
  • No-Bake Gingerbread Houses for Kids - cover

    No-Bake Gingerbread Houses for Kids

    Lisa Anderson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    No more complex store-bought kits. No more lopsided barn that was  supposed to be Prince Charming's castle. Just fun with the family while  constructing fanciful gingerbread houses with graham crackers, frosting,  cookies, and candies of all varieties. With graham cracker building  blocks and straightforward instructions, families can create everything  from Fire House to Tiki Hut and Swiss Chalet to Mermaid Palace.
    Show book
  • Eclipse of the Jaguar - A Novel - cover

    Eclipse of the Jaguar - A Novel

    Richard Trout

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ancient Mayan history and legend lead the MacGregors through the dense jungles of Central America in pursuit of a madman—from the author of Devil’s Breath.   ACCELERATED READER PROGRAM SELECTION   Deep in the heart of the rainforest of Belize, the MacGregor family becomes embroiled in an international caper involving Mayan treasure, villainous looters, secret ruins, and human sacrifice.   In an effort to locate the hidden tomb of a Mayan king, the psychopathic Mr. Frost leads a team of thieves in stealing all of the ancient Mayan codices from museums around the globe. When Frost kidnaps two of the children, it’s up to the teenage heroes to solve the mystery of the Mayans before it’s too late. Flush with action and suspense, this fast-paced Central American adventure brings the MacGregor family closer than ever to confronting their mortality.   The award-winning MacGregor Family Adventure Series has received praise from such outlets as School Library Journal, VOYA, and bestselling author Clive Cussler. Each book in the series features a deep knowledge of cultural, historical, and environmental issues as well as foreign landscapes, technology, and sociopolitical issues.
    Show book
  • The Ghost of Tillie Jean Cassaway - cover

    The Ghost of Tillie Jean Cassaway

    Ellen Harvey Showell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    People said the ghost of a drowned girl roamed the hills. Was this the wild-looking child 11-year-old Hilary and her brother Willy glimpsed in the woods? If not, who could she be? A suspense-filled story where truth is hidden around the bend, in the morning mist or over the mountain.   Winner of the South Carolina Children’s Book Award.
    Show book