Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Blossom Promise - cover

A Blossom Promise

Betsy Byars

Publisher: Holiday House

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From a Newbery Medal winner, another high-spirited adventure starring this “gutsy, captivating family” (School Library Journal). It is a time of ups and downs for the Blossoms. Maggie is thrilled to be on the rodeo circuit . . . until she witnesses Mom kissing a handsome stranger. Back at home, the family has weathered the worst flood in the state’s history, and Vern and Michael can’t wait to test their homemade raft down at the flooded Snake Creek. Suddenly, Pap hears screams and runs to the rescue, but a heart attack strikes. As Pap clings to life, the Blossoms must rely on the strength of their family and pull together as never before.  The Blossom spirit endures as the family confronts the frailty of human life in Newbery Award–winning author Betsy Byars’s fourth Blossom Family book. 
Available since: 02/12/2013.
Print length: 192 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Nowhere Thief - cover

    The Nowhere Thief

    Alice M. Ross

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A mind-bending multiverse adventure about theft, family, and finding your home.
    
    Twelve-year-old Elsbeth has an extraordinary power: she can travel to parallel worlds and bring objects back with her. But as freak weather events become more frequent and a strange boy, Idris, starts to turn up everywhere she travels, she has to ask herself: does her gift come with a price?
    
    Fans of Christopher Edge, Ross Welford and Jessica Townsend will love this fast-paced story and mind-blowing plot! Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.
    Show book
  • Bo and the Christmas Bandit - cover

    Bo and the Christmas Bandit

    Lynn Sheffield Simmons

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Lynn Sheffield Simmons writes wholesome fiction for children, hoping to stir their imaginations and teach valuable lessons in civic responsibility.” —Argyle (TX) American “The dog’s hilarious antics and loveable nature are both entertaining and educational for the young reader.” —Adelphean magazine  Mrs. Barnett and her crime-busting canine, Bo, are back for another adventure. With Christmas only a week away, the pair stops in Salado, Texas, where a sneaky thief is stealing presents straight from under the tree. Bo and Mrs. Barnett know they must act fast to catch the culprit, but there is a tricky problem: the bandit is disguised as Santa Claus.  After untangling himself from the Christmas lights and overcoming his fear of cats, Bo and Mrs. Barnett become sleuths in an attempt to save Christmas for the citizens of Salado. The lovable Labrador’s antics add humor to this festive read, and the small dose of suspense will keep kids on edge until the surprise ending.
    Show book
  • Little Leonardo's MakerLab: Robots - cover

    Little Leonardo's MakerLab: Robots

    Bart King

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    More than 20 fun and engaging hands-on activities for young readers interested in robots, robotics, coding, and artificial intelligence.Create code to make robots perform basic tasks! Build very simple robots from common household items! These activities are designed to engage your hands and minds.
    Show book
  • I Wrote You a Note - cover

    I Wrote You a Note

    Lizi Boyd

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This charmingly illustrated children’s book follows a note left for a friend as it embarks on a “delightful adventure through the great outdoors” (School Library Journal). In I Wrote You a Note, acclaimed children’s author and illustrator Lizi Boyd shares the story of a girl who writes a note and leaves it outside for her friend to find. When the note is picked up by a turtle, it embarks on a wild adventure as various woodland creatures use it for various purposes. For a duck and her ducklings, the note becomes a dock; for a spider, it becomes a bridge; and so on, until it finally makes its way to the intended recipient.  The repetition and rhythm of the spare text make this a captivating read-aloud story, while the humor and colorful characters make it perfect for young readers to follow on their own. The brilliantly colored paintings share the gentleness of the text while celebrating nature, curiosity, imagination, and friendship.
    Show book
  • Daisy Dreamer and the Totally True Imaginary Friend - cover

    Daisy Dreamer and the Totally...

    Holly Anna

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Hi! I’m Daisy Dreamer and this story is all about how I met Posey, my totally true imaginary friend.Hi, I’m Daisy Dreamer. People call me the girl with her head in the clouds because I daydream some of the time…or maybe most the time. But isn’t that what makes life so…well, dreamy? Together with my best friends, Lily and Jasmine, we love to write stories, draw, and invent games. Then one day, I drew a doodle in my special journal and you know what? That picture moved! All. On. Its. Own. And that is how I met Posey, my totally true imaginary friend. Now he’s got a story to tell. And guess who’s going to tell it. Yep, that’s right. Me, Daisy Dreamer, the girl with her head in the clouds.With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, the Daisy Dreamer chapter books are perfect for emerging readers.
    Show book
  • Sleepover Sleuths - cover

    Sleepover Sleuths

    Carolyn Keene

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Eight-year-old Nancy Drew has her first case to crack! Can you help? Nancy and her two best friends, George and Bess, are so excited! They have been invited to Deirdre's sleepover party! There will be pizza, cake, and even a pajama fashion show. But the most exciting thing is that the party has a City Girls doll theme. All of the guests are bringing their dolls with them!  But then Deirdre's City Girls doll -- Hollywood Heather -- goes missing. Is her sleepover ruined? Or is there a detective in the room who can make sense of this mystery?
    Show book