Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
When Midnight Comes - cover

When Midnight Comes

Beryl Matthews

Publisher: Allison & Busby

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

1856. Christine Banner is alone after her father’s death, penniless but armed with an iron will. Determined to put London behind her and find a place to call home, her search takes her to the New Forest where she stumbles upon Lord Frenshaw’s estate. Her skill at handling some of the large and difficult war horses bred there shines through and captures his attention. However, when his son Harry returns from the Crimea, battle-scarred and short-tempered, Christine’s future looks uncertain, and Harry may find that home is not the safe haven to which he hoped to return. 
In the face of grief, sadness and disappointment, Christine’s intelligence and strength will be tested until she finds the place where she can truly belong. 
‘CHARMING, CAPTIVATING, FULFILLING AND LIVELY’ BOOKLIST

Other books that might interest you

  • Trial by Sorcery - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 1 - cover

    Trial by Sorcery - Dragon Riders...

    Richard Fierce

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Dragons can be dangerous …
     
    … if you don’t bond with them first.
     
    Eldwin wants to follow in his father’s footsteps and become a Dragon Guard, but not for the glory. With his family dead and their lands dying, the opportunity to join the dragon rider school is all he has. But before Eldwin can bond with a dragon and guard the skies, he must pass three tests to prove his worth.
     
    Compassion, magical aptitude, and armed combat.
     
    He’s determined to pass, but his maimed arm is a constant reminder of his disadvantage. Will the obstacles Eldwin faces keep him from reaching his dreams, or will he finally see what it’s like to ride the skies?
     
    Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
     
    Trial by Sorcery is the first episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
     
    Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
     
    Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
     
    Book 2: A Bond of Flame
     
    Book 3: The Warrior's Call
     
    Book 4: The Coin of Souls
     
    Book 5: Wings of Terror - May 2020
    Show book
  • A Quick Bite - cover

    A Quick Bite

    Lynsay Sands

    • 9
    • 47
    • 0
    That hot guy tied to Lissianna Argeneau’s bed? He’s not dessert—he’s the main course! 
    Lissianna has been spending her centuries pining for Mr. Right, not just a quick snack, and this sexy guy she finds in her bed looks like he might be a candidate. But there’s another, more pressing issue: her tendency to faint at the sight of blood . . . an especially annoying quirk for a vampire. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that this man has a delicious-looking neck. What kind of cold-blooded vampire woman could resist a bite of that? 
    Dr. Gregory Hewitt recovers from the shock of waking up in a stranger’s bedroom pretty quickly—once he sees a gorgeous woman about to treat him to a wild night of passion. But is it possible for the good doctor to find true love with a vampire vixen, or will he be just a good meal? That’s a question Dr. Greg might be willing to sink his teeth into . . . if he can just get Lissianna to bite.
    Show book
  • Murder in Georgetown - cover

    Murder in Georgetown

    Margaret Truman

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    The author of Murdered at the FBI delivers a political thriller that “ends with several bangs. It may be deemed the best of Truman’s bestsellers” (Publishers Weekly).   When the corpse of a young woman is found floating down Washington’s C&O Canal, everyone is shocked to learn the victim is none other than Valerie Frolich—a senator’s daughter, Georgetown graduate, and a rising star in the cutthroat world of investigative journalism.  Washington Post reporter Joe Potamos is good at unearthing the skeletons in the nation’s capital, so when he’s assigned the Frolich story, he immediately senses this case is rife with secrets. As he digs further to uncover the truth about Valerie’s death, it soon becomes apparent someone wanted the young, beautiful reporter dead.   And when Joe’s search reveals an evil labyrinth of intrigue involving murder, bribery, kidnapping, and even international espionage, he’ll have to race to find Valerie’s killer—before his own life is snuffed out. “Truman[’s] . . . murder mysteries . . . evoke brilliantly the Washington she knows so well.” —The Houston Post   “Truman does it again!” —United Press International  
    Show book
  • The Legends of King Arthur and His Knights - cover

    The Legends of King Arthur and...

    Sir James Knowles

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    The beloved tales of Camelot, Merlin, the Round Table, the quest for the Holy Grail, and more. Today, the figure of King Arthur lives on in everything from fantasy novels to comedy films, but the legends surrounding him date back to somewhere in post-Roman times and were first collected by Geoffrey of Monmouth in the twelfth century. Edited for the modern reader by Sir James Knowles, Monmouth’s original collection features familiar tales of wizardry and prophecy, loyalty and leadership, battle and quest. With mystery still surrounding the historical origins of these romantic legends, this volume is an intriguing and absorbing journey into the medieval imagination.
    Show book
  • Blame: Dark and suspenseful family drama - cover

    Blame: Dark and suspenseful...

    Paul Read

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    ‘Shocking and wickedly funny’ Neil Hegarty 
    ‘A raw, startlingly honest novel about family, love and redemption’ Matthew Norman 
    It is the summer of 1989 when Lucas witnesses an event that will tear his family apart. Over a decade later, his estranged father succumbs to a suspected heart attack. 
    Lucas shuns grief and escapes to New York with his colleague Mariana. However, a dark secret from his past threatens to re-emerge and destroy the burgeoning relationship before it has even begun. 
    When his father's girlfriend fails to reappear after reporting his death, the true cause of his demise falls under scrutiny. And as the startling truth comes to light, Lucas must confront the fact that father and son may not have been so different after all. 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'At a time when high-quality contemporary literary fiction is rarer than ever, Paul Read’s novels are a much-needed tonic’ Matt Thorne, author of the Man Booker Prize-longlisted 'Cherry' 
    'The details in the story immediately struck me as cleverly and astutely observed.' Eben Venter, author of 'Wolf, Wolf' 
    'By turns shocking and wickedly funny, Blame tells an absorbing tale of guilt and grief, and of the toll that the past can take on the present.' Neil Hegarty, author of 'Inch Levels' 
    'Blame is a raw, startlingly honest novel about family, love, and redemption. Through keen insight, nostalgia, and humour, Paul Read reminds us that although we can't escape who we are... we can at least strive to make the best of it.' Matthew Norman, author of 'Domestic Violets' and 'We're All Damaged'
    Show book
  • The Celtic Twilight - Faerie and Folklore - cover

    The Celtic Twilight - Faerie and...

    W. B. Yeats

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An exploration of the Sidhe and the people of Ireland by the Nobel Prize–winning writer. The renowned Irish poet W. B. Yeats was fascinated by the mystical and the supernatural, as well as Irish culture. The Celtic Twilight combines these interests with stories and commentary that both illustrate the inhabitants of the world of the Fae and examine their meaning in the contexts of individuals’ daily lives, societal belief systems, and Ireland’s history.
    Show book