As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Transformation Index BTI 2012: Regional Findings Post-Soviet Eurasia - cover

Transformation Index BTI 2012: Regional Findings Post-Soviet Eurasia

Bertelsmann Stiftung

Publisher: Verlag Bertelsmann Stiftung

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Der politische und wirtschaftliche Entwicklungsstand eines Landes ist messbar: Im internationalen Vergleich lassen sich die Leistungen politischer Entscheidungsträger und die daraus resultierenden Transformationsprozesse gegenüberstellen. 

Den Entwicklungsstand in 128 Entwicklungs- und Transformationsländern dokumentiert die Bertelsmann Stiftung alle zwei Jahre in ihrem Transformationsindex: Anhand ausführlicher Ländergutachten beleuchtet der Index die Wirkung von Reformstrategien auf dem Weg zu rechtsstaatlicher Demokratie und sozialer Marktwirtschaft. Er gibt damit Akteuren in Politik, Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft und Wissenschaft wichtige Hinweise und Impulse für ihre Arbeit.Der Untersuchungszeitraum des "Transformationsindex BTI 2012" reicht vom Frühjahr 2009 bis zum Frühjahr 2011. 

Die sieben ergänzenden Materialbände "Regional Findings" beinhalten die ausführlichen englischsprachigen Regionalüberblicke und Langfassungen der Länderberichte zu den sieben untersuchten Regionen: Ostmittel- und Südosteuropa; Lateinamerika und Karibik; West- und Zentralafrika; Naher Osten und Nordafrika; Östliches und südliches Afrika; Postsowjetisches Eurasien; Asien und Ozeanien.

The peaceful transition of authoritarian regimes towards democracy and a market economy poses enormous challenges for citizens and politicians alike. Around the world, under widely differing conditions and with varying degrees of success, reform-oriented groups are struggling to democratize their countries and to strengthen the market economy. Good governance is the decisive factor for the success or failure of any transition process.

The Bertelsmann Stiftung's Transformation Index is published every two years. The global ranking measures and compares transition processes worldwide on the basis of detailed country reports. Comparing systematically the status of democracy and market economy on an international basis, the BTI also provides comprehensive data on the quality of political manage

Other books that might interest you

  • Blackwatertown - cover

    Blackwatertown

    Paul Waters

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Blackwatertown is atmospheric crime fiction that will appeal to fans of Maurice Leitch, James Ellroy, Andrea Camilleri and Lee Child. 
    Author available for events, talks and signings in the UK and Ireland – and by arrangement elsewhere. 
    Twitter: @paulwaters99 
    Facebook: @paulwatersauthor 
    Instagram: @paul_waters_author
    Show book
  • The Norway Campaign and the Rise of Churchill 1940 - cover

    The Norway Campaign and the Rise...

    Anthony Dix

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    While the campaign in Norway from April to June 1940 was a depressing opening to active hostilities between Britain and Nazi Germany, it led directly to Churchill's war leadership and The Coalition. Both were to prove decisive in the long term.This well researched work opens with a summary of the issues and personalities in British politics in the 1930s. The consequences of appeasement and failure to re-arm quickly became apparent in April 1940. The Royal Navy, which had been the defence priority, found itself seriously threatened by the Luftwaffe's control of the skies. The economies inflicted on the Army were all too obvious when faced by the Wehrmacht. Losses of men and equipment were serious and salutary.As the Author describes, the campaign itself was fought in three phases: the landings in support of the Norwegians, the evacuation from Central Norway which led to Chamberlain's resignation and, finally, the campaign in the North which remained credible until the fall of France. At the same time he covers the political background and activity in London and cabinet in-fighting.The Norway Campaign and the Rise of Churchill 1940, with its informed mix of politics and war fighting, provides a well informed and balanced overview of the opening campaign of the Second World War and its immediate and wider consequences.As featured in the Dover Express, Folkestone Herald and Essence Magazine.
    Show book
  • Murder in a Minute - cover

    Murder in a Minute

    Shouvik Bhattacharya

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    When a young woman is found lifeless in a pool of her own blood, everyone is convinced that it is her college sweetheart who murdered her. The victim's step-brothers, Rishabh and Arya,embark on a journey to unearth the truth, a journey riddled with fallacies and conspiracies, planted intentionally. What connection is there between a missing blue envelope, a misplaced sweater and stray footprints in a room. Could those people they thought they knew so well be hiding dark secrets about their past? Or did their dead sister have more to hide than they imagined?
    Show book
  • Brainwashed - How Universities Indoctrinate America's Youth - cover

    Brainwashed - How Universities...

    Ben Shapiro

    • 1
    • 42
    • 0
    Brainwashed is the explosive exposé of the leftist agenda at work in today's colleges, revealed by firebrand Ben Shapiro, a recent UCLA gratudate, syndicated columnist, and one of today's most exciting new conservative voices, who's been on the front lines of the battle for America's young minds. This book proves once and for all that so-called higher education continues to sink lower and lower into the depths of liberal madness as close-minded professors turn their students into socialists, atheists, race-baiters, and sex-crazed narcissists. "Ben Shapiro's writing is smart, informative, and incisive.  He is wise byond his years without losing the refreshing fearlessness of youth." ?Ann Coulter, best-selling author of High Crimes and Misdeameanors, Slander, and Treason "In Brainwashed, Shapiro tells the truth?that universities are forums of left-liberal indoctrination, where dissent is discouraged and penalized, with more restrictions on free speech rather any other part of American society. Parents who are paying for tutition might want to take note, and see what their hard-earned money is paying for." ?Michael Barone, U.S. News & World report and co-author of The Almanac of American Politics "Welcome to P.C. 101. In ths trenchant insider's expose, Ben Shapiro bears witness to the modern American campus freak show. You'll get up close and personal with the Marxist loons, moral relativists, multicultural zealots, and American-haters who are corrupting young minds. Brainwahed reveals the ignominious lows to which higher education has sunk. Get deprogrammed.   Buy this book!" ?Michelle Malkin, nationally syndiated columnist and author of Invasion "Sharp thinking, tight writing, crazy-but-true stories:  Ben Shapiro sees campus brainwashing and raises a national protest. This is a good book to give both freshmen who need warning and voters/alumni who need to take action." ?Dr. Marvin Olasky, University of Texas professor and editor-in-chief of World magazine "A worthy successor to God and Man at Yale and Harvard Hates America in exploring the bely of the academic beast." ?David Horowitz, founder of Students for Academic Freedom and author of Radical Son and Left Illusions "What Animal House did for the toga party, Brainwashed should do for American resistance to campus radicalism." ?Rusty Humphries, nationally syndicated radio talk show host
    Show book
  • The Billion Dollar Spy - A True Story of Cold War Espionage and Betrayal - cover

    The Billion Dollar Spy - A True...

    David E. Hoffman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    WATERSTONES NON-FICTION BOOK OF THE MONTH AUGUST 2018 AND A SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER
    
    
    'An astonishingly detailed picture of espionage in the 1980s, written with pacey journalistic verve and an eerily contemporary feel.' Ben Macintyre, The Times
    
    ‘A gripping story of courage, professionalism, and betrayal in the secret world.’ Rodric Braithwaite, British Ambassador in Moscow, 1988-1992
    
    ‘One of the best spy stories to come out of the Cold War and all the more riveting for being true.’ Washington Post
    
    January, 1977. While the chief of the CIA’s Moscow station fills his gas tank, a stranger drops a note into the car.
    
    In the years that followed, that stranger, Adolf Tolkachev, became one of the West’s most valuable spies. At enormous risk Tolkachev and his handlers conducted clandestine meetings across Moscow, using spy cameras, props, and private codes to elude the KGB in its own backyard – until a shocking betrayal put them all at risk. 
    
    
    Drawing on previously classified CIA documents and interviews with first-hand participants, The Billion Dollar Spy is a brilliant feat of reporting and a riveting true story from the final years of the Cold War.
    Show book
  • Theory of Thought - Symbolism - cover

    Theory of Thought - Symbolism

    Jason Shaw

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Theory of Thought presents a simplified way of understanding the impact of symbolism upon society. It employs a new methodology of using basic shapes and concepts to reveal a unique theory of symbols helping to explain human philosophy, religion, and mathematics. 
     
    It explains how all things and ideas are created and governed by some basic patterns. Discover the simple architecture of the 'hyperdimensional' symbols that rule the world and their forces of attraction that pull directly on the minds of all people.
    Show book