Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Heroes Gods and Monsters of the Greek Myths - cover

Heroes Gods and Monsters of the Greek Myths

Bernard Evslin

Publisher: Open Road Media Teen & Tween

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The bestselling compendium of ancient Greece’s timeless tales and towering figures of mythology from a classics expert.   The world of Greek mythology contains some of the most exciting and imaginative stories ever told. In Heroes, Gods and Monsters of the Greek Myths, bestselling author Bernard Evslin shares his passion for these fabulous tales and the eternal themes they so beautifully express. In this accessible overview, you’ll get to know the iconic gods, heroes, and tragic figures: Zeus, the all-powerful king of the gods; Hera, his cunning and jealous wife; King Midas, whose touch could turn anything into gold; the sculptor Pygmalion, who falls in love with his own creation; and many more.   With each story, Evslin brings new life to these legendary characters and the magical world they inhabit. Translated into multiple languages, and with more than ten million copies sold, this invaluable resource has become a classic in itself.  

Other books that might interest you

  • Hands-On Art: Things That Go - Drawing Painting and Printmaking - cover

    Hands-On Art: Things That Go -...

    Joe Fullman, Violet Peto

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Kids can get stuck into this fab activity book, packed with imaginative art projects surrounding things that go! With plenty of techniques to keep them engaged and excited, kids can rub, smudge, blow, and print amazing pictures. Projects include: • Printing car wheels with bottle caps • Using smudging to create race cars' motion blurs • Fingerprint-painting the passengers of a bus • And more! The combination of clever techniques, handy tips, and accessible step-by-step instructions make this book equally suited to beginners and more confident young artists. Perfect for rainy days, this book provides tons of creative fun for kids aged 4+.
    Show book
  • Asylum - cover

    Asylum

    Madeleine Roux

    • 7
    • 159
    • 0
    Madeleine Roux's New York Times bestselling Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-illustrated novel that Publishers Weekly called "a strong YA debut that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma on a place." 
    For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm. The dorm was formerly a sanatorium, more commonly known as an asylum. And not just any asylum—a last resort for the criminally insane. 
    As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline's twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on at Brookline . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum's dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary asylum, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.       
    Featuring found photographs from real asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Asylum is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity, perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. 
    Don't miss any of the books in the Asylum series, or Madeleine Roux's shivery fantasy series, House of Furies!
    Show book
  • Sanctum - cover

    Sanctum

    Madeleine Roux

    • 5
    • 109
    • 0
    In the chilling second book in the New York Times bestselling Asylum series, three teens must return to the asylum that still haunts their dreams to end the nightmare once and for all. With the page-turning suspense and horror that made Asylum such a standout, and featuring found photographs from real vintage carnivals, Sanctum is a mind-bending reading experience that's perfect for fans of the smash hit Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. 
    Dan, Abby, and Jordan remain traumatized by the summer they shared in the Brookline asylum. Much as they'd love to move on, many questions remain, and someone is determined to keep the terror alive, sending the teens photos of an old-timey carnival, with no note and no name. Forsaking their plan never to go back, the teens return to New Hampshire College under the guise of a weekend for prospective students, and there they realize that the carnival from the photos is not only real, it's here on campus, apparently for the first time in many years. 
    Sneaking away from sample classes and college parties, Dan and his friends lead a tour of their own—one through the abandoned houses and hidden places of a surrounding town. Camford is hiding a terrible past, and the truth behind Dan's connection to the asylum's evil warden is more terrifying than Dan ever imagined. 
    Don't miss Madeleine Roux's all-new gothic horror novel, House of Furies.
    Show book
  • The Menagerie - cover

    The Menagerie

    Tui T. Sutherland, Kari H....

    • 0
    • 19
    • 0
    From the New York Times bestselling author of the Wings of Fire series, Tui T. Sutherland, and her sister, Kari Sutherland, comes the Menagerie series, perfect for fans of Brandon Mull’s Fablehaven series and The Spiderwick Chronicles.  
    In the small town of Xanadu, Wyoming lies the Menagerie, a top secret facility filled with unicorns, dragons, phoenixes, and other fairy tale creatures. At least, it was a secret—until six griffin cubs escaped. 
    If Logan and Zoe don’t get the cubs back fast, the entire Menagerie will be shut down. The race is on and the resulting adventure is only the beginning of a thrilling series that will leave readers wanting a magical menagerie of their very own. 
     
    Show book
  • The Girl Guide - 50 Ways to Learn to Love Your Changing Body - cover

    The Girl Guide - 50 Ways to...

    Marawa Ibrahim

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    For every tween girl wondering about her changing body and changing brain, this funny and highly illustrated guide is the answer. Packed with advice about everything from periods to bras to body hair—PLUS tips on how to deal with crushes, new emotions, and all the chaos in between! This middle grade book is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. 
      
    Growing up is fun . . . but it’s tough, too. There are a lot of unknowns and it can be weird and messy for girls. Worry not! This book covers EVERYTHING girls need to know, and it's all been reviewed and fact-checked by medical consultant Dr. Radha Modgil.  
    Learn how:  
    To make your body your best friend (not your enemy). 
    To get out there and do YOU (even when you don’t want to move off the couch). 
    The thoughts and feelings that make you feel alone are shared by every girl on the planet. 
    To feel amazing through exercise, nutrition, and skin care. 
    And so much more!  
    Great for those who loved The Care and Keeping of You or What's Happening to My Body?
    Show book
  • Anne of Avonlea - cover

    Anne of Avonlea

    Lucy Montgomery

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Anne Shirley, the central character of Montgomery's all-time-classic Anne of Green Gables, is now among the important people of Avonlea society as its only schoolteacher. This book follows Anne from the age of 16 to 18.
    Show book