Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Gangsta Rap - cover

Gangsta Rap

Benjamin Zephaniah

Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens

  • 0
  • 20
  • 0

Summary

Just what do you do with talent from the wrong side of town? Benjamin Zephaniah draws on his own experiences with school and the music business to create a novel that speaks with passion and immediacy about the rap scene. 
 
Ray has trouble at home, and he has trouble at school – until he's permanently excluded and ends up sleeping on the floor of a record shop. What happens to a boy like Ray? If he's lucky, maybe he gets a chance to shine. 
 
The story of three boys who aren't easy. They don't fit in. They seem to attract trouble. But they know what they want, and they've got the talent to back it up ... 
 
Brilliantly written and with a real ear for dialogue, fans of Angie Thomas and Malorie Blackman will love Benjamin Zephaniah's novels for young adult readers:  
 
Refugee Boy 
Face 
Gangsta Rap 
Teacher's Dead

Other books that might interest you

  • The King of Attolia - cover

    The King of Attolia

    Megan Whalen Turner

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Discover the world of the Queen’s Thief 
    New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. 
    Eugenides, no stranger to desperate circumstances, has gotten himself into difficulties he can’t get out of. Used to being treated with a certain measure of wariness, if not respect, he suffers the pranks, insults, and intrigue of the Attolian court with dwindling patience. As usual, nothing is as it appears when he rescues a hot-headed young soldier in the Palace Guard. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief.  
    This edition of The King of Attolia includes “Wine Shop,” an exclusive story about Eugenides by Megan Whalen Turner, an introduction to the characters from the world of the Queen’s Thief, and a map of the world of the Queen’s Thief. 
    School Library Journal Best Book 
    Horn Book Fanfare 
    ALA Top 10 Best Book for Young Adults 
    New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age 
    “The Queen’s Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner’s books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come.”—Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer 
    "Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail—you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again."—Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of the The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows 
    “One of the most fascinating and original children’s fantasies to appear in years. . . . Rarely does one see a hero as psychologically knowing and irresistibly attractive as Turner’s Thief.”—The Horn Book (starred review) 
    “A winner.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)“Eugenides, the former Thief of Eddis, is back and just as clever as ever.”—School Library Journal (starred review)
    Show book
  • 10 Perfect Poems & Rhymes for 4-8 Year Olds (Perfect for Bedtime & Independent Reading) (Series: Read together for 10 minutes a day) (Storytime) - cover

    10 Perfect Poems & Rhymes for...

    Arcturus Publishing

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Storytime: A Brand New Series of Illustrated eBooks for Kids
     
    From Old Mother Hubbard to the House that Jack Built, this classic collection features some of the world's best-loved children's poems in an easy eBook format. Ready to read at the touch of a button and beautifully illustrated throughout, it's the perfect introduction to these timeless tales for boys and girls aged 4 and up.
     
    Help improve your child's reading in just 10 minutes a day with these short story collections from Storytime.
     
    10 minutes of reading a day can...
     
    Boost Vocabulary
     
    Reading for a short period every day exposes your child to almost 1 million words per year, which helps to foster communication and understanding.
     
    Encourage Learning
     
    Reading at home is linked to better performance in spelling, comprehension and general knowledge, helping to develop important learning skills.
     
    Promote Relaxation
     
    Reading a book gives your child the quiet time they need each day to relax, and is a great way for you to spend quality time together.
    Show book
  • A Court of Mist and Fury - cover

    A Court of Mist and Fury

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 3
    • 26
    • 0
    The # 1 New York Times bestselling sequel to Sarah J. Maas' spellbinding A Court of Thorns and Roses. 
     
    Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court--but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people. 
     
    Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms--and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future--and the future of a world cleaved in two. 
     
    With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.
    Show book
  • The Ghost Network (book 3) - System Failure - cover

    The Ghost Network (book 3) -...

    I.I Davidson, Aleksi Delikouras

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    System Failure is the third book in the thrilling adventure series,The Ghost Network, in which a diverse group of teenage hackers use their extraordinary abilities to fight a legendary tech icon who's seeking total control over their bodies and minds.Age Level: 11-14 | Grade Level: 5th and upThe gang are back in the Wolf's Den and are finally ready to put their abilities toward forces for good. The threat of Roy Lykos has finally been put to rest . . .or has it? His tentacles of power may stretch further than John had initially thought. 
    Show book
  • The Assassin's Blade - The Throne of Glass Novellas - cover

    The Assassin's Blade - The...

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 3
    • 18
    • 0
    Celaena Sardothien is her kingdom's most feared assassin. Though she  works for the powerful and ruthless Assassin's Guild, Celaena yields to  no one and trusts only her fellow killer for hire, Sam. 
     
    When  Celaena's scheming master, Arobynn Hamel, dispatches her on missions  that take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, she finds herself  acting independently of his wishes-and questioning her own allegiance.  Along the way, she makes friends and enemies alike, and discovers that  she feels far more for Sam than just friendship. But by defying  Arobynn's orders, Celaena risks unimaginable punishment, and with Sam by  her side, he is in danger, too. They will have to risk it all if they  hope to escape Arobynn's clutches-and if they fail, they'll lose not  just a chance at freedom, but their lives . . . 
     
    A prequel to  Throne of Glass, this collection of five novellas offers readers a  deeper look into the history of this cunning assassin and her  enthralling-and deadly-world. 
     
    Included in this volume: 
      The Assassin and the Pirate Lord 
      The Assassin and the Healer 
      The Assassin and the Desert 
      The Assassin and the Underworld 
      The Assassin and the Empire
    Show book
  • No Place For Magic - cover

    No Place For Magic

    E.D. Baker

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    The fourth book in the thrilling and magical Frog Princess series.   
    E. D. Baker's The Frog Princess was the inspiration for Disney's hit movie The Princess and the Frog! 
     
    When Emma and her beloved frog-turned-prince Eadric travel to Upper Montevista to ask for Eadric's parents' blessing on their marriage, they find his homeland in chaos: Eadric's annoying little brother Bradston has been kidnapped by trolls! Worse, his mother won't let Emma use magic, even to rescue Bradston, and Eadric seems suddenly a bit too fond of the girls from his past. But as they travel through unfriendly lands, battle sea-monsters and vampires, and find allies in unlikely places, Emma just might come to see her Eadric for the strong and loyal young man that he is. 
     
    Don't miss the rest of the Frog Princess series by E. D. Baker: 
      
     The Frog Princess 
     Dragon's Breath 
     Once Upon a Curse 
     No Place for Magic 
     The Salamander Spell 
     The Dragon Princess 
     Dragon Kiss 
     A Prince among Frogs 
     The Frog Princess Returns 
      
     And these other magical series: 
      
     Tales of the Wide-Awake Princess  
     The Fairy-Tale Matchmaker 
     More Than a Princess 
     Magic Animal Rescue 
      
     and more!
    Show book