If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Gangsta Rap - cover

Gangsta Rap

Benjamin Zephaniah

Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens

  • 0
  • 17
  • 0

Summary

Just what do you do with talent from the wrong side of town? Benjamin Zephaniah draws on his own experiences with school and the music business to create a novel that speaks with passion and immediacy about the rap scene. 
 
Ray has trouble at home, and he has trouble at school – until he's permanently excluded and ends up sleeping on the floor of a record shop. What happens to a boy like Ray? If he's lucky, maybe he gets a chance to shine. 
 
The story of three boys who aren't easy. They don't fit in. They seem to attract trouble. But they know what they want, and they've got the talent to back it up ... 
 
Brilliantly written and with a real ear for dialogue, fans of Angie Thomas and Malorie Blackman will love Benjamin Zephaniah's novels for young adult readers:  
 
Refugee Boy 
Face 
Gangsta Rap 
Teacher's Dead

Other books that might interest you

  • The Deep 1 - Dragon Rider - cover

    The Deep 1 - Dragon Rider

    Finn Black

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A never-seen-on-screen series of original exciting adventure books featuring Ant, Fontaine, Kaiko and William, the stars of CBBC's number one programme The Deep, for 7+ readers. Watch the action, read the adventure! 
     
    The sea is deep and full of secrets ... Something is seriously wrong in the South China Sea.  
     
    Journeying along the celestial equator, the Nektons – a family of daring underwater explorers – are dispatched on an urgent mission to investigate. Magma is erupting from the ocean floor and sending poisonous gases into the water, endangering the lives of the sea creatures that live there.  
     
    But the Nektons get more than they bargained for when they discover that an ancient and secret creature has been disturbed in the depths of the Dragon Hole – the largest Blue Hole in the world! Will they make it out alive? And more importantly, will they find an all-important clue to lead them to the lost city of Lemuria? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Beast Quest, Sea Quest and Ninjago
    Show book
  • Dragon Slippers - cover

    Dragon Slippers

    Jessica Day George

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    This enchanting tale of dragons, betrayals, and the power of friendship is the first in a charming and thrilling series by New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George.  
     
    Creel can't believe her aunt wants to sacrifice her to the local dragon. It's a ploy to lure a heroic knight so that he will fight the dragon, marry Creel out of chivalrous obligation, and lift the entire family out of poverty. Creel isn't worried. After all, nobody has seen a dragon in centuries. 
     
    But when the beast actually appears, Creel not only bargains with him for her life, she also ends up with a rare bit of treasure from his hoard: a pair of simple blue slippers, or so she thinks. But Creel learns that these shoes could be used to save her kingdom from the brink of war--or destroy it. 
     
    Don't miss these other stories from New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George: 
     
    Dragon Slippers series 
    Dragon Slippers 
    Dragon Flight 
    Dragon Spear 
     
    The Rose Legacy series 
    The Rose Legacy 
     
    Tuesdays at the Castle series 
    Tuesdays at the Castle 
    Wednesdays in the Tower 
    Thursdays with the Crown 
    Fridays with the Wizards 
    Saturdays at Sea 
     
    The Twelve Dancing Princesses series 
    Princess of the Midnight Ball 
    Princess of Glass 
    Princess of the Silver Woods 
     
    Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow 
     
    Silver in the Blood
    Show book
  • Heir of Fire - cover

    Heir of Fire

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 6
    • 20
    • 0
    Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak-but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life-and her future-forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed? 
     
    The bestselling series that has captured readers all over the world reaches new heights in this sequel to the New York Times best-selling Crown of Midnight. Packed with heart-pounding action, fierce new characters, and swoon-worthy romance, this third book will enthrall readers from start to finish.
    Show book
  • Dragon Flight - cover

    Dragon Flight

    Jessica Day George

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    The second book in New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George's charming, light-hearted fantasy series. 
     
    With  the Dragon Wars over, Creel finds herself bored with life as a  seamstress. Then word comes that a bordering country has been breeding  dragons in preparation for an invasion. Never one to miss out on the  action, Creel throws herself headlong into an adventure that will  reunite her with Shardas, the king of the dragons, pit her against a  vicious new dragon, and perhaps rekindle a friendship with Prince Luka.  
     
    Funny,  heart-felt, and action packed, new readers and returning fans alike  will dive headlong into this exhilarating follow up to Dragon Slippers. 
     
    Don't miss these other stories from New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George: 
     
    Dragon Slippers series 
    Dragon Slippers 
    Dragon Flight 
    Dragon Spear 
     
    The Rose Legacy series 
    The Rose Legacy 
     
    Tuesdays at the Castle series 
    Tuesdays at the Castle 
    Wednesdays in the Tower 
    Thursdays with the Crown 
    Fridays with the Wizards 
    Saturdays at Sea 
     
    The Twelve Dancing Princesses series 
    Princess of the Midnight Ball 
    Princess of Glass 
    Princess of the Silver Woods 
     
    Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow 
     
    Silver in the Blood
    Show book
  • Born Scared - cover

    Born Scared

    Kevin Brooks

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The much anticipated follow-up title from the multi-award winning author of The Bunker Diary, recipient of the 2014 Carnegie Medal for an outstanding book for young adults. 
    Elliot is terrified of almost everything. 
    From the moment he was born, his life has been governed by acute fear. The only thing that keeps his terrors in check are the pills that he takes every day. 
    It's Christmas Eve, there's a snowstorm and Elliot's medication is almost gone. His mum nips out to collect his prescription. She'll only be 10 minutes - but shen she doesn't come back, Elliot must face his fears and try to find her. She should only be 400 metres away. It might as well be 400 miles... 
    Born Scared joins the ranks of Jennifer Niven's All the Bright Places, Ned Vizzini's It's Kind of A Funny Story, and Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why as an example of teen fiction offering a frank and intelligent portrait of mental illness. 
    Kevin Brooks was born in 1959. 
    His first novel, Martyn Pig, was shortlisted for a 2002 Carnegie Medal and won the 2003 Branford Boase Award. His second novel, Lucas, won the 2004 North East Book Award. In 2014 his novel The Bunker Diary was awarded the CILIP Carnegie Medal. 
    Kevin lives in North Yorkshire.
    Show book
  • Dangerous - cover

    Dangerous

    Shannon Hale

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    "Master storyteller Hale takes readers to dizzying new heights . . . A can't-miss adventure." --Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken 
     
    In this thrilling sci-fi adventure, New York Times bestselling author Shannon Hale asks the question: How far would you go to save the world? 
        
    When Maisie Danger Brown nabbed a spot at a NASA-like summer boot camp, she never expected to uncover a conspiracy that would change her life forever. 
        
    And she definitely didn't plan to fall in love. 
        
    But now there's no going back--Maisie's the only thing standing between the Earth and annihilation. She must become the hero the world needs. The only problem is: how does a regular girl from Salt Lake City do that, exactly? It's not as though there's a handbook for this sort of thing. It's up to Maisie to come up with a plan--and find the courage to carry it out-before she loses her heart . . . and her life. 
     
    Equal parts romance and action-adventure, this explosive story is sure to leave both longtime Shannon Hale fans and avid science fiction readers completely breathless.
    Show book