Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
This Time - Australia's Republican Past and Future - cover

This Time - Australia's Republican Past and Future

Benjamin T. Jones

Publisher: Black Inc. Redback

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

To propose an Australian should be our head of state doesn’t seem revolutionary. ‘Isn’t that already the case?” some may even ask. Flip a coin and you’ll have your answer.

In This Time, Benjamin T. Jones charts a path to an independent future. He reveals the fascinating early history of the Australian republican movement of the 1850s and its larger-than-life characters. He shows why we need a new model for a transformed, multicultural nation, and discusses the best way to choose an Australian head of state. With republicans leading every government around the nation, the time is ripe for change.

‘Powerful and compelling. This is the book we’ve been waiting for. Jones has written the most passionate and coherent argument for an Australian republic in decades.’ —Mark McKenna, author of An Eye for Eternity: The Life of Manning Clark

‘This is an important Australian book about an important Australian campaign. Benjamin T. Jones tells the republican story as it should be told - as the story of Australia’s long journey towards its own best self.’ —Michael Cooney, national director of the Australian Republic Movement

‘This Time takes us to the high ground of political argument. His republic is one that institutionalises and promotes the values of democracy, meritocracy and community not just in our constitution but also in the many symbols we need to unite and inspire our citizens, including our flag, our coins and our national anthem.’ —Geoff Gallop, former premier of Western Australia

‘If you want to think, for the very first time, about why Australia needs an Australian Head of State, this is the book for you. Passionate, provocative and patriotic, this is the book we all need for the Republic we have to have.’ –Clare Wright, historian

‘Thought it would be good. Didn’t think it would be one of the best and most fascinating books I have read for years. Benjamin T. Jones for PM! Stuff that – Benjamin T. Jones FOR PRESIDENT!’ —Catherine Deveny

Benjamin T. Jones is a research fellow in the School of History, ANU. He is co-editor of Project Republic, appears regularly on ABC Radio National and writes for The Conversation.

Other books that might interest you

  • the princess saves herself in this one - cover

    the princess saves herself in...

    Amanda Lovelace, ladybookmad

    • 10
    • 142
    • 0
    From Amanda Lovelace, a poetry collection in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. The first three sections piece together the life of the author while the final section serves as a note to the reader. This moving book explores love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, and inspiration.the princess saves herself in this one is the first book in the "women are some kind of magic" series.
    Show book
  • Hitler's Pawn - The Boy Assassin and the Holocaust - cover

    Hitler's Pawn - The Boy Assassin...

    Stephen Koch

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    A remarkable story of a forgotten seventeen-year-old Jew who was blamed by the Nazis for the anti-Semitic violence and terror known as the Kristallnacht, the pogrom still seen as an initiating event of the Holocaust
    After learning about Nazi persecution of his family, Herschel Grynszpan (pronounced "Greenspan"), an impoverished seventeen-year-old Jew living in Paris, bought a small handgun and on November 7, 1938, went to the German embassy and shot the first German diplomat he saw. When the man died two days later, Hitler and Goebbels made the shooting their pretext for the great state-sponsored wave of anti-Semitic terror known as Kristallnacht, still seen by many as an initiating event of the Holocaust.
    Overnight, Grynszpan, a bright but naive teenager—and a perfect political nobody—was front-page news and a pawn in a global power struggle. When France fell, the Nazis captured Grynszpan after a wild chase and flew him to Berlin. The boy became a privileged prisoner of the Gestapo while Hitler and Goebbels plotted a massive show trial to blame "the Jews" for starting World War II. A prisoner and alone, Grynszpan grasped Hitler’s intentions and waged a battle of wits to sabotage the trial, knowing that even if he succeeded, he would certainly be murdered. The battle of wits was close, but Grynszpan finally won. Based on the newest research, Hitler’s Pawn is the richest telling of Grynszpan’s story to date.
    Show book
  • The Baltimore Book of the Dead - cover

    The Baltimore Book of the Dead

    Marion Winik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Author is a prolific and well-connected literary critic; formerly an NPR All Things Considered commentator, Winik is an NBCC board member and reviews for People magazine, among many other prestigious media outlets. She has appeared on television including the Today Show and Oprah, and is a confident speaker with many contacts
    For fans of Abigail Thomas' SAFEKEEPING, Jeannie Vanasco's THE GLASS EYE, or Maggie Nelson's JANE: A MURDER
    The Baltimore Book of the Dead is a sequel, or a companion volume to The Glen Rock Book of the Dead (which Counterpoint published in 2009). The books contain brief portraits of people Winik knew, or somehow crossed paths with, who have died. The Baltimore Book of the Dead builds on the themes from the first book, and differs in that it focuses on a significant number of Baltimore-based portraits, and that the public events and famous dead people included will reflect the decade immediately past. It also features a substantial introductory essay on the subject of mourning and memory.
    Intimacy and humor are manifest in the economy of each piece in The Baltimore Book of the Dead, none of which exceeds 400 words, each of which conjures and celebrates a life.
    
    Praise from Librarians and Booksellers
    “It is all too easy to hesitate before reading this book. After all, it is a collection of obituaries. One could be forgiven for thinking it will be too depressing, too grim. And yet it is luminous and kind, told with gentleness and understanding. People famous and unknown get the same treatment, their lives equal in their humanity and loss.” —Anton Bogomazov, Politics and Prose (Washington, DC)
    Show book
  • What the Poets Are Doing - cover

    What the Poets Are Doing

    Rob Taylor

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In 2002, Nightwood published Where the Words Come From: Canadian Poets in Conversation, a successful first-of-its-kind collection of interviews with literary luminaries like Margaret Atwood, Michael Ondaatje, Margaret Avison, Patrick Lane, Lorna Crozier and P.K. Page, conducted by “the younger generation” of poets of the day. Sixteen years later, What the Poets Are Doing brings together two younger generations of poets to engage in conversations with their peers on modern-day poetics, politics and more. Together they explore the world of Canadian poetry in the new millennium: what's changed, what's endured and what's next. An exciting “turn of the century” has evolved into a century characterized by social and digital media, the Donald Trump presidency, #MeToo empowerment and scandal, and Indigenous Truth and Reconciliation.
     
    Should we look to our poets as our most articulate analysts and critics of these times? Are they competing with social media or at one with social media?
     
    Poets in Conversation:
     
    Elizabeth Bachinsky and Kayla Czaga
     
    Tim Bowling and Raoul Fernandes
     
    Dionne Brand and Souvankham Thammavongsa
     
    Marilyn Dumont and Katherena Vermette
     
    Sue Goyette and Linda Besner
     
    Steven Heighton and Ben Ladouceur
     
    Sina Queyras and Canisia Lubrin
     
    Armand Garnet Ruffo and Liz Howard
     
    Karen Solie and Amanda Jernigan
     
    Russell Thornton and Phoebe Wang
     
    Afterword co-written by Nick Thran and Sue Sinclair
    Show book
  • The Beginnings of Philosophy in Greece - cover

    The Beginnings of Philosophy in...

    Maria Michela Sassi

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    A celebrated study of the origins of ancient Greek philosophy, now in English for the first time 
    How can we talk about the beginnings of philosophy today? How can we avoid the conventional opposition of mythology and the dawn of reason and instead explore the multiple styles of thought that emerged between them? In this acclaimed book, available in English for the first time, Maria Michela Sassi reconstructs the intellectual world of the early Greek "Presocratics" to provide a richer understanding of the roots of what used to be called "the Greek miracle." 
    The beginnings of the long process leading to philosophy were characterized by intellectual diversity and geographic polycentrism. In the sixth and fifth centuries BC, between the Asian shores of Ionia and the Greek city-states of southern Italy, thinkers started to reflect on the cosmic order, elaborate doctrines on the soul, write in solemn Homeric meter, or, later, abandon poetry for an assertive prose. And yet the Presocratics whether the Milesian natural thinkers, the rhapsode Xenophanes, the mathematician and "shaman" Pythagoras, the naturalist and seer Empedocles, the oracular Heraclitus, or the inspired Parmenides all shared an approach to critical thinking that, by questioning traditional viewpoints, revolutionized knowledge. 
    A unique study that explores the full range of early Greek thinkers in the context of their worlds, the book also features a new introduction to the English edition in which the author discusses the latest scholarship on the subject.
    Show book
  • I Am Her Tribe - cover

    I Am Her Tribe

    Danielle Doby

    • 4
    • 8
    • 0
    Positive and powerful, I Am Her Tribe is a collection of poetry drawing on the viral Instagram handle and online hashtag that serves to create moments of connection through empowerment and storytelling. Focusing on inspiration, Doby's poetry invites its reader to "Come as you are. Your tribe has arrived.  Your breath can rest here."both soft and fiercecan coexist and still be powerful
    Show book