Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Notmsparker's Second Berlin Companion - Everything You Never Knew You Wanted to Know About Berlin - cover

Notmsparker's Second Berlin Companion - Everything You Never Knew You Wanted to Know About Berlin

Beata Gontarczyk-Krampe

Publisher: Beata Gontarczyk-Krampe

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Studying Berlin is like reading a dictionary: while all that you need is a single definition, once you’ve opened the volume, hours or days later you might still find yourself happily hopping from one entry to another. 
In fact, to anyone prepared to ask questions and look closer, Berlin soon grows to feel like a whole dictionary section at the state library. 
No wonder then it proved to be an impossible task to fit all the historical facts and anecdotes gathered over several years of writing my Kreuzberged blog into just one volume. 
So for all those who enjoyed the first book, Notmsparker’s Berlin Companion or I didn’t know that about Berlin, and those who never tire of discovering and learning new, lesser-known facts from this city’s past, here is another installment of curious stories and forgotten tales straight from the treasure trove of your Berlin Companion.

Other books that might interest you

  • Road Tripping - A Parent's Guide to Planning (& Surviving) the Annual Car Trip - cover

    Road Tripping - A Parent's Guide...

    Loralee Leavitt, Rick Walton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    How to plan, pack, save money, and keep the journey fun when you get your motor running and head out on the highway—with children in tow.  
     
    Imagine driving down an empty road in the middle of nowhere, your spouse asleep in the passenger seat, kids fighting in the back, two more hours to the next hotel you hope has a vacancy, you’re struggling to keep your eyes open, and you can’t remember the last time you ate. Just thinking about this would make even the most resilient parents second-guess the idea of taking their children on a long road trip. Is it really worth the trouble? 
     
    The truth is, any family can take a long road trip. All it takes is preparation, time behind the wheel, and determination to keep your family’s spirits up, no matter the situation. In Road Tripping: A Parent’s Guide to Planning and Surviving the Annual Car Trip, authors Loralee Leavitt and Rick Walton take you step-by-step through what you need to know to survive any situation as a family on the road. Not only do they help you decide what to pack, but they also provide resources on where to go, what to do, and how to get the best discounts. They even give tips for single parents who want to spend some quality time with their children, but aren’t sure if they could do it alone. 
     
    So don’t let that open road scare you. Take time to prepare, pack up the kids, and start out on your next, fun-filled adventure. 
     
    “An excellent resource for families planning road trips—particularly extended cross-country trips!” —Mama Smiles
    Show book
  • Remembering the High Street - A Nostalgic Look at Famous Names - cover

    Remembering the High Street - A...

    Gordon Thorburn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A nostalgic trip down the British high street, remembering once famous names such as Woolworths, Athena and C&A and also featuring current favorites, including the ubiquitous Tesco and Marks & Spencer which started life as a penny market stall to become a retail giant that has had to adapt to survive. Full of fact boxes and quirky facts about much-loved shops and the people behind them  just who was W.H. Smith and what did those famous initials stand for? A fascinating book which charts the rise and, in too many cases, fall of our favorite shops.There used to be butcher, baker, grocer, greengrocer, draper, Boots, ironmonger (hardware), pub, WH Smith, cafe, bank, Freeman Hardy and Willis, jeweler, Marks and Spencer, furniture shop, hotel, bookseller, off license, haberdasher, Woolworth's, confectioner, cobbler, tobacconist, electrical showroom, Burton's, gas showroom, ladies' fashions, gentlemen's outfitters, and more, and maybe a department store, and several versions of some. What do we have now? Pound shop, charity (thrift) shop, building society branch, betting shop, coffee shop, charity shop, shop boarded up, building society branch, sandwich shop, shop boarded up, kebab takeaway, charity shop, card shop, Indian takeaway, mobile phone shop - we exaggerate but make the point. So what has gone wrong - if it is wrong? The author discusses these and many other topics, and answers hundreds of burning questions. Whatever happened to the Home and Colonial, Timothy White's, Lipton's, the District Bank, the Fifty Shilling Tailor? Who were Jesse Boot, Montague Burton, W H Smith? How did the Co-op start? Whatever happened to all those things we used to buy in those shops in the high street - Balkan Sobranie, Caley Tray, Oxydol, Phillips Stick-a-soles, Icilma Cream, Mansion Polish, Mrs Peek's Puddings? Does any girl still dream of going to work in her Maidenform bra?
    Show book
  • Not My Type - an enemies-to-lovers romcom - cover

    Not My Type - an...

    Anna Zarlenga

    • 3
    • 8
    • 0
    Sara and Teo couldn't be more different. She's a university researcher and hopelessly in love with an oblivious professor. He's the attractive heir to a fortune, and used to getting whatever he wants. When they bump into each other at a wedding, the only thing they can agree on is their total lack of interest in marriage – and each other. 
     
    So when Teo turns up at Sara's university as a mature student, she's stunned – not to mention horrified! But then he offers her a win-win deal. If she helps him pass the year, he'll help her win her professor's heart. What could go wrong? After all, they're in no danger of falling for each other... 
     
    For fans of Pernille Hughes and Jo Watson, this is THE enemies-to-lovers romance you need to read this year!
    Show book
  • Ukraine: The History and Legacy of Ukraine from the Middle Ages to Today - cover

    Ukraine: The History and Legacy...

    Charles River Editors

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The history of Ukraine is a fascinating story of how cultures, political systems, religions, and power have met, intersected, morphed, and expanded. The region was relatively sparsely populated for much of ancient history, a wilderness of rivers, forests, and steppes, but that does not detract from the rich historical development of the region. A huge area, Ukraine is wedged between the continents of Asia and Europe, and its position as a crossroads ensured there was fierce competition for influence there. Historians have called the formation of Ukraine the “establishment of a unity among three zones…the ports of Crimea and the coast, the rich steppe heartland, and the forests,” based around the themes of “geography, ecology and culture.”  
    	Today’s Ukraine is a huge country, incorporating an area over 600,000 square kilometers and home to 42 million people. It stretches from the Crimean Peninsula on the Black Sea in the south to Belarus in the north, Russia to the east, and Poland, Slovakia, and Hungary to the west. The Dnieper River is the region’s key waterway, running into the Black Sea, while the Danube Delta also forms its border with modern-day Romania to the southwest. A steppe exists in the middle of the country while the Carpathian Mountains feature in the west. This geographical formation has influenced some of the country’s key historical developments, as well as the location of its major settlements. Kiev (known today as Kyiv) is, of course, the longstanding capital of the country, located on the Dnieper River in the central northern part of modern Ukraine. Lviv is another large city, located in the northwest near the border with Poland. Odessa is a seaside city on the Black Sea in Ukraine’s southwest, while Kharkiv, Luhansk, and Donetsk are major cities in the country’s east, close to the Russian border. 
    Show book
  • Yankee Come Home - On the Road from San Juan Hill to Guantánamo - cover

    Yankee Come Home - On the Road...

    William Craig

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Yankee Come Home explores one family's history in Cuba, and through it, the intense, complex, smoldering relationship between the island nation and its leviathan neighbor. 
     
    In Cuba's most entrancing, storied landscape, William Craig is searching for a history that his family has lost-and now needs to recover. He's looking for the truth about his mysterious great-grandfather, Thomas O'Brien, a self-proclaimed hero of the "splendid little war" who left a legacy of glorious, painful lies. Living a dream that haunts American hearts-the dream of escaping the past, of becoming who we say we are-"Papa" died leaving his own children wondering who he'd really been. 
     
    Along the way, Craig searches for the place where Gilded Age America abandoned republican ideals in favor of imperial ambition-and where his own generation of Americans now preside over arbitrary imprisonment and systematized torture. "I needed to see Guantánamo the way some Americans needed to drive through the night to kneel at JFK's coffin, and others are drawn to Ground Zero," he writes. "Sometimes, we don't know what we've lost until we trace the scars." Traveling with Craig, readers will join in present-day adventures: spirit-possession rituals, black market odysseys, roots-music epiphanies, and discovering the continuing impact of the war in 1898 on both Cuba and America. 
     
    The story of the United States in Cuba is fascinating, but none too flattering. Like the reality of "Papa" O'Brien's identity, it reflects more hubris than heroism, more avarice than sacrifice. In the end, however, Craig's journey in Yankee Come Home is a transformation from disillusionment to redemption.
    Show book
  • Death in Yellowstone - Accidents and Foolhardiness in the First National Park - cover

    Death in Yellowstone - Accidents...

    Lee H. Whittlesey

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The chilling tome that launched an entire genre of books about the often gruesome but always tragic ways people have died in our national parks, this updated edition of the classic includes calamities in Yellowstone from the past sixteen years, including the infamous grizzly bear attacks in the summer of 2011 as well as a fatal hot springs accident in 2000. In these accounts, written with sensitivity as cautionary tales about what to do and what not to do in one of our wildest national parks, Lee H. Whittlesey recounts deaths ranging from tragedy to folly-from being caught in a freak avalanche to the goring of a photographer who just got a little too close to a bison. Armchair travelers and park visitors alike will be fascinated by this important book detailing the dangers awaiting in our first national park.
    Show book