Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Sherlock Holmes and the Seven Deadly Sins Murders - cover

Sherlock Holmes and the Seven Deadly Sins Murders

Barry Day

Publisher: MysteriousPress.com

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A killer hunts the members of an old Oxford club—and Sherlock Holmes’s brother is the next target Six months after the bloody return of Jack the Ripper, Sherlock Holmes is starved for entertainment. When a friend of Dr. Watson’s suggests a shooting trip in Scotland, Holmes leaps at the invitation. But after nearly a week of dreary Scottish weather, and hardly any shooting at all, Holmes is worse off than before. Watson fears the holiday has been an utter bust—until they are confronted with a murder baffling enough to be worthy of the great detective.   One of the local gentry has been found dead in his library, suffocated in the safe where he kept his most valuable documents. Holmes recognizes the dead man as a member of the same secret society as his brother Mycroft—the Oxford group known as the Seven Sinners. One sinner down, six to go . . . but if Mycroft falls, so does England, and Holmes must be quick in order to save both his brother and his country.

Other books that might interest you

  • Heart of the Hunter - cover

    Heart of the Hunter

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Six-foot five-inch Thobela "Tiny" Mpayipheli was once a feared assassin and freedom fighter, trained by the Stasi and KGB. In post-apartheid South Africa, he's happily working in a garage. But Tiny’s quiet domestic life is interrupted by a desperate plea from the daughter of a trusted old friend: he’s being held hostage after taking an incriminating hard drive and needs help. Tiny’s old training kicks in, and as he races across the South African landscape on a stolen BMW motorcycle to the rendezvous point, he is pursued by several interested and hostile forces, including South Africa’s Presidential Intelligence Unit. None of them have a clue what they’re up against.With his books published in twenty languages, the critically acclaimed Deon Meyer has won a reputation as one of the best thriller writers in the world. Heart of the Hunter is an epic adventure across the landscape and history of a remarkable country.
    Show book
  • The Old Blue Line - A Joanna Brady Novella - cover

    The Old Blue Line - A Joanna...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Butch Dixon has been taken for a ride … 
    Not a jump in the car, see the sights kind of ride. He's been taken for everything he has. He's lost his house, his restaurant business, his savings, his car, his best friend, his faith—all to his conniving ex-wife. But that was seven years ago. He picked himself up, left Chicago, and started over in Peoria, Arizona, running the Roundhouse Bar and Grill. He doesn't look back on those bad years; there's no point. Not until two curious cops show up at the Roundhouse. 
    Faith, Butch's ex-wife, has been murdered, and the evidence points to him. Stunned, Butch quickly realizes that the black-hearted woman is going to ruin him again, from her grave. Lucky for Butch, the Old Blue Line, a group of retired—but still sharp and tenacious—former legal and law enforcement coots, have taken it upon themselves, as a favor, to make sure he doesn't cross that thin line. After the dust settles, Butch's life is again upended—when a little red-haired ball of fire, Sheriff Joanna Brady, takes a seat at his bar.
    Show book
  • An Afternoon to Kill - cover

    An Afternoon to Kill

    Shelley Smith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This Victorian mystery with twists and turns will keep you gripped until the very last page: “Prim and petticoated and poisonous” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).   Lancelot Jones was on his way to his first job—as tutor to an Indian Rajah’s son. But the Rajah’s ancient plane and incompetent pilot dropped him in the middle of a desert. The wrong desert, at that.   Seeking shade, he finds the only dwelling of any size within miles and its curious owner, an old Englishwoman named Alva Hine. Taking him into her home, Alva begins to tell Lancelot an incredible tale. She tells him a strange story of a summer fifty years ago, of love and hate and murder in a respectable middle-class Victorian household . . .   And as the afternoon wears on, Alva’s story begins to take on an increasingly sinister note for the weary Mr. Jones. Soon, he has more than one reason to want to hear the end of the story . . .   “[An] amazing novel . . . I am completely under the spell of this fine writer.” —Pretty Sinister Books   “Entirely credible.” —Birmingham Post
    Show book
  • Stand Down - A JP Beaumont Novella - cover

    Stand Down - A JP Beaumont Novella

    J. A. Jance

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    An e-original novella from New York Times bestselling author J. A. Jance.  
    Life has shifted for J. P. Beaumont. After a tragic accident that devastated—and ultimately disbanded—his Special Homicide Investigation Team, he accepts that he has left homicide detection behind at this point, but he has a lot of unanticipated free time on his hands. He's keeping busy with renovations on the new house that he and his wife, Mel Soames, the newly appointed chief of police in Bellingham, Washington, have bought. But new fixtures and paint palettes can occupy only so much of Beau's daily life, and Mel is encouraging him to return to where he is needed: investigating crimes. 
    In the meantime, she is struggling to gain control of her new situation, cast into a department where some are welcoming—and some are not. It's been a few months, and the tension in the police department is rising, but Beau realizes Mel has to tackle things in her own way, so he refrains from advising. But when Beau shows up one afternoon to survey the construction at their new house and finds Mel's car there but no sign of her, his investigative instincts kick in. Suddenly he's back in the game—except this time, his heart is on the line as well as his professional dignity.
    Show book
  • The Woman in the Blue Cloak - cover

    The Woman in the Blue Cloak

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    The Woman in the Blue Cloak marks Meyer’s return to his beloved Benny Griessel series.
    Meyer is a world-class thriller writer. He writes gripping books with inventive plots, realistic characters, and universal themes.
    The Woman in the Blue Cloak is a departure from Meyer’s previous work only in its brevity: just over 30,000 words, it is an accessible, fast read that will bring more fans to the Griessel series. This is a format which has seen considerable success in the past: Gillian Flynn’s 2015 novella The Grownup has sold nearly 50,000 copies according to Bookscan. 
    Readers of Donna Tartt will enjoy seeing the literary reappearance of Carel Fabritius, whose painting “The Goldfinch”—featured prominently in Tartt’s novel of the same name—was displayed in a 2014 exhibit at the Frick Collection in New York that had visitors lining around the block in frigid temperatures for hours. 
    Meyer has a devoted and growing following in the U.S., with avid fans across the crime community, including luminaries such as Stephen King, Michael Connelly, Tess Gerritsen, and Grove Atlantic’s own Thomas Perry.
    Meyer’s previous book, the standalone novel Fever, was named an Indie Next Selection and an Amazon Best Book of the Month (Science Fiction and Fantasy) and commended by Stephen King as “Reminiscent of The Stand and The Passage. Great stuff.” 
    Meyer’s most recent Benny Griessel thriller, Icarus, was shortlisted for the 2016 CWA International Dagger Award and the Nielson Booksellers’ Choice Award. It was named a Best Book of the Year by the Boston Globe and Financial Times and was named one of Publishers Weekly’s Best Audiobooks of 2015.
    An international bestseller, Meyer is known as the “King of South African Crime.” His books have been published in 27 languages and have netted just under 60,000 copies in all formats in the U.S. alone.
    Show book
  • The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe and Savage Thriller - cover

    The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe...

    James Hayman

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller! 
    Two identical women.  
    Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short  
    108 years apart 
    June 1904. 
    Aimée Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maine's richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby family's private summer island, the letter "A" mysteriously carved into her chest. 
    June 2012. 
    Veronica Aimée Whitby, the eighteen-year-old descendant and virtual double of the first Aimée, becomes the victim of a near perfect copycat murder. With another beautiful, promising young Whitby woman slain, the media begin to swarm and pressure builds for Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage to bring the killer quickly to justice. But the key to solving Aimée's death just might have been buried with her beautiful ancestor. 
    The latest McCabe and Savage thriller from USA Today bestselling author James Hayman is a crackling, twisty novel of suspense, perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and John Sandford.
    Show book