Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Sherlock Holmes - In His Own Words and in the Words of Those Who Knew Him - cover

Sherlock Holmes - In His Own Words and in the Words of Those Who Knew Him

Barry Day

Publisher: MysteriousPress.com

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A delightful biography of Sherlock Holmes that draws on quotations from Dr. Watson More has been written about Sherlock Holmes in a century than was written about Shakespeare in four. It is a testament to the enduring allure of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s great detective that long after his last bow, devotees of Baker Street have continued to produce stories, films, and television works based on the life of Sherlock Holmes. Nothing new can match the brilliant intensity of the original, however, and so Barry Day has produced this invaluable biography of Holmes, drawn from the words of the man who knew him best: Dr. John Watson.   From their first days at 221B Baker Street to the tragedy at the Reichenbach Falls, and continuing on after Holmes’s glorious resurrection and retirement, Day compiles every detail given in the original stories about the life of the great detective, hoping to solve the most baffling mystery of all: What sort of man was Sherlock Holmes?  

Other books that might interest you

  • The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe and Savage Thriller - cover

    The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe...

    James Hayman

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller! 
    Two identical women.  
    Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short  
    108 years apart 
    June 1904. 
    Aimée Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maine's richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby family's private summer island, the letter "A" mysteriously carved into her chest. 
    June 2012. 
    Veronica Aimée Whitby, the eighteen-year-old descendant and virtual double of the first Aimée, becomes the victim of a near perfect copycat murder. With another beautiful, promising young Whitby woman slain, the media begin to swarm and pressure builds for Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage to bring the killer quickly to justice. But the key to solving Aimée's death just might have been buried with her beautiful ancestor. 
    The latest McCabe and Savage thriller from USA Today bestselling author James Hayman is a crackling, twisty novel of suspense, perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and John Sandford.
    Show book
  • The Room of the Dead - cover

    The Room of the Dead

    M.R.C. Kasasian

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    'A rival for M.C. Beaton' Frost Magazine. 
     
    DECEMBER, 1939. 
     
    Having solved the case of the Suffolk Vampire, Inspector Betty Church and her colleagues at Sackwater Police Station have settled back down to business. There's the elderly Mr Fern who keeps losing his slippers, Sylvia Satin's thirteenth birthday party to attend and the scintillating case of the missing bookmark to solve. 
     
    Though peace and quiet are all well and good, Betty soon finds herself longing for some cold-blooded murder... 
     
    When a bomb is dropped on a residential street, both peace and quiet are broken and it seems the war has finally reached Sackwater. But Betty cannot stop the Hun, however hard she tries. So when a body is found on Sackwater's beach, Betty concentrates on finding the enemy much closer to home. 
     
    'Eccentric and entertaining with a nicely complex plot' Crime Review. 
     
    'A wonderfully gripping old-fashioned murder mystery' The Lady.
    Show book
  • The Killer in the Choir - cover

    The Killer in the Choir

    Simon Brett

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Although she hadn’t known Leonard Mallett very well, nor liked him particularly, Carole Seddon feels duty bound to attend her fellow committee member’s funeral. As she suspected, the hymns, readings and sermon are all very predictable – not unlike Leonard himself. What she couldn’t have predicted was that the deceased’s daughter would use the occasion to publicly accuse her stepmother of murder.
    Did Heather Mallett really kill her husband, as many Fethering residents believe? Deciding to get to the heart of the matter, Carole’s neighbour Jude joins the new community choir – and discovers that amidst the clashing egos and petty resentments lurk some decidedly false notes. At least one chorister would appear to be hiding a deadly secret – and it’s up to Carole and Jude to unearth the truth.
    Show book
  • Blue Water - cover

    Blue Water

    Joseph Parcell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Emily Hunter is a woman suffering. She is finally making strides at living independently after being mandated to residential psychiatric care for most of her adult life. Now, holding down a night shift job, taking her medication regularly, and meeting with her therapist twice a week, she's finally on solid ground — or so she thinks. Amongst Emily’s frequent delusions is a hallucination of a little girl in purple pajamas that she has come to call “Carrot.” In the past, Emily believed that Carrot was real, and that the little girl desperately needed help. Her visions of this child have always been strong and surreal. Now they're becoming too powerful to ignore. Carrot is guiding Emily.  Determined to find the answers, Emily starts down a deadly and terrifying path, following Carrot into madness.
    Show book
  • A Date With Death - cover

    A Date With Death

    Mark Roberts

    • 3
    • 20
    • 1
    All they wanted was to find their happy-ever-after... Instead, they met their deaths. 
     
    Three women have been killed in Liverpool. The MO points to a stranger, and now DCI Eve Clay is on the trail of a vicious man who preys on lonely women on dating sites. He signs off the same way with each message: "Kiss kiss, night night." 
     
    His crimes are escalating – and Eve has to stop him before another girl dies. But first she needs to find him. And that means going undercover online, and posing as his perfect victim... 
     
    REVIEWS FOR MARK ROBERTS: 
     
    'A fast-paced, chilling novel ... Short chapters, crackling dialogue and action that never lets up for a single moment ... Mark Roberts is what British crime fiction has been looking for' CRIMESQUAD. 
     
    'Intricate, fast-paced, with a sense of the macabre ... A genuinely innovative crime writer' DAILY MAIL. 
     
    'Dark, gripping and believable. Roberts' intimate knowledge of Liverpool makes the city into a sinister character of itself' GRAHAM MASTERTON. 
     
    'This is one of the most thought-provoking, powerful serial killing murders I've ever read. It's brutal, but I found that the plot was so deep, so twisted, intense and clever that there was no way I could put the book down until the final page' BESTSELLING CRIME THRILLERS.
    Show book
  • The Vanished - cover

    The Vanished

    Lotte Hammer, Søren Hammer

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Lying at the bottom of his apartment stairs, a postman is found dead.  
     
    At first glance, his death appears to be a simple fall, a straightforward accident and the perfect case for Detective Chief Superintendent Konrad Simonsen to return to after a severe heart attack. But when he is called to investigate, new forensic evidence comes to light and something doesn't add up. Did the postman fall or was he pushed? 
     
    When life-size images of a girl are discovered plastering the walls of the dead man's attic, the case takes a new and sinister turn. Who is she? Could she be alive? 
     
    Soon the homicide team find themselves delving into the past, but as they approach the truth, Simonsen discovers long-hidden skeletons in his own closet.
    Show book