Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Barefoot Doctor's Handbook for the Urban Warrior - Wayward Taoist Survival Technique - cover

Barefoot Doctor's Handbook for the Urban Warrior - Wayward Taoist Survival Technique

Barefoot Doctor

Publisher: Wayward Publications Ltd

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Barefoot Doctor presents this personal survival guide to survive and thrive in this global lunatic asylum. 
A thorough primer in practical Taoist philosophy and technique to develop all your crucial warrior skills and optimize your strength, stamina and overall health, your mental acuity and integration, dexterity, communication skills, psychic shielding and self-defense skills, emotional equilibrium, chi control, psychic awareness and intuition skills, social skills and spiritual soundness. Written in 1997 though fully contemporary the book is eerily prophetic and aside from deservedly being a seminal self-help classic with its quirky style and jaunty angles, and being essentially useful, it’s also fun to read and practice the suggested techniques. Reading and using this book constitutes an experiment with reality and we’ll be delighted to hear of your own findings and transformative results so do let us know once you’ve had a chance to set your process motion.

Other books that might interest you

  • In Manchuria - A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China - cover

    In Manchuria - A Village Called...

    Michael Meyer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyer's In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of China's legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming community of Wasteland, hometown to his wife's family. Their personal saga mirrors the tremendous change most of rural China is undergoing, in the form of a privately held rice company that has built new roads, introduced organic farming, and constructed high-rise apartments into which farmers can move in exchange for their land rights. Once a commune, Wasteland is now a company town, a phenomenon happening across China that Meyer documents for the first time; indeed, not since Pearl Buck wrote The Good Earth has anyone brought rural China to life as Meyer has here. 
        
      Amplifying the story of family and Wasteland, Meyer takes us on a journey across Manchuria's past, a history that explains much about contemporary China--from the fall of the last emperor to Japanese occupation and Communist victory. Through vivid local characters, Meyer illuminates the remnants of the imperial Willow Palisade, Russian and Japanese colonial cities and railways, and the POW camp into which a young American sergeant parachuted to free survivors of the Bataan Death March. In Manchuria is a rich and original chronicle of contemporary China and its people.
    Show book
  • Own Best Friend - Eight Steps to a Life of Purpose Passion and Ease - cover

    Own Best Friend - Eight Steps to...

    Kristina Hallett

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Are you ready to truly live your rock star life?
    When stress plays a bigger role in your life than happiness, and when there’s no time for you or the things you love, it’s time to make a change!
    Do these sound like you?
    “I feel like something is missing in my life.”
    “I take care of everyone but me.”
    “I’m running in place and running out of time.”
    “I’m just not happy.”
    “I’m sick of trying things that don’t work.”
    “When will things get better?”
    We all have times when we can’t get out of our own way and life gets us down. If you’re finding that you have more of those days than “Woohoo! I’m on top of the world!” days, here’s some great news: it is so possible to feel (and live) better. Dr. Hallett knows exactly what you need. As a clinical psychologist and life coach, she has spent over 20 years helping people to live their best lives. If your day-to-day isn’t all you hoped for, and if you want to let go of stress and live a truly fabulous life, Own Best Friend is the book for you.
    Show book
  • The Backlash - Right-Wing Radicals High-Def Hucksters and Paranoid Politics in the Age of Obama - cover

    The Backlash - Right-Wing...

    Will Bunch

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In The Backlash, Liberal columnist and Pulitzer Prize-winning political reporter Will Bunch goes behind the scenes of America’s new extreme right-wing minority to explore how their campaign of misinformation, their distortion of President Obama, and their collective fear of the future combine to pose a very real threat to our democratic system. From health care reform to immigration policies, The Backlash is a gripping investigation into the emerging voice of the dangerous American right wing.
    Show book
  • Guests of the Ayatollah - The Iran Hostage Crisis: The First Battle in America's War with Militant Islam - cover

    Guests of the Ayatollah - The...

    Mark Bowden

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the best-selling author of Black Hawk Down comes a riveting, definitive chronicle of the Iran hostage crisis, America’s first battle with militant Islam. On November 4, 1979, a group of radical Islamist students, inspired by the revolutionary Iranian leader Ayatollah Khomeini, stormed the U.S. embassy in Tehran. They took fifty-two Americans hostage, and kept nearly all of them hostage for 444 days. In Guests of the Ayatollah, Mark Bowden tells this sweeping story through the eyes of the hostages, the soldiers in a new special forces unit sent to free them, their radical, naïve captors, and the diplomats working to end the crisis. Bowden takes us inside the hostages’ cells and inside the Oval Office for meetings with President Carter and his exhausted team. We travel to international capitals where shadowy figures held clandestine negotiations, and to the deserts of Iran, where a courageous, desperate attempt to rescue the hostages exploded into tragic failure. Bowden dedicated five years to this research, including numerous trips to Iran and countless interviews with those involved on both sides. Guests of the Ayatollah is a detailed, brilliantly re-created, and suspenseful account of a crisis that gripped and ultimately changed the world.
    Show book
  • The Meaning of Flowers - Myth Language & Lore - cover

    The Meaning of Flowers - Myth...

    Ann Field, Gretchen Scoble

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Should you send a rose of crimson or of white to the one you love? What gift of flowers best expresses thanks to a dear friend? From ancient days, long before words complicated what we say to one another, flowers have been our messengers, invested with our most cherished feelings. Illustrated with luscious collages by acclaimed artist Ann Field, this enchanting tribute to the power and symbolism of flowers offers a contemporary introduction to an age-old tradition. The text draws on botanical, historical, and mythological sources worldwide, from ancient Rome to Victorian England, from Asia to the Americas, presenting portraits of almost 50 blossoms favored for all time. In Persia, for instance, the black medulla of the red tulip was said to represent the lover's heart, burnt to a coal by love's passion. To Victorians, lavender signified a broken trust, hollyhocks fertility, and nasturtiums a jest or whimsy. Blending fact, folktale, natural history, and original art, The Meaning of Flowers explores the language and lore of nature's most intimate and beautiful gifts.
    Show book
  • Radical Relations - Lesbian Mothers Gay Fathers and Their Children in the United States since World War II - cover

    Radical Relations - Lesbian...

    Daniel Winunwe Rivers

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In Radical Relations, Daniel Winunwe Rivers offers a previously untold story of the American family: the first history of lesbian and gay parents and their children in the United States. Beginning in the postwar era, a period marked by both intense repression and dynamic change for lesbians and gay men, Rivers argues that by forging new kinds of family and childrearing relations, gay and lesbian parents have successfully challenged legal and cultural definitions of family as heterosexual. These efforts have paved the way for the contemporary focus on family and domestic rights in lesbian and gay political movements.  
    Based on extensive archival research and 130 interviews conducted nationwide, Radical Relations includes the stories of lesbian mothers and gay fathers in the 1950s, lesbian and gay parental activist networks and custody battles, families struggling with the AIDS epidemic, and children growing up in lesbian feminist communities. Rivers also addresses changes in gay and lesbian parenthood in the 1980s and 1990s brought about by increased awareness of insemination technologies and changes in custody and adoption law.
    Show book