Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
The Death of a Much-Travelled Woman - And Other Adventures with Cassandra Reilly - cover

The Death of a Much-Travelled Woman - And Other Adventures with Cassandra Reilly

Barbara Wilson

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

A collection of nine madcap stories following the wayfaring translator and amateur sleuth Cassandra Reilly around the globe in search of her next great mysteryLesbian translator and part-time detective Cassandra Reilly has two thrilling investigations under her belt: the case of a missing person in Barcelona and that of a dead spa-owner in Transylvania. In this humorous and engrossing collection, Cassandra is hard at work in some of the world’s most picturesque locales, including Maui, the English moors, and the Icelandic coast.Among the vast assortment of misdeeds she’s called upon to investigate—most of which take place within the literary world—Cassandra finds ample opportunity to exercise her trademark wit and eye for irony. From “Murder at the International Feminist Book Fair,” in which the exploits of a mudslinging women’s magazine lead to a death on the floor of the convention, to “An Expatriate Death,” about a local Mexican writer who appropriates Cassandra’s identity for a character in his novel—and then promptly kills off the character—The Death of a Much-Travelled Woman is another showcase of the intrepid translator’s zest not only for globetrotting, but for wandering smack into the middle of the most unusual crimes.The Death of a Much-Travelled Woman is the third book in the Cassandra Reilly Mystery series, which begins with Gaudí Afternoon and Trouble in Transylvania, and concludes with The Case of the Orphaned Bassoonists.

Other books that might interest you

  • Hard Fall - cover

    Hard Fall

    CJ Lyons

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author CJ Lyons:
    International Thriller Writers 2015 Thriller Award Winner!
    
    59 days ago FBI Special Agent Lucy Guardino had a perfect life…and almost lost it all.
     
    From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons. WARNING: the Lucy Guardino FBI Thrillers are NOT for the faint of heart! They depict adult situations, realistic violence with consequences, and delve deep into the darkness of the human heart and mind.
     
    There comes a time in every hero’s life when they fall harder and farther than ever before and they face a choice that changes everything: to give up or claw their way back again. Lucy thought she’d made her choice two months ago when she sacrificed everything to save her family, but now she has to decide whether or not she can save herself…
     
    When honor, duty, and family collide…who would you save?
    Show book
  • The Irish Witch - cover

    The Irish Witch

    Dennis Wheatley

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    1812 - 1814 
     
    The Hell Fire Club is being revived – by a sensuous wanton who calls herself the Irish Witch. Once more the titled of the land are being sucked into its vortex of vice and degradation. And among them is Susan, Roger Brook's young and lovely daughter. 
     
    Soon it will be Walpurgis Night. Soon a ruined castle will echo to the baying of initiates as Susan is led towards an altar – there to be ritually violated by the Priest of Satan.
    Show book
  • Worthy Brown's Daughter - cover

    Worthy Brown's Daughter

    Phillip Margolin

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Known for his critically acclaimed contemporary thrillers, New York Times bestselling author Phillip Margolin explores intriguing new territory in Worthy Brown's Daughter, a compelling historical drama, set in nineteenth-century Oregon, that combines a heartbreaking story of slavery and murder with classic Margolin plot twists. 
    One of a handful of lawyers in the new state of Oregon, recently widowed Matthew Penny agrees to help Worthy Brown, a newly freed slave, rescue his fifteen year old daughter, Roxanne, from their former master, a powerful Portland lawyer. Worthy's lawsuit sets in motion events that lead to Worthy's arrest for murder and create an agonizing moral dilemma that could send either Worthy or Matthew to the hangman. 
    At the same time, hanging judge Jed Tyler, a powerful politician with a barren personal life, becomes infatuated with a beautiful gold-digger who is scheming to murder Benjamin Gillette, Oregon's wealthiest businessman. When Gillette appears to die from natural causes, Sharon Hill produces a forged contract of marriage and Tyler must decide if he will sacrifice his reputation to defend that of the woman who inspired his irrational obsession. 
    At Worthy's trial, Matthew saves Worthy by producing a stunning courtroom surprise and his attempt to stop the deadly fortune hunter ends in a violent climax.
    Show book
  • Raising Hell - The Charlie Davies Mysteries #8 - cover

    Raising Hell - The Charlie...

    Clare Kauter

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Charlie Davies is back again, and this time she’s taking on the devil. 
    When Charlie discovers the body of a priest seemingly sacrificed to Satan, the case seems pretty open and shut. After all, Charlie herself saw a certain Satan-loving member of her knitting circle in the area around the time of the murder. 
    But when she begins to delve deeper, it becomes apparent that there could be more to this case – and it could be connected to her friend Tim’s attempted murder. 
     
    When things take a turn for the illegal, Charlie can’t really ask her cop boyfriend James for help. Lucky Adam, her boss, is there to step in. 
     
    Just with the case. Not anything else. 
     
    Obviously. 
     
    Books in this series: 
    1. Losing Your Head 
    2. Unfinished Sentence 
    3. Graceless 
    4. Higher Learning 
    5. Santa's Little Helper 
    6. Undetected 
    7. Caught in the Act 
    8. Raising Hell
    Show book
  • Five Ways To Kill a Man - A DCI Lorimer Novel - cover

    Five Ways To Kill a Man - A DCI...

    Alex Gray

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    DCI Lorimer must track down a malicious cutthroat inching closer to his own family in this atmospheric mystery from international bestselling author Alex Gray 
    An unpredictable killer is loose on the streets of Glasgow, experimenting with death. Beginning with brute force, the murderer moves on to poison and drowning, greedy for new and better ways to kill. Faced with a string of unconnected victims, DCI Lorimer turns to psychologist and friend Solomon Brightman for his insights. When Lorimer is also assigned to review the case of a fatal house fire, his suspicions are raised by shocking omissions in the original investigation. Some uncomfortable questions have been buried, but Lorimer is the man to find the answers. 
    As the serial killer gets closer to Lorimer’s family, can the DCI unmask the volatile murderer before the next victim is found too close to home?
    Show book
  • TATTOOED - The Kate Lange Thriller Series #3 - cover

    TATTOOED - The Kate Lange...

    Pamela Callow

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The discovery of a bog body could crack a cold case that has haunted the city – and unravel the darkest secrets of Kate’s oldest foe in the third installment of the bestselling Kate Lange thriller series. For fans of John Grisham, Tess Gerritsen and James Patterson. 
    She is obsessed with tattoos.   
    He is obsessed with her. 
    When a body is found on the outskirts of Halifax, rumors run wild about the victim’s identity. But tattoo artist Kenzie Sloane knows exactly who she is. They share a tattoo… and a decade-old secret. 
    Lawyer Kate Lange remembers Kenzie Sloane. The former wild child was part of the same crowd that attracted her little sister, Imogen, before her death. Now Kenzie needs her help. And Kate needs answers. 
    But there are others who know about the tattoo and its history. And one of them is watching Kenzie’s every move, waiting for the perfect moment to fulfill a dark promise that had been inked in her skin. 
    “… there is no shortage of drama and suspense to keep readers on the hook right through to the heart-pounding finale.” —Chronicle Herald 
    “The story is suspenseful and well-plotted, and the characters — even the villains —are intriguing and multidimensional.” —RT Book Reviews 
     “…Pamela Callow keeps ‘bringing it’ with the Kate Lange series. Murder, revenge, obsession, secrets, redemption; TATTOOED has a lot going on and Ms. Callow manages to pull the many plot threads together into a plausible and cohesive read while maintaining the suspense.” —The Eclectic Reader 
    Book 3 of the Kate Lange Thriller Series 
    364 pages
    Show book