Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Case of the Orphaned Bassoonists - cover

The Case of the Orphaned Bassoonists

Barbara Wilson

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Cassandra Reilly travels to Venice to solve the mystery of a missing bassoon, and lands in the midst of an international cast of characters who all have something to hideAt the Venice-based symposium on women musicians of Vivaldi’s time, an instrument has gone missing: an antique bassoon, an invaluable family heirloom—and bassoonist Nicky Gibbons stands accused of the theft. Determined to clear her name, Nicky calls Cassandra Reilly—lesbian translator and part-time sleuth extraordinaire—and summons her to the City of Water. Fifteen scholars and musicians are attending the symposium, and each has a multitude of quirks and secrets—as well as motive to steal the bassoon. As Cassandra investigates, she immerses herself in the world of Baroque music, the tangle of personal intrigues at the symposium, and a second mystery involving the orphaned bassoonists of eighteenth-century Venice.Wry, intelligent, and atmospheric, The Case of the Orphaned Bassoonists is the fourth and final book in the Cassandra Reilly Mystery series, which begins with Gaudí Afternoon, Trouble in Transylvania, and The Death of a Much-Travelled Woman.

Other books that might interest you

  • Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A Cosy Crime Series Compilation - cover

    Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A...

    Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Jack's a retired ex-cop from New York, seeking the simple life in Cherringham. Sarah's a Web designer who's moved back to the village find herself. But their lives are anything but quiet as the two team up to solve Cherringham's criminal mysteries. 
    
    This compilation contains episodes 1 - 3: MURDER ON THAMES, MYSTERY AT THE MANOR and MURDER BY MOONLIGHT. Here Jack and Sarah investigate a suicide in the River Thames - or was it murder? They investigate an "accidental" fire with deadly consequences, and they nab the culprit behind the Rotary Club choir poisoning. 
    
    Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 
    
    For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 
    
    Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), are known for their script work on major computer games. The Cherringham crime series is their first fictional transatlantic collaboration.
    
    +++ "A clever twist, which you might - or might not - have spotted." Bookbag
    
    +++ "Comparisons with 'Midsomer Murders' [...] are inevitable, but 'Cherringham' comes out on top when it comes to originality and - probably most crucially - the avoidance of irritating stereotypes." Killing Time Crime
    
    +++ "Sarah and Jack make an interesting combination. [...] The perfect partnership, which I can't wait to see develop over the next 11 episodes." Shaz's Book Blog
    Show book
  • Gone Daddy Gone - Sloane Monroe Series - cover

    Gone Daddy Gone - Sloane Monroe...

    Cheryl Bradshaw

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    A single moment is about to change Sloane Monroe's life forever.  
     
    On an early winter morning, college student Shelby McCoy walks the quiet, snowy path back home. A tree branch snaps in the distance. Then another. A man is there with her, following close behind, whispering her name. She looks back, sees him gaining on her, and runs. Who is this man, and why is he carrying a gun? 
     
    If you love a great mystery with a surprising twist, you'll enjoy Gone Daddy Gone.  
     
    A New York Times bestselling series.  
     
    "Another heart-pounding story." 
     
    "I have read every thing this author has written and love every word. As a suspense writer there is no equal." 
     
    "Superb writing, excellent storyline, believable characters!"
    Show book
  • The Diehard - Detective Sergeant Mulheisen Mysteries - cover

    The Diehard - Detective Sergeant...

    Jon A. Jackson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The debut of Jon A. Jackson’s acclaimed “Fang” Mulheisen mystery series, The Diehard instantly established him as a master of the form. It begins in Indian Village, an exclusive enclave in Mulheisen’s crumbling Detroit precinct, where a gorgeous young heiress is shot and stabbed during a break-in and expires on a neighbor’s doorstep. It appears at first a simple robbery attempt. Mulheisen gets suspicious when her husband turns out to be the only executive of Fidelity Trust Insurance to escape blame for an embezzlement scandal worth some twenty million dollars. But what is the connection, where is the money, and who is the suntanned stranger who is tracking down the same leads, one step ahead of Mulheisen?
    Show book
  • Deadlock - cover

    Deadlock

    Graham Ison

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    Detective Chef Inspector Harry Brock is called to Richmond Park in south-west London, where the body of a young woman has been found, and further bodies follow. With the help of Detective Superintendent Dave Poole and the rest of his team, it’s not long before Harry uncovers a dark web of lies, betrayal, desire and deceit . . .
    Show book
  • Hardcastle's Collector - A police procedural set during World War One - cover

    Hardcastle's Collector - A...

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Detective Inspector Hardcastle ruffles feathers in a sleepy Hampshire village, when he investigates the murder of a local girl    August 1917. The head of the CID at Scotland Yard sends Divisional Detective Inspector Ernest Hardcastle and Detective Sergeant Charles Marriott of the Whitehall Division of the Metropolitan Police to a small Hampshire village, to investigate the murder of a local girl. For once, Hardcastle has plenty of suspects. Was the murderer one of Daisy Salter’s many suitors? Was it the shifty individual who left the local pub and disappeared the moment he saw Hardcastle? Or could it have been Daisy’s own father? 
    In an entirely different world from London, Hardcastle is forced to adapt to the slower pace of country life, and he soon finds he is ruffling feathers as he carries out his investigations in his own inimitable fashion.
    Show book
  • Girl in the Woods The - cover

    Girl in the Woods The

    Patricia Macdonald

    • 5
    • 39
    • 0
    A deathbed confession has chilling consequences in this gripping novel of psychological suspense.“I have to tell you something … I did something bad”.Ever since her best friend Molly was murdered fifteen years before, Blair Butler has returned to her small hometown in the Pocono mountains as seldom as possible. Now she has been summoned home to see her terminally ill sister one last time – only for Celeste to make a shocking deathbed confession. Is it really true that the wrong man has spent fifteen years in jail for a crime he didn’t commit?Having promised her dying sister that she would do her best to right the wrongs of the past, Blair sets out to discover what really happened that cold, wet November night fifteen years before: the night Molly’s battered body was found in the woods behind her home. But is Blair prepared for the shocking truth … ?
    Show book