Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Secret Suffragette - cover

Secret Suffragette

Barbara Mitchelhill

Publisher: Andersen Digital

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Daisy’s hero is Florence Nightingale, and she hopes to one day become a nurse just like her. But as a girl growing up in the East End of London in 1912, it seems like all her future holds is dropping out of school to work a tough job in a factory for very little money. Then Daisy meets the suffragettes, who are fighting for the rights of women and the poor. They show her that she might be able to achieve her dreams after all. But being a suffragette is dangerous, and Daisy must risk getting in trouble with her dad, neighbours and even the police if she wants to do her bit.Perfect for fans of Opal Plumstead and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls.

Other books that might interest you

  • Fox + Chick: The Sleepover - and Other Stories - cover

    Fox + Chick: The Sleepover - and...

    Sergio Ruzzier

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fox and Chick are back in this newest book in the hilarious early reader series by Geisel Honoree Sergio Ruzzier.In the tradition of Frog and Toad, this critically acclaimed early reader series features Fox and Chick – two unlikely friends who despite their differences always manage to find a way to get along. In this third book in the series, Fox and Chick have a sleepover, search for a lost hammer and throw a surprise party that unexpectedly surprises everyone. The universal characters, humor and comic-style layouts make it ideal for both the picture book audience and emerging readers.• BUDDY BOOKS ARE PERENNIAL: From Frog and Toad to Elephant & Piggie to Ivy & Bean, kids of all ages respond to books about friendship.• PERFECT FOR NEW READERS: The universal characters, humor, and comic-style layouts make it ideal for both the picture book audience and emerging readers.• AWARD-WINNING: The first book in the series won a Geisel Award Honor for "the most distinguished book for beginning readers" by the American Library Association. It was also a New York Times Notable Children's Book and appeared on many Best Book of the Year lists.• KIDS LIKE GRAPHIC NOVELS:  This series will appeal to kids who are visually oriented readers as well as new readers who are eager to tackle graphic novels.Perfect for:• Parents, caregivers, and grandparents• Teachers and librarians • Fans of Frog and Toad, Elephant & Piggie, Bink & Gollie, Charlie & Mouse, and Barkus
    Show book
  • Trapped in a Video Game: The Complete Series - cover

    Trapped in a Video Game: The...

    Dustin Brady

    • 3
    • 3
    • 0
    Five books in one! With nonstop action, huge plot twists, and tons of humor, this series will quickly have your 7- to 12-year-old video game fan begging for just one more chapter.Getting sucked into a video game is not as much fun as you'd think. Sure, there are jetpacks, hover tanks, and infinite lives, but what happens when the game starts to turn on you? In this best-selling series, 12-year-old Jesse Rigsby finds out just how dangerous video games-and the people making those games - can be.Book One: Trapped in a Video GameJesse hates video games - and for good reason. You see, a video game character is trying to kill him. After getting sucked into the new game Full Blast with his best friend, Eric, Jesse quickly discovers that he's being followed by a mysterious figure. If he doesn't figure out what's going on fast, he'll be trapped for good!Book Two: The Invisible InvasionJesse's rescue mission has led him into the world of Go Wild, a Pokemon Go-style mobile game full of hidden danger and invisible monsters. Can Jesse stay alive long enough to sneak into the shady video game company and uncover what they're hiding?Book Three: Robots RevoltThe robot villains from Super Bot World 3 have been released into the real world, and it's up to Jesse to get them back. This is Jesse's most dangerous mission yet, because this time, the video game is real. And in the real world, there are no extra lives.Book Four: Return to Doom IslandIn this retro adventure, Jesse will need to outsmart a superintelligent android, outlast a tireless drone, and outswim an eight-bit shark. If he can somehow pull all that off, Jesse will discover that he hasn't even gotten to the scary part yet.Book Five: The Final BossJesse and Eric have 10 minutes to save the world. In those 10 minutes, they're supposed to dive into a massive video game universe, track down an all-powerful madman, and stop his evil plan before it's too late. Sound impossible? It's super impossible. The clock is ticking.
    Show book
  • Strawberry Moon - cover

    Strawberry Moon

    Becky Citra

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The year is 1838 and Ellie's grandmother has arrived all the way from England. Ellie is horrified to discover that the forbidding old woman intends to take her back to Britain to be raised properly. Ellie is determined that she will not go, but what can a nine-year-old girl do in the face of an adult with her mind made up?
    Show book
  • In Over Her Head - Hannah Smart - cover

    In Over Her Head - Hannah Smart

    Melody Fitzpatrick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Third book in the Hannah Smart trilogy about a precocious, impulsive pre-teen girl with a knack for finding the spotlight — and getting into trouble
    Hannah is 14 now and has a part-time job working at the local TV station
    Carries on theme of self-reliance and responsibility
    Comedic and light-hearted in tone, but with messages including the importance of being yourself and not feeling you have to exaggerate or lie to impress others
    Material has tested well with grade 5 and 6 students of both sexes
    Show book
  • The Bombs That Brought Us Together - cover

    The Bombs That Brought Us Together

    Brian Conaghan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fourteen-year-old Charlie Law has lived in Little Town, on the border with Old Country, all his life. He knows the rules: no going out after dark; no drinking; no litter; no fighting. You don't want to get on the wrong side of the people who run Little Town. When he meets Pavel Duda, a refugee from Old Country, the rules start to get broken. Then the bombs come, and the soldiers from Old Country, and Little Town changes forever.  
     
    Sometimes, to keep the people you love safe, you have to do bad things. As Little Town's rules crumble, Charlie is sucked into a dangerous game. There's a gun, and a bad man, and his closest friend, and his dearest enemy.  
     
    Charlie Law wants to keep everyone happy, even if it kills him. And maybe it will . . . But he's got to kill someone else first.
    Show book
  • All the Invisible Things - cover

    All the Invisible Things

    Orlagh Collins

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    In this contemporary YA for fans of Becky Albertalli, one girl decides it's time to be really be herself--but will that cost her the best friend who once meant everything to her? 
     
    Ever since her mom died and her family moved to a new town four years ago, sixteen-year-old Vetty Lake has hidden her heart. She'd rather keep secrets than risk getting hurt--even if that means not telling anyone that she's pretty sure she's bisexual.  
      
    But this summer, everything could change. Vetty and her family are moving back to her old neighborhood, right across the street from her childhood best friend Pez. Next to Pez, she always felt free and fearless. Reconnecting with him could be the link she needs to get back to her old self. 
     
    Vetty quickly discovers Pez isn't exactly the boy she once knew. He has a new group of friends, a glamorous sort-of-girlfriend named March, and a laptop full of secrets. And things get even more complicated when she feels a sudden spark with March. 
     
    As Vetty navigates her relationship with Pez and her own shifting feelings, one question looms: Does becoming the girl she longs to be mean losing the friendship that once was everything to her?
    Show book