"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Neptune's Daughters - History's Most Notorious Women Pirates - cover

Neptune's Daughters - History's Most Notorious Women Pirates

Barbara Marriott

Publisher: Catymatt Productions

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A young college student acquires an old chest filled with ancient papers during her spring break on a Bahamian island. The ancient papers are the original writings and reports on historic women pirates dating back to the 1300. Is this chest the greatest pirate treasure ever discovered, or is it the biggest maritime hoax? In the chest are letters written by Jeanne de Clisson in the 1300,  The Lioness of Brittany turned to piracy to avenge the brutal beheading of her husband.  In 1519 Sayyida al Hurr recorded her deeds, from the horror of fleeing Spain to her rule as the political leader of the richest port in Morocco,  and as a feared pirate and partner to the pirate Red Beard. Grace O'Malley plundered merchant ships in the Irish Seas and Atlantic Ocean.  She was her clan's leader and protector who fought battles against the British and even faced down Queen Elizabeth I. In the late sixteen hundreds and early seventeen hundreds two female pirates terrorized the shipping in the Caribbean: the beautiful Jacquotte Delahaye aka Back From the Dead Red, and Marie-Anne Dominique du Pres, called Anne Dieu-le-Veut, pirate partner and wife of the famous pirate Laurens de Graaff. Anne Bonny, while awaiting execution, wrote of her pirating days with Mary Read and Calico Jack. American pirate Rachael Wall did her pirating in the late 1700s around the New England coast, but was caught and hung for stealing a bonnet.   One of the most humorous, but deadly pirates, was Sadie Farrell, The Goat, who practiced the fine art of piracy on New York City rivers in 1869. The two cruelest, and most efficient female pirates were Chinese.  Ching Shih, a former prostitute controlled thousands of pirates in the early 1800, and Lai Choi San, who pirated in the China Sea prior to WW II. The pirates' stories  are told, in one form or another, by the papers in the chest.  The college student, now a college professor, has treasured these writings, and added to the collection over the years. Now as she returns with her treasured chest to the site of her prized acquisition, she hopes reading the papers in this famous pirate location will give her a better understanding of these infamous, courage, but unique women.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lost Girls - a gripping historical fiction page turner - cover

    The Lost Girls - a gripping...

    Jennifer Wells

    • 1
    • 43
    • 2
    Everyone remembers the day the girls went missing. 
     
    May Day 1912, a day that haunts Missensham. The day two girls disappeared. The day the girls were murdered. 
     
    Iris Caldwell and Nell Ryland were never meant to be friends. From two very different backgrounds, one the heir to the Caldwell estate, the other a humble vicar's daughter. Both have their secrets, both have their pasts, but they each find solace with one another and soon their futures become irrevocably intertwined. 
     
    Now, many years later, old footage has emerged which shows that Iris Caldwell may not have died on that spring morning. The village must work out what happened the day the girls went missing...
    Show book
  • Breakout at Stalingrad - cover

    Breakout at Stalingrad

    Heinrich Gerlach

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    'One of the greatest novels of the Second World War' The Times. 'A remarkable find' Antony Beevor. 'A masterpiece' Mail on Sunday. 
     
    Stalingrad, November 1942. Lieutenant Breuer dreams of returning home for Christmas. But he and his fellow German soldiers will spend winter in a frozen hell – as snow, ice and relentless Soviet assaults reduce the once-mighty Sixth Army to a diseased and starving rabble. Breakout at Stalingrad is a stark and terrifying portrait of the horrors of war, and a profoundly humane depiction of comradeship in adversity. 
     
    The book itself has an extraordinary story behind it. Its author fought at Stalingrad and was imprisoned by the Soviets. In captivity, he wrote a novel based on his experiences, which the Soviets confiscated before releasing him. Gerlach resorted to hypnosis to remember his narrative, and in 1957 it was published as The Forsaken Army. Fifty-five years later Carsten Gansel, an academic, came across the original manuscript of Gerlach's novel in a Moscow archive. This first translation into English of Breakout at Stalingrad includes the story of Gansel's sensational discovery.
    Show book
  • The Girl in the Pink Raincoat - A gripping World War 2 saga perfect for fans of Dilly Court - cover

    The Girl in the Pink Raincoat -...

    Alrene Hughes

    • 3
    • 54
    • 0
    In wartime it takes courage to follow your heart. 
     
    Manchester, 1939. 
     
    Everyone hated the heat and the deafening noise, but for Gracie the worst thing was the smell of chemicals that turned her stomach every morning when she arrived at the Rosenberg Raincoats factory. 
     
    Gracie is a girl on the factory floor. Jacob is the boss's charismatic nephew. When they fall in love, it seems as if the whole world is against them – especially Charlie Nuttall, who also works at the factory and has always wanted Gracie for himself. 
     
    But worse is to come when Jacob disappears and Gracie is devastated, vowing to find him. Can she solve the mystery of his whereabouts? Gracie will need all her strength and courage to find a happy ending.
    Show book
  • This Side of Hell - cover

    This Side of Hell

    Brett Cogburn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    THE WIDOWMAKER MEETS POKER ALICE.The most famous lady gambler of the Old West teams up with the Widowmaker Jones in a doomed search for lost treasure, a deadly trek through the desert—and a dangerous alliance with the greatest gunslingers in history . . .IT’S A MATCH MADE IN HELL. Card player extraordinaire Poker Alice knows when hold ‘em, when to fold ‘em, and when to team up with master gunman Newt “Widowmaker” Jones. She’s betting on Jones to protect her—and her money—on a treasure hunt in the California desert. Legend has it that a shipwreck is buried in the Salton sands. Some say it’s a Spanish galleon that got stuck when the sea ran dry. Other says it’s a Chinese junk full of pearls or a Viking ship filled with Aztec treasure. Either way, a lot of very mean and dangerously violent folks would kill to find it. Which is why Poker Annie needs the Widowmaker. In this game, it’s winner takes all. Losers die . . .Praise for Spur Award winner Brett Cogburn  “Fans of frontier arcana will revel in Cogburn’s readable prose and lively characters.”—Publishers Weekly on Rooster  “Cogburn amazes and astounds.” —Booklist  
    Show book