Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Splashes of Joy in the Cesspools of Life - cover

Splashes of Joy in the Cesspools of Life

Barbara Johnson

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

For when you need bliss now, take a quick jump into these puddles of goodness—from the bestselling author of Living Somewhere Between Estrogen and Death. 
 
This mini book offers invigorating spurts of encouragement and gentle reminders to splatter joy into the lives of yourself and others. “Almost everyone needs a splash of joy to get through the mess,” Barbara Johnson says. And that’s what you get in this collection of giggles and guidance to help you get “cleaned off and sweetened up—refreshed and ready to go again!”
Available since: 05/15/2005.
Print length: 75 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Para Handy - The Complete Collected Stories - cover

    Para Handy - The Complete...

    Neil Munro

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A collection of beloved short stories starring the Scottish seaman and his quirky crew.   Master mariner Para Handy, a.k.a. Peter Macfarlane, has been sailing his way into the affections of generations of Scots since he first weighed anchor in the pages of the Glasgow Evening News in 1905. He and his crew—Dougie the mate, Macphail the Engineer, Sunny Jim, and the Tar—all play their parts in evoking the irresistible atmosphere of a bygone age when puffers sailed between West Highland ports and the great city of Glasgow.   This definitive edition contains all three collections of short stories published in the author’s lifetime, as well as those that were unpublished, and a new story that was discovered in 2001. Extensive notes accompany each story, providing fascinating insights into colloquialisms, place-names, and historical events. This volume also includes a wealth of contemporary photographs, depicting the harbors, steamers, and puffers from the age of the Vital Spark.
    Show book
  • A Naked Singularity - A Novel - cover

    A Naked Singularity - A Novel

    Sergio De La Pava

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Propulsive . . . The novel’s chaotic sprawl, black humor and madcap digressions make it a thrilling rejoinder to the tidy story arcs [of] most crime fiction.” —The Wall Street Journal 
     
    Winner of the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Best Debut Novel 
     
    Named a Best Book of the Year in the Wall Street Journal, Houston Chronicle, and Philadelphia City Paper 
     
    A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, born to Colombian immigrants, who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender—one who, tellingly, has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack—and how his world then slowly devolves.  
     
    A huge, ambitious novel in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, it’s told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If Infinite Jest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis’s A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, “Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law.” A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law. 
     
    “A great American novel.” —Toronto Star
    Show book
  • The Axeman Cometh - cover

    The Axeman Cometh

    Nev Fountain

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Vixens from the Void is back! Well, sort of. Actually, some devoted fans have got the licence to do some audios featuring the original cast, and they've invited Mervyn Stone to write an episode. He's also been invited to solve a murder.
    Show book
  • The Truth - cover

    The Truth

    Michael Palin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Keith Mabbut is at a crossroads in his life. A professional writer of some repute, he has reached the age of fifty-six with nothing resembling the success of his two great literary heroes, George Orwell and Albert Camus. When he is offered the opportunity of a lifetime—to write the biography of the elusive Hamish Melville, a widely respected and highly influential activist and humanitarian—he seizes the chance to write something meaningful. His search to find out the real story behind the legend takes Mabbut to the lush landscapes and environmental hotspots of India.The more he discovers about Melville, the more he admires him—and the more he connects with an idealist who wanted to make a difference. But is his quarry really who he claims to be? As Keith discovers, the truth can be whatever we make it. In this wonderful, heartwarming novel, Michael Palin turns his considerable skills to fiction in the story of an ordinary man on an extraordinary adventure.
    Show book
  • The Will to Whatevs - A Guide to Modern Life - cover

    The Will to Whatevs - A Guide to...

    Eugene Mirman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    No one understands the complexities of modern life better than Eugene Mirman--claims Eugene Mirman—and anyone seeking guidance from a man who has lived through everything (except the Great Depression, the Spanish-American War, and Jerry Lee Lewis's sex scandal) won't resist this charmingly hysterical guidebook.Become ultra-popular in high school (without "putting out" -- whatever that is)Discover somewhere between four and two thousand ways to overcome social anxiety (closer to four)Start a band, become an artist, or disappoint your parents by getting on a reality television show!
    Show book
  • The Jesus Cow - A Novel - cover

    The Jesus Cow - A Novel

    Michael Perry

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling humorist Michael Perry makes his fiction debut with this hilarious and big-hearted tale, a comic yet sincere exploration of faith and the foibles of modern life that blends the barbed charm of Garrison Keillor, the irreverent humor of Christopher Moore, and the audacious insight of Chuck Klosterman. 
    Life is suddenly full of drama for low-key Harley Jackson: A woman in a big red pickup has stolen his bachelor’s heart, a Hummer-driving predatory developer is threatening to pave the last vestiges of his family farm, and inside his barn is a calf bearing the image of Jesus Christ. His best friend, Billy, a giant of a man who shares his trailer house with a herd of cats and tries to pass off country music lyrics as philosophy, urges him to avoid the woman, fight the developer, and get rich off the calf. But Harley takes the opposite tack, hoping to avoid what his devout, dearly departed mother would have called “a scene.” 
    Then the secret gets out—right through the barn door, and Harley’s “miracle” goes viral. Within hours pilgrims, grifters, and the media have descended on his quiet patch of Swivel, Wisconsin, looking for a glimpse (and a percentage) of the calf. Does Harley hide the famous, possibly holy calf and risk a riot, or give the people what they want—and raise enough money to keep his land—and, just possibly, win the woman and her big red pickup truck? 
    Harley goes all in, cutting a deal with a major Hollywood agent that transforms his little farm into an international spiritual theme park—think Lourdes, only with cheese curds and t-shirts. Soon, Harley has lots of money . . . and more trouble than he ever dreamed.
    Show book