Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Beautiful Lie the Dead - An Inspector Green Mystery - cover

Beautiful Lie the Dead - An Inspector Green Mystery

Barbara Fradkin

Publisher: Napoleon and Co

  • 1
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Inspector Green explores a web of betrayal and deceit. In the dead of night, the phone rings in the missing persons unit of the Ottawa Police. A brutal blizzard is howling, and a wealthy social activist has not heard from his fiance in over twenty-four hours. Friends, family and police are mobilized to search the snowbound city. He comes to believe that his partner is fleeing for her life, possibly from his own family. When a frozen body is found in the snow, just blocks from the mans home, Green knows that someone is conspiring to keep the truth hidden.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Chaplin Conspiracy - cover

    The Chaplin Conspiracy

    Stewart Ferris

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    When hard-up aristocrat Lord ‘Ratty’ Ballashiels finds an old film reel in his attic he discovers that it’s a home movie of Charlie Chaplin’s visit to Rennes-le-Chateau in the south of France. But Ratty spots a strange anomaly: clearly visible behind Chaplin is the famous millionaire priest of that village, Bérenger Saunière. The film tin is labelled ‘Chaplin 1932’. Saunière died in 1917. Before Ratty can process the implication of what he has witnessed, the heat of the projector lamp ignites the film and starts a fire which rips through a wing of his manor house. Investigators subsequently discover a body amid the charred ruins and issue a warrant for Ratty’s arrest. The aristocrat has no intention of handing himself in. Knowing that Saunière reputedly buried a fabulous hoard of treasure, and convinced that the Chaplin film is a vital clue to its location, he stows away on a boat to France and becomes embroiled in a frightening and dangerous race to uncover the astonishing truth about Saunière’s legacy.
    Show book
  • The Riddle of the Sands - cover

    The Riddle of the Sands

    Erskine Childers

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the rough waters of the North Sea, two sailors fight to save Britain Charles Carruthers is languishing in the crushing heat of a London summer when an old university chum named Davies throws him a lifeline, inviting him on a yachting expedition in the North Sea. It sounds like a lark, but Carruthers finds that the Dulcibella is hardly a yacht, and Davies’s trip is no pleasure cruise. Off the coast of the mysterious Frisian Islands, he has spotted a German fleet, supposedly engaged in hunting for buried treasure. Battling the elements, the two Englishmen find themselves surrounded by the German navy, which is using the fogs of the North Sea to disguise something monstrous—the Kaiser’s plot to launch a sneak attack on the British Isles. Published more than a decade before World War I began, this groundbreaking spy novel inspired a young Winston Churchill to reinvigorate Britain’s naval defenses, and it remains just as stirring today. This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.
    Show book
  • Fickle - cover

    Fickle

    Peter Manus

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes’s You and the thrillers of S.J. Watson, Peter Manus has written a twisting noir mystery that Booklist calls, “An incredibly daring novel and a complete success.”
    
    The distance between what you see and what you believe can be the distance between life and death.
    
    On a winter night in Boston, a man falls to his death in front of a subway train. The sole witness, a shaken young woman, explains to the police how the man shoved her aside as he made his way to the tracks. But when her blog turns up on the dead man's computer, the cops begin to look for other connections. Was the man a cyber-stalker, charmed to the point of desperation by the irreverent musings of a noir-obsessed blogger? Or are the connections between subway jumper and innocent bystander more complicated?
     
    This dark and intricate tale of obsession and deception is told in the form of a blog written by an elusive narrator known only by her online name, "l.g. fickel." Deep into the night, every night, fickel blogs about "Mr. Suicide" and the ensuing police investigation with an eerie prescience. She is joined in her blog chats by a loyal group of obsessives, all of whom share with fickel a passion for the dark art of noir. Is fickel's tale that of an innocent woman frantically trying to figure out how her blogging has enmeshed her in a murder spree, or is she a manipulator, playing the part of sexy, hip, young thing as she grinds out her revenge on those she feels have betrayed her?
    Show book
  • The Charlotte and Thomas Pitt Novels Volume Three - Death in the Devil's Acre Cardington Crescent Silence in Hanover Close and Bethlehem Road - cover

    The Charlotte and Thomas Pitt...

    Anne Perry

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Enjoy the “exemplary Victorian company” of this London sleuthing couple with books seven through ten in the long-running New York Times–bestselling series (The New York Times).   “Few mystery writers this side of Arthur Conan Doyle can evoke Victorian London with such relish for detail and mood” (San Francisco Chronicle). Now, in a single volume, readers can enjoy more of Anne Perry’s “unfailingly rewarding” series (The New York Times Book Review).  Death in the Devil’s Acre: A vicious and depraved serial killer is loose in the slums of Devil’s Acre. When Pitt recognizes one of the victims as a blackmailing footman from a case on Callander Square, his investigation reveals a shocking connection between the city’s brothels and Victorian high society. Now Charlotte and her sister Emily, Lady Ashworth, must unveil the dirty secrets of the aristocracy.  Cardington Crescent: When Thomas Pitt’s womanizing brother-in-law is poisoned by his morning coffee, the inspector must exonerate the prime suspect: Lady Ashworth, Charlotte’s sister Emily. With the help of Great-Aunt Vespasia, the couple chip away at a wall of deceit and silence to find the real killer, even after Lord Ashworth’s suspected paramour is strangled—and found by Emily.  Silence in Hanover Close: At the behest of his superior, Pitt reopens a case gone cold. Three years prior, amidst whispered rumors of treason, Robert York, an important member of the British Foreign Office, was murdered in his home in London’s exclusive Hanover Close. When a York family housemaid is found dead shortly after Pitt begins his investigation, he is accused and thrown into prison. Now only Charlotte and her recently widowed sister stand between Thomas Pitt and the gallows.  Bethlehem Road: When members of Parliament are murdered one-by-one crossing Westminster Bridge, Thomas and Charlotte must sift through a wide range of suspects, including anarchists and suffragettes. As more seats open up in Parliament and fear grips London, the couple wonders: Are the killings political or somehow personal?
    Show book
  • Dirt - cover

    Dirt

    Stuart Woods

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The second novel in the thrilling Stone Barrington Series by #1 New York Times Bestselling author Stuart Woods 
    "Blackmail, murder, suspense, love—what else could you want in a book?" –Cosmopolitan  
    Feared and loathed for her poison pen and ice queen persona, Amanda Dart has made her share of enemies. Then the tables are turned. An anonymous gossipmonger is faxing Amanda's personal and private peccadilloes to anyone who can read. Desperate to save her reputation, she enlists the help of New York lawyer and private investigator Stone Barrington to learn the identity of the faxer. And everyone in the world of tabloid journalism becomes a suspect. 
    But the faxes don't stop. In fact, they get worse. And Stone winds up with more leads than one man can handle, until Amanda takes matters dangerously into her own hands and turns the world of gossip on its head. As the circle of suspects shrinks, Stone discovers that even the most respected members of the social scene will stop at nothing—even homicide—to clear their sullied names.
    Show book
  • Once Craved (a Riley Paige Mystery--Book #3) - cover

    Once Craved (a Riley Paige...

    Blake Pierce

    • 4
    • 61
    • 0
    ONCE CRAVED is book #3 in the bestselling Riley Paige mystery series, which begins with ONCE GONE (Book #1)!
    
    When prostitutes turn up dead in Phoenix, not much attention is paid. But when a pattern of disturbing murders is discovered, the local police soon realize a serial killer is on a rampage and they are in way over their heads. Given the unique nature of the crimes, the FBI, called in, knows they will need their most brilliant mind to crack the case: Special Agent Riley Paige.
    
    Riley, recovering from her last case and trying to pick up the pieces of her life, is at first reluctant. But when she learns of the grievous nature of the crimes and realizes the killer will soon strike again, she is compelled. She begins her hunt for the elusive killer and her obsessive nature takes her too far—perhaps too far, this time, to pull herself back from the brink. 
    
    Riley’s search leads her into the unsettling world of prostitutes, of broken homes, and shattered dreams. She learns that, even amongst these women, there are glimpses of hope, hope being robbed by a violent psychopath. When a teenage girl is abducted, Riley, in a frantic race against time, struggles to probe the depths of the killer’s mind. But what she discovers leads her to a twist that is too shocking for even her to imagine.
    
    A dark psychological thriller with heart-pounding suspense, ONCE CRAVED is book #3 in a riveting new series—with a beloved new character—that will leave you turning pages late into the night.
    
    Book #4 in the Riley Paige series will be available soon.
    Show book