Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Prude and the Prodigal - cover

The Prude and the Prodigal

Barbara Cartland

Publisher: Barbara Cartland

  • 0
  • 10
  • 0

Summary

Demure but pretty Prunella Broughton has long felt responsible for her lovely younger sister, Nanette, since their mother ran away with a lover and then, not long later, their beloved father had died. 
As an heiress and a debutante as well as an outstanding beauty Nanette is already attracting much male attention and she is greatly admired wherever she goes.
But it is Pascoe Lowes that Prunella is most concerned about.  Spoilt, dandified, vain and 'far too good-looking for any young girl's peace of mind', this penniless fortune-hunter has declared himself in love with Nanette!
To make matters worse the new sixth Earl of Winslow arrives unexpectedly to take his place at his long-neglected Baronial Hall, a gentleman of whom Prunella deeply disapproves for his wild raffish reputation and the fact that he is Pascoe's somewhat indulgent uncle.
Her argument that the love between Nanette and Pascoe must be stopped as soon as possible before it becomes intense gets short shrift from the Earl. 
Indeed he argues that love, such as that which led her mother to leave, cannot be denied or ridiculed.
Prudish Prunella refuses to believe that such an unruly uncontrollable love can ever exist until the prodigal Earl's stolen kiss changes everything for her for ever.

Other books that might interest you

  • Rules for Heiresses - cover

    Rules for Heiresses

    Amalie Howard

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    USA Today bestselling author Amalie Howard whisks you away with a historical romance full of drama, true love, and the perfect happily ever after. Readers will devour this tale of:A rebellious heiress determined to be independentA shunned duke forced to return to his family estateAnd a scandal between them that will have the whole town aflutter 
    Sometimes, finding love means flouting the rules...
     
    Born to a life of privilege, Lady Ravenna Huntley rues the day that she must marry. She's refused dozens of suitors and cried off multiple betrothals, but running away—even if brash and foolhardy—is the only option left to secure her independence.
     
    Lord Courtland Chase, grandson of the Duke of Ashvale, was driven from England at the behest of his cruel stepmother. Scorned and shunned, he swore never to return to the land of his birth. But when a twist of bad luck throws a rebellious heiress into his arms, at the very moment he finds out he's the new Duke, marriage is the only alternative to massive scandal.
     
    Both are quick to deny it, but a wedding might be the only way out for both of them. And the attraction that burns between them makes Ravenna and Courtland wonder if it'll truly only be a marriage of convenience after all...
     
    Praise for Amalie Howard:"Her writing sparkles."—LISA KLEYPAS, New York Times bestselling author"Smart, sexy, deliciously feminist romance that I couldn't put down."—SARAH MACLEAN, New York Times bestselling author, for The Beast of Beswick"Amalie Howard is the fresh voice historical romance needs right now."—KERRIGAN BYRNE, USA Today bestselling author
    Show book
  • To Treasure an Heiress (The Secrets of the Isles Book #2) - cover

    To Treasure an Heiress (The...

    Roseanna M. White

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    1906  
     
    Beth Tremayne has always been drawn to adventure. During her childhood, she fed that desire by exploring every inch of the Isles of Scilly. Now, after stumbling across an old collection of letters and a map buried on her family's property, she's found more adventure than she ever anticipated in the hunt for pirate treasure. But in order to discover where the clues lead, she must search alongside Lord Sheridan, a man she finds insufferable. 
     
    Sheridan has spent years pursuing whatever archaeological interests pique his imagination. And when he discovers that Beth's search connects with one of his far-removed pirate ancestors, he can't help getting involved. Plus, he finds her irresistible, even though she insists he stole a prized possession of hers. 
     
    As they work together following different clues and drawing closer to danger, they start to piece together a story of tragic love and piratical adventure. But which treasure will bring the greatest surprise--the one they find in each other or the one just out of their reach?
    Show book
  • A Most Unusual Duke - cover

    A Most Unusual Duke

    Susanna Allen

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Bridgerton meets Werewolves Within in this sparkling shapeshifter Regency romance mixed with humor, steamy chemistry, and fantasy.
     
    The Duke said he'd never get married...
     
    The Prince Regent insists his cousin and fellow bear shifter Arthur Humphries, the Duke of Osborn, take a mate to ensure the continuation of their species. After all, Arthur is an Alpha, so he must set a good example. The duke would very much prefer to continue his comfortable bachelor lifestyle, but the Prince Regent is not a bear to be poked.
     
    Beatrice, the widowed Marchioness of Castleton, is in possession of a powerful secret. She knows all about Shifters, her horrible late husband being one of them. At any moment, Beatrice could reveal the secrets of the Prince and those like him—unless the Prince can make sure she marries another Shifter.
     
    A marriage between the Duke of Osborn and Beatrice is far from ideal for either one, but at least they won't fall in love...right?Witty, fantastical, and entirely unique, A Most Unusual Duke is perfect for readers looking for:A delicious Regency romp with a paranormal twistA devilishly handsome Alpha heroA marriage of convenienceA magical world to sink your teeth into 
    Praise for Allen's A Wolf in Duke's Clothing:"Sparkling wit, scrumptious chemistry!"—Grace Burrowes, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author"A playful mix of humor, fantasy, and Regency romance conventions, this genre-bending novel introduces a well-constructed world filled with distinctive and endearing characters."—Publishers Weekly"Sparkling dialogue and steamy chemistry...Regency romance meets shape-shifters, to great effect."—Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • Hot for You - cover

    Hot for You

    Marie Harte

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    For fans of Jaci Burton and Roxanne St. Claire comes a sexy contemporary romance from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Marie Harte:Second chance romanceSexy Seattle firefightersSingle mom and her daughterIrresistible attraction and scorching, high heatAn ugly dog finds his forever home 
    Reggie gave up on love, but love has yet to give up on him...
     
    Firefighter Reggie Morgan is done with love, done with relationships, and done with complications. But when he's called to the scene of a hit-and-run, he finds a scared little girl, a butt-ugly stray puppy, and an unconscious woman he can't get out of his mind. The girl and the puppy are a handful, but the girl's mother, Maggie might just be the woman to melt Reggie's icy heart. Reggie has loved and lost before and the pain nearly broke him. But they can't ignore their unquenchable desire for each other, and Maggie, a teacher by trade, is confident she can show Reggie all about falling—and staying—in love.
     
    Praise for Marie Harte's contemporary romances:"Sexy, sweet, and thoroughly satisfying."—Lauren Layne, New York Times bestselling author, for The Whole Package"Expertly balances fun and sexy shenanigans with deeper themes."—Fresh Fiction for Just the Thing"Packed with sass, sensuality and heartwarming emotion."—Romance Junkies for What to Do with a Bad Boy
    Show book
  • The Patient Bridegroom - cover

    The Patient Bridegroom

    Barbara Cartland

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    Returning to his family estate after a long absence in India serving under the much-loved and now-deceased Viceroy, Michael, the handsome Earl of Rayburne, is appalled to find that his estate and the local village have gone to rack and ruin.
    It seems that his uncle to whom he had entrusted them has embezzled everything that the Earl owns, including the contents of Rayburne Castle and has decamped with his loot to America.
    Penniless and unable to pay the estate's workers and pensioners, who are on the verge of starvation, he has no choice but to throw himself on the mercy of Lord Frazer, the owner of the neighbouring estate and his family's bitter enemy in an age-old land dispute over a wood. 
    To the Earl's astonishment the hateful Lord Frazer offers him not a loan but a gift, amounting to fifty thousand ponds, in order to combine their two estates. 
    But there is one other condition. The Earl must marry Lord Frazer's young daughter, Ansella, whom he has never even met.
    Although now he can begin to rescue the estate and its people from ruin, the Earl is in despair, certain that Lord Frazer's daughter will be an ugly harridan who can never become the beloved 'Lady in the Castle' like his late and much-loved mother.
    But everything changes when he finally sees his bride after their Marriage Service.
    She is beautiful! 
    Her face is heart-shaped and her hair is pale gold like the sun at dawn – little wonder that soon the young Earl of Rayburne realises that he is falling in love.
    Show book
  • The King Wins - cover

    The King Wins

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    King Martiza of Salamos has fallen asleep when he suddenly becomes aware that something is moving in his room.
    To his astonishment he finds that it is Princess Veria who has come for his Coronation which is to take place the very next day.
    She, as her father has died, is now ruling the State of Kavolana which is a smaller Balkan country bordering on his.
    In a whisper she tells him that she has discovered a plot by her Prime Minister and his Cabinet to drug her so that she is found by them in his bed and then forced to marry her to save her reputation.
    The King realises that he has a bad reputation for pursuing beautiful women.
    But he has in fact no intention of getting married.
    He does, however, know that his Government has always wanted Kavolana to be joined to Salamos to make the two countries more significant together.
    It is more important now than at any other time because of the policy of the Russians who are infiltrating the Balkans and taking over every small Kingdom and Principality that they can.
    The King helps the Princess to escape from his bedroom in a very unconventional manner.
    Then he finds after his Coronation that he becomes involved in the difficulties of her country.
    They become friends as each of them realises that the other has no intention of marrying under any circumstances.
    The King is fully aware of the danger that their two countries are in.
    The Russians then think up a plot to marry Princess Veria to a Russian Prince and take over Kavolana that way.
    The King then turns to Queen Victoria for help as Great Britain is
    the only country that Russia has no wish to offend or fight.
    The King and the Princess save their countries, but they cannot save themselves from their own feelings.
    Finally, both the King and the Princess find happiness, which is all told in this unusual romance by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book