Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Extraordinary Life of Great Slave Harriet Jacobs - cover

Extraordinary Life of Great Slave Harriet Jacobs

Avneet Kumar Singla

Publisher: Avneet Kumar Singla

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Harriet Jacobs (1813 or 1815 March 7, 1897) was an African American lady born into bondage in Edenton, North Carolina, who was sexually harassed by her enslaver. When he threatened to sell her children if she did not submit to his lust, she hid in an extremely small crawl space under the roof of her grandma's house, so deep that she could not get up in it. After remaining there for 7 years, she finally managed to run away to the Free North, where she was reunited with her children Louisa Matilda and Joseph and her brother John S. Jacobs. She found work as a nanny and came into contact with abolitionists and feminist reformers. Even in New York, her freedom was in jeopardy until her employer could pay off her rightful owner.During and immediately after the Civil War, she, along with her daughter, went to the Union-occupied parts of the South, organized aid, and founded two schools for fugitives and freed slaves.Brief SummaryAfter seven years in the attic, Harriet finally flees by boat to the north. Benny's stopover with Aunt Martha & Harriet is reunited with Ellen, who is now nine years old and lives in Brooklyn, New York. Harriet is dismayed that her girl is still being held in virtual bondage by Mr. Sand's cousin Mrs. Hobbs. She fears that Mrs. Hobbs will return Ellen to the South, putting her forever out of Harriet's reach. She finds work as a nanny for a New York family, the Bruces, who treat her very kindly. Dr. Flint continues to pursue Harriet and she flees to Boston. There she is reunited with Benny. Dr. Flint now claims that the sale of Benny and Ellen was Invalid, and Harriet is afraid that he will enslave them all again. After a few years, Mrs. Bruce dies, and Harriet spends some time with her children in Boston. She allocates a year in England caring for Mr. Bruce's girl, and for the first time in her life, she appreciates immunity from racial bias. When Harriet came back to Boston, Ellen goes to boarding school and Benny has shifted to California with Harriet's brother William. Mr. Bruce remarries, and Harriet takes a position caring for her new baby. Dr. Flint dies, but his daughter Emily writes to Harriet to claim ownership of her. The outlaw Slave Act is passed by Congress, making Harriet extremely vulnerable to re-enslavement and kidnapping.Emily Flint and her husband, Mr. Dodge, reach New York to grab Harriet. Harriet hides, and the new Mrs. Bruce offers to buy her freedom. Harriet declined to be bought and sold one more time and plans to follow Benny to California. Mrs. Bruce buys Harriet anyway. Harriet is devastated to be sold and angry at Emily Flint and the whole slave system.Note:- We are offering this book at a 90% discount as a promotional activity.
Available since: 09/11/2021.
Print length: 163 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Whistle Bright Magic - A Nutfolk Tale - cover

    Whistle Bright Magic - A Nutfolk...

    Barb Bentler Ullman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It has been twenty years since the time of The Fairies of Nutfolk Wood, and grownup Willa has returned to Plunkit with her daughter, Zelly. Willa can't see the fairies anymore, but Zelly can, and she meets an unusual boy—the last remaining fairy child living in Nutfolk Wood, Ronald Whistle Bright.Hard times have befallen the fairy town of Nutfolk Wood, but Whistle Bright is determined to stay in his forest village, even though humans are sure to destroy it. And Zelly wants to stay in the small town of Plunkit, even though her mother insists that they return to their lives in the big city. Zelly is convinced that she belongs in Plunkit, and only there will she find out more about her father, who disappeared when she was three.In their quest to stay in the place that they love, the tiny Nutfolk boy and the human girl become allies, and both are surprised by the unexpected things that can happen in life.Barb Bentler Ullman's follow-up to The Fairies of Nutfolk Wood is another charming story infused with magic and hopefulness.
    Show book
  • The Big Book of Girl Stuff - cover

    The Big Book of Girl Stuff

    Bart King

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    As a middle school teacher, author Bart King listened carefully to the wisdom of his girl students. Along with his five sisters (!), their knowledge made The Big Book of Girl Stuff a classic that Parenting magazine has called “a must-have for girls.”This updated and redesigned edition of The Big Book of Girl Stuff is still loaded with fascinating facts, activities, quotes, games, and insightful information and advice on important topics. This humorous and informative resource is filled with everything a girl needs to know and celebrates all the things that make being a girl so wonderful. And not only is it a perfect handbook for preteens, ’tweens, and teens, but it will delight moms, aunts, and big sisters as well!
    Show book
  • Super-cute Pincushions - 35 adorable pincushions all stitchers will love - cover

    Super-cute Pincushions - 35...

    Kate Haxell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In Super-cute Pincushions you'll find 35 whimsical and creative pincushion projects that are pretty to look at as well as practical to use. Choose from an array of imaginative ideas: adorable pincushion pets such as the hedgehog or tortoise are the perfect gift for an animal lover, while the festive Christmas tree pincushion is a wonderful holiday gift. The pretty flower design with blanket-stitched petals is delightful and decorative, while the cute dinosaur cushion is a great project that kids can try. Kate Haxell's designs are also useful - some, such as the doughnut pincushion, have built-in storage, others can be hung up and some even sharpen your pins. With easy-to-follow, illustrated step-by-step instructions, Super-cute Pincushions are simple to stitch and rewarding to make - they are the ideal gift for anyone who loves stitching. Please note that templates are not included in the digital edition. Kate Haxell is an experienced craft editor and author. She has worked on a wide range of craft and design books, including Vintage Hearts & Flowers, Quick and Easy Handmade Storage, Quick and Easy Handmade Garden Furniture and The Seed Bead Book, all published by CICO Books.
    Show book
  • Adam-2 - cover

    Adam-2

    Alastair Chisholm

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    With incredible twists and turns and an action-packed story, this is a thrilling, unputdownable adventure.
    The robot Adam-2 has been locked in the basement of a lost building for over two hundred years - until one day he is discovered by two children, and emerges into a world ruined by a civil war between humans and advanced intelligence.
    Hunted by both sides, Adam discovers that he holds the key to the war, and the power to end it - to destroy one side and save the other. But which side is right?
    Surrounded by enemies who want to use him, and allies who mistrust him, Adam must decide who - and what - he really is.
    From the author of the highly-acclaimed Orion Lost, Adam-2 is an exciting and hugely gripping science fiction thriller - perfect for fans of Eoin Colfer, Anthony Horowitz, and Philip Reeve.
    "Brilliant - one of the best middle grade books I've read this year ... Action, tension, a marvellous mix of characters, and incredibly thought-provoking while being huge fun to read. What more could you want?" - Jennifer Killick, author of Crater Lake
    Show book
  • Wiggly Tooth - cover

    Wiggly Tooth

    Catherine Lukas

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “I felt a funny feeling while drinking some juice. The straw began to jiggle. My tooth was loose!” Read along and discover a little girl's adventures with her loose tooth.  This engaging Early Reader uses repetitive language and bright illustrations to show just how fun it is to have a loose tooth! This adorable Level 2 Reader uses an average of 6-10 words per page, pictures that suggest meaning, and fun rhymes.  “Wiggly Tooth” will help children achieve reading success in and outside of the classroom while laying the foundation for a lifetime of reading enjoyment! Titles in the Early Reader Series include: Tails!, Hats! Hats! Hats!, Counting Bears, If I Had A Dinosaur, Who's In My Tub? New Shoes, Salt and Pepper, and Wiggly Tooth.
    Show book
  • Weedflower - cover

    Weedflower

    Cynthia Kadohata

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Twelve-year-old Sumiko feels her life has been made up of two parts: before Pearl Harbor and after it. The good part and the bad part. Raised on a flower farm in California, Sumiko is used to being the only Japanese girl in her class. Even when the other kids tease her, she always has had her flowers and family to go home to.  That all changes after the horrific events of Pearl Harbor. Other Americans start to suspect that all Japanese people are spies for the emperor, even if, like Sumiko, they were born in the United States! As suspicions grow, Sumiko and her family find themselves being shipped to an internment camp in one of the hottest deserts in the United States. The vivid color of her previous life is gone forever, and now dust storms regularly choke the sky and seep into every crack of the military barrack that is her new "home."  Sumiko soon discovers that the camp is on an Indian reservation and that the Japanese are as unwanted there as they'd been at home. But then she meets a young Mohave boy who might just become her first real friend...if he can ever stop being angry about the fact that the internment camp is on his tribe's land.  With searing insight and clarity, Newbery Medal-winning author Cynthia Kadohata explores an important and painful topic through the eyes of a young girl who yearns to belong. Weedflower is the story of the rewards and challenges of a friendship across the racial divide, as well as the based-on-real-life story of how the meeting of Japanese Americans and Native Americans changed the future of both.
    Show book