You wouldn't limit the air you breathe. Why limit your readings?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Misdirection - The Rusty Diamond Trilogy (Book 1) - cover

Misdirection - The Rusty Diamond Trilogy (Book 1)

Austin Williams

Publisher: Diversion Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A street magician needs more than sleight-of-hand to survive getting embroiled in a murder case in this blistering novel of suspense, perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and George Pelecanos. After years of chasing fame and hedonistic excess in the bright lights of Las Vegas, Rusty “The Raven” Diamond has returned home to Ocean City to piece his life back together. When he finds himself an innocent suspect in his landlord’s brutal murder, Rusty abandons all hope of maintaining a tranquil existence. Acting on impulse, he digs into the investigation just enough to anger both the police and a local drug cartel. As the unsolved case grows more complex, claiming new victims and inciting widespread panic, Rusty feels galvanized by the adrenaline he’s been missing for too long. But his newfound excitement threatens to become an addiction, leading him headfirst into an underworld he’s been desperately trying to escape. Austin Williams creates an unforgettable protagonist in Rusty, a flawed but relatable master of illusion in very real danger. As the suspense builds to an explosively orchestrated climax, Williams paints a riveting portrait of both a city—and a man—on the edge.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Willful Grievance - A Lillie Mead Historical Mystery - cover

    A Willful Grievance - A Lillie...

    Lisa Zumpano

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A fresh-faced journalist. A double murder. Is revenge coming home for the holidays?
    
     
    December, 1919. Clever crime reporter Lillie Mead hoped to celebrate a peaceful Christmas in the English countryside. But when a close friend's colleague turns up dead, Lillie knows there'll be little festive spirit until she unwraps this mystery.
    
     
    Following the clues to the wintery Scottish Highlands, she hopes to stop the killer cold before the next body hits the snow. But after she connects the victims to a clandestine wartime committee, she puts herself firmly in the murderer's sights.
    
     
    Will Lillie solve the case and survive to see the New Year, or will this Christmas be her last?
    
     
    A Willful Grievance is the second book in the Lillie Mead Historical Mystery Series. If you like wintery English countrysides, juicy murder mysteries, and surprising revenge plots, then you’ll love Lisa Zumpano’s holiday whodunit.
    
     
    Buy A Willful Grievance to solve a Yuletide homicide today!
    Show book
  • Die for Love - A Jacqueline Kirby Novel of Suspense - cover

    Die for Love - A Jacqueline...

    Elizabeth Peters

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The annual Historical Romance Writers of the World convention in New York City is calling to Jacqueline Kirby, a Nebraska librarian who desperately desires some excitement. But all is not love and kisses at this august gathering of starry-eyed eccentrics and sentimental scribes. As far as Jacqueline is concerned, the sudden "natural" death of a gossip columnist seems anything but. And when she's approached by a popular genre star who fears for her own life, the resourceful Ms. Kirby quickly goes back to work...as a sleuth. Because there's a sinister scenario being penned at this purple prose congregation. And when jealousy and passion are given free rein beyond the boundaries of the printed page, the result can be murder.
    Show book
  • Dark Queen Rising - A medieval mystery series - cover

    Dark Queen Rising - A medieval...

    Paul Doherty

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    First in a brand-new historical mystery series featuring Margaret Beaufort, mother of King Henry VII and matriarch of the Tudor dynasty. 
    May, 1471. The Wars of the Roses are reaching their bitter and bloody climax. Edward of York has claimed the English throne, and his supporters are extracting a savage revenge on all who supported the Lancastrian cause. Surrounded by enemies wherever she turns, the position of Margaret Beaufort, Countess of Richmond and mother to Henry Tudor, the last remaining hope of the House of Lancaster, is precarious to say the least.
    Determined to protect her son whatever it takes, Margaret must rely on her sharp-witted clerk Christopher Ulswicke to be her eyes and ears. When four bodies are discovered in a London tavern, their throats slit, and Margaret herself is suspected of being behind the crime, it’s up to Ulswicke to prove his mistress’s innocence and unmask the real killer.
    Show book
  • The Mystery of Ruby’s Mask - cover

    The Mystery of Ruby’s Mask

    Rose Donovan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A masked ball.
     
    Secret negotiations.
     
    And a killer with a few tricks up their sleeve.
     
    Mardi Gras, 1936.
     
    Though the shores of Lake Como Italy may be calm, intrigue roils beneath the surface of the Marchesa’s palatial villa. It’s the only time a cat may dance with a king, Harlequin waltzes with Columbina … and a murderer waits to strike.
     
    Ruby and Fina are hoping for a relaxing holiday, enjoying the wintry scenery and delicious food. But while Ruby races to finish the Marchesa’s costume, Fina becomes entangled in what appears to be magic. Pixley, meanwhile, can’t shake the feeling he’s being watched in this villa full of mysteries.
     
    Join Ruby, Fina, and Pixley as they uncover a startling truth in this house of mirrors.
     
     
     
     
     
     
    Show book
  • Summer of the Dragon - cover

    Summer of the Dragon

    Elizabeth Peters

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A good salary and an all-expenses-paid summer spent a sprawling Arizona ranch is too good a deal for fledgling anthropologist D.J. Abbott to turn down. What does it matter that her rich new employer/benefactor, Hank Hunnicutt, is a certified oddball who is presently funding all manner of off-beat projects, from alien conspiracy studies to a hunt for dragon bones? There's even talk of treasure buried in the nearby mountains, but D.J. isn't going to allow loose speculation -- or the considerable charms of handsome professional treasure hunter Jesse Franklin -- to sidetrack her. Until Hunnicutt suffers a mysterious accident and then vanishes, leaving the weirdos gathered at his spread to eye each other with frightened suspicion. But on a high desert search for the missing millionaire, D.J. is learning things that may not be healthy for her to know. For the game someone is playing here goes far beyond the rational universe -- and it could leave D.J. legitimately dead.
    Show book
  • Fire Trap - A TJ Peterson Mystery - cover

    Fire Trap - A TJ Peterson Mystery

    Bob Kroll

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    The third and final installment of the T.J. Peterson mysteries
    		 
    Things have gone from bad to worse for T.J. Peterson. The cops have kicked him off the force, his girlfriend called it quits, his best friend and former partner won’t speak to him, and his estranged 20-year-old daughter, Katy, continues to torment him with photos of the hellholes she is living in. Add in a shrink’s diagnosis of PTSD, and Peterson is barely holding it together. 
    		 
    When he receives an anonymous text message with an online link to a video of a young journalist being tortured, Peterson does the only thing he knows how to do — he sets out to save her. Using psychological warfare, a maniac of savage cruelty lures Peterson into a brutal labyrinth of hard-core porn and the vicious depravity of the Dark Web, and Peterson finds himself in a race to find the girl before the torment breaks him for good.
    Show book