Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Elephant Hunting in East Equatorial Africa - cover

Elephant Hunting in East Equatorial Africa

Arthur Neumann

Publisher: Charles River Editors

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Elephant Hunting in East Equatorial Africa is a collection of the experiences of famous British big game hunter Arthur Neumann hunting elephants. A table of contents is included.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Poems of Hesiod - Theogony Works and Days and The Shield of Herakles - cover

    The Poems of Hesiod - Theogony...

    Hesiod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this new translation of Hesiod, Barry B. Powell gives an accessible, modern verse rendering of these vibrant texts, essential to an understanding of early Greek myth and society. With stunning color images that help bring to life the contents of the poems and notes that explicate complex passages, Powell’s fresh renditions provide an exciting introduction to the culture of the ancient Greeks. This is the definitive translation and guide for students and readers looking to experience the poetry of Hesiod, who ranks alongside Homer as an influential poet of Greek antiquity.
    Show book
  • The Black Cabinet - The Untold Story of African Americans and Politics During the Age of Roosevelt - cover

    The Black Cabinet - The Untold...

    Jill Watts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Watts’s The Black Cabinet is the first of its kind full-scale in-depth examination of Roosevelt’s Black Cabinet.The Black Cabinet traces an arc directly from Reconstruction to the Black Cabinet assembled for Theodore Roosevelt and subsequently disbanded by Taft and Wilson, past the New Deal era to the March on Washington and the Civil Rights Movement. It is a missing link in a continuous African American fight to be treated as equal citizensRoosevelt’s Black Cabinet was a diverse group made up of social scientists, legal minds, educators, politicos, and journalists who sought to get the black community’s needs on the table during the New Deal, a time when Black Americans were in even direr economic straits than whites.Because the Democratic Party of the day was so dependent on Southern white votes, Roosevelt never publicly acknowledged the Black Cabinet and only met personally with a tiny number of its members. Besides a red-baiting Senator, its name was never spoken aloud except in the black press, which has been underexploited as a source by historians. As a result Mary McLeod Bethune, a celebrity in her day, is the only one of these figures who has made it into the mainstream historical record; Watts has uncovered a rich story here.From assimilation and accommodation vs protest, #OwnVoices leadership vs working with white leadership, and down to the very basic question of whom the federal government is supposed to serve and protect, and what the unique history of and resulting challenges facing African Americans entitles them to, The Black Cabinet demonstrates that events that happened 75+ years ago share themes ripped from today’s headlines.Watts’s narrative synthesizes the story of the Black Cabinet, which at one time numbered over a hundred, into a character-driven story focusing in on five key figures, tracing them from their infancy in politics to their ascent into key powerful positions.For fans of The Warmth of Other Suns, The New Jim Crow, and The New Negro.
    Show book
  • The Gestapo - A History of Hitler's Secret Police 1933-45 - cover

    The Gestapo - A History of...

    Rupert Butler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From its creation in 1933 until Hitler’s death in May 1945, anyone living in Nazi- controlled territory lived in fear of a visit from the Gestapo – Geheime Staatspolizei – or Secret State Police. Young or old, rich or poor, nobody was beyond the attentions of a brutally efficient organization that spread its influence into every corner of occupied Europe. The Gestapo is a detailed history of Heinrich Himmler’s organization, whose 20,000 members were responsible for the internal security of the Reich. Under its auspices, hundreds of thousands of civilians, resistance fighters and spies were tortured and murdered, and many more were deported to concentration camps. Drawing on evidence from the Gestapo’s own archives as well as eye-witness accounts, the author charts the development of the organization, its key figures, such as Reinhard Heydrich and Heinrich Himmler, its methods, and how the Gestapo dealt with internal security, including the various attempts to assassinate Hitler. Illustrated with 120 black-and-white photographs, The Gestapo is a lively, expert account of this notorious, but little understood, secret police force.
    Show book
  • Path to Mandala or Eternal Pilgrimage - 22 levels on pilgrim’s spiritual path - cover

    Path to Mandala or Eternal...

    Asanga Angya

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    POETIC DISCOURSE ON THE CRUCIAL KEYS OF MAN'S SPIRITUALITY
     
    The essence of this poem is marked by the wisdom of nature, the truth of all religious teachings, and the core of quintessential philosophical questions about indivisible identity of nature, man and Creator.
     
    This book is a poetic discourse on the crucial keys of man's spirituality, about the inevitability of searching in the spirit, as a pilgrimage that perpetually transform into the Path to Oneself.
     
     
     
    A note about the author
     
    Asanga Angya (b. 1967) philosopher, religiologist and writer, was raised and educated in Europe, where he graduated in Philosophy and Religious Studies. Since 1990 he has published numerous essays, poems and a few novels in the field of philosophy and spirituality, psychology and art.
     
    About three decades he has explored traditional Eastern and Western ways of self-knowledge as well as the practice of Vedanta and Zen meditation in comparison with the modern teachings of Jungian psychology.
    Show book
  • Overcoming Bias - Building Authentic Relationships across Differences - cover

    Overcoming Bias - Building...

    Tiffany Jana, Matthew Freeman

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Control, Conquer, and Prevail! Everybody's biased. The truth is, we all harbor unconscious assumptions that can get in the way of our good intentions and keep us from building authentic relationships with people different from ourselves. Tiffany Jana and Matthew Freeman use vivid stories and fun (yes, fun!) exercises and activities to help us reflect on our personal experiences and uncover how our hidden biases are formed. By becoming more self-aware, we can control knee-jerk reactions, conquer fears of the unknown, and prevail over closed-mindedness. In the end, Jana and Freeman's central message is that you are not the problem—but you can be the solution.
    Show book
  • Lost Powers - Reclaiming Our Inner Connection - cover

    Lost Powers - Reclaiming Our...

    J. Douglas Kenyon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Have we lost our way? Lost our psychic “sense of smell”? The conventional notion of the human psyche is that it is a product of our mass culture, and we are conditioned to see and understand only the stimulus that is provided to it. However, there is a deeper process at work, something coming from our innate ability to discern greater truth. Tapping into this subconscious truth-detector is key in determining whether we buy into the premises of the many mainstream “truths” presented to us in popular culture and popular science.In the quest to reestablish that universal connection, editor J. Douglas Kenyon has culled from the pages of Atlantis Rising® magazine this collection of 34 concise and well-illustrated articles by world-class philosophers and theoreticians who offer thought-provoking insights from the lost secrets of ancient and primordial wisdom.Featuring:Secrets of the Alchemists, by Joseph Robert JochmansThe Psi in CSI, by Barbara JasonCan We See into the Future?, by Robert M. SchochPsychokinesis, by Robert M. SchochThe Superhero Factor, by Len KastenDeathbed Visitations, by Michael TymnWar and Reincarnation, by John ChambersTime Travel Evidence, by Joseph Robert JochmansThe Case for Immortality, by Patrick Marsolek
    Show book