Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Merry Marauders - cover

The Merry Marauders

Arthur J. Rees

Publisher: Bloomsbury Reader

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

Val is invited to New Zealand by his Uncle Rufus to help run his business, which he describes to Val as 'control of the New Zealand fruit trade'. Restless Val hopes that his new life will be adventurous and exciting but when he realises that his job is merely selling fruit and veg in a small shop in Auckland he parts from his uncle immediately and looks for adventures elsewhere.  
 
When he finds an advertisement for an advance agent to join a travelling theatrical troupe – 'Merry Marauders Dramatic Company' – he feels that he's found what he was looking for.  He joins the troupe and their tour around New Zealand begins. As he promises in a letter to his friend, 'One thing is certain; we shall have some adventures on the road that should be worth relating' – this promise is definitely fulfilled. 
 
The Merry Marauders is an epistolary novel, first published in 1913, which chronicles the funny misadventures of an accident-prone theatrical troupe touring through the small towns of frontier New Zealand around 1900 and encountering various rogues, setbacks and turns of fortune.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2020 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 1
    • 29
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • Instant Wit - How to Be Witty and Come Up with the Right Things to Say Instantly! - cover

    Instant Wit - How to Be Witty...

    INSTANT Series

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    How to Be Witty and Come Up with the Right Things to Say Instantly!
     
    Surely you've encountered (or even know) that one particular individual in your life who seems to be able to pull "something witty to say" at the drop of a hat that knocks everyone's socks off - by generating the perfect responses for the perfect moment, cracking unexpected jokes making people laugh, or bantering witty one-liner comments with their endless repertoire of repartees.
     
    So who is this Mr./Ms. Witty? You're scratching your head dumbfounded, yet in impressive awe...how in the world do they do it, and deep down secretly wanting to be like them.
     
    Who doesn't, right? Who wouldn't love to be admired, respected, and worshipped for their charming clever wit? Yet, it's much more than that. By being witty, you can always come up with the right things to say, at the right time in expressing yourself clearly, concisely, and convincingly at an instant with few short words (no more, no less) that establishes more authority, credibility, and trust.
     
    That's the power of having a razor-sharp wit! If the pen is mightier than the sword, then the wit is sharper than the knife. However, let's be honest, being witty doesn't always come naturally, especially for those who are less creative and more logical-prone. The good news is, your wit is like your muscle, and like any muscle, it can be trained and built up...all without needing to memorize any line by knowing a few structures and formulas to guide how to generate your responses.
     
    Within "Instant Wit":
     
    * How to use this "twister technique" to prepare yourself on what you should say, when the exact moment occurs for your quick comeback.
     
    * How to strengthen your creative wit to banter witty one-liners with another person, for good fun or quick laugh.
     
    * How to cut down any opponent with your razor-sharp wit, so they won't dare mess with you ever again.
     
    * How to take whatever response you get and absorb it, to think of and respond back with the appropriate words.
     
    * How to use your clever wit to think fast on your feet during tough situation, to handle it properly for the best outcome.
     
    * Plus, custom practical "how-to" strategies, techniques, applications and exercises to improve your wittiness.
     
    ...and much more.
     
    Don't be dim-witted...be quick-witted. Become the king/queen of your wit by developing a razor-sharp wit to be reckon with. Respect the wit!
    Show book
  • Love Me Like You Do - an emotional story of love and finding yourself - cover

    Love Me Like You Do - an...

    Aimee Brown

    • 4
    • 42
    • 1
    A runaway bride. A handsome stranger. Two pasts to put behind them. 
     
    Parker is ready to marry the man of her dreams. But he isn't ready to marry her. When she's dumped moments before walking down the aisle, she didn't expect to run into the arms of a handsome stranger. The southern drawl, the dreamy eyes, she can't fall for another man after being left at the altar – can she? 
     
    When Liam agreed to go on yet another blind date, he didn't expect his escape would lead him to the emergency room with a runaway bride. She might have just been left at the altar, but he's immediately drawn to her fiery spirit, kind heart and beautiful smile. Liam's got a whole host of problems and a past that's haunting him, now can't be the time to fall in love, but Parker might just be the one to break down his barriers and let him live a little – if she'll let him in. 
     
    Will these two strangers allow serendipity to force them together, or will their fears keep them apart? 
     
    From the bestselling author of The Lucky Dress comes a story about love, finding yourself and living your dreams.
    Show book
  • Into the Woods - Tales from the Hollows and Beyond - cover

    Into the Woods - Tales from the...

    Kim Harrison

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    A true queen of urban fantasy—the New York Times bestselling author of the wildly popular series featuring bounty hunter witch-turned-daywalking demon Rachel Morgan—the phenomenal Kim Harrison explores the Hollows more deeply than ever before in Into the Woods, her first collection of short stories. 
    Rachel is here, as are Jenks the pixie, elven tycoon Trent Kalamack, and an unholy host of vampires, demons, shapeshifters, ghosts, and other assorted supernatural beings, friends and foes. 
    Into the Woods combines original work, including a new Hollows novella, as well as all of Kim Harrison’s previously published short fiction gathered together in one volume for the very first time. No true Hollows aficionado will want to pass this up—and readers of Laurell K. Hamilton, Kelley Armstrong, Patricia Briggs, and Jim Butcher; fans of Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight novels and of paranormal romance superstars Christine Feehan and Sherrilyn Kenyon, will be likewise enchanted.
    Show book
  • Poppy Harmon Investigates - cover

    Poppy Harmon Investigates

    Lee Hollis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three women discover that life after retirement can be full—of foul play—in this “hilarious series launch . . . with a truly surprising twist” (Publishers Weekly). When Poppy Harmon goes from complacent retiree to penniless widow in a matter of weeks, the idea of spending her golden years as the biggest charity case in Palm Springs renders her speechless. With no real skills and nothing left to lose, Poppy uses her obsession with true crime shows to start a career as a private eye . . .   But after opening the Desert Flowers Detective Agency with help from her two best friends, Violet and Iris, Poppy realizes that age brings wisdom, not business—until she convinces her daughter’s handsome boyfriend, Matt, to pose as the face of the agency. It’s not long before Matt’s irresistible act snags a client desperate to retrieve priceless jewelry burglarized from an aging actress at the Palm Leaf Retirement Village. Or before Poppy stumbles upon the bloodied body of the victim’s archrival . . .   In a flash, Poppy’s innocent detective gig is upstaged by a dangerous murder investigation riddled with slimy suspects and unspeakable scandal. As she and her team uncover the truth, Poppy must confront the secrets about her late husband’s past and swiftly catch a killer lurking around the retirement community—even if it means turning her world upside down all over again.   “A trio of likable sleuths in a story with a surprising twist for a cozy.”—Library Journal “The theatrical frame, combined with a set of quirky characters, and plenty of humor, distinguishes this delightful cozy.”—Booklist
    Show book
  • Some Trick - cover

    Some Trick

    Helen DeWitt

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Hailed a “Best Book of the Year” by NPR, Publishers Weekly, Vulture, and the New York Public Library, Some Trick is now in paperback
    For sheer unpredictable brilliance, Gogol may come to mind, but no author alive today takes a reader as far as Helen DeWitt into the funniest, most far-reaching dimensions of possibility. Her jumping-off points might be statistics, romance, the art world’s piranha tank, games of chance and games of skill, the travails of publishing, or success. “Look,” a character begins to explain, laying out some gambit reasonably enough, even in the face of situations spinning out to their utmost logical extremes, where things prove “more complicated than they had first appeared” and “at 3 a.m. the circumstances seem to attenuate.” In various ways, each tale carries DeWitt’s signature poker-face lament regarding the near-impossibility of the life of the mind when one is made to pay to have the time for it, in a world so sadly “taken up with all sorts of paraphernalia superfluous, not to say impedimental, to ratiocination.”
    Show book