Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes - cover

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

Arthur Conan Doyle

Publisher: MysteriousPress.com

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The immortal Sherlock Holmes solves eleven unforgettable mysteriesThese stories, originally published in the Strand Magazine, follow Holmes from the astonishing heights of his deductive powers to the bottom of a treacherous gorge in Switzerland. “Silver Blaze,” a case that famously hinges on the “curious incident of the dog in the night-time,” finds the detective employing his singular imagination to locate a missing racehorse. In “The Greek Interpreter,” Holmes and his brilliant older brother, Mycroft, team up to put an end to a diabolical extortion scheme. And, most notoriously, criminal mastermind Professor Moriarty makes his first appearance in “The Final Problem,” a story that begins with the discovery of a secret criminal organization overtaking England, and ends on a cliff overlooking the Reichenbach Falls. With a heavy heart, Dr. Watson tells the world what no one wants to hear: Holmes and his archenemy have plunged to their deaths together, locked in mortal combat. This legendary collection, which Arthur Conan Doyle intended to bring a fitting end to the Sherlock Holmes saga, also includes “The Musgrave Ritual,” “The Reigate Puzzle,” “The Crooked Man,” and “The Resident Patient.” Each of these eleven stories is now recognized as a masterpiece of crime fiction, and a clear indication that the peerless sleuth was not yet ready to leave the stage for good. This ebook features a new introduction by Otto Penzler and has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices. 

Other books that might interest you

  • Sail Away - cover

    Sail Away

    Celia Imrie

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The deliciously effervescent new novel from Celia Imrie, beloved character actress and author of Not Quite Nice, follows the exploits of two women on a cruise ship. 
      
    The phone hasn't rung for months. Suzy Marshall is discovering that work can be sluggish for an actress over sixty--even for the star of a wildly popular 1980s TV series. So when her agent offers her the plum role of Lady Bracknell in The Importance of Being Earnest in Zurich, it seems like a godsend. Until, that is, the play is abruptly cancelled under suspicious circumstances and Suzy is forced to take a job on a cruise ship to get home. 
     
    Meanwhile Amanda Herbert finds herself homeless in rainy Clapham. The purchase of her new apartment has fallen through, and her children are absorbed in their own dramas. Then she spots an advertisement for an Atlantic cruise and realizes that a few weeks onboard would tide her over and save her money until her housing situation is resolved. 
     
    As the two women set sail on a new adventure, neither can possibly predict the questionable characters and strange dealings they will encounter, nor the unexpected rewards they will reap. Vividly evoking the old-world glamour of a cruise ship--and the complex politics of its staff quarters--Sail Away is at once a hilarious romp and a thrilling adventure.
    Show book
  • Blue Water - cover

    Blue Water

    Joseph Parcell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Emily Hunter is a woman suffering. She is finally making strides at living independently after being mandated to residential psychiatric care for most of her adult life. Now, holding down a night shift job, taking her medication regularly, and meeting with her therapist twice a week, she's finally on solid ground — or so she thinks. Amongst Emily’s frequent delusions is a hallucination of a little girl in purple pajamas that she has come to call “Carrot.” In the past, Emily believed that Carrot was real, and that the little girl desperately needed help. Her visions of this child have always been strong and surreal. Now they're becoming too powerful to ignore. Carrot is guiding Emily.  Determined to find the answers, Emily starts down a deadly and terrifying path, following Carrot into madness.
    Show book
  • A Date With Death - cover

    A Date With Death

    Mark Roberts

    • 3
    • 21
    • 1
    All they wanted was to find their happy-ever-after... Instead, they met their deaths. 
     
    Three women have been killed in Liverpool. The MO points to a stranger, and now DCI Eve Clay is on the trail of a vicious man who preys on lonely women on dating sites. He signs off the same way with each message: "Kiss kiss, night night." 
     
    His crimes are escalating – and Eve has to stop him before another girl dies. But first she needs to find him. And that means going undercover online, and posing as his perfect victim... 
     
    REVIEWS FOR MARK ROBERTS: 
     
    'A fast-paced, chilling novel ... Short chapters, crackling dialogue and action that never lets up for a single moment ... Mark Roberts is what British crime fiction has been looking for' CRIMESQUAD. 
     
    'Intricate, fast-paced, with a sense of the macabre ... A genuinely innovative crime writer' DAILY MAIL. 
     
    'Dark, gripping and believable. Roberts' intimate knowledge of Liverpool makes the city into a sinister character of itself' GRAHAM MASTERTON. 
     
    'This is one of the most thought-provoking, powerful serial killing murders I've ever read. It's brutal, but I found that the plot was so deep, so twisted, intense and clever that there was no way I could put the book down until the final page' BESTSELLING CRIME THRILLERS.
    Show book
  • Dead in the Water - A Novel - cover

    Dead in the Water - A Novel

    Stuart Woods

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Stone Barrington only wants a winter getaway from the chill of New York in the beautiful, tropical Caribbean paradise of St. Mark's. But what the lawyer and ex-cop gets instead is the chance to defend Allison Manning. The beautiful young woman stands accused of killing her rich husband on board their luxurious yacht and then burying him at sea. 
    Stone isn't exactly conversant with the island country's law, but this much is clear to him: Allison is being railroaded by the perverse sense of justice of a prosecutor who will do anything to stay in office. Donning the robe and wig of a British barrister, Stone does everything he can to save Allison—from publicizing the case all over the American press to conducting the kind of smart, tough investigation that money can't buy. Just when he has the jury in the palm of his hands, a shocking reversal of fortune changes everything. And what was once a sure thing begins to look a lot like a death sentence.
    Show book
  • Emily’s List - cover

    Emily’s List

    Sean Platt, David W. Wright

    • 3
    • 12
    • 0
    All Cora wants is a new start. But how do you start over when you’re still you? After the tragic loss of her horror writer father, Cora is starting over in a new town, at a new school where nobody knows her.Nobody knows about her OCD tics. Nobody knows about her time spent in a mental hospital. And nobody knows that she may be seeing her father’s ghost. But her new start is shattered when the OCD tics she tries to keep secret come out in class. She soon finds herself a target of bullies again.New town, same loneliness and shame. And she’s afraid to turn to her overworked mother who is already worried about her sanity.Then she meets Emily.The abused homeschooled girl has her own problems, but she’s the only person that gets Cora.Also, Emily has a list.A list of people who have hurt her.A list of people that include Cora’s bullies.And now Emily wants Cora’s help in getting revenge.Can Cora find a normal life by striking back at her tormentors? Or is she being lured into a darkness that will consume the sanity she’s desperately clinging to?Emily’s List is a character-driven suspense thriller full of dark secrets and twisted revelations perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and The Haunting of Hill House.
    Show book
  • Heart of the Hunter - cover

    Heart of the Hunter

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Six-foot five-inch Thobela "Tiny" Mpayipheli was once a feared assassin and freedom fighter, trained by the Stasi and KGB. In post-apartheid South Africa, he's happily working in a garage. But Tiny’s quiet domestic life is interrupted by a desperate plea from the daughter of a trusted old friend: he’s being held hostage after taking an incriminating hard drive and needs help. Tiny’s old training kicks in, and as he races across the South African landscape on a stolen BMW motorcycle to the rendezvous point, he is pursued by several interested and hostile forces, including South Africa’s Presidential Intelligence Unit. None of them have a clue what they’re up against.With his books published in twenty languages, the critically acclaimed Deon Meyer has won a reputation as one of the best thriller writers in the world. Heart of the Hunter is an epic adventure across the landscape and history of a remarkable country.
    Show book