Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Sherlock Holmes Mystery Magazine #8 - cover

Sherlock Holmes Mystery Magazine #8

Arthur Conan Doyle, Gary Lovisi, Marvin Kaye, Marc Bilgrey, Ron Goulart, Brucew Kilstein, Adam Beau Mcfarlane, S. A. Stolinsky, John M. Floyd

Publisher: Wildside Press

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

The eighth issue of Sherlock Holmes Mystery Magazine features the usual assortment of stories and non-fiction, including: "Sun Ching Foo's Last Trick," by Adam Beau McFarlane"Do You Love Me?" by Marc Bilgrey"The Somerset Wonder," by Ron Goulart"The Hounds of Basketballville," by Hal Charles"Hit One Out of the Park," by Jeff Baker"Travelling Light," by John M. Floyd"Date Night," by S. A. Stolinsky"Anaconda, Montana," by Bruce Kilstein"The Man with the Twisted Lip," by Arthur Conan Doyle

Who read this book also read:

  • The Traveler - cover

    The Traveler

    John Katzenbach

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Daring and admirable…it’s rare to find a suspense novel with the scope of well-crafted fiction…The Traveler is compulsive reading.” —Chicago TribuneThis suspenseful classic from John Katzenbach, now back in print, reaffirmed his status as one of the best new thriller writers on the scene. Miami detective Mercedes Barren, recovering from a traumatic shooting, has transferred to the relative quiet of the forensics department to get her life back on track. Yet this peace is put on hold when she gets a wrenching phone call: her niece has been brutally murdered. Soon she uncovers the shocking truth: the killer—a professional photographer—is engaging in “copycat” murders across the country, while forcing a young student to document every horrific crime. The woman—he calls her “Boswell”—is his stenographer of cruelty. And if she drops her pen, she’ll end up being his next “subject.”As her already fragile life begins to fall to pieces, Mercedes makes it her mission to track down this cold-blooded killer—even if it means enlisting the help of his brother, a psychiatrist specializing in sex offenders. But can they catch him before his camera flashes next and snuffs out another life? Unbearably suspenseful, with believable characters and dialogue second-to-none, The Traveler is pure John Katzenbach.
    Show book
  • The Siamese Twin Mystery - cover

    The Siamese Twin Mystery

    Ellery Queen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ellery Queen and his father take refuge with a killer in this classic manor-house mystery starring one of crime fiction’s most legendary sleuths. Driving along a lonely mountain road, detective Ellery Queen and his father, Richard, round a bend and nearly run headlong into a forest fire. To escape, they race up the mountain and take shelter at the cliffside manor of Dr. John Xavier, a surgeon of considerable repute. Ellery quickly suspects something strange is going on inside the house—from Xavier’s bizarre references to his work to the pair of eyes Ellery sees burning in the dark—but before he can confront Xavier about what he’s doing in his laboratory, the good doctor is found shot dead while playing solitaire—and the only clue is a ripped six of spades. With the help of his father, a gruff police inspector, Ellery sets about solving the crime. The suspects include the victim’s valet, a pair of conjoined twins, and the mysterious Mr. Smith. In this game, the stakes are life and death. One of the earliest novels starring the storied Ellery Queen, The Siamese Twin Mystery is a classic golden-age murder mystery. From the manor-house setting to the gothic atmosphere, it presents an Edgar Award–winning author at his very best. 
    Show book
  • Angel's Tip - A Novel of Suspense - cover

    Angel's Tip - A Novel of Suspense

    Alafair Burke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Angel’s Tip is a riveting read that snaps with the beat of New York….A knuckle-biting journey that’ll keep you turning pages until the very end.”—Faye Kellerman, bestselling author of the Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus novels 
    “Alafair Burke has created a winning heroine in Ellie Hatcher, someone to root for.”—Tami Hoag, bestselling author of Down the Darkest Road 
    “Complex plotting, multi-layered characters, a creepy serial killer—in Angel’s Tip, Burke has once again proven herself a terrific storyteller.”—Sandra Brown, bestselling author of Lethal 
    Acclaimed thriller writer Alafair Burke delves into the underworld of the Manhattan nightclub scene in Angel’s Tip. Burke is the daughter of crime fiction superstar James Lee Burke, creator of Cajun detective Dave Robicheaux, prompting the Fort Worth Star-Telegram to proclaim that “this fast-paced-but-human thriller proves that writing talent is genetic.” A superb crime novel featuring NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher (“a strong female protagonist in the tradition of Sara Paretsky’s V.I. Warshawski and Marcia Muller’s Sharon McCone” —Boston Globe), Angel’s Tip follows Ellie’s investigation into the murder of a young college student, quite possibly by a member of New York’s young moneyed elite, and fans of Lisa Gardner, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, and Sue Grafton will most definitely want to trail along.
    Show book
  • Tutt and Mr Tutt - cover

    Tutt and Mr Tutt

    Arthur Train

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    America’s wisest and kindliest lawyer tackles a series of impossible cases—and wins Ephraim Tutt, Esq., never met a hard luck story he didn’t like. The rare lawyer happy to forego his fee, Tutt specializes in defending the downtrodden against the powerful and the corrupt. In Manhattan and his hometown of Pottsville, New York, he argues cases involving murder, forgery, and theft, always finding some arcane legal point to save the day—much to the chagrin of the prosecution. In this delightful collection, Tutt brings his sharp mind and genial wit to bear on the cases of the “Mock Hen and Mock Turtle,” the “Hepplewhite Tramp,” the “Lallapaloosa Limited,” and many others.   Based on author Arthur Train’s experiences working in the offices of the New York District Attorney, Tutt and Mr. Tutt is a must-read for fans of legal mysteries.   This ebook features a new introduction by Otto Penzler and has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.
    Show book
  • Quick Curtain - cover

    Quick Curtain

    Alan Melville

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'Don't talk bunk!' said Mr Douglas. 'You can't carry on with the show with a man dying on stage. Drop the curtain!'
     
    When Douglas B. Douglas - leading light of the London theatre - premieres his new musical extravaganza, Blue Music, he is sure the packed house will be dazzled by the performance. What he couldn't predict is the death of his star, Brandon Baker, on stage in the middle of Act 2. Soon another member of the cast is found dead, and it seems to be a straightforward case of murder followed by suicide.
     
    Inspector Wilson of Scotland Yard - who happens to be among the audience - soon discovers otherwise. Together with Derek, his journalist son, Wilson takes charge of proceedings in his own inimitable way.
     
    This is a witty, satirical novel from the golden age of British crime fiction between the world wars. It is long overdue for rediscovery and this new edition includes an informative introduction by Martin Edwards, author of The Golden Age of Murder.
    Show book
  • One Grave Too Many - cover

    One Grave Too Many

    Ron Goulart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As earthquakes shake Los Angeles, John Easy looks for a missing admanJohn Easy never likes to get out of bed, especially when the woman beside him is as beautiful as Jill Jeffers, but no man can argue with an earthquake. The quake subsides after a few moments, but another one is coming. Something fierce is about to rock Los Angeles, and California’s hippest private detective is going to be right in the middle of it. Gay Holland, Easy’s newest client, is rich, lonely, and missing her brother Gary. The owner of a boutique radio advertising firm, Gary is recently divorced and has a married girlfriend. His apartment has been trashed, and whoever did it was violent, professional, and in search of something to do with Gary’s collection of archaeology texts. Finding Gary will mean digging deep under Los Angeles—assuming the next quake doesn’t shake the city apart first.
    Show book