Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Social Gangster - A thrilling journey through the dangerous underworld of gangsters and criminals - cover

The Social Gangster - A thrilling journey through the dangerous underworld of gangsters and criminals

Arthur B. Reeve

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In 'The Social Gangster' by Arthur B. Reeve, readers are taken on a thrilling journey through the world of organized crime in a bustling city. Reeve's writing style seamlessly combines elements of mystery and suspense, keeping readers on the edge of their seats as they navigate the dangerous underworld of gangsters and criminals. The novel is rich in detail and vivid descriptions, painting a realistic picture of the criminal activities prevalent during the time it was written. Through his use of clever plot twists and intricate character development, Reeve showcases his mastery of storytelling in this gripping narrative. Arthur B. Reeve, known for his popular detective stories featuring Craig Kennedy, showcases his versatility as a writer in 'The Social Gangster'. With a keen interest in criminology and forensic science, Reeve's background in investigative journalism shines through in his meticulous attention to detail and accurate portrayal of criminal behavior. It is evident that Reeve's passion for exploring the darker aspects of human nature fuels the compelling narrative of 'The Social Gangster'. I highly recommend 'The Social Gangster' to readers who enjoy fast-paced thrillers with a touch of mystery. Arthur B. Reeve's masterful storytelling and in-depth knowledge of criminal activities make this novel a must-read for those interested in the thrilling world of organized crime.
Available since: 12/02/2019.
Print length: 271 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Sweet Relief of Missing Children - cover

    The Sweet Relief of Missing...

    Sarah Braunstein

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In New York City, a girl called Leonora vanishes without a trace. Years earlier and miles upstate, Goldie, a wild, negligent mother, searches for a man to help raise her precocious son, Paul, who later discovers that the only way to save his soul is to run away. As the narrative moves back and forth in time, we find deeper interconnections between these stories and growing clues about Leonora - this missing girl whose face looks out from telephone poles and billboards - whom one character will give anything to save.
    Show book
  • Jared Pond and the Gregorian Faceoff - cover

    Jared Pond and the Gregorian...

    Martin Lundqvist

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this episode, Jared Pond travels to Singapore to confront his former boss Greg Steele. But why is Greg pretending to be a Catholic Cardinal, and will Jared's lust for revenge impede his marriage to President Eileen Lu?
    Show book
  • Brown-Eyed Girl - A Novel of Suspense - cover

    Brown-Eyed Girl - A Novel of...

    Virginia Swift

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Sally Alder is a couple of ears past her wild youth as the hard-drinking, guitar playing, hell-raising singer known as Mustang Sally. But then she's grown with age, She's wiser and more coolheaded now, and, more important, Sally has learned how to keep a secret. It's a good thing, too, because she's going to need every advantage she's gained in order to handle the job she's just taken.Imagine having to move from LA to Laramie to get a thrill.A professor of history at UCLA, Sally has just been offered the hugely endowed and deliciously secretive Dunwoodie Distinguished Chair in American Women's History at the University of Wyoming. Job description: Move into the late Meg Dunwoodie's posh residence in Laramie (the only one of its kind) and, with sole proprietors of her papers, construct the definitive Meg Dunwoodie biography--without telling anyone anything about it.Sally Alder is a couple of ears past her wild youth as the hard-drinking, guitar playing, hell-raising singer known as Mustang Sally. But then she's grown with age, She's wiser and more coolheaded now, and, more important, Sally has learned how to keep a secret. It's a good thing, too, because she's going to need every advantage she's gained in order to handle the job she's just taken.Imagine having to move from LA to Laramie to get a thrill.A professor of history at UCLA, Sally has just been offered the hugely endowed and deliciously secretive Dunwoodie Distinguished Chair in American Women's History at the University of Wyoming. Job description: Move into the late Meg Dunwoodie's posh residence in Laramie (the only one of its kind) and, with sole proprietors of her papers, construct the definitive Meg Dunwoodie biography--without telling anyone anything about it.In this town, rumors abound and secrets are practically nonexistent.Of course, everyone knows that Sally has been hired to poke through old Meg's papers, and a lot of people think that somewhere among them sits a treasure map that could lead to a fortune in gold Krugerrands. Oneway or another, most of Laramie is determined to getinto Meg Dunwoodie's house.There are break-ins, a curious sheriff, gossipy friends, and avaricious faculty at the university. And, if that isn't enough to distract Sally from her research, sexy Hawk Green has shown up to rekindle a romance Sally thought was gone forever.But all this goes deeper and the stakes are higher thanSally could have imagined. As she delves intoMeg's romantic and heartbreaking past as a foreigncorrespondent in Paris during World War II, the forces of good and evil are aligning in Laramie, and Sally realizes that, truly, those who don't learn from their pasts are doomed to repeat it.In the tradition, of Susan Isaacs and Fannie Flagg, Virginia Swift has written a story that breaks the mold, with a cast of finely drawn characters and a heroine whose wit and intelligence are matched only by herdetermination.
    Show book
  • Pamela or Virtue Rewarded - cover

    Pamela or Virtue Rewarded

    Samuel Richardson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Now first published in order to cultivate the Principles of Virtue and Religion in the Minds of the Youth of Both Sexes.A Narrative which has its Foundation in Truth and Nature; and at the same time that it agreeably entertains, by a Variety of curious and affecting Incidents, is intirely divested of all those Images, which, in too many Pieces calculated for Amusement only, tend to inflame the Minds they should instruct.(From the frontspiece of the first edition)Pamela tells the story of a 14 year old lady's maid named Pamela whose master, Mr. B., makes unwanted advances towards her. She rejects him continually. In Pamela's letters to her "poor but exemplary parents" the story unfolds and we learn her fate. (summary by Annise)
    Show book
  • The Rage - cover

    The Rage

    Gene Kerrigan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Winner of the CWA Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel of the Year. “Fans [of The Wire] can find many of the same strengths in Kerrigan’s work” (The New York Times).   Vincent Naylor has just been released from prison and has already begun to plot his next heist—the robbery of an armored car. Det. Sgt. Bob Tidey has been caught perjuring himself to protect fellow officers. He’s also found the link between an unsolved murder case and the recent execution of a corrupt banker in serious financial difficulty. An old acquaintance will change the course of the investigation. A retired nun living on regrets and bad memories notices something deeply suspicious and makes a phone call that sets in motion a series of fateful events.   In The Rage, Gene Kerrigan weaves together astute observations regarding a financial crisis, church abuse, and gangland crime. The writing is, as always with a Kerrigan novel, superb, with an engaging story that has pitch perfect dialogue and characters that come fully alive.   The prize-winning crime fiction is set in contemporary Ireland where nothing is neatly resolved and there are no easy choices. Like life itself.   “A perfect novel . . . beautifully constructed, with sharp and relevant dialogue, and not a superfluous word to be found.” —The Oregonian   “Gritty and compulsively readable.” —The Wall Street Journal   “Tightly plotted . . . the story’s pacing is masterly.” —The New Yorker   “A boundlessly readable portrait of an Ireland in which all the old certainties have vanished. Remarkable for its verve, moral trickiness, and nifty plotting.” —NPR Fresh Air   “Fans of Ken Bruen, Declan Hughes, and Declan Burke won’t want to miss this one.” —Booklist (starred review)
    Show book
  • The Valley of Fear - cover

    The Valley of Fear

    Arthur Conan Doyle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Doyle's final novel featuring the beloved sleuth, Sherlock Holmes, brings the detective and his friend to a country manor where they are preceded by either a murder or a suicide. A secretive organization lies culprit and an infiltration of it is in order.
    Show book