Do you dare to read without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Waiting for the Man - cover

Waiting for the Man

Arjun Basu

Publisher: ECW Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A surreal journey of a man who is searching for purpose and for happiness

Joe, a 36-year-old advertising copywriter for a slick New York agency, feels disillusioned with his life. He starts dreaming of a mysterious man, seeing him on the street, and hearing his voice. Joe decides to listen to the Man and so he waits on his stoop, day and night, for instructions. A local reporter takes notice, and soon Joe has become a story, a media sensation, the centre of a storm. When the Man tells Joe to “go west,” he does, in search of meaning.

Waiting for the Man is a compelling and visceral story about the struggle to find something more in life, told in two interwoven threads — Joe at the beginning of his journey in Manhattan, and at the end of it as he finds new purpose on a ranch in Montana under the endless sky. This edition includes a bonus BackLit section with a reader’s guide, Q with the author, and more.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Date With Death - cover

    A Date With Death

    Mark Roberts

    • 7
    • 41
    • 2
    All they wanted was to find their happy-ever-after... Instead, they met their deaths. 
     
    Three women have been killed in Liverpool. The MO points to a stranger, and now DCI Eve Clay is on the trail of a vicious man who preys on lonely women on dating sites. He signs off the same way with each message: "Kiss kiss, night night." 
     
    His crimes are escalating – and Eve has to stop him before another girl dies. But first she needs to find him. And that means going undercover online, and posing as his perfect victim... 
     
    REVIEWS FOR MARK ROBERTS: 
     
    'A fast-paced, chilling novel ... Short chapters, crackling dialogue and action that never lets up for a single moment ... Mark Roberts is what British crime fiction has been looking for' CRIMESQUAD. 
     
    'Intricate, fast-paced, with a sense of the macabre ... A genuinely innovative crime writer' DAILY MAIL. 
     
    'Dark, gripping and believable. Roberts' intimate knowledge of Liverpool makes the city into a sinister character of itself' GRAHAM MASTERTON. 
     
    'This is one of the most thought-provoking, powerful serial killing murders I've ever read. It's brutal, but I found that the plot was so deep, so twisted, intense and clever that there was no way I could put the book down until the final page' BESTSELLING CRIME THRILLERS.
    Show book
  • None So Deadly - A Cullen and Cobb Mystery - cover

    None So Deadly - A Cullen and...

    David A. Poulsen

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A police investigator’s murder has put Cullen and Cobb back on a twenty-five-year-old cold case. 
     
    
    
    It’s a case that has haunted Cullen and Cobb for years  — the murder of eleven-year-old Faith Unruh. And now the brutal killing of a police investigator who was similarly obsessed with the little girl’s murder has put PI Mike Cobb and former crime-writing journalist Adam Cullen back on the killer’s trail — and directly in the line of fire. 
     
    
    As the case is unfolding, Cullen is desperately trying to get out from under the thumb of a local biker gang without ruining his relationship, getting arrested … or worse.
    Show book
  • Delphi Complete Works of Anton Chekhov (Illustrated) - cover

    Delphi Complete Works of Anton...

    Anton Chekov

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Anton Chekhov is considered to be among literature’s greatest short story writers, whilst his plays helped change the course of modern drama. This comprehensive eBook presents the complete works of Anton Chekhov, with numerous illustrations, rare texts appearing in digital print for the first time, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 6)* Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Chekhov’s life and works* Concise introductions to the plays and other texts* ALL 15 plays, each with individual contents tables* Rare plays like PLATONOV and THE WOOD DEMON appearing here for the first time digital publishing* Excellent formatting of the texts* The complete short stories – over 210 tales, first time available complete in English* Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the short stories* Easily locate the short stories you want to read* Chekhov’s only novel THE SHOOTING PARTY, available in no other collection* Also features rare novellas* Includes Chekhov’s letters and notebooks – spend hours exploring the author’s personal correspondence and thoughts* Features a bonus biography – discover Chekhov’s literary life* Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres* UPDATED with revised texts, introductions and more imagesPlease note: there are no translations of THE ISLAND OF SAKHALIN available in the public domain. Once a translation becomes available, it will be added to the eBook as a free update.Please visit www.delphiclassics.com to browse through our range of exciting titlesCONTENTS:The PlaysPLATONOVON THE HIGH ROADON THE HARMFULNESS OF TOBACCOSWANSONGIVANOFFTHE BEARTHE PROPOSALA RELUCTANT HEROTHE WEDDINGTHE WOOD DEMONTHE ANNIVERSARYTHE SEA-GULLUNCLE VANYATHE THREE SISTERSTHE CHERRY ORCHARDThe NovelTHE SHOOTING PARTYThe Short StoriesCHRONOLOGICAL LIST OF SHORT STORIESALPHABETICAL LIST OF SHORT STORIESThe NovellasTHE STEPPETHE DUELAN ANONYMOUS STORYTHREE YEARSMY LIFEThe Non-FictionLETTERS OF ANTON CHEKHOV TO HIS FAMILY AND FRIENDSNOTE-BOOK OF ANTON CHEKHOVThe BiographyBIOGRAPHICAL SKETCH by Constance GarnettPlease visit www.delphiclassics.com to browse through our range of exciting titles
    Show book
  • Mosaic - cover

    Mosaic

    Caro Ramsay

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Megan Melvick has returned home after a three-year absence to visit her dying sister, Melissa, for the last time.  As she approaches the grand Scottish country estate where she grew up, the memories come flooding back. Just what did happen on the night of Melissa’s wedding five years before? Where has Megan and Melissa’s mother disappeared to? And why does Melissa whisper that solitary word before she finally slips away: Sorry.  
     
    In order to overcome her demons, Megan must confront her painful recollections of that terrible night, the night of Melissa’s wedding. The night somebody died. But can she really trust her memories?  And who is it who’s determined that she should forget …?
    Show book
  • Gillespie and I - A Novel - cover

    Gillespie and I - A Novel

    Jane Harris

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Orange Prize-nominated author of The Observations comes an absorbing, atmospheric exploration of one young woman’s friendship with a volatile artist and her place in the controversy that consumes him. Jane Harris’s Gillespie and I presents a strongly voiced female protagonist evocative of Moll Flanders and Becky Sharp, who offers a keen sensibility, deeply felt observations, and poignant remembrances of the world of a young artist in turn-of-the-century Glasgow in this fantastic work of historical fiction. London’s Sunday Times calls Gillespie and I “a literary novel where the storytelling is as skilful as the writing is fine.” Fans of The Piano Teacher and The Thirteenth Tale will find it irresistible and unforgettable.
    Show book
  • Macbeth - cover

    Macbeth

    William Shakespeare, SBP Editors

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Shakespeare's Macbeth is one of the greatest tragic dramas the world has known. Macbeth himself, a brave warrior, is fatally impelled by supernatural forces, by his proud wife, and by his own burgeoning ambition.
    The play is set in Scotland. Returning from battle with his companion Banquo, the nobleman Macbeth meets a group of witches. They predict that Macbeth will first become thane (baron) of Cawdor and then king of Scotland. Urged on by Lady Macbeth, his wife, Macbeth murders King Duncan. But Duncan's sons, Malcolm and Donalbain, escape. Macbeth then seizes the throne of Scotland. But Macbeth has no peace. In a bid to prevent Banquo's descendants from becoming kings according to the witches' prophecy, Macbeth arranges for him to be murdered, along with his son Fleance. Macbeth's men kill Banquo, but Fleance escapes. Haunted by Banquo's ghost, Macbeth seeks counsel from the witches. They tell him to beware of Macduff, another Scottish nobleman. Macbeth is now hardened to killing. He orders the murder of Macduff's wife and children. By contrast, Lady Macbeth, who had encouraged her husband to embark upon his path of slaughter, goes mad with guilt and dies. Macduff's army attacks Macbeth's forces. Macduff meets Macbeth in single combat and kills him. Malcolm, Duncan's son, is then proclaimed king of Scotland. 
    ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 
    William Shakespeare (baptised 26 April 1564) was an English poet and playwright, widely regarded as the greatest writer in the English language and the world's pre-eminent dramatist. He is often called England's national poet and the 'Bard of Avon' (or simply "The Bard"). His surviving works consist of 37 plays, 154 sonnets, two long narrative poems, and several other poems. His plays have been translated into every major living language. 
    Shakespeare was born and raised in Stratford-upon-Avon. Scholars believe that he died on his fifty-second birthday, coinciding with St George’s Day. At the age of 18 he married Anne Hathaway, who bore him three children: Susanna, twins Hamnet and Judith. Between 1585 and 1592 he began a successful career in London as an actor, writer, and part owner of the playing company the Lord Chamberlain's Men, later known as the King's Men. He appears to have retired to Stratford around 1613, where he died three years later. 
    Shakespeare produced most of his known work between 1590 and 1613. His early plays were mainly comedies and histories, genres he raised to the peak of sophistication and artistry by the end of the sixteenth century. Next he wrote mainly tragedies until about 1608. He was a respected poet and playwright in his own day, but his reputation did not rise to its present heights until the nineteenth century. The Romantics, in particular, acclaimed Shakespeare's genius, and the Victorians hero-worshipped Shakespeare. In the twentieth century, his work was repeatedly adopted and rediscovered by new movements in scholarship and performance. His plays remain highly popular today and are consistently performed and reinterpreted in diverse cultural and political contexts throughout the world.
    Show book