Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
On Generation and Corruption - cover

On Generation and Corruption

Aristotle Aristotle

Publisher: Charles River Editors

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Aristotle was an ancient Greek philosopher who was largely responsible for shaping Western philosophy as it is known today.  Aristotle, who was one of Plato’s students and would later tutor Alexander the Great, was also regarded as the world’s first scientist and his many writings are still revered today.  This edition of On Generation and Corruption includes a table of contents. 

Other books that might interest you

  • The Black Cabinet - The Untold Story of African Americans and Politics During the Age of Roosevelt - cover

    The Black Cabinet - The Untold...

    Jill Watts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Watts’s The Black Cabinet is the first of its kind full-scale in-depth examination of Roosevelt’s Black Cabinet.The Black Cabinet traces an arc directly from Reconstruction to the Black Cabinet assembled for Theodore Roosevelt and subsequently disbanded by Taft and Wilson, past the New Deal era to the March on Washington and the Civil Rights Movement. It is a missing link in a continuous African American fight to be treated as equal citizensRoosevelt’s Black Cabinet was a diverse group made up of social scientists, legal minds, educators, politicos, and journalists who sought to get the black community’s needs on the table during the New Deal, a time when Black Americans were in even direr economic straits than whites.Because the Democratic Party of the day was so dependent on Southern white votes, Roosevelt never publicly acknowledged the Black Cabinet and only met personally with a tiny number of its members. Besides a red-baiting Senator, its name was never spoken aloud except in the black press, which has been underexploited as a source by historians. As a result Mary McLeod Bethune, a celebrity in her day, is the only one of these figures who has made it into the mainstream historical record; Watts has uncovered a rich story here.From assimilation and accommodation vs protest, #OwnVoices leadership vs working with white leadership, and down to the very basic question of whom the federal government is supposed to serve and protect, and what the unique history of and resulting challenges facing African Americans entitles them to, The Black Cabinet demonstrates that events that happened 75+ years ago share themes ripped from today’s headlines.Watts’s narrative synthesizes the story of the Black Cabinet, which at one time numbered over a hundred, into a character-driven story focusing in on five key figures, tracing them from their infancy in politics to their ascent into key powerful positions.For fans of The Warmth of Other Suns, The New Jim Crow, and The New Negro.
    Show book
  • Living Your Magic - How to Enjoy Your Mind and Enjoy Your Life - cover

    Living Your Magic - How to Enjoy...

    Dr. Robert Anthony

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Living Your Magic lays out how life, when people really look at it, is like a magic trick. 
     A magic trick works because of illusion and misdirection. And with all sorts of tricks of the mind, human thinking and perception works just like a magic trick. When people don’t understand how the trick is done, they get fooled every time! In Living Your Magic, Dr. Robert Anthony teaches readers how to look at their life before the trick or the illusions happens—and how to never be fooled again. 
     Rather than following the same flawed premise behind almost every self-help, therapeutic, or personal development methodology that projects people having a separate ‘self’ that needs fixing, Living Your Magic sees that ‘self’ as an illusion. The problem is that most people don’t recognize it as an illusion and believe they must change or improve their ‘self’ before they can be happy and live a magical life. Dr. Anthony reveals that everyone has an Inner Creative Genius that allows them to live a magical life—if people would only learn to trust it and get out of their own way. In that way, life becomes easier by giving people less to think about, less to remember, and less to do, so they can truly enjoy their mind and enjoy their life!
    Show book
  • The Last Kingdom - cover

    The Last Kingdom

    Bernard Cornwell

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    The first installment of Bernard Cornwell’s New York Times bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England, “like Game of Thrones, but real” (The Observer, London)—the basis for The Last Kingdom, the hit  Netflix series. 
    This is the exciting—yet little known—story of the making of England in the 9th and 10th centuries, the years in which King Alfred the Great, his son and grandson defeated the Danish Vikings who had invaded and occupied three of England’s four kingdoms. 
    The story is seen through the eyes of Uhtred, a dispossessed nobleman, who is captured as a child by the Danes and then raised by them so that, by the time the Northmen begin their assault on Wessex (Alfred’s kingdom and the last territory in English hands) Uhtred almost thinks of himself as a Dane. He certainly has no love for Alfred, whom he considers a pious weakling and no match for Viking savagery, yet when Alfred unexpectedly defeats the Danes and the Danes themselves turn on Uhtred, he is finally forced to choose sides. By now he is a young man, in love, trained to fight and ready to take his place in the dreaded shield wall. Above all, though, he wishes to recover his father’s land, the enchanting fort of Bebbanburg by the wild northern sea. 
    This thrilling adventure—based on existing records of Bernard Cornwell’s ancestors—depicts a time when law and order were ripped violently apart by a pagan assault on Christian England, an assault that came very close to destroying England.
    Show book
  • Instant Communication Skills - How to Improve Communications Skills Instantly! - cover

    Instant Communication Skills -...

    INSTANT Series

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Instant-Series Presents "Instant Communication Skills"
     
    How to Improve Communications Skills Instantly!
     
    Are you having trouble being heard or problem being misunderstood?
     
    Nowadays, it's more mandatory than ever to have good communication skill!
     
    Do you find it hard to talk to people, or when you do, you don't know exactly what to say and can't get the words out, not speaking very well, causing you frustrations?
     
    If you lack communication skills, you will have a hard time conveying your message, meeting people, and being taken seriously at work, home, and in life.
     
    Don't let the handicap of poor communication skills hold you back in anything.
     
    Within "Instant Communication Skills":
     
    * This one quickest and easiest thing you can do now to improve your communication skills so you can come off more attractive.
     
    * The crucial "think-on-your-feet communication" and how to work on it so to not only communicate better but faster, especially if it's a matter of life or death.
     
    * Best practices of how to be a better communicator so everybody will want to talk to and be around you, and putting them into action.
     
    * What to do in when you're having a conversation in your communication to magnetically build an instant connection, and how to do it.
     
    * Even cover the art of written communication and ways to be more effective at it without doing it wrong.
     
    * Plus, custom practical "how-to" strategies, techniques, applications and exercises to improve your communication skills.
     
    ...and much more.
     
    Become a much more effective communicator now!
    Show book
  • The Wages of Appeasement - Ancient Athens Munich and Obama's America - cover

    The Wages of Appeasement -...

    Bruce S Thornton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Wages of Appeasement explores the reasons why a powerful state gives in to aggressors. It tells the story of three historical examples of appeasement: the greek city-states of the fourth century B.C., which lost their freedom to Philip II of Macedon; England in the twenties and thirties, and the failure to stop Germany's aggression that led to World War II; and America's current war against Islamic jihad and the 30-year failure to counter Iran's attacks on the U.S. The inherent weaknesses of democracies and their bad habit of pursuing short-term interests at the expense of long-term security play a role in appeasement. But more important are the bad ideas people indulge, from idealized views of human nature to utopian notions like pacifism or disarmament. But especially important is the notion that diplomatic engagement and international institutions like the u.n. can resolve conflict and deter an aggressor––the delusion currently driving the Obama foreign policy in the middle east. The Wages of Appeasement combines narrative history and cultural analysis to show how ideas can have dangerous and deadly consequences.
    Show book
  • The Gestapo - A History of Hitler's Secret Police 1933-45 - cover

    The Gestapo - A History of...

    Rupert Butler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From its creation in 1933 until Hitler’s death in May 1945, anyone living in Nazi- controlled territory lived in fear of a visit from the Gestapo – Geheime Staatspolizei – or Secret State Police. Young or old, rich or poor, nobody was beyond the attentions of a brutally efficient organization that spread its influence into every corner of occupied Europe. The Gestapo is a detailed history of Heinrich Himmler’s organization, whose 20,000 members were responsible for the internal security of the Reich. Under its auspices, hundreds of thousands of civilians, resistance fighters and spies were tortured and murdered, and many more were deported to concentration camps. Drawing on evidence from the Gestapo’s own archives as well as eye-witness accounts, the author charts the development of the organization, its key figures, such as Reinhard Heydrich and Heinrich Himmler, its methods, and how the Gestapo dealt with internal security, including the various attempts to assassinate Hitler. Illustrated with 120 black-and-white photographs, The Gestapo is a lively, expert account of this notorious, but little understood, secret police force.
    Show book