Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Homo Sapiens - Psychology as Seen from Evolution - cover

Homo Sapiens - Psychology as Seen from Evolution

Antonio Vélez

Publisher: eLibros Editorial

  • 1
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

Los temas discutidos en este libro, traducido al inglés por el australiano Kieran Tapsell, forman parte de una disciplina revolucionaria conocida como psicología evolutiva, que se ha convertido en la herramienta más poderosa descubierta por el ser humano para entenderse a sí mismo. Gran parte del conocimiento revelado por la ciencia humana se explica como resultado del proceso evolutivo, tomando como premisa la teoría de que la mayoría de los deseos, impulsos, intereses y facultades mentales humanas fueron diseñadas por la evolución de las especies. Este nuevo enfoque nos permite sintetizar un grupo ya establecido de descubrimientos, que provienen de diversas disciplinas como genética, evolución, antropología, psicología, neurología y epistemología. De esta manera es posible explicar una parte importante del comportamiento humano desde un solo principio unificado: la búsqueda directa o indirecta de una mayor eficacia reproductiva. Con este trabajo, de fácil lectura para el público general, el autor completa un ciclo de temas que comenzó con el libro Del Big Bang al homo sapiens (2004), publicado en español por Villegas Editores.

Other books that might interest you

  • All His Pretty Girls - An absolutely gripping detective novel with a jaw-dropping killer twist - cover

    All His Pretty Girls - An...

    Charly Cox

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    ‘a fast-paced, breathtaking read…This will definitely be making my list of favourite books of 2019’ Go Buy The Book
     
    Detective Alyssa Wyatt is hunting a serial killer.
     
    She doesn’t know that he’s hunting her.
     
    A woman is found naked, badly beaten and barely alive in the New Mexico mountains. The shocking discovery plunges Albuquerque Detective Alyssa Wyatt into a case that will test her to the limit.
     
    It appears that Callie McCormick is the latest plaything of a shadowy psychopath that leaves a long shadow on the streets of New Mexico – an individual linked to a string of deaths but leaving no evidence.
     
    But when Alyssa makes a breakthrough that just might reveal the killer, she unknowingly puts herself in the crosshairs of a brutal maniac – one with an old score to settle.
     
    Because the killer knows Alyssa very well, even if she doesn’t know him. And he’s determined that she’ll know his name – even if he has to extract his deadly revenge on her and everything she loves.
     
    The launch of a dark, gripping, completely unputdownable crime thriller series, All His Pretty Girls introduces New Mexico detective Alyssa Wyatt. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Melinda Leigh and Angela Marsons will be utterly engrossed.
     
    Reviewers are hooked on All His Pretty Girls:
     
    ‘Oh boy, was I swiped off my feet as what was already a totally gripping read escalated into my top five for this year…It felt like my heart was beating in the back of my throat!’ Books From Dusk Till Dawn
     
    ‘I raced through this book!...one of the most exciting crime books I’ve read in a long while!’ Alternative-Read.com
     
    ‘A serial killer chiller where the action never flags, the suspense is red-hot and the twists and turns jaw-droppingly brilliant, fans of the genre need to add Charly Cox to their list of must-buys.’ Bookish Jottings
     
    ‘Sharply plotted, and full of tense twists, this is extremely well written…An extremely confident, exciting and chilling new entry on to the crime thriller scene’ Alex J Book Reviews
     
    ‘a compelling thriller that I could not put down! The killer was insane, the story was addictive and the writing was fantastic. This is everything I want when I pick up a police procedural!’ Jessica Belmont 
     
    ‘some real heart in the mouth moments…It flows so easily, with a fast pace and really is unputdownable.’ The Bookwormery
     
    ‘like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns…had me totally gripped and I was on the edge of my seat throughout.’ Ginger Book Geek
     
    ‘This is one of the best debut novels I’ve read in a while’ Cheeky Pee Reads and Reviews
     
    ‘Wow did All His Pretty Girls pack a punch! I was shocked when I found out this was a debut…a heart in your mouth read that will have you racing through those pages.’ On The Shelf Reviews
     
    ‘I don’t think I took even a single deep breath while reading this…Each chapter raised my tension and I couldn’t stop tapping my ereader’ Shalini’s Books and Reviews
    Show book
  • The Queen of the Tearling - A Novel - cover

    The Queen of the Tearling - A Novel

    Erika Johansen

    • 12
    • 39
    • 0
    A #1 Indie Next Pick and LibraryReads Selection 
    Magic, adventure, mystery, and romance combine in this epic debut in which a young princess must reclaim her dead mother’s throne, learn to be a ruler—and defeat the Red Queen, a powerful and malevolent sorceress determined to destroy her. 
    On her nineteenth birthday, Princess Kelsea Raleigh Glynn, raised in exile, sets out on a perilous journey back to the castle of her birth to ascend her rightful throne. Plain and serious, a girl who loves books and learning, Kelsea bears little resemblance to her mother, the vain and frivolous Queen Elyssa. But though she may be inexperienced and sheltered, Kelsea is not defenseless: Around her neck hangs the Tearling sapphire, a jewel of immense magical power; and accompanying her is the Queen’s Guard, a cadre of brave knights led by the enigmatic and dedicated Lazarus. Kelsea will need them all to survive a cabal of enemies who will use every weapon—from crimson-caped assassins to the darkest blood magic—to prevent her from wearing the crown. 
    Despite her royal blood, Kelsea feels like nothing so much as an insecure girl, a child called upon to lead a people and a kingdom about which she knows almost nothing. But what she discovers in the capital will change everything, confronting her with horrors she never imagined. An act of singular daring will throw Kelsea’s kingdom into tumult, unleashing the vengeance of the tyrannical ruler of neighboring Mortmesne: the Red Queen, a sorceress possessed of the darkest magic. Now Kelsea will begin to discover whom among the servants, aristocracy, and her own guard she can trust. 
    But the quest to save her kingdom and meet her destiny has only just begun—a wondrous journey of self-discovery and a trial by fire that will make her a legend . . . if she can survive. 
    This book will be a beautifully designed package with illustrated endpapers, a map of the Tearling, and a ribbon marker.
    Show book
  • A Choice of Secrets - cover

    A Choice of Secrets

    Barb Hendee

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Three choices. Two sisters. One family’s destiny. The “most engaging [book] yet” in this New York Times–bestselling author’s Dark Glass series (Kings River Life Magazine).   Ever since raiders from the North began attacking villages, Lady Nicole Montagna has known that defending her people comes at a cost. The betrothal of her sister Chloe to a neighboring lord seems the perfect solution, forging a powerful alliance. But shortly before the wedding, Nicole is shocked to discover that her sister is with child—and not by her husband-to-be. Now she must make a choice and she has just hours to decide: should she tell her soldier brother—who will take swift, ruthless action to ensure the family’s safety? She could hold her tongue, let her sister deceive her husband into believing the child is his—and then hope Chloe can get away with the lie. Or, should she tell her family, hoping they will know the right thing to do?   With the help of a magic mirror, Nicole lives out each path, fighting to protect herself and those she loves with the weapons she has: wits, herbs, and fortitude. But no matter her cleverness, neither she nor her family can escape unscathed—for there are repercussions she could never have foreseen, involving her own heart . . .   “Each time I read one of the books in the Dark Glass series it becomes my favourite . . . Every single book has been excellent . . . I was completely enthralled.” —Under the Covers Book Blog
    Show book
  • Queen of Swords and Silence - cover

    Queen of Swords and Silence

    Carrow Brown

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    A banished Valkyrie stripped of her place among the gods,
     
    Mythics vanishing left and right along with ancient relics,
     
    A sword thirsty for blood and drenched in madness,
     
    and now the roof has a leak—where’s the vodka?
     
    A literal man eater, Ghost was born . . . damaged.
     
    Where do you go when your own creator discards you?
     
    The world is bleak, but Ghost couldn’t care less about others woes. She has her own to contend with. A castaway, stripped of her valkyrie title, and enslaved for centuries due to her deformity…how’s that for a sob story?
     
    Her love life and bank account are equally empty, her best friend is a bloodthirsty sword, and the roof has a leak . . . but Ghost’s duties ensure very few days are dull. Doing her master’s bidding has some benefits: global travel, meeting interesting people, stealing their priceless artifacts, and doing a little murder if needed. She could be tasked to oversee treasure or execute a magi who foolishly stepped out of line.
     
    But the shadows in Ghost’s world are shifting. When Mythics disappear under strange circumstances, Ghost finds herself in a lethal game of supernatural politics. The Gods seek ancient relics that could prove the ticket to Ghost’s acceptance, but how far will she go to take her place within the pantheon? The stakes are high when one mistake could open a hole into Chaos . . .
    Show book
  • Arms of the Ocean - cover

    Arms of the Ocean

    M. Dalto, Jamie Webster

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Nineteen-year-old Tristaine lived a life of bitterness. When her mother abandoned her family, and her father began drinking, Tris discovered the only thing that truly brought her happiness: the sea.It called to her like a lover and flowed through her like a life force. When her only peace is threatened to be taken away, Tris realizes there is nothing she wouldn't do to remain with the ocean.Even if it means taking her own life to do so.But the sea isn't done with her -not yet- and Tris soon finds herself submerged in a world where love, betrayal, and honor stand stronger than any other force of nature.
    Show book
  • Disturbances in the Field - A Novel - cover

    Disturbances in the Field - A Novel

    Lynne Sharon Schwartz

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Lynne Sharon Schwartz’s critically beloved novel about family, tragedy, and philosophy The field is all around us. It’s our needs and our wants. This is what George tells Lydia. A disturbance, however, is something that keeps us from grasping and attaining the things we need. Usually, we can adapt to these disturbances and move forward. But, what happens if a disturbance becomes too great to move past? In this entrancing tale of loss and understanding, acclaimed author Lynne Sharon Schwartz plots the course of a woman’s life, through the cycles of love, loss, and acceptance.  Lydia’s early life is marked by calm constants: a house in Cape Cod, a philosophy group in college. These remain her touchstones as she becomes a busy wife, mother, and music teacher. But when her family’s world is suddenly shattered, she struggles to regain her equilibrium. Will she be able to find her way in such a radically altered field?
    Show book