As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Deck Shoes - and other prose - cover

Deck Shoes - and other prose

Anthony Wilson

Publisher: Impress Books

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Deck Shoes is a book of influences and enthusiasms about poetry and the writing life, in which everyday objects and experiences —pencils, a notebook, going for a swim— sit alongside meditations on illness and ageing mortality. In these short, lyrical essays Anthony Wilson honours the debt of gratitude he feels to poets, writers and artistswho have made their mark on his imagination. Through them a wry and complex portrait unfolds of the different roles a poet plays, from performer to friend, father to academic.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Queen's House - A Social History of Buckingham Palace - cover

    The Queen's House - A Social...

    Edna Healey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A “lively” tour of the royal residence: Readers “will delight in this well-written chronicle of the House of Windsor.” —Publishers Weekly  In this social history of Buckingham Palace, Edna Healey mines the royal archives to take the reader into its moonlit gardens, up the grand staircase, and inside its tapestried walls. Dr. Johnson again holds forth in the library, Queen Victoria encores Mendelssohn in the music room, and Fanny Burney wrestles once more with protocol in the royal chambers.  Written with the assistance of the royal family, this lively and colorful biography of a house reveals not only the changing facade of the palace but also the changing face of a nation’s culture, morals, fashions, and tastes.
    Show book
  • Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II and Her Court - cover

    Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II...

    Robert Hardman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of The Crown, this “intimate portrait” of England’s longest-reigning queen takes you behind the scenes of a thoroughly modern monarchy (BBC Entertainment). History knows no monarch like her. She has traveled farther than all her predecessors combined, lived the longest of any of them, and known more historic figures—from Winston Churchill to Nelson Mandela, Charles de Gaulle to Barack Obama—than anyone alive. Now, distinguished royal writer Robert Hardman has been granted special access to the world of Queen Elizabeth II in order to produce an unparalleled portrait of one of the most popular public figures on earth. Arguably Britain’s best-known observer of the royal family, Hardman follows Elizabeth’s journey through her country’s transformation from an imperial power to a multicultural nation; details a twenty-five-year period in which she steered the monarchy through more reforms than in the previous century; and interviews those closest to her, including her grandson Prince William, Duke of Cambridge. Written in celebration of Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee, Her Majesty celebrates the head of an ancient institution that remains simultaneously popular, regal, inclusive, and relevant in a twenty-first-century world. “At long last, we have the definitive portrait of Queen Elizabeth’s world today,” raves Andrew Roberts, author of The Royal House of Windsor. “Robert Hardman knows the true story and tells it superbly.”
    Show book
  • Tony Hillerman's Landscape - On the Road with Chee and Leaphorn - cover

    Tony Hillerman's Landscape - On...

    Anne Hillerman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “You’ve read the books, now see the land. . . . It’s like having Tony Hillerman still with us.” —Denver Post 
    A photographic journey through the landscapes of beloved bestselling author Tony Hillerman’s novels—with an introduction by Tony Hillerman and a personal essay by his daughter, Anne  
    Step into the world of Tony Hillerman’s novels with this stunning collection of original documentary photographs of the landscape that was integral to his writing. Alongside these breathtaking photos are brief synopses of Hillerman’s novels, descriptive passages from the novels, the author’s own comments about the sites, and narrative information on the locations pictured. Compiled by his eldest daughter, Anne Hillerman, with original photos from Don Strel, Tony Hillerman’s Landscape is a timely showcase of a hauntingly beautiful region that captured one man’s imagination for a lifetime, and is a daughter’s loving tribute to her father.
    Show book
  • Dark History of the Kings & Queens of England - 1066 to the Present Day - cover

    Dark History of the Kings &...

    Brenda Ralph Lewis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Despite its reputation as the longest established in Europe, the history of the English monarchy is punctuated by scandal, murders, betrayals, plots, and treason. Since William the Conqueror seized the crown in 1066, England has seen three civil wars; six monarchs have been murdered or executed; the throne of England has been usurped four times, and won in battle three times; and personal scandals and royal family quarrels abound. Dark History of the Kings & Queens of England provides an exciting and dramatic account of English royal history from 1066 to the present day. This engrossing book explores the scandal and intrigue behind each royal dynasty, from the ‘accidental’ murder of William II in 1100, through the excesses of Richard III, Henry VIII and ‘Bloody’ Mary, to the conspiracies surrounding the death of Diana, Princess of Wales, in 1997, William and Kate Middleton’s on-off courtship before they married, and Prince Harry’s years of partying, girlfriends and Las Vegas strip poker, before his 2018 marriage to American divorcée Meghan Markle. Carefully researched, superbly entertaining and illustrated throughout with more than 200 colour and black-and-white photographs and artworks, this accessible and immensely enjoyable book highlights the true personalities and real lives of the individuals honoured with the crown of England—and those unfortunate enough to cross their paths.
    Show book
  • Mikhail Bulgakov - The Life and Times - cover

    Mikhail Bulgakov - The Life and...

    Marietta Chudakova

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Marietta Chudakova is an expert on Soviet literature and on the works of Mikhail Bulgakov in particular. Her biography of Bulgakov was first published in 1988 and remains the most authoritative and comprehensive study of the writer’s life ever produced. It has received acclaim for the journalistic style in which it is written: the author draws on unpublished manuscripts and early drafts of Bulgakov’s novels to bring the writer to life. She also explores archive documents and memoirs written by some of Bulgakov’s contemporaries so as to construct a comprehensive and nuanced portrait of the writer and his life and times. 
     
    Marietta Chudakova casts light on Bulgakov’s life with an unrivalled eye for detail and a huge amount of affection for the writer and his works.
     
    Mikhail Bulgakov: The Life and Times will be of particular interest to international researchers studying Mikhail Bulgakov’s life and works, and is recommended to a broader audience worldwide. 
     
    Translated from the Russian by Huw Davies
     
    Published by arrangement with ELKOST Intl. Literary Agency
     
    Published with the support of the Institute for Literary Translation, Russia
     
    Introduction by J.A.E. Curtis
     
    Proofreading by Kevin Bridge
     
    Publishers Maxim Hodak & Max Mendor
    Show book
  • The Home Place - Memoirs of a Colored Man's Love Affair with Nature - cover

    The Home Place - Memoirs of a...

    J. Drew Lanham

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “In me, there is the red of miry clay, the brown of spring floods, the gold of ripening tobacco. All of these hues are me; I am, in the deepest sense, colored.” From these fertile soils of love, land, identity, family, and race emerges The Home Place, a big-hearted, unforgettable memoir by ornithologist and professor of ecology J. Drew Lanham.Dating back to slavery, Edgefield County, South Carolina—a place “easy to pass by on the way somewhere else”—has been home to generations of Lanhams. In The Home Place, readers meet these extraordinary people, including Drew himself, who over the course of the 1970s falls in love with the natural world around him. As his passion takes flight, however, he begins to ask what it means to be “the rare bird, the oddity.”By turns angry, funny, elegiac, and heartbreaking, The Home Place is a remarkable meditation on nature and belonging, at once a deeply moving memoir and riveting exploration of the contradictions of black identity in the rural South—and in America today.
    Show book