As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Norway Campaign and the Rise of Churchill 1940 - cover

The Norway Campaign and the Rise of Churchill 1940

Anthony Dix

Publisher: Pen & Sword Military

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

While the campaign in Norway from April to June 1940 was a depressing opening to active hostilities between Britain and Nazi Germany, it led directly to Churchill's war leadership and The Coalition. Both were to prove decisive in the long term.This well researched work opens with a summary of the issues and personalities in British politics in the 1930s. The consequences of appeasement and failure to re-arm quickly became apparent in April 1940. The Royal Navy, which had been the defence priority, found itself seriously threatened by the Luftwaffe's control of the skies. The economies inflicted on the Army were all too obvious when faced by the Wehrmacht. Losses of men and equipment were serious and salutary.As the Author describes, the campaign itself was fought in three phases: the landings in support of the Norwegians, the evacuation from Central Norway which led to Chamberlain's resignation and, finally, the campaign in the North which remained credible until the fall of France. At the same time he covers the political background and activity in London and cabinet in-fighting.The Norway Campaign and the Rise of Churchill 1940, with its informed mix of politics and war fighting, provides a well informed and balanced overview of the opening campaign of the Second World War and its immediate and wider consequences.As featured in the Dover Express, Folkestone Herald and Essence Magazine.

Other books that might interest you

  • Theory of Thought - Symbolism - cover

    Theory of Thought - Symbolism

    Jason Shaw

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Theory of Thought presents a simplified way of understanding the impact of symbolism upon society. It employs a new methodology of using basic shapes and concepts to reveal a unique theory of symbols helping to explain human philosophy, religion, and mathematics. 
     
    It explains how all things and ideas are created and governed by some basic patterns. Discover the simple architecture of the 'hyperdimensional' symbols that rule the world and their forces of attraction that pull directly on the minds of all people.
    Show book
  • Mind Hacking - How to Change Your Mind Become a Master of Your Emotions Achieve the Goals You Want & Start Living to Your Full Potential - cover

    Mind Hacking - How to Change...

    Tiffany Adams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Are you sick and tired of watching your life pass you by? Pay close attention here, because the life of your dreams is closer than you might think…
     
    We've all been there, life is overwhelming, complicated, confusing, and yes, within it all you still seemingly have all that a person should ever need to feel happy and fulfilled.
     
    But for some reason, you just don't feel this way.
     
    Hours spent trying to figure it out, to no avail. Days and weeks, even months on end of you trying technique after technique and personal growth tactic after personal growth tactic - but still nothing.
     
    There's an emptiness inside of you that you can't seem to escape and no matter what you do, it just seems to keep getting worse.
     
    If this sounds eerily familiar to you, I'd like you to take a moment with me here as we acknowledge together that it doesn't have to be this way.
     
    You can have the life of your dreams. You can master your emotions and you can begin honestly living to your fullest potential.
     
    Or maybe none of the above resonates with you at all, maybe you love your life and are simply trying to upgrade the way your mind functions.
     
    In either case, the answer to a life of fulfillment, gratitude, and undeniable happiness protruding from every pore of your being is simply this - you need to understand your mind.
     
    Once you understand it, you can hack it. You can change your mind in whatever fashion you like, and begin thinking however you want to think, about whatever you want to think about.
     
    In Mind Hacking, you'll discover:
     
    - The groundbreaking truth of your emotions and how they affect your thought patterns
     
    - The most straightforward guide to facing your emotional triggers and rewriting your thought process loops that is out there
     
    - Powerful tools for separating yourself from your mind
     
    - How to make a S.M.A.R.T. plan and keep yourself on track with P.A.C.T.
     
    - The ultimate guide to reading someone's mind
     
    - An idiotproof path to rebuilding self-worth
     
    - The stunning science behind Mind Hacking
     
    - The most important things not to do when rewriting your brain, saving you valuable time and energy
     
    … and so much more.
     
    Mind Hacking is the #1 guide to understanding your mind and your emotions so that you can navigate your life in any direction you want.
     
    No more wondering if it's possible, no more daydreaming of a future where things might get easier. No more of this comparing yourself to others and feeling incomplete as a result.
     
    A life of achievement, one where all of your goals and aspirations are a complete and total reality is not the stuff of fiction here folks.
     
    It is yours for the taking - if you would understand your mind and begin to actively take back control.
     
    If you want to leave behind all the nonsense dreaming and instead place yourself inside your fullest potential then check out this guidebook right now.
    Show book
  • Blackwatertown - cover

    Blackwatertown

    Paul Waters

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Blackwatertown is atmospheric crime fiction that will appeal to fans of Maurice Leitch, James Ellroy, Andrea Camilleri and Lee Child. 
    Author available for events, talks and signings in the UK and Ireland – and by arrangement elsewhere. 
    Twitter: @paulwaters99 
    Facebook: @paulwatersauthor 
    Instagram: @paul_waters_author
    Show book
  • Olympe de Gouges - Escritos disidentes - cover

    Olympe de Gouges - Escritos...

    Lina Meruane, Olympe de Gouges

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    En 1793, la escritora de la primera reivindicación de los derechos de la mujer, Olympe de Gouges, fue guillotinada en la actual Place de la Concorde de París. En plena Revolución francesa, de Gouges se convierte en una de las intelectuales más osadas de su tiempo: empuñaba su pluma para escribir tratados, diatribas, ensayos epistolares e incluso teatro abolicionista, enfrentando los incesantes sabotajes de sus pares políticos y literarios.
    Estos escritos, que ella misma imprimía en formato de libros, afiches y panfletos, revistieron los muros de la ciudad. De Gouges pasó a la historia como una de las figuras más importantes de las primeras corrientes feministas, hasta ahora leída únicamente a través de biografías. Escritos disidentes coloca en circulación, por primera vez en nuestra lengua, una selección de su dramaturgia y ensayos políticos prologados por Lina Meruane. Ambas autoras conforman una escena letrada ficticia donde irrumpen con la potencia de su imaginación política y dialogan en las lindes de sus propias épocas.
    Show book
  • The Billion Dollar Spy - A True Story of Cold War Espionage and Betrayal - cover

    The Billion Dollar Spy - A True...

    David E. Hoffman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    WATERSTONES NON-FICTION BOOK OF THE MONTH AUGUST 2018 AND A SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER
    
    
    'An astonishingly detailed picture of espionage in the 1980s, written with pacey journalistic verve and an eerily contemporary feel.' Ben Macintyre, The Times
    
    ‘A gripping story of courage, professionalism, and betrayal in the secret world.’ Rodric Braithwaite, British Ambassador in Moscow, 1988-1992
    
    ‘One of the best spy stories to come out of the Cold War and all the more riveting for being true.’ Washington Post
    
    January, 1977. While the chief of the CIA’s Moscow station fills his gas tank, a stranger drops a note into the car.
    
    In the years that followed, that stranger, Adolf Tolkachev, became one of the West’s most valuable spies. At enormous risk Tolkachev and his handlers conducted clandestine meetings across Moscow, using spy cameras, props, and private codes to elude the KGB in its own backyard – until a shocking betrayal put them all at risk. 
    
    
    Drawing on previously classified CIA documents and interviews with first-hand participants, The Billion Dollar Spy is a brilliant feat of reporting and a riveting true story from the final years of the Cold War.
    Show book
  • The Arab Winter - A Tragedy - cover

    The Arab Winter - A Tragedy

    Noah Feldman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A New York Times Book Review Editors’ ChoiceWhy the conventional wisdom about the Arab Spring is wrongThe Arab Spring promised to end dictatorship and bring self-government to people across the Middle East. Yet everywhere except Tunisia it led to either renewed dictatorship, civil war, extremist terror, or all three. In The Arab Winter, Noah Feldman argues that the Arab Spring was nevertheless not an unmitigated failure, much less an inevitable one. Rather, it was a noble, tragic series of events in which, for the first time in recent Middle Eastern history, Arabic-speaking peoples took free, collective political action as they sought to achieve self-determination.Focusing on the Egyptian revolution and counterrevolution, the Syrian civil war, the rise and fall of ISIS in Syria and Iraq, and the Tunisian struggle toward Islamic constitutionalism, Feldman provides an original account of the political consequences of the Arab Spring, including the reaffirmation of pan-Arab identity, the devastation of Arab nationalisms, and the death of political Islam with the collapse of ISIS. He also challenges commentators who say that the Arab Spring was never truly transformative, that Arab popular self-determination was a mirage, and even that Arabs or Muslims are less capable of democracy than other peoples.Above all, The Arab Winter shows that we must not let the tragic outcome of the Arab Spring disguise its inherent human worth. People whose political lives had been determined from the outside tried, and for a time succeeded, in making politics for themselves. That this did not result in constitutional democracy or a better life for most of those affected doesn't mean the effort didn't matter. To the contrary, it matters for history—and it matters for the future.
    Show book