Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Bone in the Throat - cover

Bone in the Throat

Anthony Bourdain

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The acclaimed first novel by the New York Times bestselling author of Kitchen Confidential and host of Parts Unknown on CNN. A wildly funny, irreverent tale of murder, mayhem, and the mob. 
 
When up-and-coming chef Tommy Pagana settles for a less than glamorous stint at his uncle's restaurant in Manhattan's Little Italy, he unwittingly finds himself a partner in big-time crime. And when the mob decides to use the kitchen for a murder, nothing Tommy learned in cooking school has prepared him for what happens next.  
 
With the FBI on one side, and his eccentric wise-guy superiors on the other, Tommy has to struggle to do right by his conscience, and to avoid getting killed in the meantime. 
 
In the vein of Prizzi's Honor, Bone in the Throat is a thrilling Mafia caper laced with entertaining characters and wry humor. This first novel is a must-have for fans of Anthony Bourdain's nonfiction.

Other books that might interest you

  • Heroics for Beginners - cover

    Heroics for Beginners

    John Moore

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An inexperienced prince sets out to recover a stolen artifact from an evil wizard in this comic fantasy adventure by the author of The Unhandsome Prince. 
     
    When a seemingly crazy, poorly dressed soothsayer tells you not to let a magical talisman fall into the wrong hands, take him or her seriously. DO NOT laugh it off and leave said talisman simply lying around on a side table; you might as well just end the world yourself. 
     
    —The Handbook of Practical Heroics, p. 134 
     
    The kingdom of Deserae is in the most direly perilous of dire perils. The realm’s precious magical talisman—Ancient Artifact Model Seven—is in the grimy hands of the evil Lord Voltmeter (He Who Must Be Named) . . . 
     
    Only one man can stop him (and, by the by, win the hand of Deserae’s exceedingly well-proportioned princess). Unfortunately, he’s never really done this sort of thing before. But Prince Kevin Timberline is determined to find a way into the Fortress of Doom (perhaps through the gift shop?), resist the advances of a leather-clad, whip-wielding temptress (well, maybe that’s not so bad), and face an army of unspeakable nastiness (okay, that’s bad), armed only with his reasonably pure heart, questionable courage—and most importantly, a copy of The Handbook of Practical Heroics . . . 
     
    Praise for Heroics for Beginners 
     
    “A satire that lampoons just about every genre cliché in existence while at the same time giving us a real romantic adventure story starring a likable hero and heroine for whom we eagerly root. . . .  Just the thing to put a smile on your face on a gloomy day. Or even a nice day.” —SF Reviews 
     
    “There’s a bucketful of good laughs in this one.” —Chronicle 
     
    “There’s something here for every fan of comic fantasy.” —RT Book Reviews 
     
    “Heroics for Beginners is Fractured Fairy Tales for a new age . . . Those who have worn out their copy of The Princess Bride will want to give this book a try.” —Starlog
    Show book
  • The Yoga Teacher - cover

    The Yoga Teacher

    Alexandra Gray

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This novel of a British woman’s decision to ditch her job and devote herself to yoga is “drolly funny…a winning depiction of a modern spiritual quest” (Kirkus Reviews). 
     
    Grace is a pharmaceutical rep, making good money visiting doctors to pitch her company’s latantidepressant, a job that’s been getting sort of…depressing. So is her long-term relationship, which has been slowly fizzling out. The one thing that makes her feel better, that allows her to transcend her unsatisfying life, is yoga class. 
     
    Then, inspired by a conversation with Dr. James, a physician interested in Eastern medicine, Grace decides to pursue a new path as a yoga teacher. After a trip to California to study at the White Lotus Foundation, she returns to London to start her new life. But teacher training did not prepare her for the motley crew of students she encounters—the octogenarian industrialist desperate for distraction; the supermodel who indulges yogic aspirations when she tires of kabbalah; the American film star who uses yoga classes to conceal a scandalous affair. Her one solace comes from her correspondence with Dr. James—now in Vietnam on a quest of his own.  
     
     
    Both inspiring and hilarious, The Yoga Teacher gently skewers our preference for a quick-fix nirvana over the rigor of practice—as it follows one woman’s search for love and meaning in a world numbed by materialism and psychotropic drugs. 
     
    “Gray portrays the world of Westernized yoga, from its true disciples to spandex-wrapped poseurs, in this uplifting tale of starting over…an inspiration for anyone who’s ever yearned to pursue a dream.”—Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Abbott and Costello: Lou Becomes a T Man - Old Time Radio Shows - cover

    Abbott and Costello: Lou Becomes...

    John Grant, Bud Abbott, Lou...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Lou's Uncle Mike is running for Mayor of North Hollywood. They talk about Uncle Mikes political career. Lou gives Susan a present. She gives Lou a kiss. Bud gives Lou advice on how to propose to a girl. Lou wants to be a T­ Man. Abbott and Costello go to the Blue Goose Cafe. Lou tries to pick up a lady. Lou gets in a card game.
    Show book
  • Tales from Geriassic Park - On the Verge of Extinction - cover

    Tales from Geriassic Park - On...

    Verna Gillis

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Verna Gillis, 77, in live performance of her award-winning one older woman's Tales from Geriassic Park: On the Verge of Extinction. With humor throughout, she talks about childhood, the family, relationships, addiction, peeing, scones, and aging, which is her niche. She has won two story slams—the first at age 68 for Coming of Age—which she changed to Coming of Aging. The second at age 76 at the Woodstock Book Fest. She calls what she does stand-up/sit-down comedy. 
     
    Her books I Just Want to Be Invited—I Promise Not to Come (2012), I'll Never Know if I Would Have Gotten the Same Results if I'd Been Nice—Terror Firma (2015), and The I of the Storm (2020) are available on Amazon.
     
    www.vernagillis.com
    Show book
  • The Devereaux File - cover

    The Devereaux File

    Ross H. Spencer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Wisecracking Chicago PI Lacey Lockington gets caught in a dangerous game of international espionage in this gritty, “truly hilarious” mystery (Kirkus Reviews).   Former Chicago police detective Lacey Lockington isn’t much for small talk. But when he hears ex-CIA agent Rufe Devereaux is coming to town, he looks forward to arguing baseball with his old drinking buddy. Unfortunately, Rufe is involved in a more sinister kind of game—one that gets him killed shortly after his arrival. And as Lacey is about to find out, the other players aren’t playing around.   The moment Lacey start investigating, he finds himself chased by the Mafia, the CIA, and a homicidal politician-turned-evangelist. And “help” arrives in the sultry form of a KGB agent named Natasha. He knows he’s in over his head. Because what starts as a search for the truth quickly becomes a desperate race for survival taking him from the gritty bars of Chicago to Miami’s cocaine-filled underbelly and culminating in “a slam-bang ending” (Publishers Weekly).   “Spencer keeps the plot racing with amusing dialogue.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Sue Scott - Seriously Silly (A Prairie Home Companion) - cover

    Sue Scott - Seriously Silly (A...

    Garrison Keillor

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “She speaks fluent prairie.”—New York TimesSue Scott has taken her talents from the stage to the airwaves doing “funny voices on the radio” with A Prairie Home Companion since 1992. A vocal talent without compare, at any moment she can be garrulous, gracious, sassy, sinful, prim and proper, worldly and wise. Sue Scott: Seriously Silly collects the best of Sue Scott so far, as if such a thing were possible. Here’s Sue as Mom calling her beleaguered son Duane. As Ruth Harrison, Reference Librarian, with her black belt in biblio-kwon-do. As devastatingly beautiful supermodel Cynthia Maxwell. As private eye Guy Noir’s faithful ex-girlfriend, Sugar. As an NPR correspondent. A waitress named Vi. A blonde. A bird. Berniece. Radio starlet Lulu Lane, and more. Here’s Sue Scott in 14 sketches, bits, and send-ups heard over the years on live broadcasts of A Prairie Home Companion. All seriously silly.
    Show book