As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Bone in the Throat - cover

Bone in the Throat

Anthony Bourdain

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The acclaimed first novel by the New York Times bestselling author of Kitchen Confidential and host of Parts Unknown on CNN. A wildly funny, irreverent tale of murder, mayhem, and the mob. 
 
When up-and-coming chef Tommy Pagana settles for a less than glamorous stint at his uncle's restaurant in Manhattan's Little Italy, he unwittingly finds himself a partner in big-time crime. And when the mob decides to use the kitchen for a murder, nothing Tommy learned in cooking school has prepared him for what happens next.  
 
With the FBI on one side, and his eccentric wise-guy superiors on the other, Tommy has to struggle to do right by his conscience, and to avoid getting killed in the meantime. 
 
In the vein of Prizzi's Honor, Bone in the Throat is a thrilling Mafia caper laced with entertaining characters and wry humor. This first novel is a must-have for fans of Anthony Bourdain's nonfiction.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Essential Compendium of Dad Jokes - The Best of the Worst Dad Jokes for the Painfully Punny Parent: 301 Jokes! - cover

    The Essential Compendium of Dad...

    Thomas Nowak

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    The Essential Compendium of Dad Jokes features 301 wonderfully cringe-worthy dad jokes—including the classics, twists on the classics, and fresh new material.For the first time ever, the best of the worst dad jokes are compiled in one pun-filled place. With original illustrations throughout, this extensive collection is sure to provide hours of silliness for the whole family. After all, no matter how groan-inducing dad jokes are, they will always have a special place in the joke arsenal.• Contains dozens of interesting tidbits, joke-telling pointers, and profiles of legendary dad jokers• Features jokes from "I'm on a seafood diet , , , I see food and I eat it" to "I used to hate facial hair . . . but now it's growing on me"• Great for fathers, patient mothers, tolerant children, and anyone else who loves a punThey make us cringe, chuckle, and roll our eyes, but we all love a wonderfully corny dad joke.The Essential Compendium of Dad Jokes is so bad it's good, ensuring loads of laughter for the whole family. • A hilarious book for dads and dads at heart, as well as pun and dumb joke lovers• Add it to the collection of books like 101 So Bad, They're Good Dad Jokes by Elias Hill, Jokes Every Man Should Know (Stuff You Should Know) by Don Steinberg, and Dad Jokes: Terribly Good Dad Jokes by Share The Love Gifts
    Show book
  • Happy Family - cover

    Happy Family

    James Ellis

    • 1
    • 6
    • 1
    Germaine Kiecke was a foundling, an orphan. 
    
    Now she is a successful art academic who defines herself
    by her profession and prefers to experience the world
    through art and an augmented reality game
    called Happy Family.
    
    					 
    But when the artist Tom Hannah, the creative force behind the
    game, moves to Spain, surrounds himself with high walls, three
    large dogs, and a runaway who teaches him to think like a tree,
    his existential melt-down threatens all Germaine holds dear.
    Show book
  • A Dirty Job - A Novel - cover

    A Dirty Job - A Novel

    Christopher Moore

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Charlie Asher is a pretty normal guy with a normal life, married to a bright and pretty woman who actually loves him for his normalcy. They're even about to have their first child. Yes, Charlie's doing okay—until people start dropping dead around him, and everywhere he goes a dark presence whispers to him from under the streets. Charlie Asher, it seems, has been recruited for a new position: as Death. 
    It's a dirty job. But, hey! Somebody's gotta do it.
    Show book
  • At Wit's End - The Deadly Discourse on the Jewish Joke - cover

    At Wit's End - The Deadly...

    Louis Kaplan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This book explores the fascinating discourse on Jewish wit in the twentieth century when the Jewish joke became the subject of serious humanistic inquiry and inserted itself into the cultural and political debates among Germans and Jews against the ideologically-charged backdrop of anti-Semitism, the Jewish question, and the Holocaust.
    Show book
  • Not Dead Yet - cover

    Not Dead Yet

    Peg Herring

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This suspense/mystery has a paranormal element and a plot twist that makes it all the more delightful to visit Chicago's streets in the 1960s. 
    Leo appears to be just another downtown bum, but he and Libby, Memnet, and Roy share a secret that requires constant vigilance. They live off the grid in the basement of an almost forgotten museum and survive mostly by committing petty crimes. Each of them has gifts for surviving; each has weaknesses as well. They make it through each day by working together. and trusting each other. 
    Major changes happen when they meet Jake, an orphan who witnesses a murder. When the killers come after her, the four adults see no choice but to take her "home" to the museum. Soon the killers are searching for all of them, and they must leave their safe place and create new lives, But with secrets they can't reveal, where can they go? How will they live? 
    In a suspenseful, sometimes comic process, the "family" lies their way to becoming respectable yet anonymous citizens. 
    In a new home (and after a stunning plot twist), an uneasy peace settles in. Maybe things will work out. But peace is fragile, and killers don't just give up. 
    In the end Leo's little band must face hardened criminals in order to save themselves and prevent an American tragedy. If they succeed, it will be partly due to help from a green FBI agent but mostly because of their determination to protect each other. After all, they're NOT DEAD YET...
    Show book
  • 175 Cartridges in a Pear Tree A Maizie Albright Star Detective "Between Cases" Holiday Novella - Maizie Albright Star Detective series #5 - cover

    175 Cartridges in a Pear Tree A...

    Larissa Reinhart

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    RING IN ANOTHER YEAR WITH THE "FRESH, FUNNY, AND FIESTY STAR DETECTIVE" 
    Raiders of the Lost Ark meets The Maltese Falcon in this Maizie Albright Star Detective New Year's Eve action & adventure-styled humorous crime caper from Wall Street Journal bestselling author Larissa Reinhart. 
    "The mystery and detective cases drive the story, but Larissa Reinhart's characters steal the show every time." — The Girl with Book Lungs 
    This New Year's Eve, Maizie Albright's happy to leave aside her Hollywood alde lang syne for the sake of a new life with family and friends in Black Pine, Georgia. There are so many reasons to celebrate.  
    A new home with her father's family 
    Her new career as an assistant private investigator to hunky Wyatt Nash.  
    A new love life with hunky Wyatt Nash… 
    However, a new career and home mean responsibilities. Like getting called in on a case on New Year's Eve day. And babysitting Remi, her half-sister (and possibly half-Tasmanian devil) while her dad's out of town. What's a private investigator in training to do?  
    Make New Year's Eve day "take your sister to work day." 
    But when a woman arrives at Nash Security Solutions, asking about an old movie prop Maizie had given to her father, her New Year's Eve gets crazier than Times Square at midnight. Before champagne toasts and the Big Peach drops, Maizie has twelve hours to reprise her most detested role to protect her family from old acquaintances best forgot and never brought to mind. Will these ruthless villains pop Maizie's cork before the clock strikes twelve? Or worse yet, drop the ball on her sister? 
    For a fun and wacky holiday adventure, catch up with Maizie and Nash and download 17.5 Cartridges today!  
    Maizie Albright Star Detective Series 
    • 15 MINUTES 
    • 16 MILLIMETERS 
    • NC-17 
    • A VIEW TO A CHILL 
    • 17.5 CARTRIDGES IN A PEAR TREE 
    • 18 CALIBER (2020) 
    Other series by Larissa Reinhart: 
    A Cherry Tucker Mystery series 
    Finley Goodhart Crime Capers
    Show book