Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Bone in the Throat - cover

Bone in the Throat

Anthony Bourdain

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The acclaimed first novel by the New York Times bestselling author of Kitchen Confidential and host of Parts Unknown on CNN. A wildly funny, irreverent tale of murder, mayhem, and the mob. 
 
When up-and-coming chef Tommy Pagana settles for a less than glamorous stint at his uncle's restaurant in Manhattan's Little Italy, he unwittingly finds himself a partner in big-time crime. And when the mob decides to use the kitchen for a murder, nothing Tommy learned in cooking school has prepared him for what happens next.  
 
With the FBI on one side, and his eccentric wise-guy superiors on the other, Tommy has to struggle to do right by his conscience, and to avoid getting killed in the meantime. 
 
In the vein of Prizzi's Honor, Bone in the Throat is a thrilling Mafia caper laced with entertaining characters and wry humor. This first novel is a must-have for fans of Anthony Bourdain's nonfiction.

Other books that might interest you

  • Utopia - cover

    Utopia

    Thomas Moore

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The classic political satire about an imaginary ideal world by one of the Renaissance’s most fascinating figures.Named after a word that translates literally to “nowhere,” Utopia is an island dreamed up by Thomas More, a devout Catholic, English statesman, and Renaissance humanist who would be canonized as a saint centuries after he was executed for choosing God over king. More’s novel introduces us to Utopia’s society and its customs. It is a place of no private property and no lawyers; of six-hour workdays and simple ways; and, intriguingly, of a combination of values that blend the traditional with the highly controversial, from euthanasia to married priests to slavery. Remarkably thought-provoking, it is a novel that asks us to question what makes a perfect world—and whether such a thing is even possible.
    Show book
  • The Essential Compendium of Dad Jokes - The Best of the Worst Dad Jokes for the Painfully Punny Parent: 301 Jokes! - cover

    The Essential Compendium of Dad...

    Thomas Nowak

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    The Essential Compendium of Dad Jokes features 301 wonderfully cringe-worthy dad jokes—including the classics, twists on the classics, and fresh new material.For the first time ever, the best of the worst dad jokes are compiled in one pun-filled place. With original illustrations throughout, this extensive collection is sure to provide hours of silliness for the whole family. After all, no matter how groan-inducing dad jokes are, they will always have a special place in the joke arsenal.• Contains dozens of interesting tidbits, joke-telling pointers, and profiles of legendary dad jokers• Features jokes from "I'm on a seafood diet , , , I see food and I eat it" to "I used to hate facial hair . . . but now it's growing on me"• Great for fathers, patient mothers, tolerant children, and anyone else who loves a punThey make us cringe, chuckle, and roll our eyes, but we all love a wonderfully corny dad joke.The Essential Compendium of Dad Jokes is so bad it's good, ensuring loads of laughter for the whole family. • A hilarious book for dads and dads at heart, as well as pun and dumb joke lovers• Add it to the collection of books like 101 So Bad, They're Good Dad Jokes by Elias Hill, Jokes Every Man Should Know (Stuff You Should Know) by Don Steinberg, and Dad Jokes: Terribly Good Dad Jokes by Share The Love Gifts
    Show book
  • Medical Jokes & Humour - Fertile jokes to keep you in good humour - cover

    Medical Jokes & Humour - Fertile...

    Clifford Sawhney

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    While many Indian joke books are jokes themselves, this book avoids the pitfalls by its professional approach towards compilation, rewriting and editing. The book comprises the world’s best adult medical jokes, quips, quotes and humour. Bold and bawdy lines that don’t make it between the covers of joke books in India make an appearance here. Unlike many joke books that are a start-to-finish affair without categorisation, this book is divided into 21 chapters that facilitate easy reading. The chapters include: Nurses, Surgeons, Gynaecologists, Sex Therapists, Viagra, AIDS, Veterinarians, Optometrists, Limericks, Wisecracks and a Medical Glossary, amongst others. This book is not meant for those whose sensibilities are easily hurt or people with an ill-developed sense of humour. But for those who love non-vegetarian fare of medical humour, this book is just what the doctor prescribed! #v&spublishers
    Show book
  • The Grand Design - A Novel - cover

    The Grand Design - A Novel

    John Dos Passos

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    John Dos Passos’s literary response to Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s New Deal, The Grand Design critiques the gargantuan growth of bureaucracy in Washington during the Great Depression and World War II. The satiric novel conveys the author’s frustration with federal overreach and the hollow rhetoric that sells it to the people.   “War is a time of Caesars,” writes Dos Passos as he laments the death of idealistic, intelligent enterprises at the desks of elitist administrators. After witnessing the Spanish Civil War claim so many well-intentioned men, he advises caution for America’s New Dealers: “Some things we have learned, but not enough; there is more to learn. Today we must learn to found again in freedom our republic.”
    Show book
  • Laugh Out Loud Jokes for Harry Potter Fans - cover

    Laugh Out Loud Jokes for Harry...

    Kristina Hawkins

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Here come 33 new Hilarious Harry potter jokes with awesome illustrations to make you drop coffee on your keyboard, fall down from chair and literally roll on the floor. You may also feel like running up & down the streets.
    Here is the list of  "Harry Potter Laugh Out Loud" Jokes:
    Why did Harry Potter wash his cloth after killing Voldemort?
    Why is Voldemort jealous of Harry Potter?
    What did Voldemort do after reading this "Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Harry Potter Fans" book?
    Why did Harry Potter turn down a job offer?
    Why did Harry Potter drink eight glass of milk every day?
    How can you tell which Harry Potter movie are you watching?
    Why did Harry Potter Jump up and down after drinking his juice?
    What was the favourite Pet of Harry Potter?
    On a scale of 10, how obsessed are you with Harry Potter?
    How many muggles does it take to screw a light bulb?
    How many Hufflepuff does it take to screw a light bulb?
    Show book
  • The Stigma - cover

    The Stigma

    Francis Jammes

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This is the the saga of four innocent people and how the society in which they lived in dealt cruelly with them.
    Show book