Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Bone in the Throat - cover

Bone in the Throat

Anthony Bourdain

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The acclaimed first novel by the New York Times bestselling author of Kitchen Confidential and host of Parts Unknown on CNN. A wildly funny, irreverent tale of murder, mayhem, and the mob. 
 
When up-and-coming chef Tommy Pagana settles for a less than glamorous stint at his uncle's restaurant in Manhattan's Little Italy, he unwittingly finds himself a partner in big-time crime. And when the mob decides to use the kitchen for a murder, nothing Tommy learned in cooking school has prepared him for what happens next.  
 
With the FBI on one side, and his eccentric wise-guy superiors on the other, Tommy has to struggle to do right by his conscience, and to avoid getting killed in the meantime. 
 
In the vein of Prizzi's Honor, Bone in the Throat is a thrilling Mafia caper laced with entertaining characters and wry humor. This first novel is a must-have for fans of Anthony Bourdain's nonfiction.

Other books that might interest you

  • Taken for Dead - cover

    Taken for Dead

    Graham Masterton

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Katie Maguire is one of Ireland's best detectives. 
     
    So why can't she catch these killers? 
     
    In a secluded cove just outside the reaches of the city of Cork, a woman wakes up into a nightmare. She is buried in the sand, unable to escape. The gulls wheel silently overhead. Nobody could imagine the cruelty of her fate... 
     
    Katie Maguire of the Cork Garda is soon on the trail of a terrifying gang of torturers calling themselves the High Kings of Erin. She'll do anything to stop them before they can claim their next victim – but somehow they are always one step ahead. 
     
    Is Detective Katie Maguire losing her touch? Or is somebody close to her less trustworthy than they seem?
    Show book
  • Rafferty's Rules - A Rafferty PI Mystery - cover

    Rafferty's Rules - A Rafferty PI...

    W. Glenn Duncan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    He saved her once.  Can he pull it off again?
     
    A fast-talking, wisecracking Texas PI with a penchant for sarcasm, Rafferty has a rule for everything—from how to deal with clients to not mixing nudity with hot coffee.  An ex-cop, he’d been fired for blowing away a junkie holding ten-year-old Vivian Mollison hostage in a burger joint robbery gone bad without blinking an eye.  Now, fifteen years later, Vivian’s parents want him to find the outlaw bikers who drugged and sold their daughter.   
     
    Vivian’s mother wants them all dead.  Too bad Rafferty’s not in the revenge business.  Kicking ass?  Well, that’s another story…
     
    --------------------------------------------------------
     
    RAFFERTY'S RULES is the first book of the popular hard-boiled detective classic series from the eighties.  Catch the whole Shamus Award-winning PI series by W. Glenn Sr., which has been continued by his son, W. Glenn Jr.
     
    ​​​​​​​Buy RAFFERTY'S RULES today and discover the series readers are saying is "… on my list of great private eye writers along with Kinky Friedman, Elmore Leonard, and Lawrence Sanders."
     
    --------------------------------------------------------
     
    Praise for W. Glenn Duncan:
     
    "Sometimes it seemed W. Glenn Duncan's Texas P.I. Rafferty had a rule for everything, but the fact remains that most of them were a hoot. And, of course, a further irony is that "Rafferty's Rules" is, in fact, an Australian football term for "no rules at all." - Thrilling Detective Website
     
    "I have all of the Rafferty titles in my collection. I've gotten rid of a lot of stuff over the years, but the Rafferty books are a mainstay. I think they're terrific!" - Paul Bishop - Author of LIE CATCHERS
     
    "Duncan truly captured the pure essence of the definitive smart-ass private eye in his character Rafferty. Take part Sam Spade with a little Mike Hammer, mix in some Spenser and you have an awesome character." - Cliff Fausset​​​​​​​
     
    "At first sniff, it may smell like Spenser with a cowboy hat, but take a good whiff: W. Glenn Duncan's Dallas, Texas private eye RAFFERTY was actually a blast of fresh air in what was rapidly becoming a glut of sensitive, soul-searching, overly politically-correct cookie cutter P.I.s in the late eighties. Of course, it helps that Dallas ain't Boston." - Kevin Burton Smith
    Show book
  • Lady Killer - cover

    Lady Killer

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Mary DiNunzio has become a big-time business-getter at Rosato & Associates. But the last person she expects to walk into her office one morning—in mile-high stilettos—is super-sexy Trish Gambone, her high-school rival. Back when Mary was becoming the straight-A president of the Latin Club and Most Likely to Achieve Sainthood, Trish was the head Mean Girl, who flunked religion and excelled at smoking in the bathroom. 
    These days, however, Trish needs help. She is terrified of her live-in boyfriend, an abusive, gun-toting drug dealer for the South Philly mob. Mary remembers the guy from high school, too. She had a major crush on him. 
    Then Trish vanishes, a dead body turns up in an alley, and Mary is plunged into a nightmare that threatens her job, her family, and even her life. She goes on a one-woman crusade to unmask the killer, and on the way finds new love in a very unexpected place.
    Show book
  • Final Appeal - cover

    Final Appeal

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Grace Rossi is starting over after a divorce, and a part-time job with a federal appeals court sounds perfect. But she doesn't count on being assigned to an explosive death penalty appeal. Nor does she expect ardor in the court in the form of an affair with the chief judge. Then Grace finds herself investigating a murder, unearthing a secret bank account and following a trail of bribery and judicial corruption that's stumped even the FBI. In no time at all, Grace under fire takes on a whole new meaning.
    Show book
  • Real Monsters - cover

    Real Monsters

    Liam Brown

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    'From the scorched desert to the marital bedroom, Real Monsters is a memorable and moving portrait of the futility of 21st century conflict.' --Benjamin Myers, author of Pig Iron and Beastings 
    We are surrounded by monsters. The lines are now so blurred, no one knows who the real enemy is anymore. 
    Reeling from the terrorist attack that killed her father, Lorna lurches through an inebriated adolescence until she finds redemption in a young soldier called Danny. However, her dream of a stable life is shattered when Danny is called to serve in war overseas. 
    Danny is lost in the desert. Most of his unit is dead – victims, it would seem, of a brutal ambush. With their equipment destroyed and food running out, the small band of men stumble through the sand and shadows, desperate to find salvation. As their hope fades, they begin to turn on each other, until finally it becomes clear that only the truly monstrous will survive. 
    Brown creates a compelling and gripping experience alternating between the soldier and home narrative. Cleverly employing letters and unique voices we are drawn completely into the raw desert while being left with a thought-provoking and graphic view of modern warfare. 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Beautifully written, smart and punchy'. Sam Mills, author of The Quiddity of Will Self 
    'A memorable and moving portrait of the futility of 21st century conflict'. Benjamin Myers, author of Pig Iron and Beastings
    Show book
  • The Antiquarian - A Novel - cover

    The Antiquarian - A Novel

    Julián Sánchez

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In this gripping historical thriller, the search for a mysterious and powerful object hidden in the heart of Barcelona leads to ambition, desire, love—and murderAn intriguing letter from his adoptive father, Artur, turns novelist Enrique Alonso’s world upside down. Artur, a well-known antiquarian in Barcelona, reveals that he has discovered an ancient manuscript, but he feels uneasy, as though he’s in over his head. But before Artur can piece together the final part of the puzzle, he is attacked and murdered. Enrique rushes to Barcelona to investigate his father’s death and retrieve the book. His ex-wife, Bety, a philologist, comes to his aid and the two set about translating and deciphering the encrypted text. Written in Latin and Old Catalan, the manuscript holds the key to the location of a priceless object dating back to the Middle Ages, and a secret closely guarded by the Jewish community living in the city’s Gothic Quarter. When Enrique and Bety realize they are not the only ones following the trail, it becomes a race against time to find the mythical object that has the power to transform lives.
    Show book