As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Famous Adventures and Prison Escapes of the Civil War (Illustrated Edition) - Civil War Memories Series - cover

Famous Adventures and Prison Escapes of the Civil War (Illustrated Edition) - Civil War Memories Series

Anonymous

Publisher: Madison & Adams Press

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Madison & Adams Press presents the Civil War Memories Series. This meticulous selection of the firsthand accounts, memoirs and diaries is specially comprised for Civil War enthusiasts and all people curious about the personal accounts and true life stories of the unknown soldiers, the well known commanders, politicians, nurses and civilians amidst the war. 
"Famous Adventures and Prison Escapes of the Civil War" is a collection of seven narratives gathered and edited by the first modern southern writer, George Washington Cable. Mr. Cable put together the most interesting Civil War stories he had heard, which he shared with the readers and thusly saved them from oblivion. 
Contents:
War Diary of a Union Woman in the South
The Locomotive Chase in Georgia
Mosby's "Partizan Rangers"
A Romance of Morgan's Rough-riders
Colonel Rose's Tunnel at Libby Prison
A Hard Road to Travel out of Dixie
Escape of General Breckinridge

Other books that might interest you

  • Blackwatertown - cover

    Blackwatertown

    Paul Waters

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Blackwatertown is atmospheric crime fiction that will appeal to fans of Maurice Leitch, James Ellroy, Andrea Camilleri and Lee Child. 
    Author available for events, talks and signings in the UK and Ireland – and by arrangement elsewhere. 
    Twitter: @paulwaters99 
    Facebook: @paulwatersauthor 
    Instagram: @paul_waters_author
    Show book
  • Hard to Love - Essays and Confessions - cover

    Hard to Love - Essays and...

    Briallen Hopper

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    A sharp and entertaining essay collection about the importance of multiple forms of love and friendship in a world designed for couples, from a laser-precise new voice. 
     
    Sometimes it seems like there are two American creeds, self-reliance and marriage, and neither of them is mine. I experience myself as someone formed and sustained by others' love and patience, by student loans and stipends, by the kindness of strangers. 
     
    Briallen Hopper's Hard to Love honors the categories of loves and relationships beyond marriage, the ones that are often treated as invisible or seen as secondary--friendships, kinship with adult siblings, care teams that form in times of illness, or various alternative family formations. She also values difficult and amorphous loves like loving a challenging job or inanimate objects that can't love you back. She draws from personal experience, sharing stories about her loving but combative family, the fiercely independent Emerson scholar who pushed her away, and the friends who have become her invented or found family; pop culture touchstones like the Women's March, John Green's The Fault in Our Stars, and the timeless series Cheers; and the work of writers like Joan Didion, Gwendolyn Brooks, Flannery O'Connor, and Herman Melville (Moby-Dick like you've never seen it!). 
     
    Hard to Love pays homage and attention to unlikely friends and lovers both real and fictional. It is a series of love letters to the meaningful, if underappreciated, forms of intimacy and community that are tricky, tangled, and tough, but ultimately sustaining.
    Show book
  • Jihad Academy - The Rise of Islamic State - cover

    Jihad Academy - The Rise of...

    Nicolas Hénin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When you keep repeating that the worst is about to happen, it finally does. The threat of terrorism has caught up with us. By invading Iraq in 2003 and not intervening in Syria since 2011, we have helped fuel radicalization. And we continue to fuel it, by making diplomatic compromises with dictators, by refusing to heed the suffering of populations, and by failing to invent counter-speech. What is the responsibility of our societies in the creation of these new jihadists? How are they molded? How have we played the Islamic State's game and spread its propaganda, allowing it to invade our neighborhoods and enlist more and more recruits ready to fight for a distorted fantasy of Islam? Nicolas Hénin presents the case against the West, showing how its mistakes and inaction have contributed to the disaster. He also advances possible strategies to repair what can still be repaired.
    Show book
  • Olympe de Gouges - Escritos disidentes - cover

    Olympe de Gouges - Escritos...

    Lina Meruane, Olympe de Gouges

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    En 1793, la escritora de la primera reivindicación de los derechos de la mujer, Olympe de Gouges, fue guillotinada en la actual Place de la Concorde de París. En plena Revolución francesa, de Gouges se convierte en una de las intelectuales más osadas de su tiempo: empuñaba su pluma para escribir tratados, diatribas, ensayos epistolares e incluso teatro abolicionista, enfrentando los incesantes sabotajes de sus pares políticos y literarios.
    Estos escritos, que ella misma imprimía en formato de libros, afiches y panfletos, revistieron los muros de la ciudad. De Gouges pasó a la historia como una de las figuras más importantes de las primeras corrientes feministas, hasta ahora leída únicamente a través de biografías. Escritos disidentes coloca en circulación, por primera vez en nuestra lengua, una selección de su dramaturgia y ensayos políticos prologados por Lina Meruane. Ambas autoras conforman una escena letrada ficticia donde irrumpen con la potencia de su imaginación política y dialogan en las lindes de sus propias épocas.
    Show book
  • Churchill's Trial - Winston Churchill and the Salvation of Free Government - cover

    Churchill's Trial - Winston...

    Dr. Larry Arnn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    No statesman shaped the twentieth century more than Winston Churchill. To know the full Churchill is to understand the combination of boldness and caution, of assertiveness and humility, that defines statesmanship at its best. With fresh perspective and insights based on decades of studying and teaching Churchill, Larry P. Arnn explores the greatest challenges faced by Churchill over the course of his extraordinary career, both in war and peace—and always in the context of Churchill’s abiding dedication to constitutionalism. 
    Churchill’s Trial is organized around the three great challenges to liberty that Churchill faced: Nazism, Soviet communism, and his own nation’s slide toward socialism. Churchill knew that stable free government, long enduring, is rare, and hangs upon the balance of many factors ever at risk. Combining meticulous scholarship with an engrossing narrative arc, this book holds timely lessons for today. Arnn says, “Churchill’s trial is also our trial. We have a better chance to meet it because we had in him a true statesman.” 
    In a scholarly, timely, and highly erudite way, Larry Arnn puts the case for Winston Churchill continuing to be seen as statesman from whom the modern world can learn important lessons. In an age when social and political morality seems all too often to be in a state of flux, Churchill’s Trial reminds us of the enduring power of the concepts of courage, duty, and honor. 
    --Andrew Roberts, New York Times bestselling author of Napoleon: A Life and The Storm of War 
      
    Larry Arnn has spent a lifetime studying the life and accomplishments of Winston Churchill. In his lively Churchill’s Trial, Arnn artfully reminds us that Churchill was not just the greatest statesman and war leader of the twentieth century, but also a pragmatic and circumspect thinker whose wisdom resonates on every issue of our times. 
    --Victor Davis Hanson, senior fellow, The Hoover Institution, Stanford University 
      
    In absorbing, gracefully written historical and biographical narration, Larry Arnn shows that Churchill, often perceived as inconsistent and opportunistic, was in fact philosophically rigorous and consistent at levels of organization higher and deeper than his detractors are capable of imagining. In Churchill’s Trial Arnn has rendered great service not only to an incomparable statesman but to us, for the magnificent currents that carried Churchill through his trials are as admirable, useful, and powerful in our times as they were in his. 
    --Mark Helprin, New York Times bestselling author of Winter’s Tale and In Sunlight and in Shadow 
      
    Churchill’s Trial, a masterpiece of political philosophy and practical statesmanship, is the one book on Winston Churchill that every undergraduate, every graduate student, every professional historian, and every member of the literate general public should read on this greatest statesman of the twentieth century. The book is beautifully written, divided into three parts–war, empire, peace–and thus covers the extraordinary life of Winston Churchill and the topics which define the era of his statesmanship.  
    --Lewis E. Lehrman, cofounder of the Lincoln and Soldiers Institute at Gettysburg College and distinguished director of the Abraham Lincoln Association
    Show book
  • The Battle of Britain - cover

    The Battle of Britain

    The Imperial War Museum, Kate Moore

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    In 1940 Britain was an island under siege. The march of the Nazi war machine had been unrelenting: France and Belgium had quickly fallen and now the British Empire and the Commonwealth stood alone to counter the grave threat. However, their fate would not be decided by armies of millions but by a small band of fighter pilots. It was on their shoulders that Britain's best chance of survival rested. Above the villages and cities, playing fields and market towns, the skies of southern England were the scene of countless dogfights as the fledgling Fighter Command duelled daily against the might of the Luftwaffe. The Battle of Britain offers an in-depth assessment of the situation leading up to the summer of 1940, the strategies employed by the adversaries and the brutal aerial battle itself. Lavishly illustrated with photographs, contemporary art and posters, and accompanied by numerous first-hand accounts, this is a volume that captures the reality of a defining chapter in British history.
    Show book