Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Harvard Classics Volume 40 - English Poetry 1: Chaucer To Gray - cover

Harvard Classics Volume 40 - English Poetry 1: Chaucer To Gray

Anonymous, William Shakespeare, Alexander Pope, Francis Bacon, Christopher Marlowe, John Gay, James Thomson, John Dryden, Joseph Addison, Robert Herrick, John Fletcher, Francis Beaumont, Isaac Watts, Samuel Daniel, Henry Constable, Douglas D. Webster, Robert Greene, Henry Vaughan, Edmund Spenser, John Donne, George Herbert, Michael Drayton, Geoffrey Chaucer, Abraham Cowley, Andrew Marvell, William Alexander, Richard Corbett, William Brown, Thomas Gray, Allan Ramsay, Edward Dyer, James Graham, Thomas Nash, Robert Southwell, Richard Crashaw, Thomas Dekker, Thomas Jordan, Henry Cary, William Davenant, Ben Jonson, James Shirley, Thomas Lodge, Thomas Campion, George Gascoigne, Edmund Waller, Robert Devereaux, Silver Deer Classics, Thomas Wyatt, Henry Howard, John Lyly, George Peele, William Habington, Richard Rowlands, Richard Barnfield, Henry Wotton, Edward de Vere, Joshua Sylvester, Thomas Heywood, William Drummond, George Wither, Francis Quarles, Thomas Carew, John Suckling, Richard Lovelace, William Cartwright, Alexander Brome, Earl of Rochester, Charles Sedley, Matthew Prior, Lady Grisel Baillie, Ambrose Philips, Colley Cibber, George Bubb Dodington

Publisher: Oregan Publishing

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Contents:

1. Use Preview To See Table of Contents Inside 



Also available:

The Complete Harvard Classics Collection (51 Volumes + The Harvard Classic Shelf Of Fiction)
50 Masterpieces You Have To Read Before You Die (Golden Deer Classics)
Available since: 09/06/2017.

Other books that might interest you

  • Jules Verne's Scotland - In Fact and Fiction - cover

    Jules Verne's Scotland - In Fact...

    Ian Thompson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This book weaves in all the reasons why the residents of Scotland love to live here; landscape, beautiful scenery, an air of mystery and the great history of the land. Thompson conveys Verne's deep fascination with Scotland and takes the reader on a journey with Verne from his beloved Heart of Midlothian' to exploring in the Highlands. This book also explains how Verne's love for Scotland flooded into his literature. Jules Verne, pioneer in the science fiction genre, wrote world- famous books including Journey to the Centre of the Earth and Around the World in 80 Days. His literary legacy is still celebrated today, his books have scarcely been out of print and have spawned a host of films and TV adaptations. BACK COVER I still see, as in a vision, beautiful picturesque Edinburgh, with its Heart of Midlothian, and many entrancing memories; the Highlands, world-forgotten Iona, and the wild Hebrides. JULES VERNE, 1895Jules Verne's first visit to Scotland lasted a mere five days, but that was enough to instil within him a lifelong passion for the small country; a passion which had a profound impact on his literary work and fuelled his creative imagination. Two journeys, 20 years apart, and five novels set partly or wholly in Scotland, show how the influence of the country rippled all the way through his life. Jules Verne's Scotland guides the reader through Verne's journeys, first in 1859 and again in 1879, where he witnessed the majesty of Edinburgh and the industrial buzz of Glasgow together with the unspoilt beauty of the Highlands and Islands. As well as providing insights into Verne's travels in Scotland, Ian Thompson provides analysis of novels such as The Underground City and The Green Ray that immortalise Scotland in their pages. Thompson evokes the history of the land, the rugged scenery and the enduring spirit of Scotland, which remained in Verne's memory all his life and was evoked with passion in his storytelling.
    Show book
  • Stable Relation - A Memoir of One Woman's Spirited Journey Home by Way of the Barn - cover

    Stable Relation - A Memoir of...

    Anna Blake

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    **2016 Readers' Favorite Gold Medal Award Winner* *National Indie Excellence Award Finalist** When most women go through a mid-life crisis, they start a diet, get plastic surgery, or have an affair. My life went to the dogs...and horses...and llamas... and did I mention happy hour with the goats?My urban world came apart, so I took a leap of faith and crash-landed on a dilapidated would-be horse farm on the flat, windy, treeless prairie of Colorado. It was a place where white horses turn pink at sunrise and I didn't have to worry about locking the back entry to the house, because the door was missing. The biggest social event of any week was greeting the trash man on Tuesday. And what should I do about the deceased llama in the laundry room? 
    Any decent midlife crisis has a quality of time travel, in this case swinging back to my childhood farm and my disconnected, secretive family, then forward to the animals who became my family on the prairie. My dogs and horses were soon joined by some line-dancing llamas and a biker-gang of goat kids, defying gravity and every other rule. I rescued an abused donkey who told me he was Ernest, and Windy, an un-wanted chestnut mare who became our beloved herd matriarch. Even Fred, the duck lived by a code. 
    It's the memoir of my bittersweet transition from a mid-life orphan to a modern pioneer woman, building an entirely different kind of family farm. 
    Stable Relation appeals to all animal lovers, midlife survivors, and anyone whose parents had problems of their own. It's told in a strong, bittersweet voice, sharing life and death on a small farm and the healing power of animals: James Herriot meets Janette Walls.
    Show book
  • Night Terrors Vol 15 - Short Horror Stories Anthology - cover

    Night Terrors Vol 15 - Short...

    Justin Boote, Erica Schaef,...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Mirror, mirror on the wall, who’s the scariest of them all… 
    An ancient South American cathedral extracts a heavy price from a visiting photojournalist. Ghost hunters stumble across a cursed field from which there is no escape. And a friendly neighbor discovers the new girl in town is more than she appears… 
    Peer into the depths of Scare Street’s latest collection, a fun house mirror full of terror and nightmares. This spine-tingling tome is packed with fourteen tales of supernatural horror. And every page reveals a distorted reflection of your own worst fears… 
    Go ahead, take a look… What do you see when you look in the mirror? Is it your own face, looking back at you? Or something else… a dark doppelgänger returning your gaze? 
    Your evil twin leaps from the silvery glass, wrapping its clawed fingers around your throat. It wants out, into the real world. Leaving you trapped in its mirror realm—your reflection frozen in a scream for all eternity…
    Show book
  • Memoirs of a Happy Failure - cover

    Memoirs of a Happy Failure

    Alice von Hildebrand, John Henry...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Alice von Hildebrand is a household name to many who know her from her countless EWTN appearances, her books, and her extensive articles and essays. What is little known is the story of her life, notably the thirty-seven years she spent at Hunter College in New York City. 
    There, despite systematic opposition, she left a mark on a generation of students through her defense of truth with reason, wit, and love. By showing her students how truth fulfills the deepest longings of the heart, she liberated countless students from the oppressive relativism of the day, enabling many of them to find their way to God. 
    Now, for the first time, discover the details of Alice von Hildebrand’s life as a "Happy Failure," including:her thrilling escape from Europe that was nearly halted by a Nazi subher early days in America and her dedication to education and cultivating wisdomher marriage to the great philosopher Dietrich von Hildebrand,her victories and defeats at Hunter where she combated a culture of relativismand much more… 
    Memoirs of a Happy Failure is a fascinating and essential glimpse into the life of one of contemporary Catholicism’s most compelling minds. It is the story of courage, faith, and the grace of God acting in the world.
    Show book
  • Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut - Essays and Observations From An Odd Mom Out - cover

    Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut -...

    Jill Kargman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The star of Bravo’s new comedy Odd Mom Out and author of The Ex Mrs. Hedgefund and Wolves in Chic Clothing firmly believes in Woody Allen’s magical math equation: Comedy = Tragedy + Time. Sometimes I Feel Like a Nut is a delightful collection of essays and observations based on Jill Kargman’s family, her phobias (vans, mimes, clowns), and her ability to use humor as a tool to get past life’s obstacles, making the fun times funnier and the tough times bearable. Fans of David Sedaris, Sloane Crosley, and Nora Ephron will rejoice, howl, and sympathize.
    Show book
  • True Crime Pt 1: Jack the Ripper - The Story of a Murderer (Audiodrama) - cover

    True Crime Pt 1: Jack the Ripper...

    Frank Gustavus

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    His true identity has never been revealed. His victims faced the abyss of human insanity. His name is Jack the Ripper. London, 1888. In the poor district of Whitechapel, women are found dead, their bodies brutally disfigured. The victims' ripped throats are proof of a bestiality and cruelty, which has never been seen before. The investigation of the police leads to no satisfying results. Soon, the public calls the culprit "Jack the Ripper" - a serial killer who stalks the streets of Whitechapel at night and viciously kills ... In this Audio Movie, Jack the Ripper and his story come alive. Discover the dark world of London in the year 1888 and be part of the breathtaking and heart-pounding manhunt for one of the most notorious and feared criminals in British history. Enthralling cinema for your ears with none other than the famous actor Neil Dudgeon (Midsomer Murders, Life of Riley) as Jack the Ripper!
    Show book