Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Study in Gold A - A contemporary British mystery set in Oxford - cover

Study in Gold A - A contemporary British mystery set in Oxford

Annie Dalton

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A Second World War-themed murder mystery weekend ends in murder for real.

 


Having reluctantly agreed to make up the numbers at a World War II-themed murder mystery weekend at Mortmead Hall, Anna Hopkins and her fellow dogwalkers, Isadora and Tansy, enjoy themselves far more than they’d expected. Not for long. The weekend’s festivities come to an abrupt halt when a body is discovered floating in the ornamental pond.

 


Who was the mysterious woman in the red dress who attended the event without a ticket? As Anna and her friends delve further, they find themselves caught up in a web of intrigue that leads to a lost painting and a devastating wartime secret: a secret that involves Anna’s own family. Was her late father really guilty of a monstrous crime …?

Other books that might interest you

  • None So Deadly - A Cullen and Cobb Mystery - cover

    None So Deadly - A Cullen and...

    David A. Poulsen

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A police investigator’s murder has put Cullen and Cobb back on a twenty-five-year-old cold case. 
     
    
    
    It’s a case that has haunted Cullen and Cobb for years  — the murder of eleven-year-old Faith Unruh. And now the brutal killing of a police investigator who was similarly obsessed with the little girl’s murder has put PI Mike Cobb and former crime-writing journalist Adam Cullen back on the killer’s trail — and directly in the line of fire. 
     
    
    As the case is unfolding, Cullen is desperately trying to get out from under the thumb of a local biker gang without ruining his relationship, getting arrested … or worse.
    Show book
  • Exit Stage Left - A contemporary police procedural set in London and Paris - cover

    Exit Stage Left - A contemporary...

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Detective Chief Inspector Brock investigates the murder of a well-known actorWhen the body of Lancelot Foley, a well-known actor, is discovered in an excavation in a fashionable Chelsea street one snowy February morning, Detective Chief Inspector Harry Brock is assigned the case.Is the dead man’s wife, fellow actress Vanessa Drummond, as innocent as she would like the police to believe? As Brock – aided by Detective Sergeant Dave Poole and Kate Ebdon, his Australian-born detective inspector – investigates, the case takes him from London to Paris, and there will be more than one death before the shocking case is solved.
    Show book
  • Dead to Rights - cover

    Dead to Rights

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A woman is cruelly cut down in a remote corner of Arizona, killed on her nineteenth wedding anniversary by a drunk motorist.? A year later, the driver himself dies badly, and all suspicions point to the slain woman's still-grieving husband as his murderer. But the truth is rarely black and white in the long Southwestern shadows, and one law officer is not rushing to condemn the tragic widower so quickly: Joanna Brady, Sheriff of Cochise County. Brady's convictions, however, are leading her on a twisted trail through inhospitable country—and setting her on a path that will bring her face-to-face with cold, calculating death in the high, lonely desert.
    Show book
  • Riptide - cover

    Riptide

    Debbi Mack

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    A beach vacation could be deadly for an attorney trying to help her wrongly-accused friend.
     
    Stephanie Ann “Sam” McRae’s stay in Ocean City for the annual Maryland bar association convention becomes a busman’s holiday when her best friend Jamila is arrested for murder. All signs point to a frame, but Jamila’s local counsel advises her to plea bargain. This would permanently stain the ambitious attorney’s spotless record, unless Sam and a private investigator can find evidence to clear her.
     
    Sam has her work cut out for her, since the victim is the stepson of a local wealthy entrepreneur and poultry producer and no one will talk to her, including the lawyer's investigator. Even Jamila seems to be withholding information. Meanwhile, Sam’s running from mysterious pursuers and comes under police scrutiny when another murder takes place.
     
    With the clock ticking down to the convention and preliminary hearing, Sam must uncover secrets, lies, and fraud to find the real killer. At what cost will that knowledge come for Sam?
     
    WHAT OTHERS SAY ABOUT THE BOOK
     
    "The plot was tight and author Debbi Mack kept me guessing whodunnit to the very end."-- Karen Cantwell, bestselling author of the Barbara Marr Mystery Series
     
    "The final scene, Sam delivers just desserts to an annoying fellow attorney in a manner that made me chuckle aloud. But don't skip ahead to see what happens. Start at the beginning. Riptide will pull you right along."-- Suzanne Adair, award-winning author of the Mysteries of the American Revolution and the Michael Stoddard American Revolution Mysteries
     
    "Full of tension and suspense from cover-to-cover, Riptide is a cracking good read."-- Leighton Gage, author of the Chief Inspector Mario Silva Series
     
    "Sam McRae is a nosy, brassy, sarcastic pain in the ass. Which is why you'll love her."-- Frank Zafiro, author of the River City Crime Novels
     
    "Get dragged under by Riptide. If you're not already a fan of the Sam McRae series, you will be after this read."-- Benjamin Sobieck, author of Cleansing Eden and The Glass Eye.
     
    ABOUT THE AUTHORDebbi Mack is the New York Times bestselling author of the Sam McRae mystery series. She’s also published two standalone books--a young adult novel Invisible Me and a thriller called The Planck Factor. Debbi's also published Five Uneasy Pieces, a short story collection that includes her Derringer Award–nominated story “The Right to Remain Silent.” Her short stories have appeared in various anthologies and publications, including Shaken: Stories for Japan and three of the Chesapeake Crimes anthologies.
     
    Debbi also hosts a podcast called the Crime Cafe, which features interview with crime, suspense, and thriller authors, and more.
     
    A retired attorney, Debbi has also worked as a journalist, librarian, and freelance writer/researcher. She enjoys walking, cats, travel, movies, and espresso--not necessarily in that order.
     
    You can find her online at www.debbimack.com.
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 5
    • 56
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • Keep The Midnight Out - A DCI Lorimer Novel - cover

    Keep The Midnight Out - A DCI...

    Alex Gray

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Two murders, twenty years apart. Time for revenge . . . 
    When the body of a red-haired young man is washed up on the shore of the beautiful Isle of Mull, Detective Superintendent Lorimer’s tranquil holiday away from the gritty streets of Glasgow is rudely interrupted. The body has been bound with twine in a ghoulishly unnatural position that strongly reminds Lorimer of another murder: a twenty-year-old Glasgow case that he failed to solve as a fledgling detective constable and which has haunted him ever since. 
    As a local cop takes charge of the island murder investigation, Lorimer tries to avoid stepping on her toes. But as the similarities between the young man’s death and the cold case grow more obvious, Lorimer realizes that there could be a serial killer on the loose after all these years. As the action switches dramatically between the Mull murder and the Glasgow cold case twenty years earlier, Lorimer tries desperately to catch a cold-hearted killer. Has someone gotten away with murder for decades? 
     
    Show book