Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
West of the Moon - cover

West of the Moon

Annie Bellet

Publisher: Doomed Muse Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A fairy tale retelling from the author of The Twenty-Sided Sorceress. 
When her twin brother sacrifices his freedom to save their starving family, Lina embarks on a quest through a magical forest to save her twin and restore their family. 
Based on the Norwegian fairy tale, East of the Sun and West of the Moon, this fantasy novelette first appeared in the Once Upon a Quest anthology.

Other books that might interest you

  • Tales of a Traveller - cover

    Tales of a Traveller

    Washington Irving

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This collection by the author of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow recounts the experiences of an American abroad in the early nineteenth century.In Tales of a Traveller, renowned essayist and short story writer Washington Irving turns his talents to the genre of travel writing. Based on his excursions across Europe, Irving tells of the people he meets in France, England, Italy, and elsewhere, recounting the many tall tales they tell him. First published in 1824, this collection includes the narrative of a young German student living in Paris during the French Revolution; an account of Italian bandits who prey on travelers on the road to Naples; and legends of the pirate Captain Kidd, including the story “The Devil and Tom Walker,” which served as the inspiration for Stephen Vincent Benét’s “The Devil and Daniel Webster.”
    Show book
  • The Blood-Stained Pavement - A Miss Marple Short Story - cover

    The Blood-Stained Pavement - A...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A classic Agatha Christie short story, featuring Miss Marple, from the collection Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories.  
    Joyce Lempiere tells the Tuesday Night Club of an incident that occurred five years ago when she was vacationing at a small inn on the Cornish coast. She was painting a picture of the front of the inn, including details of wet bathing suits drying on the balcony of Denis and Margery Dacre, when she realised she had included blood stains on the pavement. A few days later Margery is found dead, having drowned, and the Club are called to solve the mystery.
    Show book
  • A Christmas Tragedy - A Miss Marple Story - cover

    A Christmas Tragedy - A Miss...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Previously published in the print anthology The Thirteen Problems. 
    At a health resort, Miss Marple becomes suspicious that a man she meets is planning on murdering his wife.
    Show book
  • 30 Humorous Masterpieces you have to read before you die (Golden Deer Classics) - cover

    30 Humorous Masterpieces you...

    Lewis Carroll, Jane Austen,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book,contains now several HTML tables of contents
    The first table of contents lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC.
    
    This book contains the following works arranged alphabetically by authors last names
    
    Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions [Edwin Abbott Abbott]
    Lady Susan [Jane Austen]
    R. Holmes & Co. [John Kendrick Bangs]
    Mrs. Raffles [John Kendrick Bangs]
    The Triumphs of Eugène Valmont [Robert Barr]
    Love Insurance [Earl Derr Biggers]
    The Mirror of Kong Ho [Ernest Bramah Smith]
    The Ghost-Extinguisher [Frank Gelett Burgess]
    Erewhon, or Over The Range [Samuel Butler]
    Jurgen: A Comedy of Justice [James Branch Cabell]
    Sylvie and Bruno [Lewis Carroll]
    The Napoleon of Notting Hill [Gilbert Keith Chesterton]
    The Strange Adventures of Mr. Middleton [Wardon Allan Curtis]
    Our Mutual Friend [Charles Dickens]
    Brother Jacob [George Eliot]
    Cheerful—By Request [Edna Ferber]
    Cabbages and Kings [O. Henry]
    Crome Yellow [Aldous Huxley]
    All Roads Lead to Calvary [Jerome Klapka Jerome]
    Babbitt [Sinclair Lewis]
    Parnassus On Wheels [Christopher Morley]
    Beasts and Super-Beasts [Saki]
    A Tale of Negative Gravity [Frank R. Stockton]
    Gulliver's Travels [Jonathan Swift]
    Botchan [Natsume Sōseki]
    A Voyage to the Moon [George Tucker]
    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn [Mark Twain]
    The Wheels of Chance [H. G. Wells]
    The Canterville Ghost [Oscar Wilde]
    My Man Jeeves [P. G. Wodehouse]
    Show book
  • The Most of It - cover

    The Most of It

    Mary Ruefle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Funny and adventurous short fiction by a well-established poet with a devoted following. The first and only collection of Ruefle’s fiction. This book has strong potential to tap into the widespread audience for literary fiction. (It’s a bit like George Saunders meets James Tate.) Stories have appeared in a number of popular and literary magazines, including Harper’s, Sentence, and Triquarterly. Ruefle was featured in the McSweeney’s Book of Poets Picking Poets; this book is a good opportunity to expand Mary’s readership to fans of flash fiction and McSweeney’s readers. Her poetry collections are very popular in libraries and bookstores with an academic connection. Ruefle teaches at the Univeristy of Iowa and the University of Vermont.
    Show book
  • The Daughter In Law - A gripping new psychological thriller - cover

    The Daughter In Law - A gripping...

    Nina Manning

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    'Compelling and claustrophobic, Nina is an exciting new voice and definitely one to watch' Phoebe Morgan, author of The Girl Next Door'Chilling and creepy. An atmospheric and addictive debut.' Diane Jeffrey, author of The Guilty Mother No one is good enough for her son… As a single mother, Annie has an especially close relationship with her son, Ben. They have always been together. Just the two of them. So, when Ben brings home his mysterious beautiful new wife, Daisy, immediately Annie doesn’t trust her. Who is this woman who has taken her son away from her? And what is she hiding?She’ll protect him with her life… When Ben disappears, suddenly Annie and Daisy are all the other one has. Alone in Annie’s big, remote house, just the two of them, the tension is rising. And like any protective mother, Annie will stop at nothing to expose her new daughter in law, and the secrets she is hiding…A gripping, psychological page-turner, perfect for fans of Sally Hepworth's The Mother In Law, Lisa Jewell and K.L. Slater.'Totally addictive. I couldn't put it down!' Darren O'Sullivan, author of Closer Than You Think'A claustrophobic, nail-biting thriller that draws you in and doesn't let go.' Naomi Joy, author of The Liars‘Clever, emotionally draining and totally gripping. I absolutely loved this book!’ D E White, author of Remember Me What readers are saying about The Daughter In Law:'I give this book 5 Wows!''Absolutely fantastic had me gripped!!! Loved it! Can't wait for more from this author.' '5 stars! What a great book!''This did not disappoint. Lots of twists and turns and I loved the ending. Cannot wait to read more from this author.''There is quite a few twistsin this story but the biggest twist is the one at the end and I didn’t have a clue.''A ridiculously good book. I loved every single page and couldn't put it down.''Fantastic, creepy, dark and chilling.''This book was excellent!'Fast paced, with twists and some turns you can see coming this is the perfect beach read.''A page turner that I couldn’t put down!!!' 'I couldn't put it down'
    Show book