Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Black Beauty Young Folks' Edition - cover

Black Beauty Young Folks' Edition

Anna Sewell

Publisher: WS

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Black Beauty is an 1877 novel by English author Anna Sewell. It was composed in the last years of her life, during which she remained in her house as an invalid. The novel became an immediate best-seller, with Sewell dying just five months after its publication, but having lived long enough to see her only novel become a success. With fifty million copies sold, Black Beauty is one of the best-selling books of all time.

Other books that might interest you

  • World Political Leaders - cover

    World Political Leaders

    Darcy Frisina

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Get the scoop on twelve of the most interesting World Political Leaders from the past century. Our resource reviews the global impact of these leaders while making these concepts more accessible to students. Begin your journey in the United States with a look at the leadership of George W. Bush and Ronald Reagan. Compare Bush's war on terrorism with Reagan's arms race during the Cold War. Journey down south with a stop in Mexico, where Vicente Fox acted as mediator between George W. Bush and Fidel Castro during an international summit. Cross the pond on your way to the United Kingdom. Learn about Margaret Thatcher's role in ending apartheid in South Africa. Read about how Mikhail Gorbachev went from being the leader of the Soviet Union to winning the Nobel Peace Prize. Learn how Nelson Mandela fought to bring equal rights for all citizens of South Africa. Journey to Tibet and explore the reincarnated spirit of the Dalai Lama, now head of state and spiritual leader of the Buddhist religion. Aligned to your State Standards and written to Bloom's Taxonomy, additional writing tasks, crossword, word search, comprehension quiz and answer key are also included.
    Show book
  • The House of Government - A Saga of the Russian Revolution - cover

    The House of Government - A Saga...

    Yuri Slezkine

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destructionThe House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman’s Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn’s The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine’s gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin’s purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children’s loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union.Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 505 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building’s residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths.Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.
    Show book
  • Mill's On Liberty - cover

    Mill's On Liberty

    John Stuart Mill

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Mill's thinking about freedom in civic and social life examines fundamental principles shared among conservative, liberal, and radical politicians. The life of true philosophy stands outside the political battles that are rampant in society and seeks the political wisdom that is necessary for a good life in any age. Mill's philosophical presentation and analysis of those principles stand alongside the reflections of Plato, Aristotle, Marcus Aurelius, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau.When the officials of any government seek to change the laws that regulate individual liberty or when rhetoricians seek to change public opinion about what individuals should or should not be allowed to say or do, Mill's On Liberty serves as an effective antidote to the poisons of excessive intrusion into the lives of individuals. The present edition is specifically designed to employ the dual nature of rhetoric - oral and written language - and to utilize electronic technology to open Mill's text to contemporary listeners.© Agora Publications
    Show book
  • England's Discontents - Political Cultures and National Identities - cover

    England's Discontents -...

    Mike Wayne

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    England's Discontents unpacks the genealogy of British identities over the last two hundred years as they have been shaped by the main political cultures and their interactions with cultural politics.
    
    Conservatism, social liberalism, economic liberalism, social democracy and socialism in partnership and conflict, have forged different models of national belonging and identity. Wayne draws on Gramsci's work to reassess debates about Britishness and renew Gramsci's relevance to understanding our contemporary discontents.
    
    In doing so, he reveals that England's enduring attachment to economic liberalism is in danger of eroding all other political cultures, even conservatism, liberalism and the British state.
    Show book
  • Three Essays on Religion - cover

    Three Essays on Religion

    John Stuart Mill

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Three Essays on Religion were written at different times during Mill's life, and only published after his death. The first two, 'Nature' and 'The Utility of Religion' date from the 1850s - the period between the publication of 'The Principles of Political Economy' and 'On Liberty'. The third longer essay, 'Theism' was written between 1868 and 1870. The three essays were published posthumously in 1874. (Summary by Justin Brett)
    Show book
  • Leading in an Upside-Down World - New Canadian Perspectives on Leadership - cover

    Leading in an Upside-Down World...

    J. Patrick Boyer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The world as we know it has been turned upside down by recent events but it's still a place where leadership is needed more than ever.  
    Fifteen Canadians with highly diverse perspectives and richly different experience explore this timely question in Leading in an Upside-Down World.  
    Chapter by chapter, stories of Canada unfold and future prospects for leadership grow clearer as these eminent Canadians explain how to "recognize leadership" in an age where old institutions and behaviours are being left behind. They also identify leadership attributes that endure. Leading in an Upside-Down World gives voice to both scholars and practitioners of Canadian-style leadership.
    Show book