Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Difficult Problem and Other Stories - “Though I have had no adventures I feel capable of them” - cover

A Difficult Problem and Other Stories - “Though I have had no adventures I feel capable of them”

Anna Katherine Green

Publisher: Miniature Masterpieces

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Anna Katharine Green was born in Brooklyn, New York on November 11th, 1846. Anna’s initial ambition was to be a poet. However that path failed to ignite any significant interest and she turned to fiction writing.. She published her first - and most famous work in 1878 – ‘The Leavenworth Case’. Wilkie Collins praised it and it sold extremely well. It led to Anna writing 40 novels and to becoming known as ‘the mother of the detective novel.’ In helping to shape the genre she brought many other innovations including a series detective: her main character was detective Ebenezer Gryce of the New York Metropolitan Police Force, but in three novels he is assisted by the nosy society spinster Amelia Butterworth, another innovation and a prototype for Miss Marple, Miss Silver and others. She also invented the 'girl detective': in the character of Violet Strange, a debutante with a secret life as a sleuth. Anna’s other innovations included the now familiar dead bodies in libraries, newspaper clippings as "clews," the coroner's inquest, and expert witnesses. Yale Law School once used her books to demonstrate how damaging it can be to rely on circumstantial evidence.  Her career was now well advanced and she was much admired. On November 25, 1884, Green married the actor and stove designer, and later noted furniture maker, Charles Rohlfs, who was seven years her junior. They had three children; Rosamund, Roland and Sterling. Although Anna was a progressive she did not approve of many of her feminist contemporaries, and was opposed to women's suffrage. On November 25, 1884, Anna married the actor and noted furniture maker, Charles Rohlfs, who was seven years her junior. They had three children; Rosamund, Roland and Sterling. Anna Katherine Green died on April 11, 1935 in Buffalo, New York, at the age of 88.

Other books that might interest you

  • Found in the Street - cover

    Found in the Street

    Patricia Highsmith

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    “Fabulous, in all senses of that word . . . combining the best features of the suspense genre with the best of existential fiction—a thrilled reflection.”—Paul TherouxElsie Tyler turns heads wherever she goes. After leaving her hometown upstate for Greenwich Village, the charming young waitress soon finds herself surrounded by admirers, including Jack and Natalia Sutherland, a married couple who invite Elsie into their bohemian inner circle and help her launch a career as a model. Meanwhile, Ralph Linderman, a middle-aged security guard with a dog named God, is nursing his own obsession with Elsie. He sets out to protect her from the “bad company” she attracts, but his uninvited affections are overbearing, possibly even pathological. When Ralph finds Jack’s wallet on a morning stroll through the Village, and returns it, he is entirely unprepared for the complex maze of sexual obsession and disturbing psychological intrigue he is about to be drawn into.Originally published in 1986, Found in the Street is classic Highsmith—an engrossing, unsettling thriller that explores the bleakest alleyways of human desire, and a kaleidoscopic portrait of 1980s New York City. Patricia Highsmith, author of Strangers on a Train and The Talented Mr. Ripley, has been called “one of the finest crime novelists” by the New York Times and is now considered one of the most original voices in twentieth-century American fiction.
    Show book
  • A Simple Favor - A Novel - cover

    A Simple Favor - A Novel

    Darcey Bell

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig 
    "Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author 
    She’s your best friend. 
    She knows all your secrets. 
    That’s why she’s so dangerous. 
    A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. 
    It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.  
    But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over. 
    Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.  
    A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.
    Show book
  • Hiding in Plain Sight - cover

    Hiding in Plain Sight

    Mary Ellis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Introducing private investigator Kate Weller in the first of the brand-new Marked for Retribution mystery series.On the run from a troubled past, Kate Weller, the newest member of Price Investigations, covers her tracks, changes her name and takes a case in Charleston, South Carolina, where she can hide in plain sight.Renting a charming room with a waterfront view, Kate sets about trying to locate her adopted client’s natural siblings, only to find more questions than answers when she eventually tracks down a long-lost sister. Meanwhile, her new landlord won’t stop sticking his nose into her case. As far as Kate’s concerned, Eric Manfredi should focus on whatever competitor is bent on ruining his family business. But when petty vandalism turns lethal, and Eric’s father is arrested for murder, Kate determines to prove his innocence. Can she find the real culprit before a killer from her own past tracks her down?
    Show book
  • Close To Home - cover

    Close To Home

    Nolon King

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Adam isn’t sure he isn’t a serial killer. 
     
    He has long been worried that he might be. Lately he’s been having the sense that the only thing keeping him from that path is his wife, Selena, who understands the mind of serial killers rather better than the general public.
     
    So when a rash of murders disturbs the sleepy town of Almond Park, California, and Selena is asked to help with the investigation, Adam is not sure he won’t be found out.
     
    If he is, he’ll lose everything that truly matters to him.
     
    Close to Home is Nolon King’s new book, an intense psychological thriller. Pick up your copy today!
    Show book
  • The Antiquarian - A Novel - cover

    The Antiquarian - A Novel

    Julián Sánchez

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In this gripping historical thriller, the search for a mysterious and powerful object hidden in the heart of Barcelona leads to ambition, desire, love—and murderAn intriguing letter from his adoptive father, Artur, turns novelist Enrique Alonso’s world upside down. Artur, a well-known antiquarian in Barcelona, reveals that he has discovered an ancient manuscript, but he feels uneasy, as though he’s in over his head. But before Artur can piece together the final part of the puzzle, he is attacked and murdered. Enrique rushes to Barcelona to investigate his father’s death and retrieve the book. His ex-wife, Bety, a philologist, comes to his aid and the two set about translating and deciphering the encrypted text. Written in Latin and Old Catalan, the manuscript holds the key to the location of a priceless object dating back to the Middle Ages, and a secret closely guarded by the Jewish community living in the city’s Gothic Quarter. When Enrique and Bety realize they are not the only ones following the trail, it becomes a race against time to find the mythical object that has the power to transform lives.
    Show book
  • Rafferty's Rules - A Rafferty PI Mystery - cover

    Rafferty's Rules - A Rafferty PI...

    W. Glenn Duncan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    He saved her once.  Can he pull it off again?
     
    A fast-talking, wisecracking Texas PI with a penchant for sarcasm, Rafferty has a rule for everything—from how to deal with clients to not mixing nudity with hot coffee.  An ex-cop, he’d been fired for blowing away a junkie holding ten-year-old Vivian Mollison hostage in a burger joint robbery gone bad without blinking an eye.  Now, fifteen years later, Vivian’s parents want him to find the outlaw bikers who drugged and sold their daughter.   
     
    Vivian’s mother wants them all dead.  Too bad Rafferty’s not in the revenge business.  Kicking ass?  Well, that’s another story…
     
    --------------------------------------------------------
     
    RAFFERTY'S RULES is the first book of the popular hard-boiled detective classic series from the eighties.  Catch the whole Shamus Award-winning PI series by W. Glenn Sr., which has been continued by his son, W. Glenn Jr.
     
    ​​​​​​​Buy RAFFERTY'S RULES today and discover the series readers are saying is "… on my list of great private eye writers along with Kinky Friedman, Elmore Leonard, and Lawrence Sanders."
     
    --------------------------------------------------------
     
    Praise for W. Glenn Duncan:
     
    "Sometimes it seemed W. Glenn Duncan's Texas P.I. Rafferty had a rule for everything, but the fact remains that most of them were a hoot. And, of course, a further irony is that "Rafferty's Rules" is, in fact, an Australian football term for "no rules at all." - Thrilling Detective Website
     
    "I have all of the Rafferty titles in my collection. I've gotten rid of a lot of stuff over the years, but the Rafferty books are a mainstay. I think they're terrific!" - Paul Bishop - Author of LIE CATCHERS
     
    "Duncan truly captured the pure essence of the definitive smart-ass private eye in his character Rafferty. Take part Sam Spade with a little Mike Hammer, mix in some Spenser and you have an awesome character." - Cliff Fausset​​​​​​​
     
    "At first sniff, it may smell like Spenser with a cowboy hat, but take a good whiff: W. Glenn Duncan's Dallas, Texas private eye RAFFERTY was actually a blast of fresh air in what was rapidly becoming a glut of sensitive, soul-searching, overly politically-correct cookie cutter P.I.s in the late eighties. Of course, it helps that Dallas ain't Boston." - Kevin Burton Smith
    Show book