Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Voyages of the Discovery - The Illustrated History of Scott's Ship - cover

The Voyages of the Discovery - The Illustrated History of Scott's Ship

Ann Savours

Publisher: Seaforth Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Discovery was built for Captain Scott's first Antarctic expedition of 1901-04 and was launched more than 100 years ago in 1901, at Dundee. She had a long and intriguing career before her final voyage back there in 1986; this book tells the story of that chequered history.Despite a number of expeditions to the Southern Ocean during the nineteenth century, the continent of Antarctica remained mostly a mystery by the turn of the twentieth. To remedy this the Royal Geographical Society proposed a National Antarctic Expedition, and a purpose-built vessel, the Discovery, was designed. Based on a whale ship, she was massively built to withstand ice, and was equipped with a hoisting propeller and rudder. Sh set sail from Cowes of 6 August and six months later was in the Ross Sea. The southern sledging expedition, of Scott, Shackleton and Wilson, reached within 500 miles of the South Pole.In 1905, a year after her return to Britain, she was purchased by the Hudson's Bay Company and worked as a simple cargo carrier between London and their trading posts in the Canadian Arctic. Later she was sent to rescue Shackleton's men on Elephant Island. In 1925 she became a research ship, and in 1929-31 she was used to survey what became Australian Antarctic territory. Moored on the Thames Embankment, she survived the London blitz before returning to Dundee where she is now on permanent display.
Available since: 04/04/2013.
Print length: 160 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Life's a Catastrophe - An absolutely hilarious laugh-out-loud romantic comedy - cover

    Life's a Catastrophe - An...

    Kirstie Pelling

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    'Excellent contemporary rom com by Kirstie Pelling. Comical and warm, well done!' Danielle Owen-Jones, author of Stone Broke Heiress What if thinking like your cat could solve your problems?  Aly Meadows is a self-proclaimed 'catfluencer' using her two beloved pets to earn thousands of likes on Instagram. But behind the lens, Aly is broke, facing eviction and living a life that's a million miles away from the glamorous world of social media stardom.  Rick Harvard, the CEO of talent agency Glimmer, has the power to change her life, but only if Aly agrees to dive in at the deep end. Can Aly come out of her shell and channel the confidence of her insta-famous cats? And if so, will she finally find the love and laughter she deserves?Perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson, Lindsey Kelk and Mhairi McFarlanePraise for Life's a Catastrophe: 'A fast paced romcom, an absolute easy read' NetGalley Reviewer'A very impressive debut novel' NetGalley Reviewer'A fun, enjoyable and entertaining read.' NetGalley Reviewer 'Plenty of laughs and some deep emotional moments too.' NetGalley Reviewer'Whip-smart and just so funny, this story hooked me from the get go.' NetGalley Reviewer
    Show book
  • The North British Type 2 Bo-Bo Diesel-Electric Classes 21 & 29 - Design Development and Demise - cover

    The North British Type 2 Bo-Bo...

    Anthony P. Sayer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This comprehensive history of these unique locomotives covers everything from performance issues to sightings, detail differences and liveries.   The Type 2 Bo-Bo Diesel-Electric Classes 21 & 29 locomotives were constructed by the North British Locomotive Company in the early 1960s. Used in the Scottish region of British Railway, they ran into numerous problems and were withdrawn from service within a decade. Due in part to their short careers, these locomotives remain something of a mystery to train enthusiasts. The scant information available on them is very often riddled with misinformation.   This authoritative volume corrects the record, presenting the most comprehensive and accurate account of the NBL Classes 21 & 29. Fully illustrated with photographs and detailed line drawings, this volume offers individual locomotive histories, complete technical specifications, accident and fire damage reports, storage histories, and a complete account of their disposal at both private companies and Glasgow Works.
    Show book
  • A Year's Turning - cover

    A Year's Turning

    Michael Viney

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Michael Viney and his wife Ethna lived in the city, had successful jobs in the media and had just turned forty when they made a life-changing decision: to give up everything for a self-reliant existence on a remote cottage farm in County Mayo, on the West Coast of Ireland. This enchanting chronicle of life on the land follows the highs and lows of one year in the Irish countryside. Since then, for sixty years, Michael Viney's weekly columns in The Irish Times have established his reputation as a uniquely compassionate and informed commentator on the natural world, and undoubtedly one of Ireland's greatest nature writers.
    Show book
  • Monarch Butterfly 20 - 101 Reasons to Love Our Favorite Orange and Black Butterfly A to Z - cover

    Monarch Butterfly 20 - 101...

    HowExpert, Jessica Dumas

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Monarch Butterfly 2.0: 101 Reasons to Love Our Favorite Orange and Black Butterfly from A to Z is the second edition on the monarch butterflies that will expand your knowledge and admiration of the favorite and most loved butterfly in the history of man.   
    After the first chapter summarizes the first edition, called Monarch Butterfly 101: Learn About Monarch Butterflies in One Sitting, some of the topics to whet your learning appetite are:Exciting news and events about the monarchs such as the Blitz Explanation of scientific names with tips on how to pronounce them How to become a monarch expert on a professional level such as a lepidopteristIdeas of what you can do as a monarch advocate, such as tagging monarchsTips on monarchs, including fun butterfly-related activities for the kids to do Monarch mysteries answered, such as how they know where to migrate toAnswers to FAQs about the monarchs, like why global warming is a threat to them Little-known facts about the monarchs, such as how they are able to navigateLessons to learn on how you can help save the monarch by spreading awareness Fun things to do, like having your next reunion or party at a butterfly conservatory How to have a vacation in Mexico with a tour to see millions of monarchs 
    About the expert: Jessica Dumas has been a freelance writer since 2002 after starting her virtual assistant business called The Butterfly Connection. She specializes in writing blogs, product guides, and books, including children's books, but her favorite thing to write is poems. Her passion is butterflies, and much of her work reflects her love of the monarch butterfly. 
    HowExpert publishes quick 'how to' guides on all topics from A to Z by everyday experts.
    Show book
  • The Old Fart's Guide to Survival - cover

    The Old Fart's Guide to Survival

    Dawn Cawley

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    You might be getting on a bit but that doesn't mean life can't still be fun! Dawn Cawley, a paid-up member of The Old Fart's Club certainly isn't ready to be put out to pasture just yet and shares her tips and observations on life in the slow lane. From dealing with modern technology and grandkids to old friendships and going deaf, this quirky and humorous take on later life is a must-have survival guide for all the Old Farts who aim to grow old(er) disgracefully!
    Show book
  • Babysitting Secrets - Everything You Need to Have a Successful Babysitting Business - cover

    Babysitting Secrets - Everything...

    Chronicle Books

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This essential babysitting guide offers advice on caring for children of all ages, plus tips on meeting new families, maintaining your business, and more! For tween and teens, babysitting can be an excellent first job. But along with new responsibility and independence, it often comes with concerns, doubts, and plenty of questions. Babysitting Secrets is your comprehensive guide to this exciting new venture.  Here you’ll find tips on everything from bedtime and babies to handling your most challenging “clients”. Advice on keeping young children engaged comes complete with activities and playtime ideas. Safety guidelines are also covered, including basic first aid and important phone numbers in case of an emergency.
    Show book